User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 444 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 444

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 19, 2011
    0
    The game is far too short and the DLC pack is a rip off for $20, it's worth is at least $5. It's best to buy this game when the price gets low to avoid disappointment. Would make a good bargain game for later instead of wasting your money now. Get Skyrim instead if money is tight, HOURS OF FUN!.
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    1
    It seems pretty obvious that Volition is cashing out on the series with this title. There is less customization, fewer missions, and the game just feels a whole lot emptier than Saints Row 2. Content that should have been in the game to begin with (Such as cheat codes that were in Saints Row 2) has been removed and packaged as day one DLC. There isn't anywhere near as much of a soundtrackIt seems pretty obvious that Volition is cashing out on the series with this title. There is less customization, fewer missions, and the game just feels a whole lot emptier than Saints Row 2. Content that should have been in the game to begin with (Such as cheat codes that were in Saints Row 2) has been removed and packaged as day one DLC. There isn't anywhere near as much of a soundtrack as compared to the previous title. Oh, and you need an Online Pass, even though the competitive multiplayer has been removed. Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2011
    4
    Saints row the turd, some fun things like the flying bike, and some cool weapons but most of the good things from saints row 2 taken out. Customisation means make a building taller. Wow. Story is thrown together and makes no sense, each mission is no longer then 10 minutes or 5 if playing co-op. this would be so much better with 8-10 players online free roam. But it's just basic, a monkeySaints row the turd, some fun things like the flying bike, and some cool weapons but most of the good things from saints row 2 taken out. Customisation means make a building taller. Wow. Story is thrown together and makes no sense, each mission is no longer then 10 minutes or 5 if playing co-op. this would be so much better with 8-10 players online free roam. But it's just basic, a monkey could complete this in under 3 hours. Activities are soo easy boring and pointless. No rewarded for completing them and a rip off DLC that you get anyway from levelling up. Whored mode should be called bored mode. And no death matches make it a rip off. Yes some fun things but sooo many good thigs taken away and all the fun weapons and vehicles make it hard to enjoy for more then an hour with no one to show them off to, well one friend but online free roam would make it soooooooooo much better. If I was trying to make a statement of it being a fun game that doesn't take it self seariously I would have cheats where you can swing around like spiderman, fly like superman, pick people up without having to use them as a human shield, flying planes upside down without the camera spamming out then having to pretend its not any different by using the bumper buttons. Just soooooo bad, they took out a huge map, buying decent stores and houses and properties. And passed off the fun with about 2 weapons and a hover bike. And killing of JG WTF! A total let down, and to then ask for a online code and offer a season pass omg! Not worth it, there's about 2 hours 50 mins difference between playing co-op and putting the code in. And not a good easteregg to mention. This should be saints row 1.5 not 3! Ohh well roll on gta5 because most 360 games this year have been total **** batman letdown, gears letdown, dead rising rip off now this..... Uncharted 3 or skyward sword are head and shoulders above anything for G.O.T.Y. Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2011
    4
    Huge step back from Saints row 2. less customization, less missions,less weapon just less of everything. the over world is dull and bland with lifeless a.i. the gameplay is streamlined down to nut punches,posing and quick time events. the only positives from this game is the humor and Story missions there are fewer missions but they are better. The game is nothing but a hollowedHuge step back from Saints row 2. less customization, less missions,less weapon just less of everything. the over world is dull and bland with lifeless a.i. the gameplay is streamlined down to nut punches,posing and quick time events. the only positives from this game is the humor and Story missions there are fewer missions but they are better. The game is nothing but a hollowed streamlined version of Saints row 2, taking out gameplay features is never a good thing. Expand
  5. Jan 5, 2012
    1
    Many freezes, crashes, bugs and problems make this title a bad thing to get for $60. This game also has DLC, however, the DLC is already on disk. Also the bugs can cause major problems to your system. Stay clear and wait for the bargan bin. Dont get me wrong, its good, but not that good. I loved SR1 and 2 but this is NOT good. Also the stuff you may see on the case such as the man a pultMany freezes, crashes, bugs and problems make this title a bad thing to get for $60. This game also has DLC, however, the DLC is already on disk. Also the bugs can cause major problems to your system. Stay clear and wait for the bargan bin. Dont get me wrong, its good, but not that good. I loved SR1 and 2 but this is NOT good. Also the stuff you may see on the case such as the man a pult car is not in the game, its for pre order people. Expand
  6. Jan 14, 2012
    2
    Saints Row 3?, More like Saints Row 2.5 ,because this game feels like nothing more than a big DLC filled with a lifeless city, choppy AI, and the absolute worst storyline in the series. And that is saying alot because the first two games were amazing, and had balance. The only improvement they made was the graphics, and the **** QTE. This game really tries too hard to be over the top and iSaints Row 3?, More like Saints Row 2.5 ,because this game feels like nothing more than a big DLC filled with a lifeless city, choppy AI, and the absolute worst storyline in the series. And that is saying alot because the first two games were amazing, and had balance. The only improvement they made was the graphics, and the **** QTE. This game really tries too hard to be over the top and i cant comprehend why this game got critical acclaim. The critics obviously didnt play passed the first 3 or 4 hrs. As a Saints Row fan im extremely dissappointed because i expected better of Voilition. My advice is to not buy this game and just rent it. If you want a good SR game then buy SR2, its like 20 dollars now. Im mad i preordered this trash. SR4 will definitely be coming from gamefly for me. Expand
  7. May 23, 2012
    3
    I really liked Saints Row and Saints Row 2 but this game is just absurd. If you like crazy gameplay with no real sense than this game is for you, but just not for me. Sorry but they overdone this third part in my opinion, i like fun and joke sand everything but this was too much. There is also not very much to do and you are through it very fast and i was very disappointed as a fan of theI really liked Saints Row and Saints Row 2 but this game is just absurd. If you like crazy gameplay with no real sense than this game is for you, but just not for me. Sorry but they overdone this third part in my opinion, i like fun and joke sand everything but this was too much. There is also not very much to do and you are through it very fast and i was very disappointed as a fan of the previous games. The only thing they made better are the graphics, the AI, the gameplay, the plot, the weapons and the whole city just got worse and short. What a pity! I wanted this so bad but this game is simply a shame for the series. Expand
  8. Apr 16, 2012
    4
    Saints Row 3 is a faster paced more streamlined version of Saints Row 2.

    The story line is very loose, disjointed and the plot is virtually non existent â
  9. Oct 13, 2013
    0
    The game for one, is too short. It has a lot less content than any other game in the series, and it does not deserve the term Saints Row. What made the previous games bad, it took that and amplified it by 100. Once the story is finished, there is no replay value whatsoever. The characters have been desecrated beyond belief. The game also features a upgrade system, it would've beenThe game for one, is too short. It has a lot less content than any other game in the series, and it does not deserve the term Saints Row. What made the previous games bad, it took that and amplified it by 100. Once the story is finished, there is no replay value whatsoever. The characters have been desecrated beyond belief. The game also features a upgrade system, it would've been somewhat good if not for one fact. YOU CAN'T RE-SPEC. The upgrade system renders you immune to any sort of damage, and the game just becomes tedious and disgustingly boring. The customization is I can't even talk about, that's how disgustingly it is. Overall, this lump of dog is a disgrace to the other Saints Row games. It is neither fun, or funny. At all. Expand
  10. Mar 22, 2012
    4
    I didnt really enjoy this game. Its short for one thing clocking in at almost thirteen hours thats horrible for an open world game. The other two are much better. The story is dumb and unenjoyable unless your twelve. Spoiler Alert:The best character in the series dies in the second mission. The shooting is much improved but still not too fun. This game is recogized for being over the top.I didnt really enjoy this game. Its short for one thing clocking in at almost thirteen hours thats horrible for an open world game. The other two are much better. The story is dumb and unenjoyable unless your twelve. Spoiler Alert:The best character in the series dies in the second mission. The shooting is much improved but still not too fun. This game is recogized for being over the top. It is but it has very juvenile humor, that will get the most laughs from kids. The whole game is childish with no serious plot. It's like the looney toons with an M for mature slapped on it. If you like SR 1 or 2 you may enjoy this but it doesnt feel like an open world game or like the games in the past. If you want a good open world experience play Red Dead Redemption. Expand
  11. Jul 24, 2013
    4
    Note: this is just my opinion and you don't have to agree with me. Okay, the plot: The Saints attempt to rob a bank, they are captured and introduced to another major gang called "The Syndicate" and the Saints declare war on them. Why I don't like this game: You go go to a new city, which is a good thing but it's called "Steelport" which is just plain stupid, clearly a reference to theirNote: this is just my opinion and you don't have to agree with me. Okay, the plot: The Saints attempt to rob a bank, they are captured and introduced to another major gang called "The Syndicate" and the Saints declare war on them. Why I don't like this game: You go go to a new city, which is a good thing but it's called "Steelport" which is just plain stupid, clearly a reference to their crazy and "over the top" thing they've taken the Saints to, so what would the next city be called in Saints Row 5 if they do that? Steelbay? whatever. Saints Row 3 is a step back for the series for tons of reasons, lets start with the lack of multiplayer (not that it's the most important), why? seriously? instead, we get a stupid co-op mode called "Whored" and I'm not going into what that is. The multiplayer for this game could of been really improved and expanded, but instead, we get a stupid, lousy replacement that's just not funny. The activities were optional in the original games, now you are forced to do them in order to take over territory, and the game is way smaller than the others. The activities get repetitive and boring, especially Heli-Assault and having to defend your ally while he or she goes around the streets doing deals, there is not enough variety and they've taken out great stuff like Septic Avenger, FUZZ, and some others, they did add Tank Mayhem though. They've put in too many assassination missions, the good thing is, they're optional to do. Professor Genki's SUPER ETHICAL REALITY CLIMAX is fun, but they are very short and what have they got to do with killing off gang from their land and territory? including insurance fraud? NOTHING. The graphics are still terrible and now there is no crib customization (apart from upgrading them twice and that's it). I also note that if you buy invulnerability or dual wield or no reloading, you cannot disable them whatsoever. Saints ow "The Third" also includes no restaurants. All what this game improves on is that the vehicles are very good especially the STAG jets and vehicles and you can buy upgrades for your guns which is interesting, and that's it. Oh and sometimes you will get a choice of what to do, it doesn't affect the story though, and it's something you'd judge by by the reward like why do "this" for 25,000 cash when you can instead do "that" for a 1,000 cash every day in game? Weapons can be upgraded now, a great thing, but there are very few weapons now like only 3 shotguns and 3 SMG's 3 assault rifles, I don't understand why. Unfortunately, 3 years of development and this game has taken away almost everything I liked about Saints Row 2 and is a lot smaller. Saints Row was such a badass gangsta game up until this pile of crap, Saints Row "The Third" is just childish adult humor, stupidity, a bit of parody here & there, and silly games, the city is filled with stupid quirky humor, mascots, craziness, silly jokes and that annoying "over the top" thing that NEEDS to be toned down greatly. This game is just not Saints Row, definitely not a criminal game no more and not really gangsta to me either. Other annoyances include no Saints driving across the streets, bad music to the radio stations (the songs in Saints Row 2 were fantastic), no custom radio and you also can't replay missions no more. The story needs more work on, and they should've done more missions and those "more" missions should also be more like the ones in Saints Row 2, instead, Saints Row 3 focuses on stupid little games over story, and the awesome moments you get in Saints Row 2 just aren't there. Too crazy, too stupid, and too "over the top," I'm sure you will find this game fun, but if you're a Saints fan and played the original 2 games, you will not like this, atleast not as much and will agree its a step back, and just to let you know, they even killed off Johnny Gat in the first 15 minutes, that's right... Johnny Gat... such an important, likeable and an influential badass character, definitely not much like Saints Row without him and there are few cribs to get and while you're in then, it pops up on screen "press Y to customize crib" and stays on until you leave, annoying. Get this game cheap or rent it. As a game to play and have fun with (not that I really did) and that it's different from the others, 7/10, but as a Saints Row game, 4/10. Expand
  12. Aug 24, 2013
    4
    As a huge fan of the second game it may be true that my expectations were a bit too high. I thought that they would deliver the kind of sequel that takes the good elements of its predecessor and make them even better.
    Saints Row The Third does certainly crank it up but it cranks it up in places where it isn't needed. The best example is the humour; SR2 was a silly game but it also took
    As a huge fan of the second game it may be true that my expectations were a bit too high. I thought that they would deliver the kind of sequel that takes the good elements of its predecessor and make them even better.
    Saints Row The Third does certainly crank it up but it cranks it up in places where it isn't needed. The best example is the humour; SR2 was a silly game but it also took itself seriously as well, from time to time. In the third game the humour is still immature and silly but the second game was clever too. The writing in my opinion went completely out the window; now it feels like they're just pandering to reach out to as big an audience as possible.
    Combat is very repetitive as the AI is straight up retarded and the harder enemies are not hard because they're well-designed but more so because they just have larger health-pools than their low-life counterparts. Weapon-variety is welcome here but doesn't really save the gameplay when that's what you'll be doing most of the time.
    Character-customization is absolutely ridiculous (not as good as in SR2 though) and that is probably the game's biggest strength as both the story and gameplay fall short.
    My last gripe is that the characters are very bland and boring. This is most likely as a result of the lack-luster writing, all the gangs seem insignificant and not one of them stands out as truly unique or interesting.
    Expand
  13. Dec 20, 2013
    4
    Honestly, you won't like this game if you played "Saints row 2". Jokes are rarely ever funny, story is bland, and lacked elements of roleplay brought in by Saints row 2. I don't care much about most of these besides the story. I'm not usually one to care much about the story of games but Saints row: The Third failed to bring even a decent story. Gameplay was fine though.
  14. Feb 16, 2014
    3
    A step down from the other Saints Row games I hate. I didn't even need to complete this rubbish pile of poop. Big and empty city. Still has crappy car physics. Still has 2004 level graphics. Poor storyline. Hardcore is too easy. To make you fanboys understand:

    Graphics: 3/10
    Gameplay: 4/10
    Storyline: 4/10
    Fun: 3/10
    Driving: 1/10
    Mean (average): 3/10
  15. Aug 6, 2014
    0
    well well well saints row ermmmmm crap to start with, I thought this game looked really good but I was soooooooo wrong. The game play sucks so boring and stupid, 6 million bullets in ur head and you still live , I find all you do in this game is fight loads of people and get no where. I cannot understand why this poop is so high rated, doesn't the price drop of the game tell youwell well well saints row ermmmmm crap to start with, I thought this game looked really good but I was soooooooo wrong. The game play sucks so boring and stupid, 6 million bullets in ur head and you still live , I find all you do in this game is fight loads of people and get no where. I cannot understand why this poop is so high rated, doesn't the price drop of the game tell you something straight away, im so glad I only borrowed it and never bought it as would of been a complete waste of money, I played this for about 20 mins and I wish I could have that 20 mins of my life back,,,sorry saints fans this SUCKS......... Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Feb 15, 2012
    84
    Volition gets many things right in Saints Row: The Third in what is no doubt a fine sequel, but it's very much a case of sequelitis for the THQ franchise. The zany and over-the-top nature, well-written script and whole host of sandbox toys are held back ever so slightly by the oddly paced and repetitive proceedings of the game's main story.
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    60
    Saint's Row: The Third sets out with a great ambition of giving the player freedom and an arsenal of fun elements to play with. Unfortunately, though, the game still falls a bit short with a somewhat childish sense of humour and quirky game mechanics.
  3. Jan 3, 2012
    80
    Despite my gripes with the multiplayer options, the 10-to-12-hour campaign's still very much worth the price of admission, and it needs to be seen to be believed-trust me, this game's done more than enough to earn its "M" rating from the ESRB.