Rocksmith Xbox 360

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
Buy On
  1. Oct 8, 2012
    74
    I couldn't get past the lag issues and was also disappointed with the lack of metal included in the setlist. I also question how rewarding, in a game sense, it actually is.
  2. 70
    Rocksmith's European version is an improvement over the original but the ingenious concept still leaves some things to be desired. The idea is there, the tech works. Now it's up to future versions to serve guitar prospects the freedoms to choose how they play the game and to ditch the automatically adjusting difficulty.
  3. Nov 4, 2011
    70
    At its core, Rocksmith is wildly cool, innovative technology sitting on top of a tired formula many of us have played to death. Had the story mode been anything other than the tried-and-true Guitar Hero/Rock Band "play a few songs, unlock new venues, rinse and repeat," it would have been infinitely more fun. Even so, Rocksmith is undeniably interesting, and the potential for greatness in the franchise is there.
  4. 70
    The prevailing problem with Rocksmith: defining exactly what it wants to be. It doesn't go all the way in teaching you guitar, in that you're not learning how to read notes or construct a composition. Conversely, as a videogame, its straight-faced tone, added playing mechanics, and high price make it less accessible than, say, Rock Band.
  5. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Dec 1, 2012
    60
    A novel idea and clever piece of kit, but indecision on whether it's a videogame or learning tool is a downfall, along with its confusing bespoke notation method. [Issue#91, p.82]
  6. Nov 8, 2012
    60
    It will make you feel comfortable holding and playing a real guitar, and empowered to go further in spite of its apparent animosity towards you. The less you treat Rocksmith like a game, the more fun you'll have with it.
  7. Oct 18, 2011
    50
    Rocksmith doesn't teach the player anything; they teach themselves, and there are much more entertaining and fulfilling ways to be a self-taught guitarist.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    Put in 4 hours and I'm really impressed. Tons of fun and great for learning/practice. Decent song choices, excellent mini games, and oodles ofPut in 4 hours and I'm really impressed. Tons of fun and great for learning/practice. Decent song choices, excellent mini games, and oodles of tone customization. Once you set it up as described in the insert included in the game, the lag is minimal and doesn't really detract from the experience. If you have a guitar and like to play/want to improve, this product will not disappoint you. Full Review »
  2. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    I have played for about 3 hrs so far on this game and I am quite impressed. It starts you off very slowly but lets you learn/progress at yourI have played for about 3 hrs so far on this game and I am quite impressed. It starts you off very slowly but lets you learn/progress at your own pace very easily. The game includes something called a Guitarcade that turns tedious exercises (like fret work and scales) into something enjoyable and fun. The dynamic difficulty is VERY cool as well. I found that I thought I had a song down and then it'd start adding notes it previously let out, and if I couldn't get it they backed off a tad so I didn't feel like a complete failure. The game also has an amp mode. This mode allows you to sue unlocked pedals, amps, and cabinets in a variety of manners, all of which sound amazing. The game (in my opinion) is well worth the buy for some one looking for a tool to learn guitar better, for some one liking guitar hero-esque gameplay, or even for a budding musician who just wants to use the game for the amp effects on his recording. Overall WELL worth the buy. Full Review »
  3. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    rocksmith is less of a game and more like a solid, guitar teaching software. it works great and after playing it a couple of hours last nightrocksmith is less of a game and more like a solid, guitar teaching software. it works great and after playing it a couple of hours last night and all day today i am loving it!! i will admit that i did have some prior guitar lessons though ive never seen myself skilled in any way. the software truly adapts to your skill set and level and smoothly adds more notes and techniques through out the course of the "campaign".i can tell already that if you stick with the lesson plan and practice daily your skills will improve. i recommend this for everyone seeking a different way to learn guitar. Full Review »