Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The RIDGE RACER series takes off in a new direction with RIDGE RACER Unbounded. Join the Unbounded team, a group of lawless badass racers, terrorizing the streets of Shatter Bay and expand your ever growing territory. Drive & Destroy everything in your path to create new areas that were once off limits. Go online to Dominate and race an unlimited supply of user created maps. [Namco Bandai] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 59
  2. Negative: 5 out of 59
  1. Apr 7, 2012
    93
    Ridge Racer Unbounded might not be the Ridge Racer game your dad played back in his day, but don't let the name fool you. It's dark and dirty visual style is second only to the dirty and explosive racing action that awaits when you strap in behind the wheel of this addictive arcade racer where the only limit to your fun is your imagination.
  2. Apr 20, 2012
    84
    Overall, Ridge Racer Unbounded is a great game with some fairly annoying problems that drag it down. The good news is I think they're all issues that could be addressed with a patch - the bad news is I don't know of one coming out, which means that while this game is worth your time, I don't quite think it's worth full-price in its present state.
  3. Apr 4, 2012
    80
    The frustrating moments in Ridge Racer Unbounded are far outweighed by the deeply satisfying ones. It's anarchic, well designed, thrilling to behold and will put a massive grin on any true petrol-head's face.
  4. Apr 2, 2012
    75
    If you've grown tired of having your hand held through tutorial after tutorial, and incredibly easy arcade racers, the challenge offered by Unbounded is sure to appeal to you. I've definitely found myself enjoying this title a lot more than I would have anticipated, and urge racing fans to check it out.
  5. Apr 26, 2012
    70
    The first non-Japanese-developed Ridge Racer borrows heavily from games like Burnout and Need for Speed to deliver an enjoyable and full-of-adrenaline racing experience. It's not the best racer out there, but it can be fun!
  6. Apr 27, 2012
    62
    A pale imitation of many more competent racers. A wasted chance to revitalise the series. [June 2012, p.74]
  7. Mar 30, 2012
    40
    Terrible car physics and equally bad track design make this the black sheep of the series.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    Straight off the bat i cant praise the track editor enough its a fantastic set up and really user friendly although you need to complete the main game to get the most out of it buts its a great addition. I think the series was getting a little tired and theres so many other different racers out there that it needed to catch up and maybe borrow some of their features. I dont mind games that borrow or improve on other driving game features and i think ridge racer unbounded is finely tuned. It kinda comes off as a burnout / need for speed hybrid which isnt a bad thing at all. Fun single player, destructible environments and lots of speed. best ridge racer game in a while. Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    What to say about THIS??? It's AWESOME!!!
  3. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    Non stop awesome. Over the top crashes, constant explosions. See that passenger train ? Bam! Drove right trough it. **** logic, exploding concrete everywhere. AI can be challenging, but damn every track is a exhilarating rollercoaster ride. Burnout x Split/Second x Ridge Racer combo. Congratz Bugbear, awesome game. Now if you would just add pedestrians for a carmageddon feel I've would have given it an 11. Expand
  4. May 28, 2014
    9
    Underated piece of fun! Making a crazy city is fun but there seems to be a lack of players. People should buy this game and play on there friends tracks! the drifting is abit challenging but still fun. If you want to drive on insane, destuctive tracks, get this game! Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2012
    9
    Loving this game! Never played previous Ridge Racer Games so I can't compare. I find myself going back to this game a couple of times a day. I think the driving aspect mechanic itself is awesome! Cars are completely controllable. I wish same mechanic was used in The Run. 2 types of multiplayer: race against other players live and then seperate SSX style where u race in events just to beat high score ( 1, 6, & 24 hr. events). Track Editor is insane, endless possibilities! Wish they had demo so people could try it out bc this game is going under the radar. There is no online code needed so u can pick it up used and it's like having tons of free DLC thrown at u every day! Very happy I pre-ordered and have no regrets on paying full price. I already put a lot more time into Unbounded than Split Second. The game is just fun and addictive! Expand
  6. Mar 29, 2012
    8
    "Ridge Racer: Unbounded" is the 11th home console version of the Ridge Racer franchise, which is characterized by races with modern cars in various tracks, with a arcade-style gameplay. This time the franchise returns with several innovations, along the usual style of gameplay.

    The game has the same essence of the other racing games in the series, ie, the various competing cars, racing dynamics, in urban settings, seeking the first place. The classic gameplay joined "innovations" that were inspired by other games, notably "Burnout" and "Blur".

    The graphics are very good, and even at high speed have excellent and realistic detailing. All cars are modern and have a bold, new look - in the screen we have indicators of shortcuts and general information (laps remaining, etc.) appearing as if they were projected in the structures of scenarios, such as buildings, following the layout of them.

    The music (mostly electronic) and sounds of the game are fast, well done and fuse with the game very well, as the sounds and sound effects of crashes, explosions, and snoring of the engines that get the mood in the fast gameplay of this game.

    The emphasis of the title is on graphics and gameplay innovations: when you fill a power bar, you can press the A, which causes your car to protrude forward, destroying any car or structure in your path (the scenario part that can be destroyed is indicated before). The effects at the time of the destruction of the vehicles is done with slow motion in various angles, and generated at the moment, and shows in a movie-style sequence, the car exploding, fragmenting and rolling - the inspiration is clear, and was officially announced, in the Burnout series of games.

    The same occurs in the destruction of scenarios, which is similar to Blur, where walls explode, and you go through the scenarios, gaining more bonus and getting shortcuts, which sometimes also show the same effects in slow-motion like the car crashes. The races feeling is the is the same as NFS: The Run, in a view that is focused on back of your car, with a closer view of the runway and urban settings, in a fast and frenetic gameplay.

    The game still has a special mode with city editor, where you will make your race track, with a sequence of blocks in a grid: they may be uploaded online, with the goals set by you, provided they are consistent (you must complete a gameplay in your track to to be accepted).

    In addition, the game has several modes Multiplayer Online, in the World Mode, where you can create challenges, as well as others Online Modes such as Domination, Survival, Frag and Drift Challenge.

    Overall is a great racing game, arcade style, that mixes the effects of destruction of vehicles and scenes from other games, being a mixture of "Burnout", "NFS: The Run" and "Blur": nevertheless, the formula does not is innovative, bringing something new and exclusive to their own innovative franchise. Still, is a great and fast pacing racing / destruction game, that guarantee many hours of fun, offline and online, and the best version of the franchise in the Xbox 360. My score: 8.4 / 10.0.
    Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2012
    3
    This game needs a difficulty level setting. Also only way to get enough "power" for speed and ability to destroy other cars is drifting. Should get more by hitting objects and cars like in Flatout series. Change can be good, but RRU did not go to that direction. Now the game is only good for hardcore gamers. With difficulty level settings, the game would be better for more people. A rewind possibility after a crash is welcome too. Well, maybe developers will make a patch if enough gamers will ask them. That has been seen it other games, that developers listen their fans. Lets see how this will go. Collapse

See all 19 User Reviews