Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 34
  2. Negative: 15 out of 34
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    75
    Overall, Saw II: Flesh and Blood certainly feels unique based on the strength of its puzzles and traps.
  2. Dec 25, 2010
    74
    A better puzzler than action game but Saww 2 does little that the previous game didn't already. [Issue#232, p.95.]
  3. Switch off your critical faculties and there's a decent enough weekend rental here. [Issue#98, p.104]
  4. Dec 20, 2010
    65
    The Jigsaw traps are definitely the highlight of the game even if they do get a tad bit repetitious.
  5. Jan 3, 2011
    63
    An interesting game for all the movie saga fans, but some major flaws and too many quick time events spoil the overall game experience.
  6. Dec 20, 2010
    63
    Saw 2 - Flesh and Blood is perhaps a game for true fans, but even they will not be happy with the title. Dreary gameplay and the lack of challenge are not a perfect combination.
  7. Jan 11, 2011
    62
    Terrifying nights aside, Saw II: Flesh & Blood is perfect for any Saw fan as a week's rental. While the game does challenge you, you'll be able to complete it within that time due to the lack of multiplayer both online and off. It is an improvement on last year's effort however; I just hope the games don't follow the never-ending movie route.
  8. Jan 11, 2011
    60
    So, for fans of the movies, in particular the earlier ones, before their overt craziness stepped over the line to complete insanity, there is something to admire here. And it is that niche audience that will probably get the most out of what Saw II brings to the table.
  9. Jan 11, 2011
    60
    Saw II: Flesh & Blood delivers more of the same from the 2009 original, and improves on very little.
  10. Dec 20, 2010
    60
    You can't judge a game like SAW II as you would any blockbuster, because it is the kind of guilty pleasures some are fond of... Of course, if you hate the SAW movies, choose another way to do it, since SAW II is clearly aimed at fans of the series... fans who are treated with respect here.
  11. Oct 28, 2010
    58
    To see all that potential go straight to the dumpster due to poorly designed controls is extremely painful to acknowledge.
  12. Jan 11, 2011
    55
    Saw II: Flesh and Blood is certainly a huge improvement of the first game in the series, but by no means is it perfect, or even especially good.
  13. Dec 20, 2010
    55
    Fans of the films will like the quotes and the general "Jigsaw-ness" of the aural experience but it's so perfunctory even they will have a tough time getting too excited about it.
  14. Jan 13, 2011
    53
    SAW 2 is basically a step backwards from the first game.
  15. Jan 13, 2011
    50
    Again Jigsaw fails to impress us much. This is mostly due to lack of innovation, lack of tension and some annoying elements. Just as the first part this is a nice title for the sales bin.
  16. Jan 11, 2011
    50
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  17. 50
    Flesh and Blood is compelling in its own unhappy way, but this is far from a horror essential. [Issue#67, p.101]
  18. Dec 25, 2010
    50
    Certainly not high art, but Saw II has its moments, and could be worth a look for someone after a couple of nights worth of fairly brainless entertainment. [Issue#65, p.89]
  19. Dec 20, 2010
    50
    If all you want is a gore-fest, then this may well tick all the boxes required, but everyone else will find it lacking the things that make games great.
  20. Jan 12, 2011
    48
    The original Saw hardly set the world alight back in 2009, yet the unexpected sequel seems like a step backwards rather than a marked improvement. The subpar graphics and tired story fail to mask what is a fairly simple collection of mini-games; none of which are really clever enough to do the film series justice.
  21. Dec 20, 2010
    45
    Just too lifeless to bother with.
  22. Oct 26, 2010
    45
    Saw II: Flesh and Blood is a budget title, shoveled out in less than a year in order to cash-in on the fans that still remain loyal to the series. But with such poorly designed, repetitive levels, I can only hope that fans will learn their lesson and stop supporting this franchise until they actually try to learn from their mistakes.
  23. Saw II doesn't just take a step backwards from the first game – it performs a reverse swan dive off a balcony into a swimming pool filled with razorblades.
  24. Jan 11, 2011
    40
    Saw II outstays its welcome after a couple of hours and keeps on forcing the hackneyed plot on you when you want it all to end.
  25. Jan 11, 2011
    40
    It could have been a decent game, despite de limitations of the property, but it ultimately results in something worse than the first game, which doesn't improve in what the original lacked.
  26. Jan 7, 2011
    40
    The clunky visuals and animations, the terrible gameplay and the repetitive puzzles make Saw II: Flesh & Blood one of the worst horror games currently available on the market. If you're a fan of the genre look elsewhere.
  27. Jan 4, 2011
    40
    An avoidable game, unsuited even to the fans of the movie series. A very repetitive and soporific gameplay is the only horror you'll find inside.
  28. 40
    Even Jigsaw's most ardent apostles should spare themselves this torture. [Jan 2011, p.76]
  29. Dec 20, 2010
    30
    The only thing of any value here is the story, and even then you're mostly just reading it in the menu screen. This game has nothing to offer anyone in terms of gameplay.
  30. 28
    Apart from Alan Wake, it hasn't been a stellar year for survival-horror titles, but that doesn't mean you need to bring yourself to the level of playing through this sequel.
  31. Dec 20, 2010
    25
    The end result is not only a slap in the face to the Saw faithful, but to dangle it at a full price tag is the "Saw that broke the camel's back."
  32. Jan 12, 2011
    20
    High production values and charming characters makes Final Fantasy XIII a good game. But all to linear structure and boring story keeps it from being brilliant.
  33. Dec 20, 2010
    20
    There's a temptation to end this review with a play on Jigsaw's famous 'I want to play a game' line, but to call Flesh & Blood a game would be doing a disservice to games, and 'I want to play a train wreck' doesn't have the same ring to it.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 4 out of 7
  1. Nov 3, 2010
    1
    This is a hard, dumb game with all knoweledge out the window. The only so called "fun" trap is the key in the eye, which we have seen 18,000This is a hard, dumb game with all knoweledge out the window. The only so called "fun" trap is the key in the eye, which we have seen 18,000 times... such a shame. Full Review »
  2. Dec 29, 2014
    5
    How do you save your game if there are no tape recorders around? I have other things to do and I am afraid that it isn't going to save myHow do you save your game if there are no tape recorders around? I have other things to do and I am afraid that it isn't going to save my game, and it will boot me all the way back to where I was before. Full Review »
  3. Dec 18, 2014
    0
    Not worth the buy at all. It was ridiculous all through the game (demo). It was by far the stupidest game I have ever played. I got the freeNot worth the buy at all. It was ridiculous all through the game (demo). It was by far the stupidest game I have ever played. I got the free download and I wish I hadn't gotten it. This isn't a disappointment but this was such a fail for a game. Don't waste your money for this game. Full Review »