Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 279 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Saints Row 2 is set years after the original Saints Row in a Stilwater both familiar and strange. The explosive conclusion to Saints Row has left the player wounded, betrayed and thirsty for revenge, and now it's time to take back the city that has forgotten him. A sequel to the first open-world title on next-generation consoles, Saints Row 2 features all new customization options, including gender, age, voice, crib and gang customization. The sandbox just got larger with a totally transformed and expanded city of Stilwater, offering all new locations to explore with new vehicles, including motorcycles, boats, helicopters and planes. Saints Row 2 is playable online in 2-player co-op through the entire single-player campaign or in the all new open-world competitive multiplayer mode never before seen in the genre. [THQ] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Arguably, it doesn’t do as much to propel the genre forward (in terms of story-telling, etc) as some of its peers. But the game is also wickedly fun. In terms of pure, unadulterated fun, Saints Row 2 is in a league of its own.
  2. Ironically, these rough edges seem almost at home in the messy, funny, in-your-face world of Saints Row 2. Stilwater isn’t pretty; it’s a dark, dangerous place. But as it turns out, there’re lots of big thrills here, and it’s well worth the $60 to live here for a while — whether you’re a lawful citizen or a would-be gangster.
  3. While – both graphically and in gameplay – Saints Row feels behind the standards set by GTA IV, it has an ace up its sleeve in the online arena: true online co-op. And it works.
  4. Saint's Row 2 is as every bit as good as the first game despite its glaring technical faults.
  5. Saints Row 2 feels like Volition stole the code from a GTA game, dumbed it down by 10%, then let a bunch of 12 year olds decide what kind of stuff you can do in it. I mean this in a good way, and honestly, I wish more games would take this approach.
  6. Saints Row 2, we repeat, is no GTA IV. It is a whole lot more of a relaxed and loose experience.
  7. It’s not necessarily badly constructed, but in many ways it is badly intentioned, failing not just because of its conga-line of racial and sexual clichés, but because of the way it makes it a little bit easier to criticise videogaming as a hollow and sadistic pursuit. [Dec 2008, p.91]

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 56
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 56
  3. Negative: 6 out of 56
  1. LJH
    May 17, 2011
    10
    Ever thought gta is boring and sluggish well this is the cure. With dozens of side missions and a story that easily rivals gta and just cause for emotion. Collapse
  2. TS
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    This game out GTAed GTA 4. When I started playing GTA 4 I was waiting for the awesome selection of missions, customizable content. After an hour of gameplay I realized that no matter what I did I couldn't even choose the color of the freaking car I was driving. Two minutes into Saints Row 2 proved what a sandbox game was. Before you begin to play you get to pick what your character looks like. Goodbye big nosed Russian, hello whoevertheheck you want. Instead of playing some hero-with-a-past (tm) I was playing an amoral maniac, reminding me of GTA III. Instead of a few really boring missions that basically were "TAXI" the game I got to take a car out into a part of the city and blow up everything I saw. Vote yes to options (Saints Row 2) and no to regression (GTA 4). Expand
  3. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    abolsute pleasure to play-
    guity pleasure at that- everything about this game screams polish and talent- FIRSTLY the city is wonderfully
    realised, varied and incredibly fun to be in- no sandbox game has had the "lived in" feel that elder scrolls oblivion did with its "radiant AI" but this is best of the modern sand box games. SECONDLY- this game just oozes fun and charm- the 3rd game in the series is an abomination of bad design and lack of creative talent- quite frankly saints row 3 looks like the work of 12 year old virgins- saints row 2 however tows the line between silly, insane and psychopathic- almost tarantino esque in fact.
    THIRDLY- the kitchen sink approach to the game with clothes cars and houses is magnificent without any DLC BS that only idiots would pay extra for-

    saints row 2 is top 5 games of this generation- buy it if you have any interested in sand box games- its a hell lot better than gta IV which is sh!t and much better than red dead redemption even (RDR is an ok game with a nice graphics engine that runs at 2FPS)
    Expand
  4. AshleyB
    Oct 20, 2008
    9
    People comparing this to GTA4 are going to have a tough time seeing the appeal of the game. While GTA4 took a solid series and refined it into a cinematic, atmospheric experience, it left behind a lot of what made the GTA series just so entertaining: Rampant silliness. Saints Row 2 goes all out on remedying this by dropping all pretenses of being a serious game from the get-go. After making a character from a huge variety of options, you're thrown straight into the action, with a world packed with things to do. You can throw people a good 15 ft, use them as human shields, cheer them on, and you can't turn a corner without finding a new activity to do. Technically, SR2 isn't all that stunning and makes a poor first impression. The graphics seem poor and the vehicle handling is far too tight, with no real sense of weight, but despite sounding like major criticisms, you'd be suprised at just how easily you start to look past them when you're doing a handstand on top of a buddy's customised sports-car into oncoming traffic with the police shooting at you. Both GTA4 and SR2 are fantastic games in their own right, and chances are if you've completed GTA4, you're probably disappointed in things to do in the endgame other than going on huge killing sprees. SR2 is packed to the brim with silly things to do, and is a constantly rewarding experience. Add to this some extremely entertaining cutscenes and some very well executed voiceacting, and you have a game that, while certainly not beating GTA4 in polish, is a vastly more entertaining experience. Expand
  5. JakeMorris
    Sep 11, 2009
    9
    SR2 is probaly the best game ive played.. the Storyline, Graphics and all dat r just amazing, the glitches and some other mistakes made do play it down a little but half the time those glitches r funny.. it is a really fun game to play and cant wait till SR3 (hopefully) Expand
  6. LeeT
    Sep 15, 2009
    8
    Okay, look, it's one of the best games I've ever played hands down. It kicks the ever living crap out of GTA4 and I love both franchises. But I paid for MORE downloadable content than my less wealthy friend, and now the game won't allow me to join him over XBLA. No way to make a new character on his server; nothing. The only available answer is for my friend to infect his system with the same incurable viruses as me. And the whole thing stinks of capitalist bastardry, and I hope he doesn't spend a dime trying to keep up with me. There should be an option to disable DLC so friends don't have to get involved in DLC arms races. Expand
  7. MarkF
    Oct 3, 2008
    0
    What the hell is this? It's not that much of an improvement from the first. Same horrible car handling, same ugly graphics just with a little bit more colour and it has copied a lot from GTA IV. What did they copy? They put the camera to the right side of your character, your character turns at an angle when he moves around and motion blur. You can't tell me that this isn't a plain copy of GTA just made worse. They shouldn't have bothered making a second one. Expand

See all 56 User Reviews