Section 8: Prejudice Xbox 360

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 61
  2. Negative: 6 out of 61

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 18, 2012
    7
    The story is very short and the multilayer isn't the greatest Ive ever played but for 8 bucks it's worth buying. Note: The multilayer requires a lot of teamwork so if you don't like working with your team then this game isn't for you.
  2. Apr 21, 2011
    5
    For $15, this game has good value. However, quality is another matter entirely. The game is billed as a single and multiplayer experience for $15. The campaign is not coop, even if there is a coop multiplayer mode. The campaign tries to be epic with all the cutscenes, but the experience is short lived and tells a utterly, completely forgettable story. Modern Warfare 2's disjointed storyFor $15, this game has good value. However, quality is another matter entirely. The game is billed as a single and multiplayer experience for $15. The campaign is not coop, even if there is a coop multiplayer mode. The campaign tries to be epic with all the cutscenes, but the experience is short lived and tells a utterly, completely forgettable story. Modern Warfare 2's disjointed story experience is more entertaining than this.

    The conquest mode in multiplayer is a mix. Loners and cowboys don't do well, as this is a team-team-TEAM game. I enjoyed the burning in, the purchase system, the customization of armor modules and weapon stats. I didn't like the fact that I could get the drop on 2 players and even with 4 armor, 4 shield, 2 stealth, I couldn't kill 1 guy with surprise mortar hit and gunfire on my side, and died quickly when they both returned fire. I bet they used the lock on at the same time. Maybe he had some explosive resistant armor, but there is no way to tell. This game does a poor job of telling you or hinting what types of enemies you face. Still, this game does not reward solo work, which makes for a fun team game, but a piss poor loner game. It's squad up or die, which is a both good and bad thing. Unless your team and squad are good, you won't be able to do much on your own. Why do I mention this? There is no way to play with a friend unless you get lucky and are put on the same team, on the same server, together. You gotta play the swarm mode against bots to be able to successfully play with a friend. Not a cool feature to have, or rather not have, for a team oriented multiplayer game. Major problem here. I don't care if this game has dedicated servers. If I can't play with a friend who I can rely on, this game ain't enjoyable.

    I have to make a special complaint about the sound design in this game. Where Bulletstorm had high quality constant trash talk, this game has absolute filth for voice actors and writers. "You are DEAD." "Slowed em down," after using a mech to pick up a guy from his bike and hit a homerun. Terrible sound design for voices. And the guns... well, they sound underpowered. The machinegun sounds like some sort of washermachine running without water, the assault rifle rail rounds is like a scifi bb gun, and I'm being generous with that description. Graphics are ok, won't be fair to compare this to a full price game. It would have been nice to have better sound design to make up for outdated graphics. This game delivers a lot of value for $15, but the single player, the lack of easily playing with a friend, the awful voices and gunfire, make this a decent purchase at best for a shooter.
    Expand
  3. Apr 22, 2011
    6
    The story mode is a ridiculous tale, without any genuinely good hooks to keep people interested. Protect a tank piloted by moronic ai teammates, shoot down a gunship that launches hordes of missiles, take on thick skinned engineers that repair each other, the story mode takes the cake for being uninspired, un-fun, and hilariously bad voice work. The story mode was so bad they should haveThe story mode is a ridiculous tale, without any genuinely good hooks to keep people interested. Protect a tank piloted by moronic ai teammates, shoot down a gunship that launches hordes of missiles, take on thick skinned engineers that repair each other, the story mode takes the cake for being uninspired, un-fun, and hilariously bad voice work. The story mode was so bad they should have just left it out and charged me $10 for the rest of the game. The online play itself is a mixed bag. There is a lot of customization options to choose the way you fight, and deal with specialists in custom classes by equipping properly to deal with them. Enemies stack on shields, you mix emp rounds with frag grenades or incendiary rounds if you like weapon switching. Too many aa guns around, get reactive armor plates to take less damage from em. Don't want a red mark over your head? Get stealthy. Lots of options. All of these options combined with the emphasis on teamwork for hacking and holding bases with the random missions would make this game an awesome success. Until you get randomly switched to the other team. I have NEVER encountered a more rage inducing feature than the autobalancing. You help a team win only to be put on the other side near the end because other people on their team leave. Why am I randomly punished? Or some other unlucky guy? You don't even get a refund on the items you bought with your points. How is that a good feature? I'm all for unique fps gameplay, but this game has features that absolutely ruin the fun, whether its in the beginning, middle or end. I would give this game a 7 for being decent to good. Serious points taken out for the bad story mode which is near half the game's content. If I didn't waste money on the single player and spent $10, this game would be a 8. With the most intrusive feature I have ever had slap me in the face because some other guy is a sore loser and leaves, a 6. Even if its not me, someone else is a victim. Too bad no one ever feels sorry for that guy. Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2011
    6
    not a bad game just very average nothing stand out cool about it to be honest you will play it for 2 hours and be like over it on to the next one,but hey if your really board check it out,maybe my standards are too high
  5. Aug 21, 2011
    7
    Prejudice is a big improvement over the first game,but thats not hard to be honest.Using a newer Unreal Engine model,its looks better,& has a smooth framerate,which is important in a game such as this.Most importantly,to me anyway,is the much improved,longer Campaign mode,with a much better story,& is not just a glorified tutorial,like it was in the first game.The Co-Op Swarm mode is aPrejudice is a big improvement over the first game,but thats not hard to be honest.Using a newer Unreal Engine model,its looks better,& has a smooth framerate,which is important in a game such as this.Most importantly,to me anyway,is the much improved,longer Campaign mode,with a much better story,& is not just a glorified tutorial,like it was in the first game.The Co-Op Swarm mode is a very welcome addition too,& its great that this,& all the multiplayer modes can be played with Bots if you so wish.Its a real shame & wasted opportunity though that theres no Campaign Co-Op.. In the next Section 8(if there is one),i would still like to see a longer campaign,that tells more background on Section 8.After all,they're called Section 8,named after people that would normally be discharged for mental instability.Theres a reason they're called Section 8,& i'd like to get to know the squad better,to find out why,woven into the story.Something that was only brushed on in the teaser for the first game.Campaign Co-Op would be amazing in a game like this too,so could we have that next time please.Great game on the whole though,& outstanding value for the asking price.Would have preferred to have bought it at retail though,even if it meant paying a little more. Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2011
    6
    I am rating this a little lower than I really think it is just because the average is too high in my opinion. If you've played the first Section 8, this is more of the same. Both section 8 games are lots of okay. Nothing great just okay. They can be fun just not enough fun. Prejudice just suffers from a lack of solid gameplay. Sloppy aiming, inconsistent abilities and weapons, and someI am rating this a little lower than I really think it is just because the average is too high in my opinion. If you've played the first Section 8, this is more of the same. Both section 8 games are lots of okay. Nothing great just okay. They can be fun just not enough fun. Prejudice just suffers from a lack of solid gameplay. Sloppy aiming, inconsistent abilities and weapons, and some extremely slow moving characters. If it were cheaper then I would happily recommend it but even at $15 it is overpriced. Especially when compared to the excessive amount of quality shooters that are available at this point. Expand
  7. Apr 22, 2011
    6
    An fps that combines Battlefield and Halo Reach under the name of prejudice for affordable housing. Crazy combination, but great results marred by lack of extras. A game that ditches the lone super soldier for a team of super soldiers. Very durable soldiers that can custom suit themselves for situations from more shields, armor or both. Higher damage and less recoil. Faster recharging jetsAn fps that combines Battlefield and Halo Reach under the name of prejudice for affordable housing. Crazy combination, but great results marred by lack of extras. A game that ditches the lone super soldier for a team of super soldiers. Very durable soldiers that can custom suit themselves for situations from more shields, armor or both. Higher damage and less recoil. Faster recharging jets and longer durations of overdrive sprinting. Guns can be mixed with your choice in mods to fit whatever situation you prefer to fight in. Dive bomb through the sky and land gently or leave a crater and you got a game that goes beyond Battlefield ODST. The game's got some nice ideas and gameplay but totally runs short on the presentation. A fps needs a good feel to guns and killing. A satisfaction in war if you will. Since the super soldiers here are very durable, guns feel weak or power armor is really power armor, in the end you lose a bit of the satisfaction in powerful weapons that decimate your foes. Small loss I suppose. But there is one big thing that bugs me and thats the lack of game options. There is no way to have custom variants of conquest. Base hacks only, convoy and vip only, infiltrator only, 200% duration jetpacks, mechs everywhere, $1 rocket turrets, nada. It's just the stock version of conquest. Not many extras for extra fun. This game has potential for extra fun and ideas, but doesn't take advantage of it. Factor in guns without much oomph, and you get a mixed feelin fps at a budget price. Potentially good game turned above average by a lack of imagination. Expand
  8. Rem
    Oct 9, 2015
    5
    Section 8 Prejudice offers a lot with its asking price. With a mere $15 you get a full single player campaign, a fully featured multiplayer mode, and an implemented survival mode, and anyone without a clue to the substance of the game will buy it without a doubt. That said, those who know what the game truly offers and how it holds up will find that despite a generous asking price, SectionSection 8 Prejudice offers a lot with its asking price. With a mere $15 you get a full single player campaign, a fully featured multiplayer mode, and an implemented survival mode, and anyone without a clue to the substance of the game will buy it without a doubt. That said, those who know what the game truly offers and how it holds up will find that despite a generous asking price, Section 8 doesn't really do anything extraordinary or even good to begin with. For starters the single player is downright embarrassing with a campaign that ultimately plays like a multiplayer game with bots, it doesn't help that the game looks subpar at best and there is lack a real story incentive or leveling system to play through it. It lacks setpieces or any real high point to begin with. Save yourself the trouble and just head straight to multiplayer and survival, where the crux of the game really shows. While not doing anything terribly special, the joy of dropping from orbit was novel the first few matches until everything fell into a familiar monotonous tedium. The gunplay no doubt, has a very weighty feel to it and the inclusion of power ups and the ability to call in support via drop is very cool. Add to that a by the numbers survival mode, and Section 8 is a title that offers content for the long run. However, Section 8 lacks the elements that makes other titles standout, it's a generic sci-fi shooter at heart and there is an audience for that, but for those who are looking for something to wow us, it's not present here. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. CD-Action
    Jul 1, 2011
    80
    The first word that comes to my mind when I think of Prejudice is 'solid'. Every element of this game was executed at least well (the Swarm mode, audio and graphics) and some of them really stand out (like the Conquest mode and Dynamic Combat Missions). [June 2011, p.60]
  2. Jul 1, 2011
    78
    Section 8: Prejudice is a worthy title for online shooter fans but won't really hold many players over with its single player campaign.
  3. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Jun 25, 2011
    70
    Enjoyably frenetic war zone action. [July 2011, p.100]