Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 100
    Compared to this year’s edition, the first Rocksmith was only a soundcheck. This version has all the quirks and bugs sorted out and brings a perfectly balanced tool for anyone who’s too shy to take guitar or bass lessons. [Issue#237]
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    100
    With the option to learn bass, lead and rhythm guitar out of the box, non-stop custom playlists, and lessons that are broken down into skippable parts,Rocksmith 2014 really does offer something to guitarists of all skill levels.
  3. Oct 26, 2013
    96
    Rocksmith 2014 is the reason closet guitarist are coming out, and maybe creating the next generation of musical artists all in one.
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    95
    The new Rocksmith is the nearest thing to an interactive guitar course, with the added fun of a video game. The guitar lessons and the new Session mode are great additions: definitely recommended to every guitarist wannabe or even expert musicians.
  5. Oct 28, 2013
    92
    A good idea turned almost to perfection and a perfect tool for all those who'd like to learn to play a guitar or a bass: Rocksmith 2014 Edition is all of the above and some fun more.
  6. Dec 15, 2013
    90
    Rocksmith transforms the boring process of learning how to play guitar in a fun, engaging and useful game. If you already know how to play guitar, you can always polish your technique and hear new songs.
  7. 90
    Less a party game than clever learning software, Rocksmith 2014 is a highly personalised, customisable and responsive guitar tutoring tool that improves upon the original in almost every regard.
  8. Dec 13, 2013
    90
    Rocksmith 2014 is a towering achievement on console, sitting somewhere between instructional software and rhythm action game...Joins that small club of video games that imbue their player with a truly transferable physical skill.
  9. Dec 9, 2013
    90
    The proof is in the pudding, and I'm happy to say that I went from an absolute beginner on guitar to feeling some level of mastery (on some songs, at least). It may not teach you all the guitar theory or how to read music, but it is a fantastic tool for learning and enjoying the guitar.
  10. Dec 6, 2013
    90
    Rocksmith 2014 is an amazing game for beginners and guitar pro's alike. The game offers a lot of variation, a lot of modes and is one of the best music games on the market.
  11. Nov 26, 2013
    90
    Rocksmith 2014 is hands down the best music game I have ever played. It turns honing skills and learning an instrument into an incredibly enjoyable game which constantly feeds you positive feedback. You'll be coming back again an again, not just to play your favorite songs, but also to jam around with the virtual band.
  12. Nov 5, 2013
    90
    Rocksmith 2014 reconfirms itself as an excellent educational tool for learning guitar, especially because is capable to correct those aspects that were lacking in the first version.
  13. Nov 2, 2013
    90
    Rocksmith 2014 has fixed the imperfections of the original, and it adds a set of new modes making the game great in functions and incredibly entertaining tool as a tutorial to play guitar.
  14. Oct 31, 2013
    90
    Rocksmith 2014 many improvements on its predecessor see the franchise elevated from a decent diversion to a great tool for budding strummers and shredders. There’s a ton of quality content to get through, but best of all it’s presented in an appealing and addicting manner that takes much of the pain from practice
  15. Oct 24, 2013
    90
    Rocksmith 2014 is a very impressive guitar learning experience. Its comprehensive suite of lessons and practice formats, fun mini-games and hugely entertaining Session Mode make it suitable for anyone, from novices who've never picked up a guitar to competent players looking to improve their technique.
  16. Oct 22, 2013
    90
    Whether you’re looking to learn guitar, brush up on your existing skills or looking for something to practising your current skills with, Rocksmith 2014 scratches all of the guitar-based itches you could possibly hope for.
  17. Oct 22, 2013
    90
    What makes Rocksmith 2014 such a great companion for any guitarist or bassist is its power to incentivise: it’s capable of sparking new passions or rekindling old ones in players of all skill levels via its successful gamification of common guitar-playing techniques.
  18. Oct 22, 2013
    90
    So here I sit, fingers raw from playing. Rocksmith 2014 has done something I didn’t think was possible after its predecessor failed at the same task – it has made me want to learn the guitar and bass.
  19. 89
    The original game was a fantastic teaching tool with a little bit of fun added in, and while Rocksmith 2014 Edition is once again a great guitar teaching tool, it has a whole lot more fun included this time around. This fun factor blurs the lines somewhat as it is way more enjoyable this time around, or at least it feels that way and you may not consider it a guitar-teaching tool at all, which in itself is a testament to the development crew.
  20. Oct 25, 2013
    86
    Due to missing feedback in certain situations Rocksmith is still not able to replace the teacher, but if you have basic knowledge of using a six-string you will get a lot out of this. And it is darn fun, too!
  21. Dec 12, 2013
    85
    Speaking as a student undoubtedly on the same level as most people who would invest in Rocksmith 2014 as guitar-learning software and not a music game they can use their own guitar with, there’s nothing about my time with the game—and my development as a guitarist through its use—that leaves me with any doubt about its efficacy.
  22. 85
    2012's edition of Rocksmith suffered from some slight latency problems, making it hard to hit notes accurately. This year's release fixes that. [Jan 2014, p.67]
  23. Dec 4, 2013
    85
    Ubisoft did it again. Rocksmith 2014 Edition is a great and fun way to learn how to play guitar. Learn with lessons, songs you like or the fun Guitarcade mode, it's your choice. So far, Rocksmith 2014 Edition is a great guitar teacher right in your living room.
  24. Oct 31, 2013
    83
    Rocksmith 2014 Edition is the most fun you will have learning how to play guitar hands down.
  25. Dec 17, 2013
    80
    We learnt Paint it Black note-for-note in about an hour this morning; that definitely wouldn't have happened without Rocksmith. [Issue#142, p.111]
  26. 80
    The improvements all help make it a much better learning tool. [Issue#104, p.80]
  27. Oct 31, 2013
    80
    Rocksmith 2014 may not have party-game appeal due to its strong focus on educating the player, but it definitely has jam session appeal.
  28. Oct 22, 2013
    80
    If you think that repeating the same 10-second phrase of a song dozens of times until you master it is fun and rewarding on its own, then Rocksmith 2014 is an excellent way to enhance that experience; and its suite of tutorials, minigames, and other distractions will go a long way towards keeping you interested.
  29. Oct 22, 2013
    80
    Rocksmith isn't going to be replacing the likes of a keen ear, a copy of Guitar Pro, and a good set of tabs for me, but when I think back to when I bashed out my first clumsy Green Day chords on guitar, I'd have killed for as good a teacher as this.
  30. 70
    If you are into rock music you will love the track list. And as a bonus Rocksmith 2014 truly teaches you to play the guitar or bass. Just don’t expect to be held in the hand if you are a total beginner or challenged if you are an experienced musician.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    The Original Rocksmith got me started. Rocksmith 2014 is leaps and bounds ahead! Seems to be Re-Written from ground up. On Xbox360 and PC versions I've had ZERO Lag. Very fast to get where I want to go.

    Songs that I played in Rocksmith 1 were brought over to the 2014 and there's even more to some of these songs, now that the new engine can recognized flourishes, chackas and other things that the original couldn't. Almost have to unlearn some of what I've learned prior to play even better.

    What blew me out of the park was playing "Carry On My Wayward Son". Having mastered it in RS1, the 2014 version was more indepth and the nuances I was missing from RS1 has arrived! PLUS it went from Distortion to Clean and back to Distortion RIGHT when it needed to without me having to do anything.

    OMG!! LOVE THIS GAME and GENRE!! MORE MORE MORE!

    Also, I can finally say I want Rythym, Solo or sometimes even a mix, instead of trying to cover all in different areas, which is what sorta irritated me with RS1
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    I'll keep it short and sweet:
    Pros/Changes:
    1. Session mode is an awesome addition, there is a plethora of instruments to choose from and
    the band reacts accordingly to what you are playing, TONS OF FUN.
    2. Mini-games are actually fun this time.
    3. Interface is A MILLION times better than the original, clunky and unintuitive design.
    Cons:
    1. This is not a substitute for guitar lessons, no matter what the ads tell you. You will at least need a couple of irl lessons to teach you proper picking, positioning etc... .
    2. The session mode is a bit simplistic, in a sense that there will be ONE preset ABCDEFG chords that the band will play at a time.

    I personally haven't found anything that would top this in terms of being fun and simultaneously be educational.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    3
    First off, I love this game. You would think it odd that given this review. Let me explain. The first major hurdle you run into when playing this game are the frequent game freezes (or lock ups) that occur. At first, it was every other day, now I can't get through 3 songs without having the game lock up. This requires a mandatory reboot of the entire game. This can take 5 10 minutes to get all the way back online, logged in, and back to a song you want to play. I played for an hour yesterday, had 4 freezes that cost me about 15 minutes of my life. I talked with ubisoft tech support, each time they took 48 hours to get back to me. I have had other companies respond in hours. Their first response was unload all rocksmith files and installs from the xbox harddrive and re-install. This is turn your computer off and then on again support. An hour later not very surprised that their advice didn't work, but I suppose that may fix some issues. Then they ask to unplug all usb accessories. I do and no surprise it locks up again.

    I feel that this is as bad as it can get and just try to play through the pain because the game really did help me learn guitar and it is FUN. In non-stop play I hit "skip song" and get a message that, my file is corrupted, losing 122 hours of game play/ranking up in the songs. So as great a teacher and fun as it is the frustration level is through the roof! If you can deal with the constant freezes and an occasional complete loss of all achievements, and have to deal with a clueless and uncaring customer service department this is the game for you.

    BTW, they have been talking about a 'patch' for a few weeks now. Game has been out 3 weeks, no patch. No offer from company for free song dlc, partial refund or anything else. No, I did not ask for anything, but come on man.

    Here is tech support response today. Note no mention of a patch coming anytime soon: “I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Thank you for reporting this issue. I will be forwarding this issue up to the development team for further review. That is all I can do at this time, as we have no further information. If any additional information becomes available, it will be detailed on the game's official forum at http://forums.ubi.com and our Support Website (http://support.ubi.com).” So, basically stop emailing us.
    Full Review »