User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 407 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 407

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    I cannot find more than two things that i don't like about the game. One, slightly over the line in terms of vulgarness and violence, but that is what saints row is about. Two, the makers could have spent a little bit more time on the plot of the game, however saints row lets you create your own character and actions. A great free play game with much better graphics than last game. If you liked the past Saints rows, you will love this one. Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I basically was able to create my own intense 30 min Micheal Bay action sequence in co-op with 5-star STAG and Gang notoriety. It was incredible. We weren't even doing anything related to game except simply messing around in world making up our own rules and objectives (get the to airport in tanks). There is no other game that can offer these kinds of experiences, its in a league all of its own, and simply put, the best openworld-SANDBOX game I've ever played. Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Great game, lots of fun and epic randomness. That's what this game is, and the game is good at it. Sadly, no larger scale co-op, or competitive mp modes, so that part feels like a bit of a step back. It's fun, though, and that's what it aims to be.
  4. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Thin on plot,but that makes up for it in the fun factor. I don't normally laugh out loud at a game, but some of the things you do, or see are just so hilarious that you have to.
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome! It's a like a big playground filled with the most random content. The story line is simplistic but entertaining and the action sequences within it are amazing. This game is a must buy!
  6. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Out of all the games that have come up since fall, this is by far one of my favorites, it's neck and neck with Batman and Skyrim. I don't think I've ever laughed so much or as hard playing this game as anything else. I love the fact that you can do anything you want in this game, and some of my favorite moments have come from screwing around in the city, and not doing any real missions - although the campaign is epic, too. It's a true sandbox title and I love the fact that it plays like an RPG where not only do you build how the character looks, but also your weapon upgrades, perks, and skills. Co-op is absolutely brilliant and increases the fun-factor ten fold. I've already put over 40 hours into the game and have over half the missions left. Love it!!! Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    The game is absolutely over the top, and I'm loving it. While other games have become a bit stale *cough* MW3 *cough*, this game has actually found its stride with its third release. The world is full of surprises and exhilarating set pieces. I'd highly recommend it to anybody with a sense of humor ;o)
  8. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Best game of the year!! I have Batman (which is awesome) and Skyrim (very disapointing as it's the same game as Oblivion with updated graphics) but Saints Row is my favorite!!! The graphics are amazing, the gameplay is fun and challenging and the missions are...uh, OVER THE TOP!! You play video games to have fun and this is all KINDS of fun!! I will be playing this for a long time :)
  9. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This game is a true work of art! I huge open city game that allows you to do pretty much whatever you want to. A action packed and stunning story. The greatest free roam city game since Grand Theft Auto IV. In fact, it kicks Grand Theft Autos a**!!! The best part Whored Mode!!!
  10. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    BUY IT! I won't ruin any of the surprises here because it is more fun to play it and watch the crazy unfold. Just buy it and enjoy, don't take it, or life, too seriously!
  11. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I'm f@$in jazzed - what an escape from the doldrums of daily life and a nagging wife. Love it! Not a bad story and plot, great new cast of murderous characters. The humor is spot on most of the time, and a bit lame in a still funny way at others. Nice job on the trilogy THQ!
  12. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    As over the top as the first two - some great set pieces, and some awesome action. The creation mode had my "Tobias Funke" clone on the streets slapping down fools and jacking cars in style in no time. The UAV mode is pretty damn cool - and I also really dug the skydiving and flying parts. Great graphics, top notch voice acting - but I can't help but feel that there could have been a little more variety of radio stations.. already very sick of Kanye's "Power." Expand
  13. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Simply amazing. This is one of those gems that may not have the best graphics, but is so much FUN to play. I love all the different kinds of missions, and the voice acting is top notch. The only thing that puts a sour taste in my mouth is all this DLC released on launch day. Tons of this nickle and dime DLC after i just paid $60 is unfortunate.
  14. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Great game!! Loads of fun with plenty to do!! Missions are crazy, reason it doesnt get a full 10 is there is no car showrooms or bike showroom where u can purchase vehicles like you could in saints 2 and no spinner wheels or car hydrolics which is i think a step back as were both featured in the previous games !!
  15. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Saints Row: The Third is a bad-ass game. This is what all the GTA fans can do while waiting for GTA5. It's certainly better than GTA4 in my opinion. The humor, gameplay, and straight-up raucous fun, will have you playing this game for hours!
  16. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    What we have here is a real passion for what everyone wants out of an open world game,except people that don't know anything about gaming.Fun,brilliance a luxury in gaming where the games released in 2011 are the best yet to ever be released.What a year,we still have around 40 days left too.This game has it all,depth,excitement,great graphics,insane replay factor,co-op mode that is to die for,but to just play this game solo is worth the price of admission and everything else is just a bonus.This game is so good that it makes you want to dust off your Saint's Row 1 and 2 to play them some more.Some people probably aren't even done with Saint's Row 2.60 dollars for this much content is a gift to gamer's,I tip my hat to you Volition!Perfect 10 Expand
  17. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Let me start off by saying, Wow! This game is literally the best thing i've played all year! and i've played Uncharted 3! The Graphics are a million times better than SR2 plus the soundtrack! There is nothing more fun than driving around Steelport on a bike in nothing but a G-string and bunny head while listening to Machinehead by Bush! The cars look and drive smoother, the characters are more likeable (Shaundi doesn't have that husky voice that was extremely annoying!) overall,the story is pretty cool, the humour is excellent and the craziness is cranked up to 11! although it may get buried under Skyrim,MW 3, Halo anniversary and AC:R but it will literally blow the mind of anyone who plays it! Must Buy!!! Expand
  18. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    For PC version
    Found this game to be great. Dosent take itself to seriously but is uber fun to play. Takes all the good things from SR2 and expands on them while delivering a much better, stable game on PC. The overall map is a little smaller than in SR2 but bigger than the first one, while I would have liked a little more room after awhile you don't really notice. Also more cartoony
    than the first two (which I belive is a good thing). Controls are decent for PC, driving is ok and not too jerky while other modes are even better (Helis) My only complaint is jets, using WSAD is alittle awkward so i use a controller for those moments. Like other reviews say this is not GTA but I think its MUCH better and alot more fun. Expand
  19. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Stupendous. A triumph. First off, gameplay. A man cartwheels down a street, urinating as he proceeds. A blimp crushes a crowd of innocent children. Hyenas tear the flesh from expensive prostitutes. Like any fine wine, it only improves with time. The carnage, limited at first, starts off bitter, but becomes (I recommend Hennigan's brand wine, by the way), succulent... still a tad bitter but... succulent. It must be experienced to truly understand.

    Onto graphics. The level of detail is staggering. For, example while driving my BMW, I couldn't help but notice a scratch on the paint (probably from a resentful peasant). The game has drivable BMWs as well, but unlike my real life vehicle, they lack any scratches (detailed though they are).

    The characters are as interesting as they are varied. A young couple struggles to make ends meet for their autistic child. A portly fellow conceals his kindliness underneath a mask of hatred. A vacationing bear surprises us with a heartrending tale of lost love. They all add up to make the somber world feel lived in, much as an Armani suit expands (ever so slightly) to fit the wearer; a comforting vacancy, as it were.

    However, as the story reaches its end, there are gut-wrenching moments. Children should not be allowed to see some of the later scenes of the game, and neither should dogs. I say this only because my poodle urinated spontaneously after watching a scene involving a jackhammer and several rats (there is also a stick of deodorant involved but, alas, I cannot discuss why). All of these elements blend together to make something tasteful- exquisite even. It should not be overlooked, but savored. And enjoyed. Thank you.
    Expand
  20. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Loving The Third! They've tightened the game controls up which is a big plus. Amusing, creative, humorous, and now **solid play**, which is a big plus. This will consume a lot of my time over the next few months...
  21. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Game of the Year, GTA on steroids. This game is explosive, fun, and takes gaming to a level we have never seen before. This game is the bad boy of the gaming industry.
  22. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Finally i played this game and fulfilled my expectations more than i thought. SR The third isnt probably the best game i played this year but its the funniest. With cool and hilarious dialogs and innovated facts that makes my dreams come true. btw.. i played like 4 hours yesterday doing 3 missions and crazy **** and i got like 5% of the game. So i hope it keeps taking this longer. Thanks!
  23. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I've only played the game partway through thus far, but the first few action sequences were amazing. If you are a fan of Saints Row 1 and 2, you'll see that The Third completely blows those two away. The biggest improvements are in the absurdity and the graphics. Everyone has already mentioned the craziness, so I'll focus on the graphics. The city is simply amazing. The buildings are elaborately modeled and impressive, especially the casino, which becomes even flashier as you increase in stages. It's the little things that you don't notice at first that make a difference as well, such as the streetlights modeled to look like scantily clad women. Overall, this is such an extremely original game-there's nothing else like it on the market. I'd highly recommend checking it out. Expand
  24. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Wild, crazy, unusual, unexpected humor. Graphics and sound A+.......If only the sheep would stop drinking the GTA kool aid, maybe they could experience a real thrill ride here.......Now let me get my purple **** out so I can play some more
  25. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Incredible, ridiculous, breath-taking, shocking, and hilarious! This game is as crazy as a game can get without devaluing itself in the process. It's unbelievable how long you can play this game without feeling even a little bored. Saints Row: The Third is Volition's best work, a testament to what a good dev team can do with a lot of time and great ideas. The graphics aren't outdated, the voice work is great, the story is fun, the customization options are superb, and WHY AREN'T YOU PLAYING THIS GAME RIGHT NOW!? Expand
  26. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    Saints Row: The Third is concluded into one word "chaos", many games limit you to what you can do and what you have to do, but in saints row the third, the possibility is limitless, you can go on a mission to escort your friends while shooting from the window or simply fly a chopter and blow everyone up, you can customize your character anyway you want, wear any clothes or if any at all. Vehicle customization, weapon upgrade and character upgrade really put you in alot of time to earn money to buy all those. All the activities and collectable will kept you occupied for quite some time even though activities will feel like playing the same thing over and over. Coop is very fun, while roaming the chaotic city of steelport and destroying everything in the way. The story plot was short but does offer a decent storyline. Graphics will not have alot of changes but who cares about graphics when you have a war going on. They also adding reference from other series to make saints row the third more hilarious. Overall the game is very fun alone or with a friend, all those customization will kept you busy for a long time, the storyline might seem abit too short but its great, this game is a must buy. Expand
  27. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I have two words for you: MUST BUY!!! The humor in this game is the polar opposite of politically correct, and that is exactly what will make you LOL time and again paired with "I can't believe they just said/did this!!" But even way in the beginning the customer characterization was killing me as I was skipping through the different taunts. Frickin' awesome!! The gameplay and missions are solid. LOVING IT!!! Expand
  28. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    No complaints at all this time around...much improved over the previous. Co-op play is great. Granted, the DLC will get expensive, but I have enough content to keep me easily content for now.
  29. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is the most fun off the wall redicilous fun game ever put out on the x box. I would recomend this game to anyone who wants to have st back and have some fun
  30. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    After Yahtzee Croshaw's review of SR2, I decided to give it a try. I loved it: the sandbox feel of GTA without having to cart around your annoying cousin. So of course I would pick up Saints Row: The Third. No super cathartic emotional story-lines here, which is fine. The game is fun for the sake of fun. The weapons upgrade system, as well as the character upgrade system is surprisingly deep. The gameplay is over-the-top, and I've logged nearly 20 hours and I've yet to obtain 100% (despite what most negative reviews are saying, the game is not that short, considering all of the missions, activities, collectibles, easter eggs, scrambled eggs, eggs & bacon, Kevin Bacon, etc.). Graphics aren't incredible, but they serve the game, and out of vehicle movement doesn't always feel the tightest. However, if I were to change just one thing about this game, it would be the controller configuration. SPECIFICALLY: The button to hold in order to revive homies=Y. The button to enter vehicles=Y. The button to access crib menus=Y. The button to open doors=X...just kidding. It's Y. This causes for some small, but unnecessary frustrations. For instance, you better hope your buddy isn't bleeding out adjacent to any cars, or else you'll be leaving his ass behind, rightfully so for what he did to you five minutes ago with that purple-shafty thing.
    SR3's strongest feature is the Co-op. Play the game with your friend for some hilarity and fun. Smash him with a **** call an airstrike on him, steal his car via remote control. Cooperatively, you will be able to play all of the missions and activities, but you will want to also explore/destroy the city too. Isn't that the point of a sandbox in the first place? You may be bogged down with games from the fall; 2011 has seen it's share of great games released. However, if you won't pick it up because you are waiting for GTA V, you are only cheating yourself, and I almost feel bad for you. Almost.
    P.S. I would gladly give the game a 9.5, but apparently whole numbers is the way to go, so 10 it is!
    Expand
  31. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    What a crazy game, one minute your flying round on a motorbike the next your driving a tank around trying to cause as much destruction as possible!! The graphics could be better, but they have spent more time on the story and to me this has shown. I also like how the gangs are set up on the game, being able to go from crib to crib then change your vehicles in the garage to make the colour scheme the same as your gangs colours! Expand
  32. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Excellent game overall, the main story line took me around 15 hours to complete. Fair enough it's quite short but I'd much prefer it to be this short and amazing story rather than a long story and not as good story. One last thing I was slightly disappointed about was the fact I was hoping for 4 player co-op and it only has two player. At the end of the day I am a huge fan of the Saints Row series and I would rate this game 9.8 Expand
  33. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am actually going to give this a 9, a 10 is in order but it is still very similar to Saint's Row 2 just different city. To all the people trying to compare it to GTA, just stop. This game is Saints Row, Volition even said themselves that they want to take the GTA genre and give it what people want. The ability to do whatever they want. Over the top wacky things! Did they deliver? Yes, Yes they did. Prof. Genki is AWESOME and actually challenging. The weapons are awesome, the customization is more in depth. Still would like to see some more added features to car customization though. That would make me a happy panda!

    BTW, I marked this as containing spoilers due to the mention of Prof. Genki and the activities being a little challenging. Not really a spoiler but some crymores might think so!
    Expand
  34. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    I hate cutscenes. I despise them. They take you out of the game, make you into a passive viewer in what should be an actively engaging medium. It's why I gave up on Deus Ex: HR, the CoD series, and numerous other titles, and most singleplayer games. I don't want to watch some game designers (same) idea of a movie.

    SR:III has the first cutscenes EVER that I actually ~enjoy~. Plus the rest
    of the game is a party. :) Expand
  35. Nov 18, 2011
    9
    Short game,but their are downloadable mission content,good free roam,with a lot improved since saints row 2.and a all around fun and over the top gaming experience.
  36. dz9
    Jan 14, 2012
    10
    Yes this game does get a 10, but keep in mind that I don't put this on the same scale as Battlefield or Mass Effect, it is a 10 FOR WHAT IT IS. And what it is, is a fun, action packed, crazy, insane, funny, thrilling experience, what more can you ask for in a game. The only small gripe I have is that the tone is drastically different from the previous two SR titles. Whereas the last two titles were realistic gang GTA clones, this one is a unique and fictional fantasy war. This is what real gaming should be, it completely immerses us in it. It lets us unleash the thug part in all of us. This game has hours upon hours of side quests and content in general and there is never a dull moment. The Good: Unique, and just simply....fun. The Bad: The graphics lack slightly. In the End: Don't pick up this game expecting a realistic gang simulation, this game throws reality out of the window and puts a fun action packed joy ride in its place! Expand
  37. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    This is the first saints row game I've bought! I've found this game a lot of fun and really easy on the eye! I can't put this game down its smooth and really enjoyable! It reminds me of GTA San Andreas but a whole lot crazy and f**ked up! LOVE IT!!! Go and buy it! Great game!
  38. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Very solid game overall. I actually liked SR2 a little better. It seems like the police are a little more apt to chase you down this time around. This is a little closer to the ethical dynamic in Grand Theft Auto. I admit that I'm not at a very high level yet, and have not upgraded the 'wanted' ability, but I'm not getting the same feeling of being able do to 'whatever I want' right away. Some moments have been satisfying. Looking forward to more craziness. Expand
  39. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    See, Grand Theft Auto takes itself seriously where the only fun thing to do in GTA is to kill as many people as possible. This game embraces the fact that a city environment needs to be filled with gimps driving rickshaws and gangbangers dressed as Mexican wrestlers for you to kill with standard guns but also ludicrous hardware. The story is stupid, but knows it's stupid, and that fact alone makes it many times better than GTA. Expand
  40. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Awesome game!!!! This game relieves so much stress. It is one of a kind. I am playing for 5 hours now and cant get enough. Love it!!! Some people might not like it due to it not being serious but for alot of people it will make you laugh for so long. And it is sandbox type of game so it never gets boring.
  41. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    Saints Row the third is what GTA should be. The game don't pretend to be realistic, and give a very great dose of fun, laugh and adrenaline. If the storyline is somehow short, the sandbox city is large enough to bring a lot of amusing playtime.
  42. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    Same as skyrim. Really good as saints 2 was. Big city to **** about in lots of far fetched **** thats just ****ing hilarious to play through like a big sky fortress hovering over the city and you have to destroy it or jumping through the **** of a flying plane while skydiving or unleashing gas that creates zombies which later you can use to get a horde of the undead. Only thing that disappointed was the lack of variety in the fact you had 2 guns in each section about 5 melee weapons and a couple of special guns, the upgrade system didnt really make it any more diverse same goes for planes and cars i was hoping you'd add a bit more in those columns but I suppose you can't get everything. Oh yeah and you disappointed me with the online passes and the dlc which would be worth it but is just that tiny bit over the top expensive for me to buy. Like paying for invincibility and unlimited ammo, really? Expand
  43. Jan 15, 2012
    9
    Make no mistake, Saints Row The Third has some problems. Having to do side missions during the main story arc is the most agregious of my complaints. And yes, on a technical level and on the besis of narrative- particularly the ending, SR3 appears mundane. However, there is more fun to be had in one mission of this game than many other sandbox games can muster in their entirety. The game lets you loose to have fun, reigning missiles down that decimate all manner of vehicles. Some of the side missions are crazy in their inventiveness too, such as trying to drive around with confidence, when a Bengal tiger is in the passenger seat next to you. Also, other than the duff missions- there are some truly explosive, unforgettable, insane and downright exciting missions to enjoy. So I reiterate, SR3 doesn't boast the soaring production values of GTA IV, nor is it very smart, but it provides the kind of hilarity that no other game can claim in large quantities like SR3. Expand
  44. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    Saints Row: The Third succeeds at one thing: sheer fun. It's not as polished or as good as GTA IV, but it's significantly more zany. Fighter jets, apocofists, **** bats, cyber demons, hover bikes-it's ridiculously over the top stuff, but it's definately enjoyable. The main campaign is littered with filler-missions, but the core missions themselves are brilliantly mad yet enjoyable shootouts. The games take on Gears Of Wars Horde mode, titled Whored Mode, is a load of crap, but it;'s a funny load of crap. It's retains the generally lack of sanity found in the main game, but focuses on the simple but fairly weak shooting. All in all, it's a more polished Saints Row 2, with loads more stuff, prettier graphics, and a laser firing fighter jet. Essential...if you can forgive it's flaws. Expand
  45. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    Saints Row the Third really comes off as a labour of love from the developers, of whom I know very little about. All I do know is that I wasn't impressed by either of the original two games in this franchise, after playing demos of them. I thought they were poorly funded, second rate rip-offs of the GTA franchise, so didn't bother with them. But after messing around with this third incarnations free character creator demo and playing a little of it at my friends house, I decided that it was worth picking up, despite my reservation of the older games. And I am glad I did. Now after completing the game non-stop during the entire duration of xmass and completing it 100%, I can without a doubt say this is one of the most fun and addictive games I played in 2011... Overall its really quite a diverse experience (if a little silly at times) and made me chuckle more than a few times, especially while using the female 'Niko Bellic' style voice for my character. She was total awesome! as were all the supporting actors. The game-play didn't do anything really new or spectacular that I haven't seen before, other than combining all of its facets; open world exploration & reward, RPG character growth, driving and combat into a whole with a degree of skill that most other developers could only dream of doing. In fact, I'd go out on a limb and say this is probably the best game of its genre. And yes that includes Rockstar's GTA games when it comes to pure game-play like combat. Also (baring in mind that i'm new to this franchise), it seemed that the game had surprises and rewards waiting around every corner. Almost everything I did gave me a significant reward for doing it. Another thing that I found charming was the games sense of style.. it kinda reminded me of the movies Kick-Ass and Scott Pilgrim, in the way its heavily steeped in gaming culture and not taking itself too seriously, but at the same time there is a coherent story there, with some great acting and characters. Overall just a great game that pleasantly surprised me......................... One thing I will mention as a negative though, the game has an Online Pass Code to unlock its fullest potential, which obviously is an effort to prevent pre-owned sales / piracy, but really just makes us gamers despise Publishers and sometimes developers that force it upon the games we enjoy playing. So please quit pissing us off with its inclusion. There is more than one gamer in this household that would like full access to the game without having to spend an extra few quid for something I already purchased legitimately. Expand
  46. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    Great Sandbox game, Fun and it keeps the laughs coming. I found myself on more than one location laughing out loud. Story never lets you get into it due to the zany nature of it but i think that's a plus. If you want a random, fun loving,run and gun type game this is a must have. There are story choices to be made which make different endings possible. So replay value is decent. If you want serious look elsewhere, if you want a laugh get it. Expand
  47. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    A fun and funny game which doesn't take itself seriously at all. Yes the graphics are not the best in the world but so what? The game is just about doing crazy things, no alien race trying to wipe out mankind, no melodrama about demons and half vampires, just a fun time.
  48. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Reality hits you heard bro! Saint's Row: The Third is all about that, by avoiding realistic measures, it manages to stay up on its feet and dance to a beat of none sense and unforgettable ridiculousness. Volition has finally stepped down to raise this madness to a higher level of over the top gaming experience.
  49. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    The open world genre is suppost to do one thing only, Show the player a good time. And let me tell you, Saints Row The Third is not just a good time, but one of the best games this year. The action is fast paced and funny. While this game could be considered a GTA clone, It is a good one. GTA was too serious this game kind of doesnt care. If you are reading this GET THIS GAME
  50. Feb 20, 2012
    9
    I've had this game for a while and it's taken me some time to get into it. The plot isn't up to much and it looks like Saints Row two graphics wise. However, it is a huge amount of fun, there are lots of planes, tanks, helicopters to steal, people and gangs to kill in ridiculous or comical ways. Lots of customisation options and lots of missions. In terms of value for money it's a definite winner. My only gripes are with the lack of graphical improvement since the last game and the ridiculous DLC, outfits or an outfit and one weapon for 240 points each or more. As bad as Oblivions Horse armour. These gripes aside the game itself is highly recommended escapism. Expand
  51. Feb 8, 2012
    9
    Anyone who enjoys open-world gaming that doesn't limit your ability to have fun will enjoy this game. While not as expansive and "real" as GTA, Saints Row The Third makes up for it by actually allowing you to have *fun*--imagine that, GTA4? If you've been scrolling through the user reviews, and you see low scores, here's why they're off-base: 1) Those who say the same is "an expansion to Saints Row 2" are obvious trolls. Based on gameplay mechanics, graphics and production value alone, the game is vastly more playable than the last. 2) Those saying the city is "lifeless" are equally moronic, since the game is much more vibrant than previous installments. If they're referring to the level of "life" and "things to do" when the game is "over," then it's basically the same--once gangs are cleared out, and you've done all the requirements, missions, collectibles, there wasn't much to do in SR2 either. These people have ridiculous selective memory. 3) Those claiming that the developer offers paid DLC for abilities that are unlocked during normal gameplay are incorrect: only ONE ability offered as part of DLC is unlocked via normal gameplay: Unlimited ammo. Every other piece of every other DLC is *not* available otherwise in the game (including full invincibility--NOT attainable in the game (melee death is still possible)). 4) Those complaining about the need to use an online pass to play cooperatively online are ridiculous: This is happening with almost every major release nowadays. These same people don't seem to complain when it comes to their precious activision/ EA games, apparently. 5) Users complaining about Volition offering a "season pass" to the game are ridiculous: No one's forcing you to buy the seasons pass, and all it does is give you a discount to future DLC. Publishers have been doing this for months--most notably Activision. 6) some people have complained that the game has taken away the ability to layer clothing, and thusdeserves a ZERO score. Really? This is what you're hanging your hat on? Please. 7) Lastly, I've seen people give this a score of ZERO for not having online free-roam multiplayer for more than 2 people. Why? The first and second didn't have it either! Are we now going to give the precious Elder Scrolls V Skyrim a zero for not having team deathmatch? It's the same logic--flawed. Again, don't let the vocal minority fool you--the game is loads of un, and with a friend to run around town blowing stuff up, it's even moreso. The game has its flaws (soundtrack is a bit lacking, and it can favor over-the-top too much sometimes), but overall, a great game that doesn't take itself seriously. Expand
  52. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    When you are able to shoot an RPG and call in an airstrike while you are driving around in a car, that game is already better than the highly overrated Grand Theft Auto 4.
  53. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Saints Row: The Third is by far one of the best sand box games available. There are so many positives about SR3 but the main to me is how crazy it is. One minute you are driving a car with a tiger next to you, the next running around naked whilst on drugs, then to top it off looking after "Ho's" for a pimp who always speaks in auto tune. SR3 is still keeping me amused after many hours of game play. Expand
  54. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    This was a game I initially felt I would avoid, it looked to me like it was a poor man's GTA using gimmicks to lure in gamers and was probably lacking in real gameplay. I decided to take the plunge and bought the game anyway on recommendation from a friend and to my surprise it's much more entertaining than I expected, I have since bought a second copy to play with a family member and find the co-op system works very well and does not feel like a simple add-on to the single player game - I can level my character up and unlock elements of the game in either solo or coop and playing together is great fun - its a game with lots of 'haha watch this...' moments during coop play. Its graphics aren't the best, it isn't the best shooter or driving game or the most detailed sandbox out there but the whole experience added up is definitely worth the entry fee and there are plenty of ways to keep yourself amused in the game, especially if you have a friend or family member to play along with. Expand
  55. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Gran juego, divertido y muy entretenido! aunque le faltaria un modo competitivo para darle mas vida al juego, aun asi es 100% recomendable! es el tipico juego que no importa que no tenga modo competitivo ya que puedes pasarte horas haciendo las misiones principales y las misiones secundarias, por lo menos a mi se me pasa las horas sin darme cuenta.
  56. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    There is a pre-requisite to buying Saint's Row: The Third; "a sense of humor." If you are able to meet this requirement, then your next step is to play this game. You will not find a deeply spiritual or motivating experience, but rather a chance to tap into the deviant side of your psyche. Saint's Row: The Third exploits the nature of shrewd behavior, which can be best described in the slang phrase: "Oh no they di'ent!" This game is everything that represents "SEX, DRUGS & ROCK," all dressed up in clown make-up. There is a story, but it's more of just a catalyst in reaching the meat of the game........ "FUN." So if you can allow yourself to laugh and you want to play some over-the-top gun-play, dressed like a sport's mascot, pirate or traditional 3rd Street Saint's attire, then this game is for you! Besides, what could be better than adult entertainer Sasha Grey, singing to Sublimes "What I Got," on the way to picking up a new gun at the local Friendly Fire gun shop? Expand
  57. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    I played this game for hours and hours and hours , and it keeps you exciting and its full of WTF-moments especially the 1st mission. The trees that plop while you're flying could be better, but its alright. You must remember its a sandbox game.
  58. Jan 17, 2012
    9
    This game will bring you loads of fun. It may be over the top, but perfectly over the top, not too much, not too little. There are cheats to this game, but they end up ruining it if you're not careful. It's great to hop on with a friend and mess around in the city. For die-hard GTA IV fans, believe me, you'll find this fun. I haven't had any problems with glitches, bugs, or anything of the sort. So if there were some before, they were ironed out. My only negative is that there is only co-op and no more than two players online. Saints Row: The Third is a great game, and I totally recommend buying it! Expand
  59. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    This game is tons of fun and has a great deal of hilarious antics and variety. It's like GTA on steriods and stays fresh throughout the the campaign. Fun for hours!
  60. Feb 23, 2012
    9
    this game is absurd, in a good way. its still the same over the top expierence as the preivious 2 games. i laiughed hard and often at the random things that you can do in this game. it features choices you can make in the storyline that effect the storyline a little bit. not too many weapons, but they can be upgraded. good soundtrack, parachuteing is fun. i love the "takedowns" you can do to people. i give it a 9/10 Expand
  61. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    I have no idea where people are coming up with these low scores. I get that not every kind of game is for everyone but that's the only excuse I can come up with for these lame reviews. I get to buy one game every six months or so because of the limited funds I have with as many brats as I have running around the homestead. This game was a good buy. Incredibly immersive, action-packed and the replay value is insane. I would recommend this game to anyone. I get about 4-8 hours a week to play when the house is quiet at the end of the night and each time I pick this game up and do an assassination, car theft or mission I walk away satisfied. Buy this game. Expand
  62. Mar 15, 2012
    9
    I'm new to the Saints Row franchise and must say that I am very impressed with what they delivered in Saints Row the Third. I was full up on games to play from the Christmas season and once I had a taste of Saints Row the Third, I found myself constantly wanting to come back and play some more. I ignored other games to play this refreshing, very tongue-in-cheek game of absurd situations and resolutions. I hope they make a sequel to this one that just gives us more of everything done bigger and better because everything that's in here is fun as hell. The two things I'd like to see them improve with a sequel is to add more coop options allowing more than just 2 players and to allow me to reset the world keeping all of my character upgrades. Once you finish the game, there isn't much reason to go back and play some more because everything is cleared out and completed. Expand
  63. May 5, 2012
    9
    Saints Row: the Third was my introduction to this series. One does not need to play the prior games for this one to make sense. The maker does a pretty good job of filling you in on the pertinent details of the Saints and their circumstances as you begin the game. The main story quests are a pretty quick play-through to the tune of 5-6 hours. Many more hours are added through side jobs.

    The nice thing about the side jobs in Saints Row is they are not too encumbering. Each type really only has one "hard" job that requires a larger degree of awareness or efficiency. It is quite fun to test your courage by driving a car with a tiger in the passenger seat or fly overwatch in a helicopter gunship as members of your gang put in work on the ground. A number of games like this are commonly compared to the granddaddy of them all: Grand Theft Auto. Though this game does have its similarities with its focus on the criminal element and making virtually every car your own- it differs in that it brings adult humor to the table. Whether rescuing the pimp Zimos from the BDSM club or chainsawing your way through luchadores at Murderbrawl; Saints Row is just plain fun. This game is also a great pick for the person that just wants a relaxing game to cause mayhem in after a long day at work. Casual and even Normal difficulty are great for this. Stick to Normal if you can shoot accurately. Saints Row: the Third is a great marriage between story line and open city game play. It should appeal to either type of player.
    Expand
  64. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    Had a lot of fun with the game! There should be a game of the year edition! The only critic I can give it the price for the download content. You shoudn't be reading this, you should start having fun in steelport instead, or go outside and play. xD
  65. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    This game is absurd. I've been wanting a grand theft auto game for a while but couldn't convince myself to jump into GTA4 with 5 right around the corner. I had never played a Saints Row game and after hearing the ridiculous ways in which it was described on the CAGcast I decided I needed to jump into the series and satiate my need for open world killing. The games opening scene had me a little concerned but it quickly picked up from there and I was underway, killing, running over, and generally causing havoc on the city. The game sucked me in and quickly a day disappeared but boredom never struck. The pace of the game was fast and interesting, and more surprisingly a full 18 hours of fun. I haven't really gotten the chance to just mess around as I kept wanting to get the next best gun or car. There were a lot of aspects that I didn't mess around with (exploring, side missions, homies, online) but I found the experience I had to be really exciting. The array of vehicles was great but I would have like more helicopters and planes. There was an interesting selection of guns, however, I would have like more real weapons. The game's biggest plus was that it didn't take itself seriously. There was just so much stupid **** but at the same time I never felt like the creators were trying to make it feel meaningful. I'll definitely be revisiting the game for the additional content I haven't explored and possibly a different play through with the different decisions. Expand
  66. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    I loved this game the story definitely not the best game story out there but you can do so much in this game if you fully upgrade your car it is almost indestructible the cheats are amazing and help the game a lot the only thing I can complain about is the graphics as you will get stuck in a LOT of things but it is still fun and is good if you like a crazy game
  67. May 29, 2013
    9
    This game is so fun if you havent played i'd recommend checkin it out. At times it actually had me laughing out loud, now saints row 2 looked bad and controlled bad, in saints 3 they change the controls and the game looks alot better. The characters are fun and likeable also your gang you can customise them to look however. You can customise ur car with a ton of different things, character custom is probably the best in any game ive seen. also you can buy property. play minigames. drop in drop out co-op. theres collectibles to find, oh also u can fly planes hellicopters and even snipe while repelling down a building.. that way awesome btw. check points in missions so u almost never have to re start a mission or ever redrive to a mission like gta4 overall a great game that is just fun to play... ps. never play saints row 2 ok ....ever. Expand
  68. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    This is probably the most fun game I have ever played.The story is funny,the combat is fun,the clothing is great and their are a lot of explosions.I can't wait for Saints Row 4.
  69. Dec 3, 2013
    9
    First off let me start by saying that yes this isn't Saints Row 1 or Saints Row 2, it is the third one, and if you are one of those hardcore fans that don't like because it is not as gangster like as the previous two then go play Grand Theft Auto if you want a gangster game. Now lets say what the game does really well, the story for one is just a really good time, its over the top, its hilarious, and the dialogue may sound cheesy but that's the point. Right from the start the game will get you hooked, you start off by robing a bank owned by the Syndicate then you are forced out of Stillwater, and into Steelport. From there its one crazy mission after another, for instance my personal favorite is the zombie mission in there because it just shows how ridiculously crazy the game is, and also i like how at some points you get branching paths with different rewards for choosing one of them. The story basically made me think of the movie Expendables, its just a hilariously good time with one liners, and insane action sequences. Every mission i guarantee is going to have at least one holy WTF what did i just do moment. Now the voice actors in this game all do a really nice job, they are funny, and sometimes it can seem like your watching an episode of Family Guy. Another thing the game does extremely well is the customization options for your character,your gang, and cars. You can make your character look and sound how ever you want. If you want to make a male that looks like he is on steroids but wears girls clothing, you can do make it, if you want a male with a female voice you can do that, if you want to make the fattest character with ridiculous clothing you can do that, but the craziest option is one of the voices you can give your character is a zombie voice that just speaks gibberish. The car customization is also well done, you make it what ever color you want, what kind of paint you want, what tires you want, how big you want the tires, you can even improve your tires to have better handling and more durability against gunfire. Then the gang customization is also really cool, you can choose your gang sign, how they cheer, and how they taunt, you can even change their outfit from a ninja to a club lover, to a military guard, to other crazy options like gimps, and ho's if you enjoy that stuff. The side activities also are really fun to play. You have dealer where you escort people around while they sell stuff to people, and gang members from other groups try to stop you, tank mayhem where you cause as much damage as you can with a tank, regular mayhem, escort where you rescue girls from their abusive pimps, Insurance fraud is hilarious with its rag doll physics, and where you run in front of cars getting tossed around is just hilarious to watch, gang operations where you go to a certain area and clear out rival gang members provides the classic mode of clear this area for cash as in other open world games, Professor Genki's Super Ethical reality climax, wow that's a mouthful. In this one you go through a shooting course where you have to kill mascots and earn enough money to leave in time. You have Trail blazing which is basically a race mode, and Guardian Angel where you snipe enemies to protect your fellow gang members. There is just so much stuff to do in steel port, you would definitely get your money's worth in terms of content value. The weapon upgrades are cool, they make your weapon more powerful but also changes the way it looks. There is also a cool upgrade system with for those who stick around to the end for a full level 50 respect, you can become just insanely powerful with invincibility, and infinite ammo, and lot of other cool ones. The shooting mechanics have been improved from the first two games. Driving mechanics feel less stiff then the previous ones. Finally what this game does well is just the fact that how the developers made this to show you or anyone who plays it a good time. Now there are a couple of negatives with the game though, sometimes but rarely textures during cut scenes weren't great but not bad, i experienced some drops in frame rate but like two or three times, and this game wasn't certainly created to have challenging combat, but there were times where both my Team AI and the enemy AI weren't so good,like they would just stand there without firing and take shots, and the enemy would just not even notice i was shooting at them but thankfully it did not happen that often. But on the whole i put at least so far twenty hours of game play in with plenty of stuff left to do, and i would recommend this to anyone who loves open world games, or just wants to have a good time, and i could recommend this to all gamer because it truly is a unique game the parodies some many other games, and does reference some movies. So yes i believe you should buy this it is worth every penny of its purchase price. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. 84
    Volition gets many things right in Saints Row: The Third in what is no doubt a fine sequel, but it's very much a case of sequelitis for the THQ franchise. The zany and over-the-top nature, well-written script and whole host of sandbox toys are held back ever so slightly by the oddly paced and repetitive proceedings of the game's main story.
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    60
    Saint's Row: The Third sets out with a great ambition of giving the player freedom and an arsenal of fun elements to play with. Unfortunately, though, the game still falls a bit short with a somewhat childish sense of humour and quirky game mechanics.
  3. Jan 3, 2012
    80
    Despite my gripes with the multiplayer options, the 10-to-12-hour campaign's still very much worth the price of admission, and it needs to be seen to be believed-trust me, this game's done more than enough to earn its "M" rating from the ESRB.