Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Sep 18, 2014
    70
    Fun and accessible, Sacred 3 is an action-RPG for those that haven't yet delved into the genre. It's not perfect, but it's deep, tactical and extremely stabby. [Issue#115, p.81]
  2. 60
    Meeting fans expectations that waited for the game for over five years was complicated and, despite not having done that in the best way, this is not a hopeless case.
  3. Aug 27, 2014
    55
    Sacred 3 is (sorry for our language) a big f you when it comes to the fans. This is not a real Sacred game, this is a repetitive and boring game. Keen Games, you have been way too lazy on this one.
  4. Aug 4, 2014
    53
    If you change the concept while relying on a franchise name, make sure that the result rocks. Here it just doesn’t. No loot, no open world, no atmosphere, no fun. But co-op fighting.
  5. Aug 18, 2014
    50
    From this newcomer’s perspective, Sacred 3 is a cheesy, flawed B-movie of an arcade brawler that you might get a few evenings’ entertainment out of before consigning it to the very depths of your games pile, never to infirm. I mean, return.
  6. Waters down the Sacred formula until it has no taste at all. You'll spill more grey matter than you'll actually use playing it.
  7. Aug 1, 2014
    50
    As such, amusing as it is in its own shallow way, Sacred 3 can only come as a mediocre disappointment to the hardy few who still consider themselves Sacred fans.
  8. Sep 9, 2014
    45
    Sacred 3 is a complete let down for fans of the franchise, departing from a formula that has somewhat worked in the past in the hope of attracting a wider audience. Instead of building on features, and borrowing some from games that pull off the action RPG genera to a tee, Sacred 3 is disjointed, boring and just downright bad.
  9. Aug 10, 2014
    40
    Sacred 3 is not an Action-RPG, although it wears the uniform. It’s an outright hack ‘n’ slash adventure game with a throwaway story, barely-developed characters, and a once-rich fantasy world now so washed-out it’s become almost nondescript.
  10. 30
    Sacred 3 is borderline offensive, and if this game hasn't killed the franchise's commercial value, Sacred 4 better look more closely at why people actually want to play these games. It's not good enough to be dumb fun.
User Score
2.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 4 out of 6
  1. Aug 12, 2014
    0
    This is an absolutely horrible game, and I went in knowing it was a pure arcade hack-n-slash with no linkage whatsoever to the previous Sacred games. I'll spell it out concisely: no loot, no weapons, no RPG elements, no open world.

    Now, onto the stuff I didn't know about. First, the voice acting is horrendous, and as one reviewer stated, you will "want to cut your ears off with a knife" after playing this game for an hour. Childish scripting, sexual innuendos (a threesome with an ogre?), pop culture references, toilet humor, and kindergarten-level jokes will have you looking for the volume button - there is no way to disable the voices in-game.

    Worst of all, there is really no local multiplayer, which was a huge marketing factor. Sure, you can play more than one player local, but P2-P4 are "guests" and are simply fake characters auto-leveled to the first character. They can't be saved, they don't gain levels, no gold, and are just automatons that are used to fraudulently sell the game as local MP. I remember Dungeon Siege 3 pulling the same scam, which amounted them bolting on local MP in the exact same way, using P2-P4 as non-existent "guests".

    I am a big fan of the action-RPG genre, and this is by far the worst game I have ever played, and makes Dungeon Siege 3 look like The Last of Us. DO NOT BUY!!
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 11, 2014
    0
    Do not waste your time or money on this watered down,linear,boring piece of **** did and boy,do I regret it.

    Want to explore an open world
    with many things to see and discover? Deep Silver says **** you", you are stuck on a single path on a locked map with very little else,aside from a optional mission choice here or there.

    Want to have a nice loot table with plenty of gear to examine and items sets to gather? Deep Silver reminds you to kindly resume ****ing yourself after you drop fifty bucks on their nightstand. Gold,that's right you heard me.Gold....that's it for treasure. You get predetermined weapons at predetermined points in the game.

    Want to spend some time questing after a day at your work,maybe just to gather some items for turn in? Deep Silver reminds you that it is their way or the highway and to kindly finish ****ing yourself as they are too busy counting the money from all the morons who purchased this turd before reading a review.....like me.

    If you at any point are tempted to buy this piece of garbage, I am in no way disparaging garbage, hit yourself over the head with a hammer a few times until the urge passes.

    This series is officially dead to me now. A group of village idiots could have done a better job at developing this.

    A ****ing travesty to the genre and the Sacred name.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 7, 2014
    8
    It's not bad for a hack and slash. I'm having fun! I don't understand all the horrible reviews. Yeah it's not Sacred 2 or Diablo, but it's really quite relaxing and entertaining. I'm glad I bought it and am playing it. There's no loot, just gold, but you can upgrade your weapons and skills in between missions. Full Review »