Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
Buy On
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    99
    Double Fine has achieved an amazing feat with Once Upon a Monster. Not only is the game ideal for children in both design and presentation, but it is a game that parents will want to play with their kids.
  2. Dec 21, 2011
    90
    Sesame Street: Once Upon a Monster is a properly executed Kinect game for kids that doesn't try to do a hundred things just to be appealing. At last here's an enjoyable title that stands to be a firm favorite for anyone looking for an educational game for their kids to play.
  3. Nov 3, 2011
    90
    There is no challenge for most, but it cannot be looked at from an adult's point of view. A developing mind will jump in with both feet and get an amazing experience from start to finish, then over and over and over again. Imagine their favourite film that is always in the DVD player, it will be the same with this game. There is something about the charm on Elmo and friends and it transfers to gaming perfectly.
  4. Jan 3, 2012
    88
    Once Upon a Monster is the finest Sesame Street game on the market, and one of the best Kinect games to date. This perfect blend of entertainment and enrichment fills a void on the home console, and provides a wonderful experience for the whole family.
  5. Oct 16, 2011
    86
    Mom and dad might even enjoy themselves as well.
  6. Oct 25, 2011
    85
    Sesame Street: Once Upon a Monster is an excellent family-friendly experience that kids will learn a lot from and adults will have fun with. This is definitely a game that lives up to the Sesame Street name.
  7. Oct 25, 2011
    85
    Sesame Street: Once Upon a Monster is a fantastic game for kids and is still mildly entertaining for adults at the same time.
  8. Oct 14, 2011
    85
    For parents looking to engage their children with a fun and active Kinect game that will hold their interest, Sesame Street: Once Upon a Monster should shoot straight to the top of their lists.
  9. Oct 11, 2011
    85
    Once Upon A Monster is the educational game I've been wanting since I first had kids. It's approachable and easy for them to grasp, while still remaining enough of a game to keep me engaged, too. If you're a parent whose kids already know their ABCs, Double Fine's game is a fantastic way to reinforce often-neglected (but critically important) skills like empathy, responsibility, and friendship. Plus, you can make Grover flap his stringy little blue arms like nobody's business.
  10. Apr 24, 2012
    83
    A very good children's game, thanks to the level of immersion with the stories and interaction with the characters it can provide. If you're looking for a non-violent, involving and even with some educative aspects game for your kids, this might be one of your best bets.
  11. Dec 1, 2011
    83
    Despite a few flaws, Sesame Street: Once upon a Monster provides parents a guilt-free reason to let their kids play video games. The game is geared toward children, yet the co-op makes it fun for parents to play along with them.
  12. Oct 18, 2011
    83
    Once Upon A Monster won't fulfill the role of the traditional killer app for the Kinect; it instead fulfills the oft-neglected role of "great title to introduce children to games without making them ragequit." I'd rather remember playing this as a kid than my current memories of Smurf for the 2600.
  13. Oct 18, 2011
    82
    This game is a worthwhile investment if you've got young kids, or if you are incredibly young at heart. It may not be very complex, challenging, or long, but its heart is definitely in the right place. And that's what makes Once Upon a Monster a stand-out game.
  14. Dec 20, 2011
    80
    A great game for children that makes great use of Kinect capabilities. Kids from any age can play thanks to the absence of a controller, and the story is charming and happy, with very accesible gameplay.
  15. Oct 20, 2011
    80
    Once Upon A Monster isn't the most challenging of titles, which is understandable considering its audience, but it's a fun-filled Kinect game brimming with life and full of charm.
  16. Oct 20, 2011
    80
    Come and play, because everything's A-OK with Once Upon a Monster thanks to its surplus of charm and kid-friendly controls.
  17. Oct 19, 2011
    80
    It's a unique window into the world of the iconic TV show, with splashes of brilliance from one of the finest developers of this generation.
  18. 80
    It's a colourful toy that'll distract young children long enough to give you precious hours in the kitchen drinking fortified wine.
  19. Oct 11, 2011
    80
    A great educational game that children can enjoy with their parents or on their own. The intuitive controls, easy-to-follow story, varied gameplay, and impressive dedication to the tone of the source material make this a great choice for young gamers, especially those who are already in love with the Sesame Street franchise.
  20. 80
    Unless you're a Sesame Street super-fan, playing alone or with another adult will rob those sequences of their full impact. As with the TV show, kids are clearly the center of Monster's universe. But for parents seeking a videogame to share with their children, this game offers hours of joy.
  21. Oct 6, 2011
    76
    Sesame Street: Once upon a Monster offer young players a game that pulls them into a world of cuddly monters well enough. Biggest drawbacks: it's rather short and stupidly inflexible in places. Still worth looking at for parents as Kinect-active entertainment for their kids.
  22. Games Master UK
    Nov 20, 2011
    72
    Falls victim to problems not of its own making, but it's still a charming, kids game. [Christmas 2011, p.88]
  23. games(TM)
    Nov 16, 2011
    70
    Beguilingly charming. [Issue#115, p.112]
  24. Oct 19, 2011
    70
    Provides solid entertainment for kids big and small. It's bright, colourful and charmingly presented throughout, and makes smart use of characters that have a wide appeal.
  25. Oct 13, 2011
    70
    For all its effortless charm, the game ultimately offers a window into an immersive world, fires up the imagination and then tells its young players to simply mimic the actions of others. That's enough to amuse kids, but it won't inspire them for long.
  26. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Nov 15, 2011
    60
    Clearly an inferior product to Kinectimals. [Issue#78, p.88]
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    best 50 bux i ever spent, as this is truly a monster of a game... before you spend hundreds of your parents dollars sucking down activision'sbest 50 bux i ever spent, as this is truly a monster of a game... before you spend hundreds of your parents dollars sucking down activision's annual "call of duty" enema, stop being casual filth and support companies that look out for "TRUE GAMERS" Full Review »
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Looks like there are some strange reviews on here. I love this game to play with my kids, and they love playing it as well. I am obviouslyLooks like there are some strange reviews on here. I love this game to play with my kids, and they love playing it as well. I am obviously their target audience with children under 10 years old and a little bit of time to play here and there. My wife, a non-gamer, even said she would like to play this cute game with me and the kids. Basically, there are several story lines to help the Sesame Street puppets get through. The game involves arm waving, body posing, matching games, and other simple things to get a young person's mind thinking and working to coordinate personal actions with actions on-screen. It's lighthearted fun and gets you and/or your children up and moving.

    For me, this game alone makes the Kinect worth owning.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 20, 2012
    0
    This is the worst kids game I have ever purchased.This is the worst kids game I have ever purchased. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx Full Review »