• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Sep 6, 2011
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 43
  2. Negative: 4 out of 43

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 18, 2011
    9
    Rise of Nightmares was my surprise of the year, hands down. These days, games with metascores in the 50s are increasingly rare, so I did not have the highest expectations. After spending a couple hours with it a couple nights ago, I walked away with the impression that despite the awfully dated graphics, the game has a very refreshing, oddball charm that is almost totally absent in most big-budget games. The atmosphere is just like that of a twisted b-movie and the sound design is absolutely excellent. I also admired the game's ambition for trying to be a 3D action game controlled entirely with kinect. That said, I found the controls just a bit too awkward and clumsy for me to really enjoy playing the game for an extended period so I figured I probably wouldn't go to the effort to move the couch out of the way to play it again anytime soon. The next day, however, I woke up really wanting to give the game another chance and a couple marathon sessions later, I have now finished it... absolutely loved it. Aside from one unfortunate instance where I was impaled by spikes during a QTE because the kinect did not register the fact that I was, in fact, jumping backwards to dodge them (and had to replay 10 minutes of zombie-bashing to get back to that point), I actually came to really like the way the game controls. If you are having problems with it, I recommend playing the game on easy as well as going into the menu and tinkering around with the sensitivity options. I feel like this is such a fresh, unique gaming experience that it's a shame that it will probably end up being sorely over-looked by most due to the time it takes for one to adjust to the controls. For me it stands as proof that the kinect CAN give us more diverse, enjoyable experiences than just on-rail shooters and dancing/fitness games. Definitely not one to miss if you have a kinect. Expand
  2. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    Finished the game over the weekend and I have to say the reviewers are dead WRONG on this one. Sure there is a little learning curve on the movement but it really doesn't take that long to pick up. The graphics are on par to the usual House of the Dead games, and the story is interesting and cheesy enough, but where it really shines is being able to beat on multiple zombies with weapons of all kinds not to mention kicking and punching them to mulch. This game has now become my favorite Kinect game, and I'm now replaying it in Torture mode. But I wish those who don't like Kinect would stop reviewing the games. They will always be dissapointed and deters people from a truly enjoyable Kinect experience. Expand
  3. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    Good job Sega an adult kinect game with a control system that actually works . I have to admit the story is laughable at times but its all part of the games charm. I'm actual really disappointed by the critics review for this game as it really should have scored much much higher, especially when games such as rock of ages scores 75 and this has only scored 52 ?????
  4. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    At last akinect game for mature players, overall its An excellent game maximizing the innovative control of character, the graphics is good but not impressive, i was fully immersed barely noticing the time, feeling the character, the scare, the story that's what kinect is all about being the hero himself. i wont compare this to other games like resident evil, this is a new genre of horror, wherein you literally perspire and get tired in order to win, in contrast to other kinect games, in RoN you'll never feel the fatigue because the adrenaline rush is there, i just overslept and woke up with body pains but without the nightmares...yet. i hope this game is just the beginning and would open the door for other mature oriented and immersing kinect games. Expand
  5. Dec 26, 2011
    9
    Me ha parecido un gran juego, no entiendo la nota que le ponen las paginas de videojuegos la verdad :S Es cierto que el control es un poco raro, pero también la tecnología que lo mueve es bastante actual.

    Por lo general me ha parecido un juego de 10, le pongo un 9 por no estar doblado a mi idioma, aunque eso no impide disfrutar del juego perfectamente. Ojala hagan
    mas juegos así para Kinect!! :) Expand
  6. Sep 14, 2011
    9
    I think the problem with most professional reviewers is they only play Kinect when reviewing a Kinect title. If you don't play Kinect and go pick this game up and start playing, it's going to be hard to control because you are not used to making sure you are at a certain location (being far enough or close enough/ center of the screen) You may find that with all of your movement in this game that you will have to stop n take a look at where you are positioned and reposition yourself for the controls to be accurate. As long as you do this, the controls in this game are so tight! Tighter than any Kinect game yet. Like I said though, if you're not used to playing Kinect or aren't well coordinated/bad balance, this game will take some getting used to. As for the story and graphics, you have to look at it from a perspective that differs from that of most games this generation. Perhaps not the story, because most games these days have little to no/horrible story and plot points. So, in light of that, the story isn't bad, expect some good twists toward the end. The graphics, much like the story, are meant to be somewhat campy and cheesy. This game completely reminds me of my younger days watching tons of TROMA, as well as many other B-movies! This is by far the best Kinect game out, in my opinion, and I have played all of them, aside from fighters uncaged, because even from people I know that play Kinect, it's boring and the controls suck. It's waaaaayyyyy better than Child of Eden, but of course the lazy reviewers love that game, because all you do is stand still and wave your arms around in circles, while listening to techno. LAME! So, if you have Kinect, and have been waiting for a game that's worth your time go get Rise of Nightmares! You will not be disappointed. Expand
  7. Sep 18, 2011
    9
    This is far one of my favorite games ever!. Out of my kinect games, this one is the most intriguing, and the controls are solid and always work for me. The story is fun, it is house of the dead meets deadly premonition. It's silly raunchy fun, and even can be scary, bizarre, and just weird. I completed the game in 3 days on the easiest difficulty. There is 3 more difficulties after that. There are collectibles to find as well, tarot cards, and tapes. The tapes are a side story, a guy narrates his time through out the haunted mansion. After you beat the main game, there is an extra act you unlock. You have to escape within the allotted time, and it tells you how many calories you have lost, which is great for those tracking their calorie intake. My whole family played the game at several interval, and we all had a blast. The way you interact with the world, side stepping from enemies, opening doors, searching bloody toilets, shooting azoth, out of your hands, it feels so imerrisive than any other game I've played. This game requires alot of energy, as you will be kicking punching, and pushing away zombies. This is one of my favorite games ever, it is reminiscent of Alice Madness Returns, Deadly Premonition, House of the Dead, and Clock Tower, it was worth 50$ and it was a fun time playing it, and will be in the future! Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 56
  2. Negative: 14 out of 56
  1. Dec 21, 2011
    50
    Rise of Nightmares is an interesting idea, an ambitious project followed by a catastrophic implementation. Walking on 3D locations sounds really promising, but its charm disappears after 10 minutes because of a too twisted control schema: considering this was the first horror hardcore game for Kinect, we can only hope for a brighter future for this genre.
  2. Dec 12, 2011
    80
    While still not a system seller, the fact that a game like this can and has been made for Kinect is a great step, and helps move things forward for the system. The level of immersion is a step in the right direction, and beats the rumble of a controller. You try not to squeal at least a little bit the first time something jumps on your character and you have to push it off of you. I dare you.
  3. It's an arse-ugly game to watch, but not without charm. [Dec 2011, p.]