Saints Row IV Xbox 360

Saints Row IV Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 322 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Saints have ankled from the crackhouse to the White House—but the Earth has been invaded and it’s your responsibility to free the world from Overlord Zinyak and his alien force. With homies new and old by your side, and an arsenal of superpowers and exotic weapons, you must save the world.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Aug 14, 2013
    94
    A game that is rich and deep with personality and unmatched ridiculousness. Saints Row IV is exactly what I needed this summer. It takes everything that I love about sandbox style gaming and makes it better.
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    90
    Volition did something it seems few developers are brave enough to do at this point: They were willing to reinvent the Saints Row series instead of just reiterating on it. The result is a game that I had an absolute blast with from beginning to end, but also one that—due to the escalation it exhibits—left me dumbfounded on what they’ll offer as a follow-up.
  3. 90
    It's all worth it...for the unbridled fun of wreaking havoc at high speeds and experiencing the laughs and unexpected emotional highs of Saints Row IV's storyline. Simultaneously more and less impressive than SR3, it's not quite the highest point the series has reached, but it's nonetheless a satisfyingly explosive send-off for the Saints.
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    80
    Sure, I wasn't always comfortable playing Saints Row IV these past few days with guests in my home. But work is work, and even though I'd talk to them about Journey and the like to explain my work as a video games critic, a serious part of me was secretly enjoying every last bit of silliness and bad taste Saints Row IV had to offer. And there's a massive amount of that in the game, which is as fun as it is completely and utterly stupid.
  5. Sep 7, 2013
    80
    Once hits its stride, Saints Row IV is a pleasure to try and keep up with. Its relentless insanity will occasionally tire, but its in these moments you can appreciate the smarter elements. Despite everything, this is a more mature game than its predecessors.
  6. Aug 28, 2013
    78
    Even with the screen tearing and sporadic glitches, unimpressive graphics, generic and forgettable antagonist and over-powered abilities, I have to admit, I couldn’t get enough of Saints Row IV, once it hit stride.
  7. Aug 26, 2013
    70
    Unsophisticated and sloppily made but there’s a heart of gold beneath the game’s erratic exterior, as it successfully skewers some of gaming’s more pompous franchises.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 75
  2. Negative: 14 out of 75
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    This game is just pure fun. I had only one problem with Saints Row: The Third: I felt like it was too slow. With the inclusion of super powersThis game is just pure fun. I had only one problem with Saints Row: The Third: I felt like it was too slow. With the inclusion of super powers in Saints Row IV, the pace has drastically increased and I find myself giddy while playing it, because it is literally everything I had hoped for from this game. I would heavily suggest this game if you enjoyed Prototype or Crackdown, because I feel it is more fun than both of them combined!

    Also, while I think that this game probably deserves a 8, I am giving it a 10, because no game deserves a rating of 0.
    Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2014
    9
    "Saints Row IV" is a great game. It has the Dubstep Gun and super powers and that should be enough. I highly recommend playing it. The parody"Saints Row IV" is a great game. It has the Dubstep Gun and super powers and that should be enough. I highly recommend playing it. The parody of gaming is spot-on and welcome. The tough question is whether it is better or worse than "Saints Row the Third". Everyone knows "Saints Row IV" started as extra content for "Saints Row the Third" and then was spun into into owns game instead. Much of "Saints Row the Third" is recycled, such as much of the game world, vehicles, characters, and weapons. However, what little that has changed is just so fantastic, revisiting Steel City is fantastic fun.

    The story mode of the game is rather shallow. You can definitely see how this game is more of an add-on than full game. On the other hand, some of the missions are inventive for this genre. One has you in a 2-D style "Double Dragon" beat'm up. Another has your character commenting on shooting the lights in spy missions when he could just shoot the guard instead. Other revisit Saints Row history which is probably great for people who played the first two games. *shrug* Anyone who has seen the the 1980s "Transformers: The Movie" will enjoy some late game repartee between the "hero" and villain. The real special sauce is the additon of super powers, which eventually include creating a nuclear blast with a flying drop kick off a sky scraper.

    All in all, "Saints Row IV" is short for a sandbox game and burns out quickly. When you can run up buildings at 200mph, the Steel Port becomes a small city and vehicle and weapon customization become useless. Super powers are often removed main story missions, as are much of the customization. Yet, for anyone with better things to do, a short game is not a detriment. Look at the stats for GTAIV. Hardly anyone finished the game, and that's because finishing the game was a real chore. Finishing "Saints Row IV" was a joy, and though it might have low replayability, the initial run will be epic, promise!
    Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    I don't get why it's getting low reviews. People must be having a bad acid trip. The game has all the highlights of a SR game except the newerI don't get why it's getting low reviews. People must be having a bad acid trip. The game has all the highlights of a SR game except the newer twists make it somewhat unrecognizeable at times. Overall, it's the old games with a beefier and faster and smarter set of developments. Who's to complain? Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    8
    When I first saw Saints Row IV I absolutely despised it. I thought they took the idea of everything being over dramatic and funny to being wayWhen I first saw Saints Row IV I absolutely despised it. I thought they took the idea of everything being over dramatic and funny to being way over the top. Even for Saints Row! Because from what I saw and heard, You were the president with super powers in an alien invasion. But this is not how the game was.

    I bought the game to laugh at it. And boy oh boy, did this game prove me wrong. The story was executed in a fantastic way, the super powers were used in a way that was so clever. It was very similar to assassins creed in which you are put into a simulation, so you aren't just given superpowers because why the hell not. There is reasoning to it. I wont lie, the president bit was a bit over the top, but I liked it.

    The characters in the game were gripping. I cared for people like Kinzie because she cared about me. Well My character but I felt so attached to her. It was great! Other characters were not so lovable because it is all mainly based around you and Kinzie. I'm surprised we didn't get married!

    The side missions were quite annoying. They were unbearably repetative and just made you do the same 5 activities over and over with a different plot each time but the loyalty missions paid off for this. They were all different in every way and none of them felt the same as the others.

    So, overall, going into a game I was certain I would hate, Completely bi-est against it. I was delightfully surprised. The side missions might be a pain in the Arse But overall. This game rocked!
    Expand
  5. Oct 14, 2013
    7
    This time round in SR i found that the game was much more compelling than the actual story, it just felt kinda lazy to me, the clothes youThis time round in SR i found that the game was much more compelling than the actual story, it just felt kinda lazy to me, the clothes you could buy where pretty much the same, th map is the same and really this just feels like a stretched out DLC for SR3 but it was fun cars where pretty much pointless since you had super speed and the Dub Step Gun is the greatest creation since Mr Toots in Red Faction, alot of people will say there are a lot of glitches but the story is based inside a digitally engineered world that your messing with so glitches make sense and if they were not done purposefully then the digital world was a good way of hiding it on the whole this isn't a bad game its a good game but i still waiting for the proper sequel to follow SR2 and continue to fight Ultor headed by Dex but i guess i'm never going to see that Expand
  6. Dec 9, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Saints Row IV is an adequate sequel in the Saints Row series, but it has some flaws to be certain. The inclusion of super powers, the virtual reality world, the style of humor, the elimination of a regenerating health system, and the dynamics between the characters is rather something to behold, as they all bring life to a game series that, in all other instances, would have puttered out by now. However, the demotion of vehicles to little more than things in the way has detracted from the experience, as few players will have ANY reason to use cars in lieu of super powered speed running across the city. Various mechanics introduced in the game are dumped by the wayside after the next big thing is acquired (see: Wall jumping vs Wall running), followers and homies who do not have or get super powers are almost useless unless guarding a store. The disconnect between the Saints Row 3, where everyone who was a Saint was a living breathing person, and SR4 is glaringly obvious: I find it hard to sympathize with simulations that wear my colors. I find it hard to give a damn when I run over 30 pedestrians in a row now, especially when they can cough up health upon death. At least in the 3rd Saints Row I felt some niggling guilt over running them over. Now I'm doing it to heal back up. Volition could have really made me feel guilty over shutting the simulation down in the end if they had a system where recruited gang members could level up with you, given names, armor and weapons to use, and have them tag along throughout the game... maybe even to the game's conclusion. Instead, everyone isn't real (except for homies) and thus I have no reason to give a damn. The Store Hacking mini-game causes to game to grind to a halt rather abruptly and only serves to break the flow of the game. Cash infusions happen AFTER a set number of missions or activities are done rather than "hourly", meaning you have to play the same boring mini-games over and over again to get that dough, which is annoying to say the least. Speaking of which, the annoying "play these mini-games to get control of territory!!!" mechanic from Saints Row 3 is back with a vengeance, much to my chagrin. I don't want to play your stupid mini-games to GET territory: I wanna play mini-games to make some cash on the side, have fun, and maybe get some unique upgrades (like SR2). Weapon upgrades for non-alien weaponry don't matter in the long run, as you'll be restricted to alien weapons when rescuing crewmates in the real world, or in the final assault. Get familiar with alien weapons if you want guns that won't suck in the end. You have no choice in what weapons you bring into those missions either, and some missions force you to use other weapons you probably haven't upgraded, inflating the difficulty a bit. Some new additions to the game (such as the mech suit) don't get the ability to be upgraded until AFTER the story is beaten, defeating the purpose of getting upgrades to win. There's also some game breaking bugs that can ruin the experience for the player as well (notable example includes the Tanya glitch during Ben King's loyalty mission), and the fact that the story missions are limited and over before you know it. In fact, most of your game time will be either playing the really short story mission campaign, or playing the activities before getting on with the story. So 6 hours, or 16 hours. Take your pick. Given that this game is selling for around 50 bucks right now, and that you may not like the idea of having to play every single mini-game just to get cash or territory, you may feel ripped off in the end. Lastly, the DLC is horrendous and should be avoided. Don't let them take money from your wallet for low-grade, cobbled together DLC. In all, the game is good but suffers from some bad decisions and missed potential, and the fact that they took the mechanics from crackdown to make a sequel. Not to say they aren't fun, but they are not exactly original. And writing one's self out of the hole Volition piloted the series in ("Where do you go after Space?") could be difficult. 6/10 Expand
  7. Aug 12, 2015
    0
    Saints row 4 is like buying a brick of cocaine and it actually turns out to be drywall but you dont realize it until you have already snortedSaints row 4 is like buying a brick of cocaine and it actually turns out to be drywall but you dont realize it until you have already snorted an entire brick. This game is basically a reskin of saints row 3 only a new story and with superpowers thats it. YOU LITTERALY PLAY IN THE SAME CITY AS LAST TIME. The graphics are the same as the last time and this was originnaly going to be DLC but some a s s hat thought it would have been better to be a full game thus the unwanted fetus known as saints row 4 was born Expand

See all 75 User Reviews