• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Mar 28, 2006
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 6 out of 26

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 8, 2014
    3
    Rumble Roses on the PS2 is a game that if given a chance could satisfy both those after a decent wrestling game and those who just want a game to get reactions out of there friends. Whilst being bizarre and overly sexual the game still had some depth and solid mechanics that made it perfect.

    Dropping the well established developer for this 360 sequel really put the death sentence on
    Rumble Roses on the PS2 is a game that if given a chance could satisfy both those after a decent wrestling game and those who just want a game to get reactions out of there friends. Whilst being bizarre and overly sexual the game still had some depth and solid mechanics that made it perfect.

    Dropping the well established developer for this 360 sequel really put the death sentence on this game. It looks better has a few added modes to have a laugh about with your friends, but gone is the core gameplay that made Rumble Roses more than your cheap wrestling knock off.

    Not only has the legitimate move set been stripped down, but the controls are horrible. Even if you could forgive that the actual wrestling moves are gone, you would have no chance to fully comprehend how to actual play the game.

    It's a case of instead of adding nice visuals and few more features, for what ever reason any playability from the original was stripped down (no pun intended) to leave a game that couldn't possibly appeal to anyone looking for a playable wrestling or even fighting game.
    Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    0
    The computer cheats; it can reverse your attacks the second you press the button to make them. Attacks and grapple attempts consistently visibly pass through the opponent without connecting. The computer can and will stunlock you for several minutes at a time. In tag team matches, the AI's partner will routinely run into the ring to break pins and holds but your partner will just stand inThe computer cheats; it can reverse your attacks the second you press the button to make them. Attacks and grapple attempts consistently visibly pass through the opponent without connecting. The computer can and will stunlock you for several minutes at a time. In tag team matches, the AI's partner will routinely run into the ring to break pins and holds but your partner will just stand in their corner and watch you lose if you're being held, and if the AI's partner decides to hang around in the ring afterwards don't expect your partner to do anything whatsoever. Considering these are basic issues that occur very consistently, and since this is the same developer and even the same engine as the SVR series which does not suffer from these issues, I can only conclude that this game was not playtested at all. This lack of effort from the developer means the game receives a zero, which is sad because the game is actually fairly entertaining despite being unfair, but I'm not about to reward a lack of effort from a developer. (And speaking of the SVR series, anyone complaining about the clothing in this game has clearly never seen any of the WWE games. The Rumble Roses characters wear, on average, several times more clothing than the characters in the WWE games.) Expand
  3. Dec 13, 2012
    7
    It's sexy ladies "wrestling" in skimpy outfits and it does nothing to hide that fact. It knows who its target audience is and lays it on thick. As a wrestling game it is average at best, but the interesting and well designed characters and some unique wrestling ideas are really what give this game its shine. As long as you don't take it too seriously and enjoy the view, it can be a fun game.
  4. Oct 8, 2010
    8
    This game gets such bad rap, its a shame really. The gameplay is simple, controls are mostly tight. Graphics are quite nice for its time, I mean, this was one of the first wave of 360 games, was it not? Its fun and accessible as well. The only real problems I have with this game are: 1. the poorly structured unlock system. To go through the sometimes absolutely rediculous requirement ofThis game gets such bad rap, its a shame really. The gameplay is simple, controls are mostly tight. Graphics are quite nice for its time, I mean, this was one of the first wave of 360 games, was it not? Its fun and accessible as well. The only real problems I have with this game are: 1. the poorly structured unlock system. To go through the sometimes absolutely rediculous requirement of unlocking a costume or something, only to have to buy it from the shop after you "unlock" it? That's kinda dumb. 2. the character customization could use some serious work, but its certainly not the worst feature of its type I've seen, and its only a first for this series, and I suppose a last. considering they most likely won't put forth the effort for a third entry.

    Other than that, its pretty much solid to me. Games like this never really get a fair shake anyway. It brings something different from the norm to the table, and apparently that's not good.
    Collapse
  5. Aisha(person)
    Oct 8, 2007
    5
    Gameplay is fun, I have been playing for a few hours along with the other days trying, what can I say, the gameplay has pretty good graphix, but picking up moves is pretty hard. Again, another repetative remark, if your a boy to a pretty, sad lonely guy, I'll recommend, but if your just a girl looking for just a fun game to play, don't choose this one. Also, I have no clue whereGameplay is fun, I have been playing for a few hours along with the other days trying, what can I say, the gameplay has pretty good graphix, but picking up moves is pretty hard. Again, another repetative remark, if your a boy to a pretty, sad lonely guy, I'll recommend, but if your just a girl looking for just a fun game to play, don't choose this one. Also, I have no clue where story mode is, so, anybody, please tell me. I'm HorseBoard16@aol.com and would like for someone to HELP ME OUT! Thanks. xxxx Aisha, lol Expand
  6. George
    May 27, 2007
    8
    This game has gotten a bad rap. The gameplay is fun, the character models are crisp and well done, and it is visually stunning. Get the semi-puritanical hocus pocus that these "professional game critics" are peddling to you about how this game is porn out of your head. The same was never said for any of the DOA games, Lara Croft, or any other game that contains female characters. The one This game has gotten a bad rap. The gameplay is fun, the character models are crisp and well done, and it is visually stunning. Get the semi-puritanical hocus pocus that these "professional game critics" are peddling to you about how this game is porn out of your head. The same was never said for any of the DOA games, Lara Croft, or any other game that contains female characters. The one thing that could be changed is the repetitive nature of the game. It suffers in the "replayability" field. Expand
  7. Aaace5
    Apr 3, 2007
    10
    Games like this are good for the industry. They are different from what everyone else is making! If it weren't for developers trying to do something different, we would be playing games called something like "Shooter part 23", which would be the 23rd version of the same game. Don't hate the game because it doesn't interest you, hate it for it's playability or something.
  8. BryanM.
    Nov 15, 2006
    1
    Just a horrible game. The controls are really bad. The graphics look like xbox. I would not buy this game if someone gave me the money! If you want a fighting game get DOA4!
  9. JaceN.
    Aug 28, 2006
    6
    This game feels like a minigame that should have been hidden away in a much larger title! Sure the women are amazing and the costumes...scandalous...but its really let down by the gameplay mechanics. Its far too easy for one or the other player to dominate the ENTIRE match! The AI characters cheat by reading your controller input for a near psychic prediction and countermove out fo the This game feels like a minigame that should have been hidden away in a much larger title! Sure the women are amazing and the costumes...scandalous...but its really let down by the gameplay mechanics. Its far too easy for one or the other player to dominate the ENTIRE match! The AI characters cheat by reading your controller input for a near psychic prediction and countermove out fo the blue (a trademark of japanese fighting games since the 16-bit era) and there just arent enough arenas and costumes to go round. And whats with all the schoolgirl junk? Japanese people may love the look of scool culture but give us western gamers more latex & whips for our dollar! Expand
  10. AdamB.
    Jul 12, 2006
    4
    Shallow, with very poor controls. Save your money for a SmackDown! game, where you can make your own hottie and enjoy a quality wrestling engine.
  11. Hardcoregamer
    Apr 6, 2006
    3
    I'm reading the reviews after playing Rumble Roses and thinking what? This game is absolutely horrible. If you played any other type of fighting game, DOA4, Fight Night3 and then put this in you will be extremely disappointed. This is sooo slow and you never feel in control of the character. If you want T&A for $60 bucks then buy a magazine instead. This game is trash.
  12. J.DeWeese
    Mar 29, 2006
    9
    First off I love wrestling games. The PS2 Smackdown series is ok but its a bit twitchy and fast for me. I loved and prefer the Def Jam (Original) and No Mercy style games. On this note, RRXX plays like a simplified Smackdown with a slower pace. You do not have to be a hamster on crack to keep up with the game play. Secondly, I love games that have T&A in them. Outlaw Golf, DoA:BV, and First off I love wrestling games. The PS2 Smackdown series is ok but its a bit twitchy and fast for me. I loved and prefer the Def Jam (Original) and No Mercy style games. On this note, RRXX plays like a simplified Smackdown with a slower pace. You do not have to be a hamster on crack to keep up with the game play. Secondly, I love games that have T&A in them. Outlaw Golf, DoA:BV, and Kingdom Under Fire just to name a few. I say this because I want you, the reader, to understand where I am coming from. I did not put RRXX in my 360 and expect anything but a T&A softcore show. Well I was very shocked to find a really good wrestling game behind RR. It even plays very well! Remember RAW and RAW 2 on the xbox? It was a very poor game but people wanted to enjoy it. Well if RAW would have played this well it would have beaten the Smackdown series without breaking a sweat. I am not saying RRXX is the end all of wrestling games. I AM saying it plays like a dream and online is really fun. The single player is good but no real story line hinders it a bit in my eyes. Multiplayer is wonderful and I would love to see some online leagues startup. Do I think it is for everyone? No. If you love T&A and Wrestling you could do alot worse. I want to see better wrestling games on the 360 personally. Supporting RRXX will go a long way to showing the big Microsoft that we want it on our 360. MY RATINGS: Fun (How much fun am I having): Drool... Graphics (As relates to how well they help or enhance the game): Beautiful Sound (How well does the sound help the game): Very Good. Longevity (How long is it and will I play it more than once. Including Multiplayer): 5 Months or So. BS Curve (How much bad hype, comments, and reviews have I heard of or read and agree with): A little bit. Gamer Target (Who this game is best suited for): Wrestling Fans, T&A lovers, GLOW Fans. Similar games: Rumble Roses, Dead or Alive Beach Volleyball, and Outlaw Golf Final Grade: A very good game for wrestling fans but it will not make you a fan unless you love T&A a great deal. Expand
  13. Oct 8, 2010
    0
    This game gets such bad rap, its a shame really. The gameplay is simple, controls are mostly tight. Graphics are quite nice for its time, I mean, this was one of the first wave of 360 games, was it not? Its fun and accessible as well. The only real problems I have with this game are: 1. the poorly structured unlock system. To go through the sometimes absolutely rediculous requirement ofThis game gets such bad rap, its a shame really. The gameplay is simple, controls are mostly tight. Graphics are quite nice for its time, I mean, this was one of the first wave of 360 games, was it not? Its fun and accessible as well. The only real problems I have with this game are: 1. the poorly structured unlock system. To go through the sometimes absolutely rediculous requirement of unlocking a costume or something, only to have to buy it from the shop after you "unlock" it? That's kinda dumb. 2. the character customization could use some serious work, but its certainly not the worst feature of its type I've seen, and its only a first for this series, and I suppose a last. considering they most likely won't put forth the effort for a third entry.

    Other than that, its pretty much solid to me. Games like this never really get a fair shake anyway. It brings something different from the norm to the table, and apparently that's not good.
    Collapse
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 54
  2. Negative: 6 out of 54
  1. It's thorny, to be sure, and the caveat remains: handle these roses with care. [Apr 2006, p.59]
  2. If you're looking for some quick and easy fun, it's here. However, if you're looking for some depth in the wrestling engine, you'll need to wait for a next generation "Smackdown."
  3. Rumble Roses XX introduces a few positives into the original game's formula, but too much of the content feels recycled, and the game's sense of sexuality is still rather unseemly.