Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 278 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Saints Row 2 is set years after the original Saints Row in a Stilwater both familiar and strange. The explosive conclusion to Saints Row has left the player wounded, betrayed and thirsty for revenge, and now it's time to take back the city that has forgotten him. A sequel to the first open-world title on next-generation consoles, Saints Row 2 features all new customization options, including gender, age, voice, crib and gang customization. The sandbox just got larger with a totally transformed and expanded city of Stilwater, offering all new locations to explore with new vehicles, including motorcycles, boats, helicopters and planes. Saints Row 2 is playable online in 2-player co-op through the entire single-player campaign or in the all new open-world competitive multiplayer mode never before seen in the genre. [THQ] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Arguably, it doesn’t do as much to propel the genre forward (in terms of story-telling, etc) as some of its peers. But the game is also wickedly fun. In terms of pure, unadulterated fun, Saints Row 2 is in a league of its own.
  2. Ironically, these rough edges seem almost at home in the messy, funny, in-your-face world of Saints Row 2. Stilwater isn’t pretty; it’s a dark, dangerous place. But as it turns out, there’re lots of big thrills here, and it’s well worth the $60 to live here for a while — whether you’re a lawful citizen or a would-be gangster.
  3. While – both graphically and in gameplay – Saints Row feels behind the standards set by GTA IV, it has an ace up its sleeve in the online arena: true online co-op. And it works.
  4. Saint's Row 2 is as every bit as good as the first game despite its glaring technical faults.
  5. Saints Row 2 feels like Volition stole the code from a GTA game, dumbed it down by 10%, then let a bunch of 12 year olds decide what kind of stuff you can do in it. I mean this in a good way, and honestly, I wish more games would take this approach.
  6. Saints Row 2, we repeat, is no GTA IV. It is a whole lot more of a relaxed and loose experience.
  7. It’s not necessarily badly constructed, but in many ways it is badly intentioned, failing not just because of its conga-line of racial and sexual clichés, but because of the way it makes it a little bit easier to criticise videogaming as a hollow and sadistic pursuit. [Dec 2008, p.91]

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 6 out of 55
  1. LJH
    May 17, 2011
    10
    Ever thought gta is boring and sluggish well this is the cure. With dozens of side missions and a story that easily rivals gta and just cause for emotion. Expand
  2. aqibk.
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    I've played GTAIV. the game that got near perfect reviews. then when i played it i was shocked on how a game franchise this well respected could make such a crap boring game. Or how it got perfect review scores. or how it sold 6 million copies! then i traded it in with a smile on my face for saints row 2. i thought it would be worse. then comes out probably the funnest video game ever made. you cant go round in GTAIV driving a truck full of poo and spray it on corporate fatcats! or throw an unlimited amount of fireworks onto oncoming pursuers. or customize everything from your clothes to your gang to your cribs something rockstar also left out. no 2 levels are the same and i play it at least 4 hours everyday nonstop because A: i love it B: Most fun ever and C:i honestly want to know what the story line has next in store, hand on heart i am not lying. After gears of war 2, best game ever bar none. Ps remove that crap excuse of a good game called GTAIV off the top spot and put this up. i am now a saints man forever, forget liberty city and Rockstar. anyone dissapointed with GTAIV or bored of it or bored with gaming please go out and buy this, aftrer the first 1:30 hours youll be hooked from start to finish. Expand
  3. Jul 7, 2012
    10
    If you thought Saints Row was a GTA spin off with a slight tinge of gangster flavour in it, then SR2 is a full blown riot of sophomoric behaviour and sexual profanity. Saints Row 2 is the shifting point for Saints Row. Identity has been truly established and the ties to GTA are becoming less and less obvious. Is it a better game to play than GTA IV? Absolutely. Saints Row 2 has a lot of fun with itself, stroking its ego and being over the top and hilarious. Whilst some will no doubt disagree, Saints Row provides more instant and gratifying action, whereas GTA IV offers a plodding and more gradual ascension to fun. Sure SR2 doesn't look half as good or have the production values to warrant a high value. But this is the funnest, ballsiest and most insane sandbox adventure game out there. When it comes to what truly counts, Saints Row 2 is unlike any other and is the best sandbox game when it comes to pure enjoyment. Expand
  4. KrisD
    Oct 21, 2008
    9
    When I bought it, i didn't expect so much from this game. and when i played it at first i wasn't too impressed either. i loved GTA4 and of course you compare a lot. but now I've been playing this game for a week and i can't stop! it's just so much fun and there is so much to do. yes, the graphics could be better, the damage modeling sucks and there are some serious technical flaws, but once you notice what this game has to offer, then you don't mind. the customization, the lively world, the excellent gameplay, all the things you can unlock and discover. there's just so much! I'm actually starting to prefer this game over GTA4. but who cares, they're both great games. i really recommend SR2. play it a little more than 5 hours and you'll know what i mean. Expand
  5. JakeMorris
    Sep 11, 2009
    9
    SR2 is probaly the best game ive played.. the Storyline, Graphics and all dat r just amazing, the glitches and some other mistakes made do play it down a little but half the time those glitches r funny.. it is a really fun game to play and cant wait till SR3 (hopefully) Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2010
    8
    This game helped fill the gap of our missing GTA title on the transition to the new generation of consoles, it was really enjoyable considering it lacked variety and vehicles (Only cars, you won't even find a bike here!). The story really entertaining and humorous, and the customize was really a surprise. The big hit is the multiplayer, I could spend an entire night with my friends playing this over Xbox Live, it was really hilarious and fun! The game is dated now by Saints Row 2, which also introduces co-op, but it's graphics seems to have fallen and the multiplayer isn't as fun. Expand
  7. MarkF
    Oct 3, 2008
    0
    What the hell is this? It's not that much of an improvement from the first. Same horrible car handling, same ugly graphics just with a little bit more colour and it has copied a lot from GTA IV. What did they copy? They put the camera to the right side of your character, your character turns at an angle when he moves around and motion blur. You can't tell me that this isn't a plain copy of GTA just made worse. They shouldn't have bothered making a second one. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews