Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 94
    A game that is rich and deep with personality and unmatched ridiculousness. Saints Row IV is exactly what I needed this summer. It takes everything that I love about sandbox style gaming and makes it better.
  2. Aug 29, 2013
    90
    It's not that common that a game as extravagant as this one manages to offer such a fun story, deep gameplay and a great soundtrack. Volition focused on offering a great dose of raw fun and they succeeded. As the last game of the series, Saints Row IV delivers everything that we wanted to see in it and even a bit more.
  3. Aug 15, 2013
    90
    It's just a joy to play, even though Saints Rows biggest accomplishment is leaving its troubled – and troubling – early phase behind to become gaming's one true enfant terrible, fleet-footedly hopping back and forth between infantility and pure genius.
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    90
    Saints Row IV isn’t a dignified sign-off to the current generation of gaming in the way The Last Of Us is. Nor is it a ham-fisted GTA wannabe. It takes the core creative elements of the last Saints Row game and adds superpowers… not only in your character, now the President, but in its awareness, competency, comedy, and enthusiasm.
  5. Aug 14, 2013
    90
    While this is a game about a gang of sociopaths killing thousands of enemies and collecting a bunch of stupid blue things that give them magical powers, it’s secretly about a gang of puckish rogues that care deeply for one another. It’s admirable that Volition even attempted something like that. It’s astounding that it succeeded.
  6. 90
    It's all worth it...for the unbridled fun of wreaking havoc at high speeds and experiencing the laughs and unexpected emotional highs of Saints Row IV's storyline. Simultaneously more and less impressive than SR3, it's not quite the highest point the series has reached, but it's nonetheless a satisfyingly explosive send-off for the Saints.
  7. 90
    It's possible someone who doesn't buy into the Saints Row universe with such enthusiasm will find Saints Row IV exhausting and boring. Might we suggest those people attend a local museum, where the paintings of flowers might be more to their taste. If violent psychopathy is the price we have to pay for a world of awesome harmony, sign us up.
  8. Aug 14, 2013
    90
    If Grand Theft Auto is drama, then Saints Row is comedy. Both have similar sandbox designs, but their aesthetics are wildly apart. Yet just like drama versus comedy, the former is lauded as superior and the latter is seen somehow negatively as a farce. Those people don't know what they're missing. Saints Row IV is exaggerated fun in the loudest, proudest, awesomest, most fu.kingest way possible.
  9. Aug 14, 2013
    90
    Saints Row IV is one of the most enjoyable games you’ll likely ever play, and while the story makes little to no sense, it’s not really supposed to. You’re playing games to have fun, and Saints Row IV does everything it can to make you remember that.
  10. Aug 14, 2013
    90
    It's not sophisticated or subtle, nor does it want to be. And the game's open stance on character customization and gender let me play the way I wanted to. Saints Row IV made me feel superhuman — and that's what this kind of game is all about.
  11. Aug 14, 2013
    90
    Volition did something it seems few developers are brave enough to do at this point: They were willing to reinvent the Saints Row series instead of just reiterating on it. The result is a game that I had an absolute blast with from beginning to end, but also one that—due to the escalation it exhibits—left me dumbfounded on what they’ll offer as a follow-up.
  12. Aug 29, 2013
    85
    Saints Row IV is like the ultimate virtual stress-ball. After a hard day of work - or study, or sleeping - nothing quite beats dressing up as a pink and green bunny-rabbit and running around town with a gun that makes people spontaneously break into dance (it’s called the Dubstep gun).
  13. Aug 25, 2013
    85
    Saints Row IV may not be perfect but it is extremely fun. The super powers mix well with the Saints Row insanity making you feel like the biggest bad ass in the universe.
  14. Aug 18, 2013
    85
    Saints Row IV doesn’t want to set new bars in graphics, storytelling or put hundreds of characters in the same area: it simply wants to be over the top, parodistic, irreverent and fun. And it succeeds, delivering us hours of great fun and satirical sketches. If you appreciate this kind of exaggerated and somewhat vulgar humor, it won’t disappoint you.
  15. Aug 14, 2013
    85
    Take the mayhem of Saints Row The Third. Now add some aliens, dubstep weapons, superpowers and rectal probes. What do you get? Just one of the funniest, craziest an entertaining sandbox games we've ever played. Some graphical issues and secondary missions are just that, some. Maybe it doesn't take things seriously in any moment, but if you want to spend a good and funny time (and feel like the real Neo of Matrix Reloaded), just get back with the Saints.
  16. Aug 14, 2013
    85
    Vehicles may not be as exciting this time around, but the thrill of soaring through the skies and navigating with ease makes up for it. With tons of upgrades and weapon customization, making your President more and more powerful is an addictive and rewarding affair, and you can become virtually unstoppable by the end.
  17. Sep 3, 2013
    84
    You could almost forget that Saints Row 4 started as a DLC for the third part. But even though you’ll find a lot there is to like, starting from over the top humor and super powers up to the brilliant Dubstep Gun, it can never fully separate itself from its add on roots.
  18. Aug 14, 2013
    82
    Saints Row IV's world might be a virtual simulation, but there's nothing fake about the level of fun on offer here. The only downside is a nagging sense of diminishing returns, and a very real sense that the next Saints Row game should probably look at going back to its roots.
  19. Sep 1, 2013
    81
    Saints Row IV loses sight of its identity, but still retains high levels of hair-brained hilarity. [Oct 2013, p.63]
  20. Oct 3, 2013
    80
    It may not blow your mind graphically and has some niggling issues, but this is easily the most fun you can have with you clothes on, or pixelated off. [Nov 2013, p.60]
  21. Sep 17, 2013
    80
    As stupid and amusing a game as we've seen this generation and even though some of it may be repurposed, the original stuff is good enough that it barely matters. [Issue#102, p.66]
  22. Sep 7, 2013
    80
    Once hits its stride, Saints Row IV is a pleasure to try and keep up with. Its relentless insanity will occasionally tire, but its in these moments you can appreciate the smarter elements. Despite everything, this is a more mature game than its predecessors.
  23. Sep 5, 2013
    80
    Saints Row 4 does a fantastic job of moulding adult content with good old fashioned fun. Whilst not at all perfect, it is a game loaded with content, is easy to pick up and play with enough 80’s tunes to keep you smiling and playing for many many hours.
  24. Sep 1, 2013
    80
    By setting most of the game inside a virtual Steelport, developer Volition had free rein to come up with new and ridiculous gameplay mechanics, and the addition of superpowers lends Saints Row IV a distinct Crackdown vibe. Who needs to jack a car when you can run faster than anything on wheels?
  25. Aug 23, 2013
    80
    A thoroughly well-executed absurd empowerment fantasy, and a fond farewell to its peanut gallery. This might not be the game to evoke essays on meaning and artistry, but I haven't had more fun this year.
  26. Aug 14, 2013
    80
    It keeps on expanding the crazy experience of the third game. It is as fun as you expect, and always manages to make us smile. If you liked the previous episode, you shouldn't miss this one.
  27. Aug 14, 2013
    80
    Sure, I wasn't always comfortable playing Saints Row IV these past few days with guests in my home. But work is work, and even though I'd talk to them about Journey and the like to explain my work as a video games critic, a serious part of me was secretly enjoying every last bit of silliness and bad taste Saints Row IV had to offer. And there's a massive amount of that in the game, which is as fun as it is completely and utterly stupid.
  28. Aug 14, 2013
    80
    A generally joyous experience that exceeded my expectations with some of the most unabashedly entertaining play I've had all year. I have nothing but respect for the developers' attempts to right their listing ship, and with the best writing the series has ever seen, a fresh approach to the material and a strong structure underneath the crazy, they were wildly successful in doing so.
  29. Aug 14, 2013
    80
    Even a heinous final boss encounter can’t dampen the mood. Saints Row 4 is a comedy gem; built by creators that are clearly on our side, and totally in love with what they do. It’s pretty easy to love them back.
  30. Aug 14, 2013
    80
    This isn’t the Saints Row you are used to experiencing but as long as you can deal with the technical hiccups, including constant, awkward collision issues, occasional hang-ups in the environment, delayed scene transitions, and a drastic departure from the typical Saints formula, you will find a lot to love.
  31. Aug 14, 2013
    80
    Saints Row 4 may lack refinement - nothing thwarts a superhero quite so frequently as an overhanging roof or your homies standing in a doorway - but it compensates with sheer exuberance. It's a heartfelt love letter to the superhero genre and to a medium that makes such madness possible.
  32. Aug 28, 2013
    78
    Even with the screen tearing and sporadic glitches, unimpressive graphics, generic and forgettable antagonist and over-powered abilities, I have to admit, I couldn’t get enough of Saints Row IV, once it hit stride.
  33. Aug 14, 2013
    77
    Although Saints Row IV has some good ideas, it’s the worst iteration of the series thus far. Maybe affected by THQ’s closure or by its initial add-on inception, Volition’s last can barely justify its full price.
  34. Aug 19, 2013
    75
    Saints Row 4 is a bizarre open world game that never takes itself serious. The game has strong dialogue, a great soundtrack and the open world gameplay offers a lot of creativity and freedom. It’s, however, never really original and fans of the first two games in the series might want to steer clear of this game. But if you’re looking for a playground in which you can do whatever you want, you’ll have a blast with Saints Row 4.
  35. Aug 15, 2013
    75
    Saints Row IV is a giant playground for gamers. The superpowers are a boatload of fun, and the metahumor is amusing and holds the gameplay together. On the downside, it's glitchy, and it suffers from many little problems that can add up. Despite that, the game is absolutely brimming with heart.
  36. Aug 14, 2013
    75
    Saints Row IV owes a lot to games like Crackdown and Prototype, but the absurd humor that infuses every aspect of this game gives it an identity all its own.
  37. Aug 14, 2013
    75
    Saint's Row 4 is a game that is greater than the sum of its parts. While its systems are lacking in depth, the game provides so much variety and so many tools to play with, that it's hard not to have fun.
  38. Aug 14, 2013
    73
    With its recycled map and wildly overpowered abilities, playing Saints Row IV feels like a lot like enabling god-like cheat codes in Saints Row The Third and going nuts.
  39. Aug 14, 2013
    71
    It’s a classic “jack of all trades, master of none” scenario and it’s easy to think of other franchises that do every element of Saints Row IV better than it does. That isn’t to say the game won’t keep you entertained, but hopefully the next Saints outing is as refined as it is irreverent.
  40. Sep 23, 2013
    70
    Volition needs to plan its next steps carefully, or run the risk of losing the fan base it has worked so hard to claw away from those that didn't quite click with GTA IV. [Issue#139, p.86]
  41. Sep 20, 2013
    70
    If it were released as a "mega expansion pack" Saints Row IV would have been a "must buy". As it is it can only be recommended to die-hard fans of the franchise.
  42. Aug 26, 2013
    70
    Unsophisticated and sloppily made but there’s a heart of gold beneath the game’s erratic exterior, as it successfully skewers some of gaming’s more pompous franchises.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 303 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 71
  2. Negative: 12 out of 71
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    5
    Saints Row 3 got a 7.6, so that's what I should give this game, because it's honestly SR3 on steroids.
    While playing it, it feels like the
    Saints Row 3 got a 7.6, so that's what I should give this game, because it's honestly SR3 on steroids.
    While playing it, it feels like the developers took Saints Row 3, developed a super powers cheat code, added some sort of campaign, intended for it to be DLC, but then decided the should make a full retail and see the money start rolling...
    Oh wait, that IS what happened!
    I WOULD give this game a 7/10, the same score SR3 got for being almost identical, but I'm giving it a 5 for literally trashing 90% of what SR3 tried to do.
    What the hell is even the point of upgrading/purchasing weapons and vehicles when you can just super sayan all over the place?
    This is the type of game that you can only enjoy in co-op where you're just dicking around with your friend and doing things without any goal or purpose, and that's pretty much what this game is.
    However, I DO NOT think this deserves a 2.8, the story isn't bad and I like the characters, except for a select few.
    However, I DO NOT recommend this game.
    You can literally find mods for Saints Row 3 with more content than this.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    This game is just pure fun. I had only one problem with Saints Row: The Third: I felt like it was too slow. With the inclusion of super powersThis game is just pure fun. I had only one problem with Saints Row: The Third: I felt like it was too slow. With the inclusion of super powers in Saints Row IV, the pace has drastically increased and I find myself giddy while playing it, because it is literally everything I had hoped for from this game. I would heavily suggest this game if you enjoyed Prototype or Crackdown, because I feel it is more fun than both of them combined!

    Also, while I think that this game probably deserves a 8, I am giving it a 10, because no game deserves a rating of 0.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    Picked up a copy a couple days early and have clocked 16 hours so far. Thoroughly enjoying this game and the improvements go far beyond whatPicked up a copy a couple days early and have clocked 16 hours so far. Thoroughly enjoying this game and the improvements go far beyond what looks like simply an expansion. I was concerned since the engine and game-play (with the except of superpowers) this game would simply be a glorified expansion with more features. However they have really excelled in crafting a brand new experience, mainly due to the superpowers which are really fun. Not quite on the same level a Crackdown 2, however the other experiences in SR4 easily make up for that. The storyline is silly as ever, but as the developers pushed and promised, the character development is more apparent and works really well. A fun, daft game like the third, but that's why we now love it! Full Review »