Saints Row 2 Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 290 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Saints Row 2 is set years after the original Saints Row in a Stilwater both familiar and strange. The explosive conclusion to Saints Row has left the player wounded, betrayed and thirsty for revenge, and now it's time to take back the city that has forgotten him. A sequel to the firstSaints Row 2 is set years after the original Saints Row in a Stilwater both familiar and strange. The explosive conclusion to Saints Row has left the player wounded, betrayed and thirsty for revenge, and now it's time to take back the city that has forgotten him. A sequel to the first open-world title on next-generation consoles, Saints Row 2 features all new customization options, including gender, age, voice, crib and gang customization. The sandbox just got larger with a totally transformed and expanded city of Stilwater, offering all new locations to explore with new vehicles, including motorcycles, boats, helicopters and planes. Saints Row 2 is playable online in 2-player co-op through the entire single-player campaign or in the all new open-world competitive multiplayer mode never before seen in the genre. [THQ] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Arguably, it doesn’t do as much to propel the genre forward (in terms of story-telling, etc) as some of its peers. But the game is also wickedly fun. In terms of pure, unadulterated fun, Saints Row 2 is in a league of its own.
  2. My main issue with the game is that while the element of ‘fun’ makes the game quirky and amusing to play, underneath I can’t find the defining factor as to why I don’t enjoy it as much. Whether it is because a certain unnamed open-world action title has already been released this year and showed us what the potential of the console can do; then perhaps that is why.
  3. Overall, Saints Row 2 is like a perfect movie sequel; give ‘em more of the same, but it’s got to be bigger, better, faster, and louder.
  4. Saint's Row 2 is as every bit as good as the first game despite its glaring technical faults.
  5. A rough diamond, only a few strides behind the best games on the PS3 and 360, Saints Row 2 is a bit like the kid with the best trainers who still hasn’t learned to tie their laces. It’s all over the place, and frequently opts to cram more in where it should be refining what it already has, but overall you’d have to be a complete snob to not get a kick out of playing through it. And to play through everything on offer would take a very long time indeed.
  6. Saints Row 2, we repeat, is no GTA IV. It is a whole lot more of a relaxed and loose experience.
  7. It’s not necessarily badly constructed, but in many ways it is badly intentioned, failing not just because of its conga-line of racial and sexual clichés, but because of the way it makes it a little bit easier to criticise videogaming as a hollow and sadistic pursuit. [Dec 2008, p.91]

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 59
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 59
  3. Negative: 6 out of 59
  1. LJH
    May 17, 2011
    10
    Ever thought gta is boring and sluggish well this is the cure. With dozens of side missions and a story that easily rivals gta and just causeEver thought gta is boring and sluggish well this is the cure. With dozens of side missions and a story that easily rivals gta and just cause for emotion. Expand
  2. aqibk.
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    I've played GTAIV. the game that got near perfect reviews. then when i played it i was shocked on how a game franchise this well I've played GTAIV. the game that got near perfect reviews. then when i played it i was shocked on how a game franchise this well respected could make such a crap boring game. Or how it got perfect review scores. or how it sold 6 million copies! then i traded it in with a smile on my face for saints row 2. i thought it would be worse. then comes out probably the funnest video game ever made. you cant go round in GTAIV driving a truck full of poo and spray it on corporate fatcats! or throw an unlimited amount of fireworks onto oncoming pursuers. or customize everything from your clothes to your gang to your cribs something rockstar also left out. no 2 levels are the same and i play it at least 4 hours everyday nonstop because A: i love it B: Most fun ever and C:i honestly want to know what the story line has next in store, hand on heart i am not lying. After gears of war 2, best game ever bar none. Ps remove that crap excuse of a good game called GTAIV off the top spot and put this up. i am now a saints man forever, forget liberty city and Rockstar. anyone dissapointed with GTAIV or bored of it or bored with gaming please go out and buy this, aftrer the first 1:30 hours youll be hooked from start to finish. Expand
  3. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    hours of fun i have had on this game days of killing slaughtering and having fun with friends
    multiplayer is shocking but the coop makes up
    hours of fun i have had on this game days of killing slaughtering and having fun with friends
    multiplayer is shocking but the coop makes up for that
    a true gangster game wich is what saints row is about
    Expand
  4. AdamB.
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    This game is so fun and large the only things I think would improve it are 4-8 player co-op, and the ability to name your character. Also a This game is so fun and large the only things I think would improve it are 4-8 player co-op, and the ability to name your character. Also a morality/choice system would be cool because sometimes your character comes off as a bit too sadistic. But with that said, it's insane how much stuff there is to do in the game, and how much voice acting there is. Pedestrians always come up with new and funny things to say. When comparing it to GTA4, it is less realistic and polished but in my opinion much more fun. Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2010
    9
    Incredibly fun game. I see it as a parody of Grand Theft Auto and all of those other crime games, because the rag doll effects, missions andIncredibly fun game. I see it as a parody of Grand Theft Auto and all of those other crime games, because the rag doll effects, missions and everything else make it hilarious, yet an intense game to play. My fiance loves playing this game. She really get's into it. A really easy game to understand and play. Only negative is the driving is terrible. Other than that, it's surprisingly long and has a TON of side missions and things to do. Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2010
    8
    This game helped fill the gap of our missing GTA title on the transition to the new generation of consoles, it was really enjoyableThis game helped fill the gap of our missing GTA title on the transition to the new generation of consoles, it was really enjoyable considering it lacked variety and vehicles (Only cars, you won't even find a bike here!). The story really entertaining and humorous, and the customize was really a surprise. The big hit is the multiplayer, I could spend an entire night with my friends playing this over Xbox Live, it was really hilarious and fun! The game is dated now by Saints Row 2, which also introduces co-op, but it's graphics seems to have fallen and the multiplayer isn't as fun. Expand
  7. MarkF
    Oct 3, 2008
    0
    What the hell is this? It's not that much of an improvement from the first. Same horrible car handling, same ugly graphics just with a What the hell is this? It's not that much of an improvement from the first. Same horrible car handling, same ugly graphics just with a little bit more colour and it has copied a lot from GTA IV. What did they copy? They put the camera to the right side of your character, your character turns at an angle when he moves around and motion blur. You can't tell me that this isn't a plain copy of GTA just made worse. They shouldn't have bothered making a second one. Expand

See all 59 User Reviews