Sensible World of Soccer Xbox 360

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 4 out of 14

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 3, 2011
    7
    Lets face it this game has stood the test of time. Ok the graphics are not great, the team names are all wrong and you have to check out the player stats by checking friendly match teams in order to buy in career mode. However this game is still just as addictive as it always was, the gameplay is fantastic. Sensible world of soccer was one of my all time favourites in the 90s and theLets face it this game has stood the test of time. Ok the graphics are not great, the team names are all wrong and you have to check out the player stats by checking friendly match teams in order to buy in career mode. However this game is still just as addictive as it always was, the gameplay is fantastic. Sensible world of soccer was one of my all time favourites in the 90s and the revamped 2007 addition does not disapoint. There just arent any other football games out there nowadays that really piss you off when you know you made a mistake and also have you jumping up and punching the air when you score. For anyone who enjoyed the original this game is a must. Be warned though its just as addictive if not more than the original. Would recommend this game. Expand
  2. ApocalypseBrown
    Mar 13, 2008
    9
    I must admit that I am totally biased when reviewing this game, as I loved Sensi from the olden days. However, with xbox live, playing many of the games from the past either hold up well or fall flat, and boy this holds up very well. Its still seamless and well executed, but I'm not sure it was fast as it is on Xbox currently. However, it is still bloody hard and playing this willI must admit that I am totally biased when reviewing this game, as I loved Sensi from the olden days. However, with xbox live, playing many of the games from the past either hold up well or fall flat, and boy this holds up very well. Its still seamless and well executed, but I'm not sure it was fast as it is on Xbox currently. However, it is still bloody hard and playing this will sort the men from the pretenders. Everything here is a classic in gaming, which is more than I could say for that crap cell-shaded remake two years on ps2.Only problem is live (apparently as I have had a live match), but the A.I. probably is better than most Humans anyway. For 800 points, its a bargain! Expand
  3. GaryW.
    Jan 9, 2008
    2
    This games is fundamentally broken when playing on Xbox live. The headers and tackles dont work properly. We have already had to donwload the 'fixed' version, yet it is still tat. Connecting to game is almost impossible and the header and tackels STILL dont work correctly. That is the last time I will be paying to playtest a game for codemasters. Oh dont forget the garish This games is fundamentally broken when playing on Xbox live. The headers and tackles dont work properly. We have already had to donwload the 'fixed' version, yet it is still tat. Connecting to game is almost impossible and the header and tackels STILL dont work correctly. That is the last time I will be paying to playtest a game for codemasters. Oh dont forget the garish adverts that appear which are being sent by a server which tracks advertising on your 360. Collapse
  4. LukevanA.
    Jan 8, 2008
    9
    The game is great! As great as it ever was. Great fun on xbox live. Only thing missing is live tournaments and cups.
  5. AndyM.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    Fantastic game, a perfect recreation of the game I wasted my teens on!
  6. Rol
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    A great game that remains great. Hard at first but keep playing and it sticks on you.
  7. GaryWhitehead
    Dec 21, 2007
    2
    Hmm, strange, this game gets NO reviews up until the day of release EXCEPT official Xbox magazine, lo and behold , I turn the game on and Official Xbox Magazine is plastered all over it.

    More worringly, they gave it a great review despite the fact the game is unplayable due to lag online. Plus the fact when your setting up an online match, BOTH people control the cursor to decide on
    Hmm, strange, this game gets NO reviews up until the day of release EXCEPT official Xbox magazine, lo and behold , I turn the game on and Official Xbox Magazine is plastered all over it.

    More worringly, they gave it a great review despite the fact the game is unplayable due to lag online. Plus the fact when your setting up an online match, BOTH people control the cursor to decide on teams etc, the most ridiculous concept ever conceived for an online game ? yes.

    The single player game seems to have sped up to the point of playing like a benny hill simulation but at least its playable. Do not expect to play this game online unless you like your 'lightening fast' games like slideshows

    and DONT GIVE CODEMASTERS YOUR MONEY UNTIL THEY RELEASE THE GAME PROPERLY. I dont expect to pay 8 quid to become a tester for codemasters.
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    80
    It plays a lightning-fast, ultra-competitive game, and the statistics are unbeatable in their completeness. [Oct 2007, p.96]
  2. One of those rare gems that stands the test of time, thanks to its near-flawless gameplay. And while the temptation must have been huge to overhaul the game for the next-gen release, it’s great to see that the SWOS developers didn’t cave to it. While the game may not be the prettiest game on the Marketplace, it’s certainly one of the most fun.
  3. 79
    Unlike most sports games that feel dated and tired years later, this one holds up quite well. It’s simple and fast, removing two of the hurdles many people find with the sport of soccer. The game also features an admirable amount of depth for a game that can be played with just a d-pad and the A button.