Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Xbox Live Arcade] Wage war with five factions, each with unique abilities, in the original game of strategy and world domination! In RISK: Factions, play with the classic rules or reign supreme with objective-based and world conquest scenarios as you command your army and take tactical gambles to win the day. Then challenge your friends in local or online multiplayer and see how you stack up on the leaderboards. [Xbox.com] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. I may not be the greatest RISK: Factions player out there but it will definitely get my vote later this year when the time to choose our favorite downloadable games of the 2010.
  2. Risk Factions is a superb board game title, and offers plenty of fun: provided you're playing in the same room.
  3. With achievements, goals and a goofy storyline there's so much to love about Risk: Factions.
  4. Needlessly goofy presentation hurts a game which works well with friends and on a controller. [Sept 2010, p.121]
  5. RISK: Factions is a Xbox Live Arcade board game worthy of any strategy fan's attention. It doesn't break the standard formula nor does it take any risks to become anything more than an adaptation.
  6. As long as the online community holds up, this downloadable title will certainly be worth picking up for anyone looking for a little conquest and domination on the side.
  7. If you're new to the delights of Risk and are after a game that isn't overly taxing but challenging all the same, then this is worth checking out.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. NemoN.
    Jun 24, 2010
    9
    Great game, but they could have put in more. They made some neat additions to the game, but hopefully they will release a few extra boards with DLC, for the classic game especially. I remember an old computer game that used more detailed areas of Germany, Asia, the Mediterranean, etc. for maps, and I hope that those types come into this version eventually. At any rate, this version of Risk is fairly versatile (play the original, 2008 rule set, or add in their quirky twists,) and the animations can be entertaining to watch. Overall, this game is worth the $10 it asks for. Expand
  2. MikeJ
    Jun 25, 2010
    8
    Very solid interpretation of the board game. Especially fun when played against other humans. But, the campaign is only five missions; that's great in the sense that it doesn't get repetitive, but negative in the sense that you don't get more than a couple hours of campaign play. Expand
  3. Dec 2, 2010
    8
    A great arcade game combining the essential RISK themes and tactics and updating the experience with animated factions including cats, zombies and humans as well as new battlefield locations to control including a temple, crypts and barracks. The game is complete with a mini campaign where you will get play with each faction the game has to offer, multiplayer both offline and online is a great addition and adds to the experience well, ensuring you will get your money's worth. Should you not like the new rules and maps, the classic world map and "normal" factions are available in the dedicated game mode "Classic Risk". Highly recommended for Risk fans as well as those who like RTS and arcade games. Expand
  4. Aug 26, 2011
    6
    Campaign mode is too short and multiplayer is the only way to continue playing it because it would become boring playing with IA after few matches. I also think IA is too weak. 6 is the maximum vote I can give, nice game anyway Collapse
  5. May 27, 2011
    5
    This is a fun game with nice graphics, by far the best out of any Risk game, and some nice improvements for most Risk fans. It's worth the low price unless you are colour-blind. I find it impossible to distinguish between the green and yellow colours. I've also had problems with colours in other EA games, namely NHL when you're on the same team as a friend. It shouldn't be so difficult for EA to choose 5 colour-blind friendly colours when up to 10% of players are colour-blind. Expand
  6. Dec 6, 2012
    4
    Well, I've been playing Risk Factions on my xbox since 2010. I absolutely love the game. It is addictive and I would gladly rate it a 10 if the developers could have produced a solid game. There are just a few issues with the game freezing during online ranked matches. These issues have been voiced to EA for almost three years without a single patch. Every other game I can think of will occasionally have an update that needs to be installed prior to online game play. I've been waiting since 2010 for EA to at least try to address this issue, or update the game at least once. Customer support forums on EA website were flooded with solid customer feedback regarding issues encountered by all users. EA locked the threads and removed them from thier site. If you are thinking of purchasing an EA game, I would suggest that you make sure its going to be a very popular game before investing your hard earned dollars with a company that wont invest in their own games unless they make millions in revenue. This game could be an easy 10 with a simple patch. Expand
  7. dylanf
    Jun 26, 2010
    3
    It was a fun game, the campain is way too short. and I also have a lot of trouble getting it started, it freezes on the intro screen about 80% of the time on my xbox, which i have never had happen on anyother game. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews