Risen 2: Dark Waters Xbox 360

Risen 2: Dark Waters Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set several years after the end of Risen, raging titans have devastated the world and pushed humanity to the brink of existence. Subsequently, monstrous creatures have risen from the watery depths of the sea and their attacks have brought all seafaring to a grinding halt. The hero, now aSet several years after the end of Risen, raging titans have devastated the world and pushed humanity to the brink of existence. Subsequently, monstrous creatures have risen from the watery depths of the sea and their attacks have brought all seafaring to a grinding halt. The hero, now a member of the Inquisition, is sent out to find out how to stop the chaos caused by these creatures from the deep. His quest begins with rumors that the pirates who frequent the southern islands are the only ones who know a way to get rid of the creatures once and for all and end their reign of terror. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Risen 2: Dark Waters - Teaser Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Aug 20, 2012
    77
    This second chapter of the Risen brand is an imperfect but charming RPG, with stunning environments and an engrossing story. An epic sea adventure we haven't seen in years!
  2. Sep 4, 2012
    72
    It took me about 50 hours to plow through Risen 2's winning combination of piracy on the high seas, deep skill system, tough combat, and adventure across unexplored lands. Risen 2 succeeds at what it tries to do if you ignore its more serious issues, though not everyone might have the patience to push through its initially high difficulty, dodgy humor and obvious stereotypes. On the surface, it's hard not to see the spiritual ties to Gothic in the game mechanics and the world. That might be all that Piranha Bytes' fans need to know before signing on.
  3. Jul 31, 2012
    69
    Faced with the challenge to deliver something else than the technical disaster that was Risen on Xbox 360, Piranha Bytes and porting developer Wizardbox again make a mess of things. What has been an entertaining story of seafaring buccaneers and swashbuckling pirates on PC becomes a sordid role-playing experience on consoles with a ton of technical shortcomings.
  4. The combat isn't fair, the aesthetics are grim, and at times it's uncomfortably racist and sexist. But while it's an anachronistic mess of a game, it's weirdly compulsive regardless.
  5. 60
    If only the price of unlocking new skills - a minimum stat combined with a hefty fee - wasn't unreasonably steep.
  6. Aug 12, 2012
    55
    The console version is late and in a bad shape. We expected much more, but it doesn't live up to the bar set for the current generation of console games. It is certainly better than the previous game –yet, we recommend enjoying the adventure on PC, unless you're willing to forgive its graphical and control issues.
  7. Aug 25, 2012
    35
    Overall, this is definitely a game to avoid. There is a slightly enjoyable title hidden within 20 hours of gameplay, but ask yourself is it really worth all that work for something that even at it's best is average.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18
  1. Aug 5, 2012
    10
    Risen 2 is still a great game. But Piranha Bytes should look for another developer for their console-ports. I am not a graphics freak, but aRisen 2 is still a great game. But Piranha Bytes should look for another developer for their console-ports. I am not a graphics freak, but a bug free and lack free game is recommended for a good score. Collapse
  2. May 3, 2013
    9
    I am a big fan of Piranha Bytes' work, and have enjoyed every game they have yet produced. Going into this game, I was not sure what toI am a big fan of Piranha Bytes' work, and have enjoyed every game they have yet produced. Going into this game, I was not sure what to expect, because I felt the first Risen was the weakest game PB had yet produced. Not to say it isn't a good game, but for the most part it felt like a Gothic clone, like I was playing a rehash of the original Gothic franchise in a way that indicated a severe lack of creativity. I also heard that the island approach of Risen 2 destroyed the openendedness that made the earlier games enjoyable.

    But this new game has given me a renewed faith in Piranha Bytes and the creative energy they possess. In many ways, this is their best game. The characters are fantastic, and they interact so brilliantly with one another. One review said that the title character is "hardly recognizable" in Risen 2, which is true to an extent, but that's in part because he has actually developed some character in the interim from the last game. Such a great pirate protagonist has not existed in a video game since Guybrush Threepwood. And even better still is Patty, whose interactions with the protagonist are always so brilliant. Not even to get into the many other characters I love in the game, including Steelbeard, Chani, and of course, Jaffar.

    This is a role playing game of choice for anyone interested in immersing themselves in a new world peopled by characters who are worth getting to know. In some sense Risen 2 feels somewhat less openended than the Gothic games or the original Risen, but I don't feel this structured approach is a weakness, especially as they were able to apply it in a way that continues to avoid linearity. It reminds me a bit of the planetary exploration of an older RPG called Planet's Edge.

    Most critics I've seen appear to have criticized Risen 2 either because it wasn't another Gothic clone, or because it wasn't as good an action game as the Elder Scroll series. But if your primary enjoyment in role playing games is to role play, then this is an excellent choice.

    However, that isn't to say I don't have problems with the game. I think the first is its blatant sexism and racism. While Patty makes up somewhat for the former with her feminist-like approach, but the "savages" are stereotypical headhunter sorts with strong patriarchal rulers, voodoo magic, and a language that appropriates words from existing languages (for instance "aloha" is used for "hello"). I also felt that the voodoo elements were not well applied. I had many of these skills but by the time they were developed they were useless. I was also moderately annoyed finding very difficult chests for instance on a jungle in Tacarigua, near the beginning of the game. By the time I could open it, it was hardly worth making the trek there to do so. Finally, some elements of the game which could have brilliantly integrated simply weren't. Actions that should have had sweeping changes often did not. (Although admittedly still more so than in most games of this type.)
    Expand
  3. Aug 20, 2012
    9
    Risen 2 is pretty much what you should expect if you played Risen; buggy, unpolished, a little ugly at times but heaps and heaps of fun. TheRisen 2 is pretty much what you should expect if you played Risen; buggy, unpolished, a little ugly at times but heaps and heaps of fun. The sword combat starts out a little clumsy and basic but as you progress it becomes much more enjoyable. Also, you get to use Muskets.....MUSKETS!! They even have a lovely puff of smoke when you fire them! The main CONS of this game are it's buggy, ugly, somewhat "cheap" nature but those CONS are far outweighed by the PROS such great funny dialogue, imaginative missions/quests, slow character progression (that may seem like a bad thing but it actually makes leveling feel much more rewarding), a lovely lockpicking mini-puzzle, and it's just downright FUN. If you can look past some moderate flaws (below average graphics, buggy animations, occasional severe frame rate drops) and see the gem beneath you will really enjoy this game. If you like your RPGs polished and triple-A - steer well clear of this one. I've listed several pretty big flaws in the above but I'm still giving the game 9/10...THAT SHOULD TELL YOU HOW MUCH FUN IT IS!! Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2013
    6
    It seems it needs credit for the good parts about it so I will give it a better rating but its still not a game everyone should buy.To manyIt seems it needs credit for the good parts about it so I will give it a better rating but its still not a game everyone should buy.To many problems.... Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2012
    6
    Implement the dodge mechanic you brought to the pc version, fix the stun-lock that a number of enemies can keep you in when in groups,Implement the dodge mechanic you brought to the pc version, fix the stun-lock that a number of enemies can keep you in when in groups, implement a longer cool down for enemy's ranged attacks and you will truly have a stellar game, easily deserving of a solid score. A fair bit of balancing would improve this game to an amazing extent. As it is, however, it's more or less just wasted potential. There is a true quality game here, and it's easy to see. However, just a few questionable design choices, a long with a severe lack of support, leaving this game a fair bit broken, which is incredibly sad. Expand
  6. Sep 18, 2014
    5
    This game works on paper, but the developers do just about everything incorrectly. I appreciate some difficulty in my games in an era whereThis game works on paper, but the developers do just about everything incorrectly. I appreciate some difficulty in my games in an era where most AAA games hold your hand through the entire experience. However, the combat is so rigid and outright broken that it's not enjoyable, getting through the first part of the game is an awful grind that's not even fun because of this combat. Learning new skills costs way too much gold that takes forever to obtain. There's a lot of texture pop-in and the dialogue and cutscenes are really lame for the most part. The pirate theme, the lore, and the voodoo mechanics help make this game interesting on the surface, but so many of the mechanics are just too unappealing. Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2017
    1
    Toujours le même gameplay rigide et coincé comme on en faisait dans les années 90, à croire que chez Piranha Bytes on n'apprend jamais rien etToujours le même gameplay rigide et coincé comme on en faisait dans les années 90, à croire que chez Piranha Bytes on n'apprend jamais rien et qu'on croupit dans la médiocrité avec un certain délice. Ces combats par exemple d'une nullité particulièrement affligeante ; l'absence de carte ou de repère (même après avoir activé une quête) ; la musique d'ascenseur choisie pour le jeu, ce monde inintéressant et creux, les dialogues plats et sans relief... et en anglais uniquement...

    Quant à la technique, elle est désastrueuse : c'est la grande foire de l'aliasing et du flou, on se croirait sur Wii, la palme revenant aux personnages modélisés avec une truelle et deux mains gauches. Et ce n'est même pas fluide... Et que dire des menus dont la police choisie est si peu lisible qu'on se croirait en 480p (c'est développé sur une Wii on vous dit !).
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews