Saints Row IV Xbox 360

Saints Row IV Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 330 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Saints have ankled from the crackhouse to the White House—but the Earth has been invaded and it’s your responsibility to free the world from Overlord Zinyak and his alien force. With homies new and old by your side, and an arsenal of superpowers and exotic weapons, you must save the world.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Aug 14, 2013
    94
    A game that is rich and deep with personality and unmatched ridiculousness. Saints Row IV is exactly what I needed this summer. It takes everything that I love about sandbox style gaming and makes it better.
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    90
    Volition did something it seems few developers are brave enough to do at this point: They were willing to reinvent the Saints Row series instead of just reiterating on it. The result is a game that I had an absolute blast with from beginning to end, but also one that—due to the escalation it exhibits—left me dumbfounded on what they’ll offer as a follow-up.
  3. 90
    It's all worth it...for the unbridled fun of wreaking havoc at high speeds and experiencing the laughs and unexpected emotional highs of Saints Row IV's storyline. Simultaneously more and less impressive than SR3, it's not quite the highest point the series has reached, but it's nonetheless a satisfyingly explosive send-off for the Saints.
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    80
    Sure, I wasn't always comfortable playing Saints Row IV these past few days with guests in my home. But work is work, and even though I'd talk to them about Journey and the like to explain my work as a video games critic, a serious part of me was secretly enjoying every last bit of silliness and bad taste Saints Row IV had to offer. And there's a massive amount of that in the game, which is as fun as it is completely and utterly stupid.
  5. Sep 7, 2013
    80
    Once hits its stride, Saints Row IV is a pleasure to try and keep up with. Its relentless insanity will occasionally tire, but its in these moments you can appreciate the smarter elements. Despite everything, this is a more mature game than its predecessors.
  6. Aug 28, 2013
    78
    Even with the screen tearing and sporadic glitches, unimpressive graphics, generic and forgettable antagonist and over-powered abilities, I have to admit, I couldn’t get enough of Saints Row IV, once it hit stride.
  7. Aug 26, 2013
    70
    Unsophisticated and sloppily made but there’s a heart of gold beneath the game’s erratic exterior, as it successfully skewers some of gaming’s more pompous franchises.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 76
  2. Negative: 12 out of 76
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    This game is just pure fun. I had only one problem with Saints Row: The Third: I felt like it was too slow. With the inclusion of super powersThis game is just pure fun. I had only one problem with Saints Row: The Third: I felt like it was too slow. With the inclusion of super powers in Saints Row IV, the pace has drastically increased and I find myself giddy while playing it, because it is literally everything I had hoped for from this game. I would heavily suggest this game if you enjoyed Prototype or Crackdown, because I feel it is more fun than both of them combined!

    Also, while I think that this game probably deserves a 8, I am giving it a 10, because no game deserves a rating of 0.
    Expand
  2. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    Although the game is graphically rough and buggy, I still loved playing through it with my brother. It's pure fun, and is chocked full ofAlthough the game is graphically rough and buggy, I still loved playing through it with my brother. It's pure fun, and is chocked full of laughs, if you're into toilet humor. The story is wild, and unpredictable, plus the direction the game took was unlike anything I've seen before. I'd highly recommend this game to people who want a good time especially if they have someone else to play and laugh with. Expand
  3. Jan 5, 2016
    9
    After a long bad day everything you need is some 80's Rock and superpowers.Sharp writing and fun plot.If you are looking for a serious gameAfter a long bad day everything you need is some 80's Rock and superpowers.Sharp writing and fun plot.If you are looking for a serious game this is not it.I love frickin everything about it. Expand
  4. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    Saints have taken the office, with you, the player, becoming President. Now aliens have taken over Earth and it's your job to save the worldSaints have taken the office, with you, the player, becoming President. Now aliens have taken over Earth and it's your job to save the world from Zinyak, an evil alien with a love for literature.Surprisingly, the game has a lot to offer. Having superpowers is one of the highlights of the game. The downside, you are basically invincible on casual with superpowers. The weapons are unique. I love how you can change the style of most of your guns, to either be a realistic weapon, or a space themed weapon varying from "star wars" style weapons and many more. Weapons can still be used in combination with your powers. A big problem is the vehicles. Vehicles are for the most part useless. Why spend 10 minutes driving a vehicle to one point instead of flying to said point in less than a minute. Sucks for the people who spent time on making the vehicle customization. Quests are still boring as can be, side quests at least. These are disguised as "quests" that are just for completing the activities around Steel port. There is an abundant amount of collectibles, including Audio Logs, Zinyak Statues, and clusters. With over 1000 clusters, you will be spending time after-game collecting these. Clusters are used to upgrade your superpowers. The writing is very good and is as funny as could be. For a game that was originally meant to be dlc for Saints Row 3, its a fun game that you will spend 10-15+ hours on. Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2014
    7
    Main story is fine but the challenges are rubbish. They are all over the place in complexity, aren't that much fun and some require luck.Main story is fine but the challenges are rubbish. They are all over the place in complexity, aren't that much fun and some require luck. Glitches are really bad in most of these. Vehicles get stuck on stuff and cannot move, camera zooms into scenery, etc. As the game goes on it actually gets worse. It's like the devs who built the first half of the game were tired by the time they got to the end. However thought the last level should invert the controls and make the environment behave randomly should never be allowed to build a game again. I give the baseline game an 8 but with the stupid challenges and all the grind work with glitches it brings it down to a 5. This is my first and probably last visit to SR. Expand
  6. Jul 27, 2014
    6
    While the game is pretty cool and yoy can customize weapons I noticed a whole lot of glitches.....ones that sgould he fixed in thisWhile the game is pretty cool and yoy can customize weapons I noticed a whole lot of glitches.....ones that sgould he fixed in this game...................... Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2015
    0
    DLC of Saints row 3.This game sucks that has ruined the saga.It is totally absurd, it does not make sense. It looks like a **** dlc. $ 70DLC of Saints row 3.This game sucks that has ruined the saga.It is totally absurd, it does not make sense. It looks like a **** dlc. $ 70 invested worst of my life Expand

See all 76 User Reviews