Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 94
    A game that is rich and deep with personality and unmatched ridiculousness. Saints Row IV is exactly what I needed this summer. It takes everything that I love about sandbox style gaming and makes it better.
  2. Aug 29, 2013
    90
    It's not that common that a game as extravagant as this one manages to offer such a fun story, deep gameplay and a great soundtrack. Volition focused on offering a great dose of raw fun and they succeeded. As the last game of the series, Saints Row IV delivers everything that we wanted to see in it and even a bit more.
  3. Aug 15, 2013
    90
    It's just a joy to play, even though Saints Rows biggest accomplishment is leaving its troubled – and troubling – early phase behind to become gaming's one true enfant terrible, fleet-footedly hopping back and forth between infantility and pure genius.
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    90
    Saints Row IV isn’t a dignified sign-off to the current generation of gaming in the way The Last Of Us is. Nor is it a ham-fisted GTA wannabe. It takes the core creative elements of the last Saints Row game and adds superpowers… not only in your character, now the President, but in its awareness, competency, comedy, and enthusiasm.
  5. Aug 14, 2013
    90
    While this is a game about a gang of sociopaths killing thousands of enemies and collecting a bunch of stupid blue things that give them magical powers, it’s secretly about a gang of puckish rogues that care deeply for one another. It’s admirable that Volition even attempted something like that. It’s astounding that it succeeded.
  6. 90
    It's all worth it...for the unbridled fun of wreaking havoc at high speeds and experiencing the laughs and unexpected emotional highs of Saints Row IV's storyline. Simultaneously more and less impressive than SR3, it's not quite the highest point the series has reached, but it's nonetheless a satisfyingly explosive send-off for the Saints.
  7. 90
    It's possible someone who doesn't buy into the Saints Row universe with such enthusiasm will find Saints Row IV exhausting and boring. Might we suggest those people attend a local museum, where the paintings of flowers might be more to their taste. If violent psychopathy is the price we have to pay for a world of awesome harmony, sign us up.
  8. Aug 14, 2013
    90
    If Grand Theft Auto is drama, then Saints Row is comedy. Both have similar sandbox designs, but their aesthetics are wildly apart. Yet just like drama versus comedy, the former is lauded as superior and the latter is seen somehow negatively as a farce. Those people don't know what they're missing. Saints Row IV is exaggerated fun in the loudest, proudest, awesomest, most fu.kingest way possible.
  9. Aug 14, 2013
    90
    Saints Row IV is one of the most enjoyable games you’ll likely ever play, and while the story makes little to no sense, it’s not really supposed to. You’re playing games to have fun, and Saints Row IV does everything it can to make you remember that.
  10. Aug 14, 2013
    90
    It's not sophisticated or subtle, nor does it want to be. And the game's open stance on character customization and gender let me play the way I wanted to. Saints Row IV made me feel superhuman — and that's what this kind of game is all about.
  11. Aug 14, 2013
    90
    Volition did something it seems few developers are brave enough to do at this point: They were willing to reinvent the Saints Row series instead of just reiterating on it. The result is a game that I had an absolute blast with from beginning to end, but also one that—due to the escalation it exhibits—left me dumbfounded on what they’ll offer as a follow-up.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 303 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 71
  2. Negative: 12 out of 71
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    5
    Saints Row 3 got a 7.6, so that's what I should give this game, because it's honestly SR3 on steroids.
    While playing it, it feels like the
    Saints Row 3 got a 7.6, so that's what I should give this game, because it's honestly SR3 on steroids.
    While playing it, it feels like the developers took Saints Row 3, developed a super powers cheat code, added some sort of campaign, intended for it to be DLC, but then decided the should make a full retail and see the money start rolling...
    Oh wait, that IS what happened!
    I WOULD give this game a 7/10, the same score SR3 got for being almost identical, but I'm giving it a 5 for literally trashing 90% of what SR3 tried to do.
    What the hell is even the point of upgrading/purchasing weapons and vehicles when you can just super sayan all over the place?
    This is the type of game that you can only enjoy in co-op where you're just dicking around with your friend and doing things without any goal or purpose, and that's pretty much what this game is.
    However, I DO NOT think this deserves a 2.8, the story isn't bad and I like the characters, except for a select few.
    However, I DO NOT recommend this game.
    You can literally find mods for Saints Row 3 with more content than this.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    This game is just pure fun. I had only one problem with Saints Row: The Third: I felt like it was too slow. With the inclusion of super powersThis game is just pure fun. I had only one problem with Saints Row: The Third: I felt like it was too slow. With the inclusion of super powers in Saints Row IV, the pace has drastically increased and I find myself giddy while playing it, because it is literally everything I had hoped for from this game. I would heavily suggest this game if you enjoyed Prototype or Crackdown, because I feel it is more fun than both of them combined!

    Also, while I think that this game probably deserves a 8, I am giving it a 10, because no game deserves a rating of 0.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    Picked up a copy a couple days early and have clocked 16 hours so far. Thoroughly enjoying this game and the improvements go far beyond whatPicked up a copy a couple days early and have clocked 16 hours so far. Thoroughly enjoying this game and the improvements go far beyond what looks like simply an expansion. I was concerned since the engine and game-play (with the except of superpowers) this game would simply be a glorified expansion with more features. However they have really excelled in crafting a brand new experience, mainly due to the superpowers which are really fun. Not quite on the same level a Crackdown 2, however the other experiences in SR4 easily make up for that. The storyline is silly as ever, but as the developers pushed and promised, the character development is more apparent and works really well. A fun, daft game like the third, but that's why we now love it! Full Review »