Section 8 Xbox 360

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 59
  2. Negative: 11 out of 59
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 2, 2013
    7
    This game was a disappointing mess when you consider the single player story, which is essentially non-existent. Where it shines is the multiplayer. Great game that should have had a great following but has been overshadowed by the COD and Halo franchises. Some interesting weapons and graphics and sounds are good. I'm guessing the multiplayer is a ghost town now and the game is notThis game was a disappointing mess when you consider the single player story, which is essentially non-existent. Where it shines is the multiplayer. Great game that should have had a great following but has been overshadowed by the COD and Halo franchises. Some interesting weapons and graphics and sounds are good. I'm guessing the multiplayer is a ghost town now and the game is not worth purchasing for the single player unless you can get it for dirt cheap. Expand
  2. Apr 19, 2011
    3
    I have to start by saying i was REALLY looking foreward to this game! The second i saw the first teaser trailer.It got me excited.The big armoured suits,the Si-Fi setting,Jumping in from low orbit,whats not to like? What i was hoping for,was something like Terranova on the Pc some years ago,but with maybe Campaign Co-Op in this age of online play.What i got though,was a game with poorI have to start by saying i was REALLY looking foreward to this game! The second i saw the first teaser trailer.It got me excited.The big armoured suits,the Si-Fi setting,Jumping in from low orbit,whats not to like? What i was hoping for,was something like Terranova on the Pc some years ago,but with maybe Campaign Co-Op in this age of online play.What i got though,was a game with poor Graphics(for this day & age),Poor Gameplay & gunplay,a VERY short campaign that had virtually no story & multiplayer type objectives & gameplay,& no campaign Co-Op.. This game is missing ALOT of major features.. Its obvious this games main focus was multiplayer.I'm not big on multiplayer(unless its Campaign Co-Op),So this game offered very little for me.I wish the Campaign trailers were not so misleading,or someone said at some point 'this is a multiplayer game,with a 'tutorial' campaign tacked on',because thats basically what it is,much like Chromehounds was.I cant even describe my disappointment with this game..I hope Section 8-Predujice has better gameplay,longer Campaign,better graphics & Campaign thats not a series of multiplayer matches against bots,like the first game.But its an XBLA release,so i'll be even more cautious for this one. Expand
  3. esp
    Sep 6, 2010
    8
    The story is pretty dumb, the graphics are nothing remarkable, but the gameplay â
  4. J.S.
    Oct 11, 2009
    6
    An uninteresting clone of every FPS game currently popular. It has a few interesting ideas, like shooting into the atmosphere every time you deploy, and the objective based gameplay. But its all poorly implemented. The graphics are way out dated, far below the standards of any Xbox title. The storyline, voice acting, and dialogue are all horrible with no texture and is often very An uninteresting clone of every FPS game currently popular. It has a few interesting ideas, like shooting into the atmosphere every time you deploy, and the objective based gameplay. But its all poorly implemented. The graphics are way out dated, far below the standards of any Xbox title. The storyline, voice acting, and dialogue are all horrible with no texture and is often very embarrassing. At one point, the main character recites a serious haiku about how 'awesome' he is. This game would have probably been a big hit if it came out in 2001; 8 years too late. Expand
  5. PeterB
    Oct 3, 2009
    4
    Just a console port of a PC game, very disappointing. Graphics are ok, but not amazing and can't compete with other current FPS releases on XBOX360. The story mode is a waste of time since it's just a bunch of "kill some guys" and "destroy some stuff" missions glued together with some nice but content lacking cut scenes. The main problem is: there is nothing worth being called a Just a console port of a PC game, very disappointing. Graphics are ok, but not amazing and can't compete with other current FPS releases on XBOX360. The story mode is a waste of time since it's just a bunch of "kill some guys" and "destroy some stuff" missions glued together with some nice but content lacking cut scenes. The main problem is: there is nothing worth being called a story. No plot, no character development, no twists, no secrets reveiled - nothing. Regarding multiplayer this game lacks any support of console typical features like pre game lobbies, joining as a party at the same side of the team and other genre common features. It is NO MMO like some reviews falsely advertise it! Multiplayer games are mostly auto-balanced making it impossible to play with your friends as a team on one side except you hosting your own (un-ranked!) server. A dedicated server is available but not for the platform the majority of clans are hosting their games on which is often the final nail in the coffin of a game. Compared to other games the size of the community is not even mentionable. When you start with no kills at the bottom of the leaderboard you realize there are only about 1500 people better then you. Prepare to play a lot of games against bots only. Expand
  6. XanderN
    Sep 14, 2009
    10
    At first I found this game to be bland, but I was way wrong. The more I played, the more depth I noticed until I realized this is perhaps the deepest multiplayer FPS I've come across in my 20 years of gaming. As much as some critics rant about this game, I guarantee that many of the features in this game will be incorporated into other games. For example, the "burn in" feature which At first I found this game to be bland, but I was way wrong. The more I played, the more depth I noticed until I realized this is perhaps the deepest multiplayer FPS I've come across in my 20 years of gaming. As much as some critics rant about this game, I guarantee that many of the features in this game will be incorporated into other games. For example, the "burn in" feature which prevents spawn-camping, the weapons/perks loadout system which prevents the who-can-get-to-the-big-gun-the-fastest, and the orbital drop of weapons and vehicles which rewards you with such things as a tank for actually HELPING your team. Honestly, nothing is more frustrating when, in other games, someone on your team that doesn't know how to play a TEAM game grabs up all the best equipment. Section 8 does a good job of negating this. In the end, Section is a very dynamic, deep game. When I first played the demo, I wasn't impressed. After I learned what to do and how to play the game it was meant to be played, I went out and got the retail copy. Couldn't be happier. Collapse
  7. AdamSmith
    Sep 13, 2009
    10
    This game is not a copy of any other game. fools. this isn't a rip off of quake wars, or halo, or anything! they built this game from scratch. and if you think that the game is so bad. why don't all of you people make a new one thats better. oh wait.... you can't!
  8. BobbyM
    Sep 9, 2009
    8
    I love Section 8. Unlike most major FPS' This game does not devolve into pure deathmatch or reward lone wolf gameplay. To achieve success in this game you have to partner up in a squad and communicate and fixate on objectives. You also have to familiarize yourself with kit customizations/role loadouts in order to fully exploit your capabilities to increase your odds of success. This I love Section 8. Unlike most major FPS' This game does not devolve into pure deathmatch or reward lone wolf gameplay. To achieve success in this game you have to partner up in a squad and communicate and fixate on objectives. You also have to familiarize yourself with kit customizations/role loadouts in order to fully exploit your capabilities to increase your odds of success. This game does require a certain investment of your time to learn. Section 8 deserves no comparison to Halo because actually this game plays nothing like Halo and there are more than enough features to differentiate it. For one you can deploy equipment, there is no automatic health recharge and you have to rely on engineers or supply depots for repairs and loadout changes. Also there aren't weapons just lying around so there is no mad scramble for exclusive ownership of the spartan laser or whatever uber weapon just lying on a rock in the middle of nowhere.. You choose where you spawn and with what but be careful because if you spawn in enemy held territory, chances are you won't survive the burn in. After playing online my first couple of matches I got my behind handed to me by those who figured out the loadouts, but I'm getting better and this game is really growing on me and the community also seems to be growing. I have not had any problems finding online games with full rooms so apparently this game is slowly gaining momentum. There are gamers like myself who burned out on Halo a long time ago and have been waiting for a game like Section 8 and it is a breath of fresh air. Expand
  9. AugustoC
    Sep 6, 2009
    8
    OMG! This game is really great in terms of online modes, there's so much maps, robots, battles and fun! The only real problem of this games is the campaing, which has bad story and a gameplay that is weird for the campaings that we most play today
  10. MichaelM
    Sep 6, 2009
    6
    The game is way to slow paced. It takes forever to kill someone, makes you feel like you're not much of a gamer with it's lock on target mode...And is a tragedy to control. Even when you're running at full speed, which I assume is supposed to feel fast, you instead feel like you're going very slow. The graphics aren't the best but not the worst either...Though the The game is way to slow paced. It takes forever to kill someone, makes you feel like you're not much of a gamer with it's lock on target mode...And is a tragedy to control. Even when you're running at full speed, which I assume is supposed to feel fast, you instead feel like you're going very slow. The graphics aren't the best but not the worst either...Though the drop in from space (burning) looks like PS2 graphics...Very, very poor. What is supposed to be a great game ends up a disaster. I had this pre-ordered but after the demo i took it off my pre-order list...I then borrowed it from a friend, (before he sold it) and found that it is just utter crap. Wait a few day's and you'll have Halo 3: ODST and a few months and you'll have MW2...If you have a PS3 as well, you'll have MAG next year...Which looks sweet. Put this one on the burner...Pun intended...and light it up because you don't want to play it. This is just my opinion, i know a couple people who have liked it...Hence why i've given it a 6 instead of something lower...The game isn't the worst one ever made...It's just not worth my money. Expand
  11. JohnnyR.
    Sep 5, 2009
    10
    Love the depth of multiplayer. Most people won't understand the depth if they just play for a couple of hours. It's the most strategic FPS multiplayer experience I've ever had!
  12. Tracy
    Sep 3, 2009
    7
    This is a fun game, but only for someone who enjoys online team play. The single-player campaign took less than three hours play time to complete on medium difficulty. Definitely not worth the $60 price tag for someone who hates the whole co-op thing.
  13. VictorB.
    Sep 3, 2009
    8
    Playing Section 8 was a refreshing experience. The multiplayer is perfectly balanced and the action is fluid and intense. The only complaint I have for the game is that weapons and environments are very generic and would have been better if Timegate injected some more inspiration into the design.
  14. JimB.
    Sep 2, 2009
    4
    Uninspired gameplay consisting of slow-paced action shooter antics and tired capping mechanisms irks somewhat. Far worse, though, is how the game's creators have tried to pass this off as "Strategic play". There's nothing strategic about it; as you wander through the pretty yet bland "generic future shooter" environments you're left wondering if there's any point at Uninspired gameplay consisting of slow-paced action shooter antics and tired capping mechanisms irks somewhat. Far worse, though, is how the game's creators have tried to pass this off as "Strategic play". There's nothing strategic about it; as you wander through the pretty yet bland "generic future shooter" environments you're left wondering if there's any point at all in standing next to the highlighted bits of unrecognisable machinery strewn around the landscape. The most fun you'll get out of the game is playing kamikaze with AA defences as you plummet earthwards in the game's signature "Burn-in feature", your method of spawning. Unlike Battlefield 2 (or 2142 if you want to be similarly futuristic), where squad spawning ties the game together nicely and actually improves the flow of battle, burning in almost entirely destroys any semblance of battle flow. One can only guess that this game was made to appear strategic without alienating people who love deathmatch-only FPSs. In summary, Section 8 is a very bland and ordinary FPS with strategy-lite, a la Frontlines: Fuel of War. Expand
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
  1. 80
    The pistol is one of the most satisfying I've handled since scoring head shots with Halo's popular handgun, and when you're shouldering the rocket launcher, your character fills nearly a third of the screen with an impressively threatening presence. Most of the gadgets and features from the online conquest mode carry into the solo campaign, too.
  2. The nice backend clan support is wasted since the game just isn’t much fun to play. The shooting lacks the high-intensity lethality of Counter-Strike, the lightning-paced speed of Tribes, and the great cooperative mechanics of Battlefield. You won’t spit this hamburger out, but you probably won’t tell your friends about it, either.
  3. Section 8 also offers a lot of customization options, with players able to tweak their weapon loadouts, tools (like healing abilities and various flavors of explosive), and even a whole slew of buffs and perks called “passive modules.” Best of all, racking up kills nets you points that you can use to buy deployable gun turrets, hard-to-drive tanks, or hulking mech suits.