User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 61
  2. Negative: 10 out of 61

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 5, 2012
    9
    One of the few actual dungeon crawlers on the 360 and well worth playing. Sacred 2 had one of the best loot grabbing systems I have ever experienced, as you could set several options and grab loot in a circular area. Tons of exploration with a giant world map, plus more quests than you could ever want. There are only two small things that keep this from being a 10 for me. First, no skillOne of the few actual dungeon crawlers on the 360 and well worth playing. Sacred 2 had one of the best loot grabbing systems I have ever experienced, as you could set several options and grab loot in a circular area. Tons of exploration with a giant world map, plus more quests than you could ever want. There are only two small things that keep this from being a 10 for me. First, no skill and attribute point respec/reset. This can be very bad if you get too far in the game and find you messed up with a skill point or even attribute point. Plan your character very carefully. The other thing, they were unable to make one last patch to fix some minor glitch issues, but they are not game killers at all. This is actually not the companies fault as they were disbanded. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Sacred 2 scratches an itch very rarely seen on consoles. As all reviews have stated there are bugs. There are a lot of bugs. However ive found that this game caters to quantity over quality. Not to say there are no quality aspects of this game, its just that this game is massive. And that is still an understatement. Essentially 5 new game plusses, 6 classes with a 200 level cap, 600 questsSacred 2 scratches an itch very rarely seen on consoles. As all reviews have stated there are bugs. There are a lot of bugs. However ive found that this game caters to quantity over quality. Not to say there are no quality aspects of this game, its just that this game is massive. And that is still an understatement. Essentially 5 new game plusses, 6 classes with a 200 level cap, 600 quests and a map that has taken me over 100 hours to fill only a little over 50%. The navigation is confusing and a little more than frustrating at first but you learn how to use it. However ive found that this game encourages exploration. Ive yet to find all 42 towns and i still discover little hidden areas every time i play. The detail put into the environment is outstanding. If you zoom in while exploring a house youll find little objects such as coffee mugs or toilet paper unraveling off a spool in a bathroom. There are places in the world you will never find if you dont set foot off the beaten path. Speaking of which there are 20 screen filling bosses that have nothing to do with the story.

    The controls are fantastic. You have more skills than you can slot. And with the left and right triggers opening up their own skill menu plus the default face buttons you have 12 slots into which you can put any skill or weapon set. I have yet to see a game that allows you to equip 12 skills at once. It allows you to grab loot in an area rather than per item so you can swallow lots of loot without missing a beat. However you do not share loot within multiplayer so communicate if youre playing with someone else. This also comes with a filter so you can stop filling your inventory with low level gear.

    This is a very numbers heavy game and i hate numbers. However sacred literally lays out all your combined stats like chance to find valuables or skill regen time reduction so you know where you are in terms of building your character. It lists your last 3 opponents and their stats so you can see beyond just damage numbers. It wont let you respec but it does lay out everything about your character so when the level up happens you can make a sound decision as to where you want to take them.

    Yes there are flaws and this game very rarely, if ever, holds your hand. You will be punished for not considering your point placements. ive had to redo my warrior 4 times before i understood how to turn him into a pure summoning necromancer. And thats only one option of one character. Ive made four characters with that warrior being my most recent. You can turn him into a tank or one man army if youd rather just rush sword first into mobs. Unless youre in a town, or can become permanently invisible like my necro, then no amount of pausing will save you from the enemy. A bathroom break requires a trip to town or you lose your precious survival bonus when you die. Story is stupid but thats not what this game is about. For those who complain about story are looking in the wrong place. Voice acting is not good but honestly the same things applies. The world has more character and depth than any NPC you will encounter.

    I can go on and on about the little things this game does so well. Theres more to love here than hate but you gotta take the game for what it is. It is a loot fest grinder filled to the brim with content and love. It is a dungeon crawler that presents you with a vast and varied world to explore. Everything about the world feels natural and there are no procedurally generated dungeons. The whole issue with the camera is due to how much there is to see. The game cannot render the amount of world you would be exposed to. Its just too freaking big. Skyrim would fall to its knees and cry at the potential vistas and hidden gems scattered throughout the world. I traded diablo 3 in because i was spoiled by the amount of exploration and detail this game offers. For ten bucks used screw the reviews. This game is worth the chance. If you decide to pick it up take it slow at first. It will take you a long time to really scratch the surface but once it clicks its hard to put the controller down. Just one more quest...

    Oh yeah... Did i mention 2 player same screen co op, 4 player online co op with shared exp., and a free roam with the option of PvP. And because players host, unless no one ever plays again, servers cant be shut down. Try it out and i hope to see new faces to wreck mobs with.
    Expand
  3. Oct 20, 2013
    8
    This game is very good for what is priced nowadays. You get this huge world, hundreds of quests, and great replay ability. It's worth it; however some may not like the gameplay and unfortunately it is either you love it or hate it kind of game. If you loved Diablo and Warcraft then this will be the game that you have been waiting for on the 360. If not I warn now, you will not like thisThis game is very good for what is priced nowadays. You get this huge world, hundreds of quests, and great replay ability. It's worth it; however some may not like the gameplay and unfortunately it is either you love it or hate it kind of game. If you loved Diablo and Warcraft then this will be the game that you have been waiting for on the 360. If not I warn now, you will not like this but I recommend that you at least give it a shot especially since this game is at a decent price today. Expand
  4. May 17, 2012
    4
    Sacred 2 does do that much wrong - it's just not that exciting or good a game itself. For one I'm not a fan of the combat, for me it feels as if you're just relying on stats to do the job and a lack of a block option or the need for any type of rhythm to win battles makes it very dull. The quests themselves are all text based which in today's gaming world feels very dated, and the worldSacred 2 does do that much wrong - it's just not that exciting or good a game itself. For one I'm not a fan of the combat, for me it feels as if you're just relying on stats to do the job and a lack of a block option or the need for any type of rhythm to win battles makes it very dull. The quests themselves are all text based which in today's gaming world feels very dated, and the world also feels very old-school too - too old-school for me to get into. Add to that a camera angle that doesn't allow you to see very far in front of you, and Sacred 2 is just too dated and too dull to be worth a purchase. Expand
  5. GreggE
    May 30, 2009
    0
    This was one of the worst games ive ever played! Its a pointless, low grade, unentertaining hack and slash game that should've never been released. This game is second to none as the worst game ever!
  6. ChrisSchlarb
    Jun 8, 2009
    3
    There really is not story to this game. You don't care about anything or anyone. The voice acting and dialogue are laughably bad: "Newspapers haven't been invented yet, so what are people saying on the street?" What? That's not even humorous.
    The graphics are good enough to make you temporarily forget about most of the problems, then you remember how terrible the
    There really is not story to this game. You don't care about anything or anyone. The voice acting and dialogue are laughably bad: "Newspapers haven't been invented yet, so what are people saying on the street?" What? That's not even humorous.
    The graphics are good enough to make you temporarily forget about most of the problems, then you remember how terrible the questing system and upgrading menus are. They make no sense.
    You can't even customize the look of your player (sex or skin color). Classes are either male, female or robots. Stupid.

    This is a dumbed down hack n' slash game that gave me headaches. Getting stuck in rocks, a poorly integrated map system, idiotic quips from your character EVERY TIME they kill somebody. Yikes.

    If you like pressing the "A" button and have $60 you want to give away, pick up Sacred 2.
    Expand
  7. BillD
    Sep 7, 2009
    4
    Note: this is for the Xbox 360 version. I like to play co-op games with my kid and thought this might be worth a try. Some 80+ hours into it we are both completely frustrated. Mounts disappear and you have to leave the game and come back in for them to show up again. I went looking for my mount and it was missing from my inventory so I exited the game and was relived to see it againNote: this is for the Xbox 360 version. I like to play co-op games with my kid and thought this might be worth a try. Some 80+ hours into it we are both completely frustrated. Mounts disappear and you have to leave the game and come back in for them to show up again. I went looking for my mount and it was missing from my inventory so I exited the game and was relived to see it again when I cam back in as it is the special mount for my character. Bugs are every where in this game. Things sell with one set of stats and after you spend the cash and check your inventory you realize you've been punked (happened to me twice, once with a 213,000 mount)! My character constantly gets stuck and I either have to make my mount jump or get off of it and back on to be able to move again. Nothing is more frustrating than when you have one of those stupid escort quests and the idiot you are escorting takes off into battle while you get stuck in place and can't even try to help keep them alive. Honestly I don't even think this game had a proper beta test! Also, we have picked up at least 50 items that are corrupt and don't do anything (one of them was a quest). It just says "Quest" and there's nothing to be done that can make it active or finish it. It is not a wonder Ascaron went under... They wrote a big pile of crap and spent all of their holdings trying to fix it, which they never did by the way. Even after the patch from Xbox Live this game is the worst I've ever seen and I've played video games most of my life (starting with Pong in the 70's). Expand
  8. Jan 10, 2011
    1
    I have been looking for a two player Dungeon crawl (à la Dark Alliance or CoN), and Sacred 2 would be good if the Co-op was not so buggy.
    The player 2 save file routinely get corrupted and rendered un-loadable. Forcing player two to start their character from scratch.
    When teleporting player 2 is often unable to summon their mount, unable to move, or occasionally spawned
    I have been looking for a two player Dungeon crawl (à la Dark Alliance or CoN), and Sacred 2 would be good if the Co-op was not so buggy.
    The player 2 save file routinely get corrupted and rendered un-loadable. Forcing player two to start their character from scratch.
    When teleporting player 2 is often unable to summon their mount, unable to move, or occasionally spawned somewhere below the ground plane.
    If the multiplayer functionality worked properly, this would be an excellent game, easily an 8 out of 10.
    However, since the multiplayer doesn't work, and these game are best when played with others, I have to give it a 1 out of ten. A fun experience is quickly downgraded to frustrating and infuriating.
    Expand
  9. jason
    May 14, 2009
    8
    While there is a bit of slowdown, and the quests and the storyline are derivative, I've run into very few bugs. And while the interface isn't the best, it only takes about 15 minutes to get used to. In the end, you have a loot grind with a highly complex advancement system that allows for awesome co-op and online multiplayer. If you've been hungering for a Dark Alliance or While there is a bit of slowdown, and the quests and the storyline are derivative, I've run into very few bugs. And while the interface isn't the best, it only takes about 15 minutes to get used to. In the end, you have a loot grind with a highly complex advancement system that allows for awesome co-op and online multiplayer. If you've been hungering for a Dark Alliance or CoN on the 360, this is your only choice, but it's not a bad one. Expand
  10. GregoryW.
    May 30, 2009
    9
    No game is without flaws....and Sacred 2 is no exception. However, in spite of it's alleged "problems", Sacred 2 succeeds in delivering the goods (i.e. fun). In an age where FPS or First Person Perspective games are the gold standard of console/PC gaming, Sacred 2's "isometic" look and retro-hack/slash play will seem antiquated and backwards. But for RPG enthusiasts without such No game is without flaws....and Sacred 2 is no exception. However, in spite of it's alleged "problems", Sacred 2 succeeds in delivering the goods (i.e. fun). In an age where FPS or First Person Perspective games are the gold standard of console/PC gaming, Sacred 2's "isometic" look and retro-hack/slash play will seem antiquated and backwards. But for RPG enthusiasts without such prejudices, Sacred 2 will be nothing short of fun and engaging. Let the critics be enamored with the "latest and greatest" trends to beam at or blast for their publications. But for those of us who believe in the motto "if it ain't broke, then don't fix it", Sacred 2's game play and approach is exactly what the "next-gen" consoles need. Expand
  11. [Anonymous]
    May 13, 2009
    9
    One of the most under rated games in awhile. The graphics, sounds, and attention to detail in the game world is top notch. I don't understand how some of the media have critisized the graphics. They are way above average. I looked at some of the screenshots from the reviews before buying and I can only guess that they must have went out of their way to take in-game pics from the game One of the most under rated games in awhile. The graphics, sounds, and attention to detail in the game world is top notch. I don't understand how some of the media have critisized the graphics. They are way above average. I looked at some of the screenshots from the reviews before buying and I can only guess that they must have went out of their way to take in-game pics from the game that were not flattering. After everything is said and done this game is just plain FUN! My only minor gripe worth noting is the lack of a good manual/tutorial. The story might not seem that good, but I believe that's only because there are SO MANY side quests that distract you from the main story line. Diablo for the consoles is here. Expand
  12. JS
    May 14, 2009
    9
    This game is fantastic. I tried the PC demo and would have given it a 60% ( on the PC ). The Xbox 360 version is better & very fun to play ;-) I'm loving it!
  13. DanC
    May 15, 2009
    10
    If you want a Baldur's Gate or Champions of Norath type game on your 360, this game is fantastic. Great 4 player co-op. and an absolutely massive overworld to explore. Ignore the negative reviews. If this is the type of game you want, you'll love this one. There are few minor glitches but they are rare and none are that serious.
  14. grantr
    May 21, 2009
    9
    I can't ignore the obvious flaws (occasional graphic tearing, one freeze--may have been my xbox--and getting killed while in a menu screen...), but it's just plain simple fun with enough depth to make it last. You can even customize the moves and choose the way they're upgraded. This is similar to Diablo and akin to Oblivion in that you have a huge world to explore. It is I can't ignore the obvious flaws (occasional graphic tearing, one freeze--may have been my xbox--and getting killed while in a menu screen...), but it's just plain simple fun with enough depth to make it last. You can even customize the moves and choose the way they're upgraded. This is similar to Diablo and akin to Oblivion in that you have a huge world to explore. It is NOT like oblivion however, in that the game throws enemies at you every moment, and doesn't punish you for entering people's houses or opening safes. Also, unlike Champions, you rarely get items that are more than 1 level above your level. From what I've seen from the lower reviews, their main gripes seem to be with dungeon-crawler RPGs in general. This is a genre in itself--you either like it or hate it. Expand
  15. HagenM
    May 29, 2009
    8
    This is a very solid RPG. It's the love-child of World of Warcraft and Diablo. The massive world, hundreds of quests, insane combat, and the ability to play with 3 friends? This is almost the perfect console RPG. I only wish the leveling system was a bit better, the game gave you more camera options (the top-down view doesn't serve this game right at times), and more variable This is a very solid RPG. It's the love-child of World of Warcraft and Diablo. The massive world, hundreds of quests, insane combat, and the ability to play with 3 friends? This is almost the perfect console RPG. I only wish the leveling system was a bit better, the game gave you more camera options (the top-down view doesn't serve this game right at times), and more variable weapons and armor. Other than that, it's a solid game that every RPG fan should run out and buy. Hopefully we get some DLC with this one. Expand
  16. MichaelSherry
    Sep 29, 2009
    8
    This game does two things extremely well: gives you a huge world with a ridiculous amount of quests, and gives you the ability to level grind and loot as long as you like. The world itself is vast and there are so many quests (I've done 32 quests in one of my characters and I've played 8 hours and 34 mins, considering there's over 600 quests). This game will definitely keepThis game does two things extremely well: gives you a huge world with a ridiculous amount of quests, and gives you the ability to level grind and loot as long as you like. The world itself is vast and there are so many quests (I've done 32 quests in one of my characters and I've played 8 hours and 34 mins, considering there's over 600 quests). This game will definitely keep you entertained for months and will most certainly cause you to want to go and explore it thoroughly with every character. The quests are also extremely fun, whether you're slaying an entire hobbe village or looking for kidnapped children. There are tons of weapons and armors and plenty of small and huge monsters to kill. Now, for the negatives. First, and most importantly, this game does have a few minor glitches. Sometimes you will walk into rocks and get stuck, other times you will go through walls, and you will even sometimes go through monsters with your weapon. Also, there just aren't enough different spells and feats for all of the characters. Each one has 15 but only a few of them are actually cool. Another bad thing is that you cannot choose your mount (I.E. I wanted a Wind Serpent with my Undead Guardian but I cannot). Other then those few little downers, this game is a ton of fun and will most certainly keep RPG fans entertained for months to come. If you don't like RPG's, then I don't recommend this game to you. Expand
  17. BrandonR
    May 13, 2009
    10
    Closest thing to a Diablo-esque game in quite some time. It does have some quirks sometimes, but definitely an enjoyable game with literally over 100 hours of quests. You may be as surprised as me when your 30 hours has only accounted for 17.2% of the Main quest. Replay value is high with both good and evil missions and over 600 side quests to shake a leg at.
  18. AJP
    May 18, 2009
    8
    While not perfect, this game definitely is fun, especially for fans of Diablo, Champions of Norrath, etc. There is a massive world to explore, I have been playing for 6 hours and only discovered 2% of the map. Side quests are mainly run of the mill, mostly fetch quests, but usually don't take long and give some decect experience. The character customization is pretty good, allowing While not perfect, this game definitely is fun, especially for fans of Diablo, Champions of Norrath, etc. There is a massive world to explore, I have been playing for 6 hours and only discovered 2% of the map. Side quests are mainly run of the mill, mostly fetch quests, but usually don't take long and give some decect experience. The character customization is pretty good, allowing you to tweek stats and abilities. When you make a character, though, there aren't many options for customizing appearnce, besides hair style and look (and that is only for three of the six characters), luckily, though, the armor and weapons you pick up will make up for that fact with some really stunning designs to make your character stand out. There are some glitches in the game, like getting stuck on rocks and other minor things, nothing a patch couldn't fix. The graphics, in my opinion, are pretty good for a game like this. You can keep the camera overhead or zoom in closer, and it still looks good up close. To me, the story is probably the weakest part of the game, though it won't really take away from the game since the focus seems to be on the action and character customization. Speaking of action, the controls made a very good transition to consoles, all attacks and spells, which are called combat arts, are mapped to the face buttons, and by pressing LT or RT you can bring up new sets of skills, allowing you to have up to 12 skills and attacked hot-keyed for use when you need them. There is no mana in the game, instead of worrying about refilling mana for spells and specials, you just have to worry about a cool-down time before you can use them again. With up to 2 players on the same console and supporting up to 4 online, this game would be great with friends. Besides the campaign mode, you can also do some free modes, where you just explore the world and perform side quests, just no story quests. There is also a free worl PvP where you can attack the other players you are playing with instead of working cooperatively. Minor glitches aside, this game is a must play for any fan of Diablo-style loot and level grinding action. Expand
  19. Apr 7, 2011
    5
    Guhh, horrible frame rate and cumbersome controls to go with it. A good friend of mine let me borrow this game since he knew I liked the hack and slash loot games but I could only bare to put about ten to fifteen hours into this game and I just couldn't get into it. I laughed as I handed it back to him, saying "guhh". The camera angles just didn't feel right and the interface was poorlyGuhh, horrible frame rate and cumbersome controls to go with it. A good friend of mine let me borrow this game since he knew I liked the hack and slash loot games but I could only bare to put about ten to fifteen hours into this game and I just couldn't get into it. I laughed as I handed it back to him, saying "guhh". The camera angles just didn't feel right and the interface was poorly designed. The graphics were descent but that was about it, the character selection and story just didn't do it for me. Expand
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 56
  2. Negative: 1 out of 56
  1. 65
    The true draw here is the combat and class customization, so if you've got a few friends around it could serve as a solid distraction for a while with its options for online play while you wait for something better to come along.
  2. SACRED 2: Fallen Angel is mostly a level grind that will appeal to hardcore Diablo fans jonesing for another dungeon crawler fix. The Xbox 360 version is a bit of a disappointment, due to a fair share of bugs and port issues.
  3. In fact, with the exception of menu interfaces and loading times in towns, this is actually better than the PC version, if just for the fact that it didn’t crash once during my combined 50 hours of playtime.