Metascore
44

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Sep 19, 2014
    65
    Risen 3: Titan Lords fails to reach its full potential: it's got a compelling and interesting story, which clashes with a bad technical production and a too muddled and unsatisfying combat system.
  2. Sep 15, 2014
    60
    Sacred 3 - Titan Lords is a game with an interesting story and a world that, although huge, is accessible and easy to remember. However, it becomes extremely difficult to concentrate on the game with such a poor combat, since most of the game consists of fighting.
  3. 60
    The biggest issue is not that the development set their sights incredibly high, but simply that this kind of game is a mammoth project, and there is simply no way that a limited budget can pull off something of the standard of, say, Skyrim. Risen 3 is a raw, entertaining experience that lacks polish but offers substance.
  4. Sep 8, 2014
    50
    Despite some excellent moments, Risen 3 reaches too far and falls short. Glitchy and clunky design will undermine even the most ardent RPG fans hopes of enjoying this game. You’re better off waiting for the games you actually want to play.
  5. Aug 12, 2014
    50
    The potential is actually staggering, but the reach exceeds their grasp, and in the end they’re left with a game that, frankly, underachieves in almost all the ways that matter.
  6. A large, open world and plenty of options can't make up for trainwreck technology, bad writing and clumsy combat. [Oct 2014, p.93]
  7. Oct 11, 2014
    30
    A veritable mess. [Issue#116, p.78]
  8. Sep 19, 2014
    30
    The characters filling out the world are, frankly, insultingly stupid and voiced so badly it wouldn't have even been funny in the '90s.[Nov 2014, p.79]
User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Aug 27, 2014
    10
    This is why we play videogames! I LOVE IT! Rpg lovers, get this game asap! It's so much fun! Beautiful world! Skyrim eat your hearth out!This is why we play videogames! I LOVE IT! Rpg lovers, get this game asap! It's so much fun! Beautiful world! Skyrim eat your hearth out! Thank you so much Piranha Bytes for this gem!!! Full Review »
  2. Aug 31, 2014
    10
    Appassionati dei VERI rpg, qui troverete uno degli ultimi esempi di vecchio gameplay e sana esplorazione fatta di enormi livelli, ricchi diAppassionati dei VERI rpg, qui troverete uno degli ultimi esempi di vecchio gameplay e sana esplorazione fatta di enormi livelli, ricchi di tesori e avventure tutte da scoprire, e una storia appagante e ricca di personaggi ben caratterizzati.
    Questo è a mio avviso il più bel gioco della serie e anche il degno successore spirituale della serie Gothic, tanto apprezzata e mai dimenticata.
    La conversione su xbox è la migliore dei tre capitoli, si forse alcune texture non fanno gridare al miracolo e anzi, sono molto sgranate, ma il colpo d'occhio generale non è affatto male e la fluidità per quanto da mia prova risulta essere sempre stabile (apro e chiudo una parentesi, ma anche il famosissimo Skyrim non faceva certo gridare al miracolo per definizione delle textures :-). Ottima l'acqua e apprezzatissima la possibilità di immergersi e scoprire a nuoto altre aree di gioco segrete.
    Migliorato molto inoltre il sistema di combattimento, ora più vario fin dall'inizio e meglio calibrato.
    Amo questo gioco e mi sento di consigliarlo a tutti gli appassionati del genere.
    W german rpg makers, Piranha Bytes forever in my heart.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 1, 2014
    10
    Incredible game! No idea why people rate it this low - they probably didn't even try to finish it. I pre-ordered it and it was totally worthIncredible game! No idea why people rate it this low - they probably didn't even try to finish it. I pre-ordered it and it was totally worth it. It basically combines everything that was great about Risen, Risen 2 (not much was great about risen 2 admittedly but still they managed to make the most of it) as well as the original Gothic trilogy. The new hero is awesome, combat varied, the exploration worthwhile (you never know when you will find a new great weapon or a legendary item), piracy is still there, as in Risen 2, but it's not a main theme anymore - merely a storytelling tool - and works great. The framerate is much more stable than in previous games and the graphics is, I'd say, on par with Skyrim or Witcher 2.

    To be honest I didn't expect this game to be SO GOOD - after a rather boring introduction the game picks up the pace and I just couldn't stop playing at times. Quests number in HUNDREDS and the freedom of choice is great.

    To sum up: I recommend this sweet game to everyone who played any Risen or original Gothic game and enjoyed it, as well as people who generally love fantasy rpgs such as aforementioned Skyrim or Witcher.

    PS: to malcontents who only play AAA games - don't believe the metascore - in reality the average of reviews worldwide for Risen 3 is about 8/10. But in fact it deserves much more.
    Full Review »