Metascore
44

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Risen 3: Titan Lords draws the player in to a hand-crafted role-playing world where every decision alters the events of the story.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Sep 19, 2014
    65
    Risen 3: Titan Lords fails to reach its full potential: it's got a compelling and interesting story, which clashes with a bad technical production and a too muddled and unsatisfying combat system.
  2. 60
    The biggest issue is not that the development set their sights incredibly high, but simply that this kind of game is a mammoth project, and there is simply no way that a limited budget can pull off something of the standard of, say, Skyrim. Risen 3 is a raw, entertaining experience that lacks polish but offers substance.
  3. Sep 15, 2014
    60
    Sacred 3 - Titan Lords is a game with an interesting story and a world that, although huge, is accessible and easy to remember. However, it becomes extremely difficult to concentrate on the game with such a poor combat, since most of the game consists of fighting.
  4. Aug 12, 2014
    50
    The potential is actually staggering, but the reach exceeds their grasp, and in the end they’re left with a game that, frankly, underachieves in almost all the ways that matter.
  5. A large, open world and plenty of options can't make up for trainwreck technology, bad writing and clumsy combat. [Oct 2014, p.93]
  6. Sep 19, 2014
    30
    The characters filling out the world are, frankly, insultingly stupid and voiced so badly it wouldn't have even been funny in the '90s.[Nov 2014, p.79]
  7. Oct 11, 2014
    30
    A veritable mess. [Issue#116, p.78]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Sep 1, 2014
    10
    Incredible game! No idea why people rate it this low - they probably didn't even try to finish it. I pre-ordered it and it was totally worthIncredible game! No idea why people rate it this low - they probably didn't even try to finish it. I pre-ordered it and it was totally worth it. It basically combines everything that was great about Risen, Risen 2 (not much was great about risen 2 admittedly but still they managed to make the most of it) as well as the original Gothic trilogy. The new hero is awesome, combat varied, the exploration worthwhile (you never know when you will find a new great weapon or a legendary item), piracy is still there, as in Risen 2, but it's not a main theme anymore - merely a storytelling tool - and works great. The framerate is much more stable than in previous games and the graphics is, I'd say, on par with Skyrim or Witcher 2.

    To be honest I didn't expect this game to be SO GOOD - after a rather boring introduction the game picks up the pace and I just couldn't stop playing at times. Quests number in HUNDREDS and the freedom of choice is great.

    To sum up: I recommend this sweet game to everyone who played any Risen or original Gothic game and enjoyed it, as well as people who generally love fantasy rpgs such as aforementioned Skyrim or Witcher.

    PS: to malcontents who only play AAA games - don't believe the metascore - in reality the average of reviews worldwide for Risen 3 is about 8/10. But in fact it deserves much more.
    Expand
  2. Aug 31, 2014
    10
    Appassionati dei VERI rpg, qui troverete uno degli ultimi esempi di vecchio gameplay e sana esplorazione fatta di enormi livelli, ricchi diAppassionati dei VERI rpg, qui troverete uno degli ultimi esempi di vecchio gameplay e sana esplorazione fatta di enormi livelli, ricchi di tesori e avventure tutte da scoprire, e una storia appagante e ricca di personaggi ben caratterizzati.
    Questo è a mio avviso il più bel gioco della serie e anche il degno successore spirituale della serie Gothic, tanto apprezzata e mai dimenticata.
    La conversione su xbox è la migliore dei tre capitoli, si forse alcune texture non fanno gridare al miracolo e anzi, sono molto sgranate, ma il colpo d'occhio generale non è affatto male e la fluidità per quanto da mia prova risulta essere sempre stabile (apro e chiudo una parentesi, ma anche il famosissimo Skyrim non faceva certo gridare al miracolo per definizione delle textures :-). Ottima l'acqua e apprezzatissima la possibilità di immergersi e scoprire a nuoto altre aree di gioco segrete.
    Migliorato molto inoltre il sistema di combattimento, ora più vario fin dall'inizio e meglio calibrato.
    Amo questo gioco e mi sento di consigliarlo a tutti gli appassionati del genere.
    W german rpg makers, Piranha Bytes forever in my heart.
    Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2014
    10
    This is why we play videogames! I LOVE IT! Rpg lovers, get this game asap! It's so much fun! Beautiful world! Skyrim eat your hearth out!This is why we play videogames! I LOVE IT! Rpg lovers, get this game asap! It's so much fun! Beautiful world! Skyrim eat your hearth out! Thank you so much Piranha Bytes for this gem!!! Expand
  4. Aug 24, 2014
    6
    Having played and somewhat enjoyed 1 & 2, I was looking forward to 3. True, they weren't the best RPG's out there, but there aren't that manyHaving played and somewhat enjoyed 1 & 2, I was looking forward to 3. True, they weren't the best RPG's out there, but there aren't that many of the genre period that I would not play mediocre titles.

    Firstly, let me state, that just prior to release, PBDS made a huge deal that this game was much more like 1 than 2; that would be a no....from the maps to the gameplay, this almost was 2....too bad.

    From the first moments of the game, any hope that PB improved the aesthetics or framerate issues significantly was dashed. FR is about on par with 2, not as horrid as 1. The animation is clearly second rate, it's an embarrassment. ...every woman looks like an East German athlete with a porn stars breast implants gone way too far....the design team must be tiny...and probably hates women :)

    As to the gameplay. The dodge-rolling breaks the game, it is literally impossible to be hit, let alone killed, if you simply want to keep mashing the roll...ridiculous. Other than that, combat is reasonable for the first 2/3rds of the game, but once leveled up, not even on Hard is the combat challenging.

    The story is decent and well paced, the world is relatively large and at times fun to explore. The loot system is improved over 1 and 2, as is the leveling system; there is no one way to play this game.

    Overall, if you are a fan of the genre and have time to kill, pick it up; if you aren't, steer clear.

    This series has so much promise and each game, it's a waste that they can;t get it right.

    PS. I have been reading that the game is buggy; I literally had 1 crash through 1.5 playthroughs...significantly below the average for games out there now.
    Expand
  5. Oct 21, 2014
    5
    Sure, they did a good job taking the best bits out of risen 1+2, but boy are there some gameplay bugs. It feels like they really rushed thisSure, they did a good job taking the best bits out of risen 1+2, but boy are there some gameplay bugs. It feels like they really rushed this one out. I had high hopes, but maybe borrow from a friend before you buy. Expand
  6. Aug 14, 2014
    1
    Hmmmm, where to start? From the outset and RISEN 3's earliest frames, blocky textures, screen-tearing and framerate issues abound.Hmmmm, where to start? From the outset and RISEN 3's earliest frames, blocky textures, screen-tearing and framerate issues abound. Technically, at least on 360, RISEN 3 is a functional mess; it hardlocked my console 5 times while questing or opening my inventory during the first island's initial journeys.

    Almost shovelware, certainly broken and unfinished, RISEN 3 at full retail price IS, imo, a moneygrab, brazen and egregious. Will Pirahna Bytes fix their "hot mess?" Not likely, as the first and second RISEN games still have most, if not all, of THEIR broken issues still present at this writing.

    Many other reviewers, professional and consumer, have also noted RISEN 3's poor FPS, microstuttering, unbalanced gameplay, and uneven presentation combined with poor texturing, bad lighting, and general lack of polish.

    Moreover, many gamers have noted the "simple" dodge and roll combat mechanics while yet another word may describe the combat in a more terse way: "stunlock." Your player-character will become stunlocked and killed repeatedly on various difficulty settings; mobs will attack and attack and attack while your character will recycle animations as hitpoints dwindle to a visit to the reload screen.

    Additionally, the game purports to have an autosave function that marks your place at random intervals in the gameworld; although, commonplace and effective elsewhere, in most games, in RISEN 3 during combat, while securing a potion or two, the autosave will cause the fps to plummet to slideshow effect, often locking up my XBOX 360.

    CAN these seemingly random issues be fixed? Imo, hardware issues, gameplay design and poor coding will forestall RISEN 3's rise above the rim of the porcelain bowl. :(
    Collapse
  7. Nov 22, 2014
    0
    this game horrible it has so many gilches making the very boring i wasn't dissapointed this game is the second worst game of this year afterthis game horrible it has so many gilches making the very boring i wasn't dissapointed this game is the second worst game of this year after last of us remasterd Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Trailers