Saints Row 2 Xbox 360

Saints Row 2 Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 298 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Saints Row 2 is set years after the original Saints Row in a Stilwater both familiar and strange. The explosive conclusion to Saints Row has left the player wounded, betrayed and thirsty for revenge, and now it's time to take back the city that has forgotten him. A sequel to the firstSaints Row 2 is set years after the original Saints Row in a Stilwater both familiar and strange. The explosive conclusion to Saints Row has left the player wounded, betrayed and thirsty for revenge, and now it's time to take back the city that has forgotten him. A sequel to the first open-world title on next-generation consoles, Saints Row 2 features all new customization options, including gender, age, voice, crib and gang customization. The sandbox just got larger with a totally transformed and expanded city of Stilwater, offering all new locations to explore with new vehicles, including motorcycles, boats, helicopters and planes. Saints Row 2 is playable online in 2-player co-op through the entire single-player campaign or in the all new open-world competitive multiplayer mode never before seen in the genre. [THQ] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Arguably, it doesn’t do as much to propel the genre forward (in terms of story-telling, etc) as some of its peers. But the game is also wickedly fun. In terms of pure, unadulterated fun, Saints Row 2 is in a league of its own.
  2. My main issue with the game is that while the element of ‘fun’ makes the game quirky and amusing to play, underneath I can’t find the defining factor as to why I don’t enjoy it as much. Whether it is because a certain unnamed open-world action title has already been released this year and showed us what the potential of the console can do; then perhaps that is why.
  3. Overall, Saints Row 2 is like a perfect movie sequel; give ‘em more of the same, but it’s got to be bigger, better, faster, and louder.
  4. Saint's Row 2 is as every bit as good as the first game despite its glaring technical faults.
  5. 360 Gamer Magazine UK
    80
    A rough diamond, only a few strides behind the best games on the PS3 and 360, Saints Row 2 is a bit like the kid with the best trainers who still hasn’t learned to tie their laces. It’s all over the place, and frequently opts to cram more in where it should be refining what it already has, but overall you’d have to be a complete snob to not get a kick out of playing through it. And to play through everything on offer would take a very long time indeed.
  6. Saints Row 2, we repeat, is no GTA IV. It is a whole lot more of a relaxed and loose experience.
  7. Edge Magazine
    50
    It’s not necessarily badly constructed, but in many ways it is badly intentioned, failing not just because of its conga-line of racial and sexual clichés, but because of the way it makes it a little bit easier to criticise videogaming as a hollow and sadistic pursuit. [Dec 2008, p.91]

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 60
  2. Negative: 6 out of 60
  1. LJH
    May 17, 2011
    10
    Ever thought gta is boring and sluggish well this is the cure. With dozens of side missions and a story that easily rivals gta and just causeEver thought gta is boring and sluggish well this is the cure. With dozens of side missions and a story that easily rivals gta and just cause for emotion. Expand
  2. DieKreateur
    Apr 23, 2009
    10
    When I picked up this game, I could tell from the cover that I held an epic in my hand. From the moment I put the disc into my XBOX 360, andWhen I picked up this game, I could tell from the cover that I held an epic in my hand. From the moment I put the disc into my XBOX 360, and played the first mission, I knew that this game DOMINATED GTA IV. While GTA IV has its moments, Saints Row 2 has the entire game that it impresses with. The best part is not having to rigidly stick to one style, you can be who you want to be, and play how you want to play. Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    the saints row 2 is must buy if your into gta or free roam games. story is immersive and customization is taken to whole another level. createthe saints row 2 is must buy if your into gta or free roam games. story is immersive and customization is taken to whole another level. create your own character. Expand
  4. KrisD
    Oct 21, 2008
    9
    When I bought it, i didn't expect so much from this game. and when i played it at first i wasn't too impressed either. i loved GTA4 When I bought it, i didn't expect so much from this game. and when i played it at first i wasn't too impressed either. i loved GTA4 and of course you compare a lot. but now I've been playing this game for a week and i can't stop! it's just so much fun and there is so much to do. yes, the graphics could be better, the damage modeling sucks and there are some serious technical flaws, but once you notice what this game has to offer, then you don't mind. the customization, the lively world, the excellent gameplay, all the things you can unlock and discover. there's just so much! I'm actually starting to prefer this game over GTA4. but who cares, they're both great games. i really recommend SR2. play it a little more than 5 hours and you'll know what i mean. Expand
  5. JobA
    Dec 9, 2009
    9
    Great game,great game,great game.I cant say enough about Saints Row 2.What happened with the expansions though?This game takes the sand-box Great game,great game,great game.I cant say enough about Saints Row 2.What happened with the expansions though?This game takes the sand-box idea and takes it to a whole different level.How can you play the Grand Theft Auto's after playing this game and Saints Row 1.I have GTA IV.I pop it in and take it right outof my 360.I cant stand that game at times.You have to be very patient with that game and accept the terrible controls,Lame missions.Honestly,i dont respect that game or GTA San Andreas.After Playing Saints Row 1 in 2006 it changes your thoughts and the way you play sand-box games.There is so much thought and perfection throughout this game it is scary.The graphics need to be fixed and a few other things but until Saints Row 3 comes out,you know what I'll be playing.The intelligence behind the makers of this game are special,wow.I give it a 9.7 Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2010
    8
    This game helped fill the gap of our missing GTA title on the transition to the new generation of consoles, it was really enjoyableThis game helped fill the gap of our missing GTA title on the transition to the new generation of consoles, it was really enjoyable considering it lacked variety and vehicles (Only cars, you won't even find a bike here!). The story really entertaining and humorous, and the customize was really a surprise. The big hit is the multiplayer, I could spend an entire night with my friends playing this over Xbox Live, it was really hilarious and fun! The game is dated now by Saints Row 2, which also introduces co-op, but it's graphics seems to have fallen and the multiplayer isn't as fun. Expand
  7. MarkF
    Oct 3, 2008
    0
    What the hell is this? It's not that much of an improvement from the first. Same horrible car handling, same ugly graphics just with a What the hell is this? It's not that much of an improvement from the first. Same horrible car handling, same ugly graphics just with a little bit more colour and it has copied a lot from GTA IV. What did they copy? They put the camera to the right side of your character, your character turns at an angle when he moves around and motion blur. You can't tell me that this isn't a plain copy of GTA just made worse. They shouldn't have bothered making a second one. Expand

See all 60 User Reviews