Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Featuring gameplay that automatically adjusts to the player's skill level and innovative game design that makes reading music visually fun and intuitive, Rocksmith engages experienced musicians and those who are picking up a guitar for the first time. The game includes a sizeable library of music from classic rock bands to current artists, such as The Animals, The Black Keys, David Bowie, Interpol, Nirvana and The Rolling Stones. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Mar 31, 2012
    98
    Rocksmith has set the next standard in music gaming, it's hard to envision bothering with fake push button guitars ever again really. Again, you still have to have that stick to it attitude to get anyplace here, but it's a spectacular jump off point for beginners and a blast once you really get going.
  2. Dec 12, 2011
    85
    For a guy like me who had to borrow a friends guitar to actually try the game – the fact that I'm now contemplating visiting a pawn shop to cash in on someone else's inability to make ends meet and buy my very own guitar should speak volumes to the titles power as a fun learning tool. Beginners, give this a shot – especially if you've already got a guitar collecting dust in the closet.
  3. Sep 28, 2012
    83
    A very interesting novelty in the music games genre, very involving for guitar/bass newcomers even if quite challenging. The on-screen notes indicators are sometimes confusing and it could benefit from a more distinctive presentation, but if you always wanted to start playing guitar this is a very good tool for becoming acquainted with the instrument.
  4. Oct 21, 2011
    80
    As a new IP and a ballsy take on the floundering music genre, Rocksmith is an awesome first step. The technology is fantastic, and while the gameplay could use some tweaks, the dynamic charting system is a great sign of things to come.
  5. Sep 27, 2012
    80
    With Rocksmith, Ubisoft offers a fun experience that will create a bunch of new guitarists thanks to a great learning method, using tabs and clear video tutorials. Moreover, with its interesting song list, though not really eclectic, Rocksmith will occupy players for hours, until they decide to get the different DLC pack released to date that will extend their game length and enhance their level with new skills.
  6. Nov 1, 2011
    80
    This is a really great tool to teach gamers how to really play guitar. Experienced players will grow bored with the core campaign mode, but the additions of the amp and arcade mini-games in Guitarcade will test your fingers for sure.
  7. Oct 18, 2011
    50
    Rocksmith doesn't teach the player anything; they teach themselves, and there are much more entertaining and fulfilling ways to be a self-taught guitarist.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    Put in 4 hours and I'm really impressed. Tons of fun and great for learning/practice. Decent song choices, excellent mini games, and oodles of tone customization. Once you set it up as described in the insert included in the game, the lag is minimal and doesn't really detract from the experience. If you have a guitar and like to play/want to improve, this product will not disappoint you. Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2012
    10
    Got this yesterday and having a blast with it. You will wonder what all those guitar games were about before this... this actually has you learn something useful that you can enjoy long after the game ends.

    The track list is pretty good but definitely missing some much needed greats like ZZ Top and other classics. Still, a great learning tool and I cant suggest it enough!
    Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    I can't help but give this a 10 since it came out of left field and exceeded all my expectations. If you want to learn to actually play a real guitar then this is an awesome, and fun, learning tool. I've owned a guitar since high school but never could bring myself to take lessons and books/videos always bored me and were hard to tell whether or not I was doing things right. This game solves all those problems in one swoop. The mini-games take the place of the boring drills to learn the string/fret locations, the game will only recognize what you are doing if you do it correctly (it is only going off the sound after all) and the dynamic difficulty works extremely well. I consistently find myself hitting 70-80% or so of the notes which to me says it's doing a dang good job of managing the difficulty to keep me challenged without overwhelming me. Kudos to the musicians and developers who worked on this. It really is incredible. Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2011
    9
    I dont get the review at 50%. At fifty percent, that review makes it out to be a horrible game. Far from that! I bought it day 1 and I cant put it down. I am not a very good guitar player (Horrible may be a better term) but I have been able to bring out my Strat and get into playing the guitar again. This is what I have been looking for for years and Rocksmith allows me to no longer have to play with a plastic guitar. My main problem is with the song selection as I am not a fan of quite a few but I dont really care since I am enjoying how to play the guitar more that anything. Expand
  5. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    Played the game for a few hours last night, and it has definitely exceeded my expectations. I've been casually playing guitar for about 4 years now and I'm pretty decent at it. Most of the tutorials and challenges that are in place, I can finish on the first try without any trouble. That being said, I'm glad that this game is heavily tailored for beginners early on because it should make the game much more accessible. That and the note highway will take a few songs to get used to. Though I am pretty decent at guitar already, even after playing for just a few hours, I feel like I have improved at playing guitar. Probably the biggest improvement has been my knowledge of the fretboard, it's good to be able to shift without looking and hit the right notes clean. I'd say I'm also improving a bit on string accuracy. This really impressed me since I didn't really expect to improve much from playing the game, I just wanted to learn some songs without reading through a f***ing tab again. In my opinion, rocksmith outguns guitar hero or rock band in all of its gameplay elements AND actually teaches/improves guitar skills. The only reason I am not giving this game an emphatic 10 is because I wish the song list had a bit more metal or hard rock. That being said, don't let that deter you from buying this game, it is well worth the money. And future dlc will probably fix any issues with the song list, I'd shell out 10 bucks for a few tracks. Saves you a lot of time compared to learning the songs by tab. Also, fair warning, if you get this, don't play any of the guitarcade games. You will become crack addicted to them and be unable to stop playing. Seriously, it's like a collection of heterosexual wii games, you won't put down the guitar until your body demands it. Expand
  6. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    Toca de verdad

    Ya puedes dejar de guitarrear al aire

    Aprender a tocar la guitarra de verdad, esté es el objetivo de Ubisoft y su
    Rocksmith, un juego donde necesitaras una guitarra o un bajo de verdad, nada de periféricos en forma de guitarras con botones de colores, aquí se necesitan unas cuerdas, un traste y una buena correa para colgar tu guitarra, o bajo, con el cual una persona que no sabe nada puede llegar a aprender a tocar la guitarra o mejor dicho las cincuenta canciones de rock más representativas de nuestra era.

    http://www.elgamer.es/rocksmith-analisis/
    Expand
  7. May 3, 2013
    2
    Honestly? I looked forward to and then hated this game, I adored guitar hero and played til I beat everything and I also play guitar. I found the mini-games to be somewhat self-defeating, I figured this would be a big part of the game since alot of playing guitar is about basic practise, but instead most of the games practised skills that wouldn't actually help a guitarist. The auto-difficulty changer wasn't for me either personally, I liked the star system in GH, I could try to get everything in 5 star, fail then try over and over, then do it all again in normal, hard and expert. The almightily sucking thing in the game is the song choices though, not alot of rock, or metal, or punk, just alot of half-hearted stuff inbeetween pop and country, I know this is made by a totally different bunch of people but they made this as a carry on of GH. I could get all of the information provided by the game from the internet for free and with advice from proffessional tutors, something you don't get in the game. The one great thing about the game is the amp that allows you to put effects on, I was surprised and impressed with the sound and variety I could get out of that little disk. But I can get that on the internet for free too unfortunately. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews