Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jan 24, 2013
    80
    Retro City Rampage is not really a good game. It is nice and entertaining, but also very shallow. But it is an darn good compilation of reminders what was cool and hip in the 80s and 90, it is a declaration of love to the era of big pixels and plastic pop.
  2. 80
    Retro City Rampage has all the charm, scattershot wit and entertainment value of a drunk, gabbling child. It's shallow, mindless and simple - that's the point.
  3. Jan 17, 2013
    80
    Retro City Rampage is far from perfect, but sure is brutally honest.
  4. 75
    As a gleeful tribute to gaming and pop-culture past, though, Retro City Rampage is definitely recommended. It may not rival the series it most closely follows, but it still offers a unique and gorgeously presented experience.
  5. Jan 11, 2013
    70
    The effort that has gone into this game is clear from the start. This game was made by a very small team, and mostly by one man, so tip your hats to them. In terms of playability though, it is basic, and even tedious at points. But that is what it is trying for. Old games were repetitive, and painfully difficult, and RCR is just trying to replicate this.
  6. Jan 8, 2013
    70
    It's a game that tries to be everything, in other words, yet through the sheer all-encompassing nature of its irreverence finds an identity of its own.
  7. Feb 27, 2013
    60
    An average overall experience. [Issue#95, p.86]
  8. Jan 27, 2013
    60
    Retro City Rampage never tops its front-loaded showpiece, descending rapidly into a Family Guy-esque parody of 1980s and 1990s pop culture.
  9. Jan 21, 2013
    50
    When the surprise of all pop cultural references fades I start to see past the gorgeous graphics and the awesome music, and the disappointment sneak up on me. Retro City Rampage walks the line between being a brilliant homage and a generic copy, and in the end it relies too much on the ideas of the games that came before it.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jan 25, 2013
    9
    Take one look at Retro City Rampage and you'll probably know if you'll enjoy it or not. Its a retro inspired parody of GTA filled with cheesyTake one look at Retro City Rampage and you'll probably know if you'll enjoy it or not. Its a retro inspired parody of GTA filled with cheesy jokes and references. It easily has enough charm and silly fun to hold its own though. The main missions are completed easliy enough but the side missions will really test your patience. The city itself has enough to keep you busy for hours at a time, filled to the brim with secrets and unlockables. From driving Kitt from Knight Rider to dressing up as parody superhero "Biff-man" to the fun of discovering playable versions of other indie classics (including an actual 3D Super Meat Boy), you'll be kept busy for a long time. If your into indie games or just a fan of having a silly enjoyable time, you'll love Retro City Rampage. Full Review »
  2. Mar 22, 2013
    10
    I can't believe how amazing this game is. From the trailers it just looked like a mini-game version of GTA almost but it has a crazy as hellI can't believe how amazing this game is. From the trailers it just looked like a mini-game version of GTA almost but it has a crazy as hell campaign full of every possible video game and movie reference/parody I can even think of. It's fun as hell, there are heaps of weapons and customizations and it controls great (to be honest it is best played with a controller for sure), I bought it cheap on a Steam sale and 5 minutes into playing knew I wanted it on my big screen for the full retro ride. It's just so damn awesome that I hadn't written a user review on metacritic for about 2 years until now, I signed in just to write this one. Please get it, support the developers they've done an absolutely amazing job! Full Review »