User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 178 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 178
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RaffiC
    Aug 7, 2008
    4
    Overrated by most, overpriced by anyone's standards. The controllers/instruments are of poor quality and design. Gameplay is so-so. I much prefer the fret board of GH2-3, and even their bango-sized guitar, over RB crap. I'll give them points for graphics and character customizability, as well as endowing the additional instruments for song play. Speaking of which, their song Overrated by most, overpriced by anyone's standards. The controllers/instruments are of poor quality and design. Gameplay is so-so. I much prefer the fret board of GH2-3, and even their bango-sized guitar, over RB crap. I'll give them points for graphics and character customizability, as well as endowing the additional instruments for song play. Speaking of which, their song list isn't bad, about the same as GH3 in overall quality nd enjoyability. Overall, i thoroughly regret the purchase and would not recommend it to any soloists. It's, IMO, intending for those wanting to play with their friends or family 90+ percent of the time. Expand
  2. PDodd
    Jan 23, 2010
    10
    This is the only game to date (bar Rock Band 2) that i can play with my wife and my two girls at the same time and actually enjoy the experience, the actual guitar play aswell for some reason feels more real then GH3 and the fact that you can use the GH controller with this but you can't use the Rb with GH3 makes it a bigger boon to play.
  3. RyanF.
    Nov 23, 2007
    0
    Not worth the price. Broke already
  4. JimR.
    Nov 25, 2007
    6
    Song list is great but guitar play isn't nearly as good as Guitar Hero III and the drums pretty much stink. As for the karaoke, who really cares.
  5. Mar 24, 2011
    7
    this game is best as a party game if you have some friends to play with it can be a blast . playing by your self is pretty dull and not as good as guitar hero 3 . the song list also isnt as good . the rock band guitar also sucks ass compared to the guitar hero one . but being able to play drums , sing and play bass give this game more dimension then guitar hero . the graphics also suck andthis game is best as a party game if you have some friends to play with it can be a blast . playing by your self is pretty dull and not as good as guitar hero 3 . the song list also isnt as good . the rock band guitar also sucks ass compared to the guitar hero one . but being able to play drums , sing and play bass give this game more dimension then guitar hero . the graphics also suck and look like the belong on the PS2 but this kind of game isnt made by the graphics . its a good entry by harmonix who did much better with rock band 2 which if you havent played any of them skip this one and get that and only get this if you wana pay $5 for a license on the xbox store to get all the songs off the first one on to the second. also a much better selection of DLC songs got to be enar or over a 1000 songs by now . Expand
  6. AshtonJ.
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    I was never a big fan of the GH series but I instantly fell in love with Rock Band. I love vocals but its always fun to switch it up even if you have to drop down a couple difficulty levels to do so. If you enjoy this game I highly recommend moving on to Rock Band 2 if you haven't yet. It fells like a more complete version of this game, you can even transfer the songs of RB to RB2!
  7. J.G.
    Jan 3, 2008
    9
    Very entertaining from start to finish. all the instruments and executed perfectly throughout the game. The band world tour is flawless and can be played for hours with friends. The only drawback of the package is that its 170$, but since its so good its worth the price.
  8. DaveE.
    Apr 8, 2008
    0
    The reason I'm voting this game 0 is the price. The UK pricing is £180... That's more than the console. The game is 170 US dollars... So the UK prices works out at about 355 US dollars for EXACTLY the same game, just cause we happen to live over the ocean. Disgraceful!
  9. IanC
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    *FROM A UK PLAYER* Awesome, well worth the cash, drums are most excellent, and I find the guitar BETTER than Guitar Hero, seems faster, more exciting and a lot less twiddly, more like playing an instrument and less like playing a game. And yes I play guitar and drums for real too, so I have a frame of reference. Of course, guitar isn't too close to the real thing, closer than GH tho, *FROM A UK PLAYER* Awesome, well worth the cash, drums are most excellent, and I find the guitar BETTER than Guitar Hero, seems faster, more exciting and a lot less twiddly, more like playing an instrument and less like playing a game. And yes I play guitar and drums for real too, so I have a frame of reference. Of course, guitar isn't too close to the real thing, closer than GH tho, but drums are almost a trainer for real drum playing, you need an excellent sense of rhythm and timing, it's a real and very enjoyable challenge. I know it's expensive, but it is worth it. PS, no problems with the instruments yet. Expand
  10. JoshuaH.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This game is perfection. Amazingly fun game to play by yourself or with a few others. The set list spans many years and is categorized by difficulty. It's easy to jump into and will entice anyone around to watch what's going on. The character creation is fun and deeper than you would see on the surface. Online play is seem-less and the World Tour is epic with it's many This game is perfection. Amazingly fun game to play by yourself or with a few others. The set list spans many years and is categorized by difficulty. It's easy to jump into and will entice anyone around to watch what's going on. The character creation is fun and deeper than you would see on the surface. Online play is seem-less and the World Tour is epic with it's many venues, goals, and pure vastness of it all. Great game that deserves a 10 for not skimping on anything. Expand
  11. NateB.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    I bouth Guitar Hero III but then returned it when I found out this was coming out in a couple days. I was a bit worried it wouldn't be as much fun with just one person, but i was completely wrong. Some reviews say that it is not as much fun as Guitar Heor one player but boy, they might have been trying to level out the competition but clearly, there is non. Go buy this game I bouth Guitar Hero III but then returned it when I found out this was coming out in a couple days. I was a bit worried it wouldn't be as much fun with just one person, but i was completely wrong. Some reviews say that it is not as much fun as Guitar Heor one player but boy, they might have been trying to level out the competition but clearly, there is non. Go buy this game immediately even if you have no interest in it. It is hands down one of the best games I have ever owned. Expand
  12. MorganK.
    Dec 13, 2007
    3
    So close to greatness, but unfortunately a totally broken, failed release. All my interested friends who were psyched to play after months of me talking about it came over the night of the launch and we played all night - it was great fun and everyone had a blast. Towards the end of the night the Stratocaster died on the downstrum like most people's. At the time it was being played So close to greatness, but unfortunately a totally broken, failed release. All my interested friends who were psyched to play after months of me talking about it came over the night of the launch and we played all night - it was great fun and everyone had a blast. Towards the end of the night the Stratocaster died on the downstrum like most people's. At the time it was being played on Medium bass. It was ok, though, as we were mostly going to be a three piece band and I still had the Xplorer from Guitar Hero II to use and I'd been reading on here that others were having the same problem and the replacements were on the way out. After a couple of days i did the non-express RMA. Although the shipper mis-delivered it, I did eventually get the empty RMA box and send the guitar out. As of today, no replacement has arrived. As we played I noticed huge issues for the mic lagging way behind the vocal tracks - this has been well documented on here as a software issue - and it was ok as long as you didn't have to do a speaking/rapping part on one of the higher difficulties. Also, having sung in a couple of bands, i have a pretty projecting singing voice, but I had to rein that way in to keep the cheap mic from freaking out at louder sounds, even after turning the sensitivity way down. It seems to be fine there as long as you are singing in a high head voice with no vibrato - which sounds really stupid most of the time, but it was still funny to hear my friends do it. For a while. I was going to buy a new, better USB mic, but was waiting for the mic lag problem to be fixed. I guess it doesn't matter now, though. Also, we started to notice a crack forming and the hinge of the bass pedal. We have just started to get to the beginnings of Hard drumming and since I'd been hearing about broken bass pedals on here since launch, I'd enforced a socks-only drumming rule. So anticipating it breaking fully eventually, I did another non-Express RMA for the pedal. Yesterday the bass pedal snapped about 30 seconds after our first play through the just-purchased DLC, The Ramones Rockaway Beach with the drummer on Easy, in socks. It snapped in a totally different place than the first crack - halfway between the hinge and the spring, easily breaking through the support plastic crisscrosses on the bottom. So, since after several days my RMA box for the pedal still hadn't shipped according to the UPS site, I called EA Support to see if I could upgrade the RMA to Express by giving them my credit card. After 2 attempts, I was both times disconnected immediately when I hit '1' to speak with Customer Support instead of the automated menu tree. As of this writing, the empty RMA box still hasn't shipped. Even after all this - now that the only properly functioning piece of hardware in this game is my 2 year old-that-I bought-used and heavily-abused-through-Expert Guitar Hero II Xplorer. The concept is great, the software is pretty solid, but the massive scale of the peripheral failure taints this game to the extent that it cannot be recommended. It's not worth the headache of dealing with endless cycle of failed hardware and 2 month warranties - either give it a year and see if they've fixed all their problems, or simply wait for Rock Band 2, because this is a trainwreck. Expand
  13. BryanB.
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    As long as you're familiar with the divide between playing a rhythm game and actually playing an instrument, this game will not disappoint you. The song selection is excellent (with more downloadable apparently every week), the interface is intuitive and it's great to break out at parties.
  14. SeanD.
    Jan 16, 2008
    9
    This game is amazing! But don't get me wrong, it does has flaws... The drum set isn't as sturdy as I had hoped it would be...and the guitar (although it is amazing) takes getting used to compared to the guitar hero 3 or 2 ones. This game is really fun for local multiplayer but online is WAY worse... There is barely anyone online and there is only tug of war or score deul...which This game is amazing! But don't get me wrong, it does has flaws... The drum set isn't as sturdy as I had hoped it would be...and the guitar (although it is amazing) takes getting used to compared to the guitar hero 3 or 2 ones. This game is really fun for local multiplayer but online is WAY worse... There is barely anyone online and there is only tug of war or score deul...which is basically the same thing but showing score/who's winning differently... Also the connections for the headsets could be fixed to work better... mine has some static and my friend even broke his headset trying to put his on... this game is especially fun if you know people that have it as well. For the most part the songs are great as well although there could be more... I feel like this game was pushed for a holiday release when it shouldn't have been... There isn't the option to play as a band with people online in band world tour which is a HUGE dissapointment for me.... Also the price tag for this game is fairly hefty...but for what you get it is worth it! I feel like I am only mentioning flaws, but remember these are for the most part minor issues. The game is overall a fantastic experience! Expand
  15. SteveK.
    Jan 31, 2008
    9
    This game is amazing and deep. Very well made. A great party game that gets you very invovled. Having fans and little challenges in the gigs (kinda like Fable's bast system) is an ingenious way to make you more invested in your performances. It's not without it's faults though. The interface is a little klunky and user unfriendly. Navigating the menus is much much harder This game is amazing and deep. Very well made. A great party game that gets you very invovled. Having fans and little challenges in the gigs (kinda like Fable's bast system) is an ingenious way to make you more invested in your performances. It's not without it's faults though. The interface is a little klunky and user unfriendly. Navigating the menus is much much harder than it should be. They've made some poor choices to make the game user unfriendly.... why is solo play only for singers? I realize you can go into multiplayer and just do one instrument, but the tags solo and mulit are a bit deceptive, no? And why is it that if I set a band leader, I can never change his/her instrument plus I HAVE to play with that guy all the time. Sometimes you just get sick of singing. :P This was a very poor choice. Giving players more freedom is always a good thing. Most of these things can be forgiven, but I would advise Harmonix to WATCH a few new players try to navigate their menus and set up a band and play the game for the next round of RB. Expand
  16. Davie
    Feb 5, 2008
    1
    I feel you have to judge a game by playing it youself before you review it. Sadly this isn't released in the UK or the whole of europe and wont be for anytime soon. So it gets a low score.
  17. shorty
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    This is the best music games out there if you got the extra cash or just love guitar hero this game is for you.
  18. LorenI.
    Mar 5, 2008
    9
    One of the best games I've ever played! If you love music and video games, this game is it!
  19. JordanK
    Apr 5, 2008
    9
    great game. There are not a whole lot of flaws. will definitely give guitar hero a run for it's money. And the instruments are not faulty. I got it, been beating the crap out of the drums for a couple of months now, and besides the occasionally missed yellow note, it's working perfect. i guess with rock band it's just the luck of the draw.
  20. MikeS.
    Jul 1, 2008
    5
    Lacking the challenge and skill requirements of Guitar Hero III, Rock Band is a good concept with weak peripherals that is just way too easy.
  21. EricB.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    The game is truly amazing. Guitar feels a lot more solid and has many more features than the Guitar Hero ones, an extremely wide range of songs from different genres, and it's essentially four games in one. This is the ultimate rhythm game, hands down.
  22. JillR.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This game is amazing - it connects you to other people in a way that only music can do and it overcomes the barrier of playing in front of a crowd - YOU CAN ROCK! You CAN be a rock star! It is so much FUN!!!
  23. MichaelF.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    Amazing experience, improves on Guitar Hero, weekly DLC support - all great. Guitar broke the first week, but the express replacement came in two days and has worked great. Beyond expectations.
  24. EthanW.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    This is one of the best if not the best game of the year besides portal. Revolutionary feeling while playing this game. The reason their aren't more positive user reviews is the fact that they are all to busy playing it to care. Drums - really fun but hard, vocals - more fun then i thought they would be, guitar/bass - brilliant. There is a reason this game won music game of the year This is one of the best if not the best game of the year besides portal. Revolutionary feeling while playing this game. The reason their aren't more positive user reviews is the fact that they are all to busy playing it to care. Drums - really fun but hard, vocals - more fun then i thought they would be, guitar/bass - brilliant. There is a reason this game won music game of the year at the VGA's over guitar hero 3. Its better. Expand
  25. AO
    Dec 4, 2007
    8
    Rick I think he meant it literally broke, not that the gameplay is broken. Very fun game by the way.
  26. SophiaL.
    Jan 13, 2008
    2
    Could have been a great game, but the rushed-to-market instruments ruin it. While some have had luck with getting fixed instruments, we've spent months waiting for the 'fixed' hardware only to get the same faulty gear back. Unfortunately we can't even sell it, as the widespread failure rate on the hardware blocks GameStop from letting you sell it back - while it's Could have been a great game, but the rushed-to-market instruments ruin it. While some have had luck with getting fixed instruments, we've spent months waiting for the 'fixed' hardware only to get the same faulty gear back. Unfortunately we can't even sell it, as the widespread failure rate on the hardware blocks GameStop from letting you sell it back - while it's a fun concept, the execution is miserable - everyone should just wait for Rock Band II rather than get screwed over by EA and Harmonix on this disaster. The brilliant concept is undeniable, the 4th rate hardware is inexcusable - if you're reading this ad thinking 'whatever, my drum pedal is fine' just give it a couple more weeks and I 'd bet money it's' busted - they knew the hardware was faulty and shipped it anyway just to make their holiday revenue look better - the gear is crap and woe be unto anyone who buys this and expects it to last more than a month - never have I seen a better example of reviews-gone-wrong than this, where the game itself is left unplayable by faulty hardware - avoid at all costs!! Expand
  27. T.S.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    The thing to remember when considering Rock Band: this game is FUN when played with friends (as was its purpose, obviously). If you buy the Special Edition just to have it, you'll nitpick until you find a reason to hate it. If you are a child of 70s, 80s, and or 90s music, you'll love the tracks included. There's plenty from "today" too, but the nostalgic is really where The thing to remember when considering Rock Band: this game is FUN when played with friends (as was its purpose, obviously). If you buy the Special Edition just to have it, you'll nitpick until you find a reason to hate it. If you are a child of 70s, 80s, and or 90s music, you'll love the tracks included. There's plenty from "today" too, but the nostalgic is really where it's at. And with the downloadable content, it seems that the track list might be "Endless" someday afterall. Sure, the guitar is not as good as the Les Paul that comes with Guitar Hero III, but that's no reason to run away. You'll get a workout on the drums. And you'll find out you can't sing as well as you thought! It's a new game, so the makers will work out the kinks, but it's worth getting right away and getting used to it. The changes will only make it better. Expand
  28. JohnW.
    Dec 26, 2008
    8
    Great game for the family, but not for a more intense player who's accustomed to GHIII. It's a hugely fun party game, and creating your own rockstar is fun as well. But a lack of a hyperspeed and the shoddy guitar peripheral left me a little disappointed.
  29. D_rekg
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    Rock Band is a fun game with a group of friends and is still fun by yourself. The song list is way better than any guitar hero list to date. Although its a great game I have been having trouble with the guitar it came with. The green fret button was shown on the screen as being held down when it really wasnt. The whammy bar spring broke as well. I sent away for a new one but until then i Rock Band is a fun game with a group of friends and is still fun by yourself. The song list is way better than any guitar hero list to date. Although its a great game I have been having trouble with the guitar it came with. The green fret button was shown on the screen as being held down when it really wasnt. The whammy bar spring broke as well. I sent away for a new one but until then i have just been using the xplorer(which I think is better than the new fender). Expand
  30. RyanM.
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    Absolutely spectacular. I was fortunate enough to get this even after the holidays (they were quite hard to find) and I haven't stopped playing since. Any problems I've had have been easily resolved and the fun has continued. It's so rewarding having your friends playing alongside you and creating what you would want to look like as a rock star. While the character Absolutely spectacular. I was fortunate enough to get this even after the holidays (they were quite hard to find) and I haven't stopped playing since. Any problems I've had have been easily resolved and the fun has continued. It's so rewarding having your friends playing alongside you and creating what you would want to look like as a rock star. While the character customization is somewhat limited, the guitar/bass customization is badass, you can make your dream guitar, be it hot pink with dancing unicorns, or a black guitar soaked in a bloody handprint, you can do all that and more. The setlist too, makes the game awesome (aside from The Beastie Boys, blech), and this is the game that literally keeps on giving as each week more songs are posted online in the Marketplace, and the amount of songs that Harmonix can add to this game is virtually endless. Another fun little side note is the fact that while you may not know a lot of the songs on this game, I've actually discovered four or five songs that I went to download off of iTunes, if you loved Guitar Hero, be prepared to get blown away by Rock Band, as it takes everything Guitar Hero did good, and makes it better. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 72 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 72
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 72
  3. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. Rock Band is so close to being a must-have game for any self respecting, music-loving gamer, but unless you’ve got money to burn and friends on tap, Rock Band isn’t half the game it could have been for half the cost [Say again, Bilbo - Ed].
  2. Problems are present, such as the inclusion of a few foreign tracks in mystery set lists during the World Tour (not the easiest of songs to jump into without having any prior experience) and we still prefer the guitars included with Guitar Hero, but these aren't enough to hurt what is a unique gaming experience.
  3. Rock Band's longevity will last as long as it has support for it.