Saw Xbox 360

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 52
  2. Negative: 7 out of 52
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 6, 2015
    7
    Very hard to recommend, unless your a die-hard SAW fan. I enjoyed the return of the series characters and the progression of the story. The graphics are pretty nice, but the gameplay is awkward and the setup is very lazy. Most traps and areas are reused several times, but most traps are very creative for their environment. So only fans of the movies will highly enjoy this.
  2. Apr 21, 2014
    6
    absolutely terrible controls! and all the same puzzles for the most part. and don't even get me started on the combat. But, despite all that, the game still managed to be fun. There are a few things that this game did right. the atmosphere of the game was excellent and it really made me feel like I was in a saw game, and while most of the puzzles are reused, there are many creative andabsolutely terrible controls! and all the same puzzles for the most part. and don't even get me started on the combat. But, despite all that, the game still managed to be fun. There are a few things that this game did right. the atmosphere of the game was excellent and it really made me feel like I was in a saw game, and while most of the puzzles are reused, there are many creative and original puzzles where you are left up to your own wits usually with a timer. those parts of the games were awesome and very tense. So if you can get past the many frustrations in the mechanics, then you can actually find an intense and enjoyable game. but if you are in no way a fan of survival horror or the saw franchise, then you will probably hate this game Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2013
    7
    I actually enjoyed this game. The puzzles, mostly, are challenging and fun to do and the story and atmosphere are amazing. There are only two bad things about this: the combat and the shotgun traps. The combat is broken and hard to become used to. The shotgun traps are placed randomly and will kill you when you least expect it. However, this does not ruin the game and I still recommend it.
  4. Dec 28, 2012
    3
    Old, outdated, boring and lifeless - Saw its just about as boring as the movies were. Boasting a lackluster combat system and messy controls players will soon enough find themselves in a latch of boredom and rage. Not only that, but the games effort of character development fails to impress too, as charcters are introduced and killed off in minutes. The 6-8 hour video game just about sumsOld, outdated, boring and lifeless - Saw its just about as boring as the movies were. Boasting a lackluster combat system and messy controls players will soon enough find themselves in a latch of boredom and rage. Not only that, but the games effort of character development fails to impress too, as charcters are introduced and killed off in minutes. The 6-8 hour video game just about sums up everything bad about today's gaming. Brutal, but True... 3/10 Expand
  5. Dec 9, 2011
    8
    I am a huge fan of the series and to be honest I wasnt expecting much from the game but I was rather suprised that it turned out to be as good as it was. It did well to tie into the films, Good voice acting and sounds, solid graphics as well. It was also challenging to solve all the puzzles as well. The only bad thing is the terrible combat system, Besides that it was a good game.
  6. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    Its actually a really good game but the only thing that sucks about it is the pathetic combat system, If it wasnt for that then it would have been one of the best games of the year.
  7. Jul 20, 2011
    9
    If your a fan of the Saw movies than this game is for you, it expertly takes the feel of the movies and combines with fun survival horror like gameplay, and it provides a cannon story that fits in with the already established movie series, the gameplay consists of puzzles, some light exploration, and combat encounters, the puzzles are challenging and fun, but the combat could use someIf your a fan of the Saw movies than this game is for you, it expertly takes the feel of the movies and combines with fun survival horror like gameplay, and it provides a cannon story that fits in with the already established movie series, the gameplay consists of puzzles, some light exploration, and combat encounters, the puzzles are challenging and fun, but the combat could use some work, most weapons take forever to swing so I mostly just used fists throughout most of the game, the game also has two endings (one of which could have used some work), and has nice length, but it can get frustrating at times, and is a little repetitive, and you some people may be disappointed that it's very easy to get all of the achievements, but if your a Saw fan this is a must play, an excellent game and a excellent addition to the Saw series. Expand
  8. RobM
    Dec 22, 2009
    5
    Games based on movies are normally terrible. However whilst this isn't great, it's not bad either. Graphically it maybe a bit bland, but it manages to capture the atmosphere of the films perfectly. Besides, since when have Asylums been full of colour anyway? The one thing that hurts this game almost to the point of complete failure is the combat... if you can call it that. Awful Games based on movies are normally terrible. However whilst this isn't great, it's not bad either. Graphically it maybe a bit bland, but it manages to capture the atmosphere of the films perfectly. Besides, since when have Asylums been full of colour anyway? The one thing that hurts this game almost to the point of complete failure is the combat... if you can call it that. Awful just about covers it, unbalanced and just down right bad could also be used to describe the combat. It's just BAD! Plus this game can get really repetitive. The amount of toilets that you have to shove your hand into, I mean, a little variety wouldn't of hurt this at all. If your a fan of the films, then this is worth playing. It does make you feel like your in a SAW film. And the main traps where your trying to save other people can be both challenging and enjoyable, it'll take several attempts to nail them as they require alot of thought. It's just the combat and lack of variety that really hurt this game! Average at best. Expand
  9. AdamBirmingham
    Oct 17, 2009
    8
    There have been better games than Saw, there is no denying that, however, if you are a Saw fan and own a console, then this is the game for you, if you can get over the broken combat system, you'll find the anxiety inducing puzzles and homages to the movie quite enjoyable, but I feel an obligation to warn you, if you are not a Saw fan, this a RENTAL at best.
  10. TylerM
    Oct 6, 2009
    9
    A real surprise, I was pulling for this game to do great things. The game has taken the best elements from the classic survival horror games and combined it ingeniously with the Saw franchise. Although, the combat does fall short of perfect, but that doesn't ruin the game at all.
  11. tylerl
    Oct 6, 2009
    6
    For a movie based game its ok. The atmosphere and setting feel like SAW. The voice acting is average, nobody is great, couple are poor. Graphics are decent, they wont make your head explode ( see what i did there ) but is ok. The problem is that while i admit i get a bit anxious at times, this isnt scary. You fight 1 MAYBE 2 guys at a time tops. And with a broken fighting system thats For a movie based game its ok. The atmosphere and setting feel like SAW. The voice acting is average, nobody is great, couple are poor. Graphics are decent, they wont make your head explode ( see what i did there ) but is ok. The problem is that while i admit i get a bit anxious at times, this isnt scary. You fight 1 MAYBE 2 guys at a time tops. And with a broken fighting system thats fine. Weapons are useless due to very slow wind up times which are more noticeble than the slight damage increase. Some of the guys running around trying to kill you have traps on their heads (Reverse bear traps, Venus Fly Traps, and shotgun collars ) that provide some decent gore, but not anything extream. The traps are are common enough to keep you going, but not common enough that theyre around every corner. Which is good, because pretty much all of them are only interesting the first couple times, the variety pretty much consists of moving your hand around something filled with something that would hurt you looking for a key, lining up some gears, and 2 other puzzles, Though honestly pretty much all of them have been done a lot. In summary, a good attempt, but the rare spooks you might get and the decent amount of gore you see are massively outweighed by the lack of interesting puzzles, a combat system that is actually terrible, massive repitition. Was ok at the start, but as the game goes on the only thing that keeps me going is i hope the ending is decent. Rent if you really want to. DO NOT BUY!!! Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 39
  2. Negative: 7 out of 39
  1. 70
    The game isn't necessarily scary, but it will make you anxious as hell. Time-based puzzles are enough to make your heart explode, as are the variety of reoccurring traps.
  2. Saw fails to deliver the suspenseful crescendos, surprising twists, and apprehensive atmosphere of the films. Instead, it’s padded with unremarkable gore, poor pacing, and uninspired level design.
  3. Whether you’re swinging a pipe or a scalpel, the controls never feel responsive, and rotten collision detection will drive you mad before Jigsaw’s twisted games even have the chance.