Rock Band 3 Xbox 360

Rock Band 3 Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 139 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rock Band returns with another iteration of the popular music game featuring new songs and instruments.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 57
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 57
  3. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Oct 21, 2010
    100
    Video games -- not just rhythm games, but all video games -- rarely show this much ambition. Even more rare are occasions where developers manage to fulfill the impossibly lofty goals they set before themselves. Rock Band 3 manages both with ease, backing up brilliant ideas with flawless execution.
  2. Oct 28, 2010
    100
    Breathtaking in ambition and crafted with the skill of a studio that's been making music games for 15 years, Rock Band 3 is Harmonix's masterpiece – a towering achievement not just for the genre, but for the medium itself.
  3. Dec 21, 2010
    100
    Rock Band 3 continues to delight my gaming senses and eardrums, and I look forward in watching my wallet deplete of funds with new DLC songs and instrument options on down the line.
  4. It may be far less glamorous than new setlists and instruments, but the revamped user interface that underlies the whole experience is the game's most unqualified success. Fixing nearly every problem from previous installments, and layering in a whole new career structure, the new format is brilliant.
  5. Dec 21, 2010
    90
    The fact that Rock Band 3 is both easy to pick up and play while offering an intricate learning tool is a remarkable thing.
  6. Oct 28, 2010
    90
    Rock Band 3 is the ultimate music experience. New instruments are solid, the keyboard is fun to play, and the tracklist is splendid and varied.
  7. Dec 14, 2010
    78
    There's a lot to love about Rock Band 3 and there's been some awesome DLC already released…it's just that to get the full experience, you're going to need to drop some major dollars.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    Everyone has talked about how the rhythm gaming genre has been in slow decline for years, but fortunately no on at Harmonix took these claimsEveryone has talked about how the rhythm gaming genre has been in slow decline for years, but fortunately no on at Harmonix took these claims seriously. Rock Band 3 innovates that game in nearly every way possible and includes nearly all features that fans have requested for years.

    The biggest innovations are the addition of keys and Pro Mode. Keys(a 2.5 octave midi keyboard that can be played sitting or as a keytar) adds the last traditional rock instrument to the mix. With keys and harmony vocals(as first seen in The Beatles Rock Band) you can now have up to 7 players simultaneously rocking out. Pro Mode is Harmonix's response to the ever present question, "Why don't you just learn to play real instruments." Playing Pro Mode on Expert, that is exactly what you're doing. You're playing the actual guitar, bass, drum, and keyboard parts.

    While not as flashy, the new song management system is crucial for Rock Band players with hundreds of songs in their collection. Also handy is the ability to save custom playlists. The song selection is a great mix of classic hits, new stuff, and deep cuts. The only cons I can see:
    1. A few songs from RB1 and RB2 won't transfer into the RB3 library.
    2. Gone are crowd-singalongs for RB3 on-disc songs.
    3. To get the full Rock Band experience you need to spend a lot of money to get a pro guitar, keys, drum cymbals, and all the great DLC that is available. All in all this is a landmark game, and the pinnacle of the rhythm gaming genre.
    Expand
  2. Jan 7, 2015
    10
    The most impressive aspect of Rock Band 3 is the degree to which it blurs the lines between videogames and playing instruments for real. TheThe most impressive aspect of Rock Band 3 is the degree to which it blurs the lines between videogames and playing instruments for real. The pro modes for drums, keyboard and guitar/bass (requiring the pricy Pro Guitar controller - essentially a real guitar you can plug into your console) really are just like playing the real deal, so if you want to get into things to such a level then the game is powerful enough to offer you that option.

    As a game, it excels also. There are a myriad of modes to work your way through, both single and multiplayer, including comprehensive practice modes for each instrument, and with over 4000 downloadable tracks to choose from there's enough content to last you a lifetime. I'm still playing it after almost three years, at least. Of course, the most fun to be had is with a group of friends all playing together in the same room, but the experience is only slightly less satisfying when held online with internet people.

    It's difficult to see how Harmonix could have improved upon Rock Band 3 in any way - it is the ultimate refinement of its genre. The game is so definitive that they've stopped making Rock Band games and are now making one based on Fantasia instead. The best music/rhythm videogame.
    Expand
  3. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    Flawless rhythm game. Interface is outstanding. Game runs smoothly. Adds keyboards and pro guitar ... if you're into that kind of thing. I'm aFlawless rhythm game. Interface is outstanding. Game runs smoothly. Adds keyboards and pro guitar ... if you're into that kind of thing. I'm a little disappointed that you must pay to transfer songs from Rock Band 2 (since I already have paid for that game) but so it goes. Not sure where Harmonix can go from here. This is the evolution of rhythm gaming. Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    Yet another great effort by the guys at Harmonix. While many would argue that the rhythm game market has slowly began to shrink, Harmonix areYet another great effort by the guys at Harmonix. While many would argue that the rhythm game market has slowly began to shrink, Harmonix are making a quiet riot (Spot the nod to a certain band?) and a lot of people are starting to take notice. I've been a big fan of Harmonix ever since Rock Band (the original) and an avid player. I personally feel that while Activision sold out with Guitar Hero, Harmonix kept it innovative and fresh. On with the review:

    Gameplay (7/10): Harmonix managed to make the singleplayer of Rock Band 3 better than that of Rock Band 2 and the original. They've trimmed the excess fat and made the game linear without cutting out any of the good parts. It plays well but once you've finished it, it struggles to keep you entertained.

    Graphics (8/10): The graphics for Rock Band games have always been cartoon-y, and in most games people would laugh it off, but the great part about Rock Band is that it doesn't take itself seriously, and for that reason the graphics are good enough to enjoy. They won't hurt your eyes while playing (Although some of the backgrounds have incredible levels of strobe lighting that can be very distracting), but all in all they are sufficient.

    Sound (10/10): This is the reason Rock Band excels in what it does: The quality of every instrument comes through in the tracks, and most of them have been recorded to such an efficient level that its like you're listening to an MP3 track rather than playing it through a game. There is no distortion or problem with any of the tracks, and they are crystal clear in their delivery. Simply amazing.

    Multiplayer (9/10): Increasingly, playing with other people has become the mainstay of Rock Band, and let's face it, why would you play on your own when you can jump online and complete any song you like, story-mode or quickplay, with up to three other players? It makes the whole experience feel more enjoyable and there's few things more gratifying than finishing a song and seeing your band manage 97%+ all on Expert. The Quickplay mode is surprisingly long-lasting and even now (Having the game for over a year) I still enjoy playing online with people across the globe.

    Lasting value (9/10): This game really does have so much to keep every type of player interested. Just want to sing I Wanna Be Sedated by The Ramones for a bit of nostalgia? Hit Easy mode with the No Fail Mode and wail to your heart's content. Feel like getting some practice in? There's plenty of tutorials for every single instrument to hone your skills and make you the player that you want to be. Just fancy making your character look like a proper rocker? Hundreds of clothing options are open to you to customise to your content. Or are you perhaps the kind of player who won't settle for second best, and wants to 100% every song on Expert? Hiscores for every instrument and every song with detailed tracking give you the choice.

    With constant unlocks to make the game fluently develop, a strong online fanbase and a constant flow of songs for the serious fan, Rock Band will drag you kicking and screaming back again and again. Any small flaws can be overlooked because - Take it from the guy who spent a long time getting to a proud 6th in the world on Stand For Something by Skindred once upon a time - this game is addictive with a capital A.
    Collapse
  5. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    Ok Pro mode is the next great step in the music game genre. That said, the game itself is great in every standpoint, except the music list, IOk Pro mode is the next great step in the music game genre. That said, the game itself is great in every standpoint, except the music list, I felt like the 83 tracks on this game were a little stale. Maybe 10 of the songs were anything i was remotely interested in playing, porting my old music over fixed that problem though. All the minor changes in my mind are what shines the most, dropping in dropping out mid song with no penalty, pausing rewinds the track a few seconds. not having to make money to buy clothes, the list goes on, its a fun experience right out of the box , none of this grinding through the story mode too unlock songs, all around i am enjoying this experience very much. Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2010
    8
    To be honest i haven't played or own this game yet but if its like and or better than the second Rock Band this one is something to put onTo be honest i haven't played or own this game yet but if its like and or better than the second Rock Band this one is something to put on your wish list for sure. Expand
  7. Nov 6, 2010
    3
    This game was a HUGE letdown, i love the second and i gave it a 10/10 for its amazing set list and how realistic the tabs were. The only thingThis game was a HUGE letdown, i love the second and i gave it a 10/10 for its amazing set list and how realistic the tabs were. The only thing that is good about the third one is for how realistic its tabs are, and how many song are available for download. I bought the pro drums for 130 bucks and they would randomly fall apart, and hit notes aromatically without me even playing them. I sold them to gamestop and i got a new one, and i got the same problem. Right now i am heading to gamestop to get as much money as i can to get for this worthless game. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Trailers