Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rock Band Blitz is the first download-only entry in the Rock Band franchise from Harmonix.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Sep 17, 2012
    93
    In closing, I can't help but think a local co-op option would have been a great addition that would have attracted a wider audience. If you couple this with the fact that Rock Band 3 songs are still unable to be imported, there are a couple of things that stop this from being a 100% scoring game, but nonetheless, it is still a fantastic entry into the rhythm game genre.
  2. Sep 4, 2012
    90
    After a rocky couple of years for rhythm-action, in which Guitar Hero came to an end and Rock Band 3 failed to repeat the retail success of its predecessors, it's fantastic to see Harmonix back on top with a game that reinvigorates the genre in new and interesting ways. But, more than that, it's just great to have an extremely playable reason to return to some old favourite songs.
  3. Aug 27, 2012
    85
    Rock Band Blitz is great. The core gameplay will keep you switching and tapping like a madman or woman, and the inability to fail allows anyone to get excited and enjoy the experience.
  4. 80
    Not only is the couch-friendly design a big shift for Rock Band, but so is the newfound emphasis on score rather than accuracy.
  5. Aug 29, 2012
    75
    Rocking out to your favorite band is a blast, and the ability to instantly use all past DLC is a very smart move, but the game doesn't have the same wow factor as the original.
  6. Sep 14, 2012
    70
    The Harmonix experiment is only half good. The fast-paced mechanics of gameplay shifts the balance from the pure taste of song execution to exasperated hi-score.
  7. Aug 27, 2012
    60
    Rock Band Blitz manages to improve on its predecessors' concept and control schemes, but the harsh monetization of its music and repetitive controller-based gameplay ultimately doesn't measure up to the feeling of a real Rock Band experience.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    For long-time fans of Frequency and Amplitude prior to the Guitar Hero and Rock Band era, Rock Band Blitz is a more accessible and no lessFor long-time fans of Frequency and Amplitude prior to the Guitar Hero and Rock Band era, Rock Band Blitz is a more accessible and no less engaging experience. If you immersed yourself in those games as much as my friends and I did (ultimately, Amplitude is what brought my wife and I together), Rock Band Blitz is a big 'ol love letter straight from Harmonix... just make sure you change up the controller to a less alien mapping. Expand
  2. Aug 31, 2012
    10
    This is what you call a true sleeper hit.There is unlimited replay value and a game that surprised me in just about every way.I didn't thinkThis is what you call a true sleeper hit.There is unlimited replay value and a game that surprised me in just about every way.I didn't think it was possible for a video game to be so fun.The company that's direction was going for simulation in music gaming comes back and slaps us in the face with arcade genius.Whenever I wanted to play the arcade versions of music I would pop in one of my Guitar Hero games and just have good ol' fashion fun.When I wanted to play a little on the real side of the music genre I would play my Rock Band collection,not saying that I will quit playing GH games but this is a big reason in my mind to play this work of art before I play my next GH game,just BRILLIANT! Collapse
  3. Jul 11, 2014
    9
    If you had a hard and rough day and if you just want to lay back and chill to a simple and thrilling game, this game is right for you! It isIf you had a hard and rough day and if you just want to lay back and chill to a simple and thrilling game, this game is right for you! It is mostly just a simplified version of Rock Band, as you also got to use your skill and reflexes to score the most multipliers in the part of the song while trying to score massive points as you do it.

    Nonetheless, Rock Band Blitz is a simple game that you could sit back and play for a decent amount of time, with its song list and DLC if you want to buy any of those. It is great, and I recommend this game for the recreational gamers out there.
    Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2012
    9
    Blending elements from their earlier games, Frequency/Amplitude with Rock Band on PSP, throwing in power-ups and a highly competitive scoringBlending elements from their earlier games, Frequency/Amplitude with Rock Band on PSP, throwing in power-ups and a highly competitive scoring mechanism has lead to one of the most addicting titles I have played in years. Lookins at videos, it is easy to get weary about this game. With only 2 notes to play per track, I didn't see how it could stand up to Frequency/Amplitude. Luckily, the way it is set up, you are thankful there isn't 3 notes per lane. You use the joysticks to 'flick' each note, at first it is daunting, but eventually you learn finesse and everything clicks.

    Rock Band Blitz manages to be quite a fun arcade game, I really hope they continue to make new ways to play my music since all my Rock Band DLC works perfectly fine in this game, effectively making replay a near infinite thing...especially when you think about replaying songs over and over to improve your tactics and strategy. I sat down and played for 6 hours straight last night and only left because I needed sleep for work, the game is addictive and hard to put down. Now I am at work and can't stop thinking about this game. That is how you know they made something special.

    I have not been let down by Harmonix yet. They managed to improve upon the formula of their first games, while giving me extra value out of the hundreds of DLC tracks I have bought for Rock Band over the years...that is just an unbeatable deal. If you are someone who still plays Rock Band or has stopped but still has a mountain of DLC, there should be nothing stopping you from picking up this game.
    Expand
  5. Sep 7, 2012
    8
    This game is a lot of fun. It is a wonderful step in the right direction for a genre that seemed to be losing its muster. The fact that allThis game is a lot of fun. It is a wonderful step in the right direction for a genre that seemed to be losing its muster. The fact that all previous downloaded content works with this game is incredible and the price is too cheap to not purchase this game if you enjoy playing Rock Band. The coin system, which ultimately makes you play through songs without going for a high score, is the only negative about the game. My thumbs hurt from playing so much. Expand
  6. Aug 29, 2012
    8
    Very addicting, hypnotic, but all Blitz is is a more modern version of Amplitude. That being said, that game stole many hours of my life. TheVery addicting, hypnotic, but all Blitz is is a more modern version of Amplitude. That being said, that game stole many hours of my life. The mechanics are a little easier than Amplitude however, instead of hitting specific buttons, you press the thumb sticks in the direction of the "note." But the best aspect about this, in my opinion, is that it uses all of your Rockband 3 data. A great game to play when just needing to kill some time and chill out. Expand
  7. Sep 8, 2012
    5
    the game is quite annoying, but the fact that the songs import freely is the best thing of this game, it's just disappointing, but I'd say ifthe game is quite annoying, but the fact that the songs import freely is the best thing of this game, it's just disappointing, but I'd say if you're into this type of games go for it, spend some 1200MSP (NOTE: this isn't really a Rhythm Videogame like previous ones). As for the setlist, "One Week", "Spoonman" and "Give It Away" are the best of this offer Expand

See all 8 User Reviews