User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 156 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 156
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TimW
    Oct 11, 2008
    9
    This is an excellent online fps. It is surprisingly balanced with all of it's different races, magics, and techs. As of now(October 2008) you can get this used at your local gamestop for 15-20$. It's a great game if you have xbox live and you'll be playing it for hours.
  2. SamShepherd
    Jan 17, 2009
    10
    Cannot put the game down! One of the best games in the world and my second favourite only beaten by Halo 3, if this game did have a campaign it would make it even more better than it already is! And it's absolutely brilliant already! 5 out of 5 stars.
  3. RobG
    Nov 16, 2008
    9
    I don't, have never,worked for MS or fasa like some reviewers have suggested. Yes this game lacked a single player campain. I would have liked to see what they could have done with that. but dont really care. What was there was a stunning team based mutiplayer game that I spent weeks and weeks on enjoying it more the more I played. There are a few things like this on PC mainly mods I don't, have never,worked for MS or fasa like some reviewers have suggested. Yes this game lacked a single player campain. I would have liked to see what they could have done with that. but dont really care. What was there was a stunning team based mutiplayer game that I spent weeks and weeks on enjoying it more the more I played. There are a few things like this on PC mainly mods for quake 3 or Cs but nothing as well thought out as this and nothing like this on consoles. I really do wish do an update perhaps without the shadowrun tag that upset so many. This could have been massive if they had marketed it right, hosted some tounements, this is the sort of game that could have been continually updated, and people would have paid for map packs etc never mind. FASA I would like to thank you for , in my humble opinion, my most memorable and most favourite game on the 360 so far nov 2008 as i speak. Expand
  4. May 10, 2011
    9
    This is a SOLID shooter. I can't play this without being reminded of Counter Strike, and anyone who has played Counter Strike knows that it isn't about the Quantity of the content, but the Quality of it. This game is still a bit light on content, but in the gameplay department it absolutely dominates most shooters. Fun, balanced, and innovative, this is a shooter that deserves a try byThis is a SOLID shooter. I can't play this without being reminded of Counter Strike, and anyone who has played Counter Strike knows that it isn't about the Quantity of the content, but the Quality of it. This game is still a bit light on content, but in the gameplay department it absolutely dominates most shooters. Fun, balanced, and innovative, this is a shooter that deserves a try by anyone who's a fan of the FPS genre. Expand
  5. GregP.
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    this game has done more for this genre then anything else in thte last five years. the graphics are subpar and the overall not very polished. but shadow run is a awsome game becuase the developers spent time on parts that matter the game play. my only real complaint is the lack of stat tracking. i am not a stat whore but it would be nice to have at least a minimal stat tracking. for a this game has done more for this genre then anything else in thte last five years. the graphics are subpar and the overall not very polished. but shadow run is a awsome game becuase the developers spent time on parts that matter the game play. my only real complaint is the lack of stat tracking. i am not a stat whore but it would be nice to have at least a minimal stat tracking. for a game with such a differnt style it would be nice to tell how you are being killed the most and by what weopen and race. but even with that i hope it sells well so that the sequal can be a AAA title. Expand
  6. TerryT.
    Jun 1, 2007
    8
    Dont get me wrong its a good game and worth a buy just for the online alone but then gears and graw2 are good for that. what this game misses out on is the fact that it has a good story it could tell and not just use for the sake of making money. see where gears got it right was the fact that if you didnt have live then there was as story there waiting for you to play,same as graw2 etc. Dont get me wrong its a good game and worth a buy just for the online alone but then gears and graw2 are good for that. what this game misses out on is the fact that it has a good story it could tell and not just use for the sake of making money. see where gears got it right was the fact that if you didnt have live then there was as story there waiting for you to play,same as graw2 etc. what this lacks the the extra detail that could have made it stand out better then the rest. its hype out shone its realism and thats not what makes you pay good money......well not for half a game anyway. if you like online fighting you will like this but dont get to excited about a full story line. Expand
  7. SueD.
    Jun 1, 2007
    9
    Sadly, I very much think most of the 'official' reviews on Meta Critic really do this simply terrific game a vile misjustice. Its all very well to bang on about its lack of single player, nine maps and lack of content... But when you look at the broader picture, the beta testers were playing the same two maps for six months straight! And why? Its all simply because of the Sadly, I very much think most of the 'official' reviews on Meta Critic really do this simply terrific game a vile misjustice. Its all very well to bang on about its lack of single player, nine maps and lack of content... But when you look at the broader picture, the beta testers were playing the same two maps for six months straight! And why? Its all simply because of the weapon/power customization system in place. Every single match is different and unique - whether its from the use of strangle to block off certain areas, the variety of different races in play, the use of key powers such as Ressurect and Tree of Life... Everything has its place. It all makes for a dynamic and worthwhile experience that couldn't be attained alone in an SP experience and will be staying in my Xbox for months, if not years to come. As for the graphics... Yes, I'll admit they're not 'Gears of War' great. But the art style is full of personality, its extremely playable and some of the special effects make you feel warm and fuzzy inside! A fantastic edition to the 360 library, deserving of atleast a 9 with 10 on the way they include even more geratness in future. Now, there is a very high learning curve on this. Completing the tutorials in full is highly recommended, and the reason the learning curve is so steep is because of the variety on offer. If you can whether the time it takes to learn this titles intricacies, I personally can't recommaned higher. A true classic! Expand
  8. CesC.
    Jun 1, 2007
    8
    If you're looking for the sequel to the older shadowrun games; if you're looking for a flashy game; if you're looking for a nice little game you can play for a few minutes without much worry then you're looking in the wrong place. Shadowrun is an excellent FPS, a welcome addition to the 360 line-up. The spells, techs and races are not difficult to learn. The many If you're looking for the sequel to the older shadowrun games; if you're looking for a flashy game; if you're looking for a nice little game you can play for a few minutes without much worry then you're looking in the wrong place. Shadowrun is an excellent FPS, a welcome addition to the 360 line-up. The spells, techs and races are not difficult to learn. The many combinations of magic/tech/weapons is what makes this game so fun. It's not difficult to learn but it will definitely be hard to master. So if you, like me, are looking for a game with some multiplayer depth which rewards experimentation and quick reflexes then this game is right up your alley. Expand
  9. PSWii60Elite
    Jun 1, 2007
    9
    This is the most gaming fun Ive had since Battlefield 1942. Why? Because that was the last game to really revolutionize online gaming. This is what "Nex-Gen" is all about. I woke up yesterday morning at about 4:00am and started thinking about playing it, so I did. I havent done that since Rainbow Six 3. Media reviews are going to rip this game due to its lack of game modes and lack of This is the most gaming fun Ive had since Battlefield 1942. Why? Because that was the last game to really revolutionize online gaming. This is what "Nex-Gen" is all about. I woke up yesterday morning at about 4:00am and started thinking about playing it, so I did. I havent done that since Rainbow Six 3. Media reviews are going to rip this game due to its lack of game modes and lack of campaign mode. However its worth the price. I do hope they release a patch to add game modes and maps. Im having a blast with this game! Expand
  10. Kyrandos
    Jun 3, 2007
    9
    I'm an old school fan of ShadowRun. I admit it. I loved the pen and paper game, and I loved the SNES version. They were my first real taste of steampunk, well before I ever read William Gibson. Ever since, I have longed for another ShadowRun. It's nothing like the old school games. Ok, alright. I expected that, because they advertised it as an Unreal Tournament style game. And I'm an old school fan of ShadowRun. I admit it. I loved the pen and paper game, and I loved the SNES version. They were my first real taste of steampunk, well before I ever read William Gibson. Ever since, I have longed for another ShadowRun. It's nothing like the old school games. Ok, alright. I expected that, because they advertised it as an Unreal Tournament style game. And as such? It's EXCELLENT! Highly polished gameplay and well laid maps make this just an incredibly fun and surprisingly addictive shooter, with a couple twists that just make the whole thing that much better. All sorts of combinations of skills and magic offer you numerous methods of play, and it's a lot of fun finding out what's best for you. There's a strong sense that the game just wasn't finished, however, in that it is curiously missing so many standard features that have frankly BEEN standards for half a decade.... or more. No clan system, no leaderboards, no ladders, no single player, only 3 game modes... It leaves a consumer frustrated.... As far as remaining loyal to the old school Shadowrun, It's close, but dumbed down,which sucks in many ways. However, if this is what it takes to revive the shadowrun name - and possibly result in a future single player campaign? OK by me. Expand
  11. MatthewB.
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    By far the best shooter on any console right now. More strategic depth than Halo or GoW. Investing the time to master this game pays off. It's my new addiction.
  12. Fred
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    If you want a multiplayer FPS, then you will love it.
  13. KyleS.
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    Amazing new gameplay. It's about time something this fresh has come along for the shooting genre. It's like Counter Strike but everyone has the ability for the typical cheats like seeing through walls, teleporting through walls and so on; and it's all balanced extremely well. It takes some getting used to because there is no other game quite like it, but I enjoy it more and Amazing new gameplay. It's about time something this fresh has come along for the shooting genre. It's like Counter Strike but everyone has the ability for the typical cheats like seeing through walls, teleporting through walls and so on; and it's all balanced extremely well. It takes some getting used to because there is no other game quite like it, but I enjoy it more and more each time I play. Expand
  14. CraigS.
    Jul 9, 2007
    8
    Shadowrun has one purpose, online multiplayer. It has never pretended to do anything else. Why many critic reviews dwell on things that were never going to be in it anyway is beyond me. If they have a formula for rating a game based on features then so be it but I like when a game does not 'tack' things on. As with other reviews mine is just an opinion. I was looking for a Shadowrun has one purpose, online multiplayer. It has never pretended to do anything else. Why many critic reviews dwell on things that were never going to be in it anyway is beyond me. If they have a formula for rating a game based on features then so be it but I like when a game does not 'tack' things on. As with other reviews mine is just an opinion. I was looking for a multilayer game with solid play and this delivers ,cross platform to boot. Can not tell the difference between players though there might not be that many Vista copies out there. In the end try the demo (360 only) and judge for yourself. I played the demo exclusively 2 days in a row and was enough to sell me. mec11 --> would like to rate 8.5, can not go to 9 as it shipped with some matching issues. Expand
  15. bellyjelly
    May 31, 2007
    10
    I walked in with very little hope for this. Guess what, I was f'ing wrong. It has the coolest f'ing classes in a motherf'ing game. Combine that weopons that make halo's handgun look like sh*t and you got yourself one hell of a f'ing game.
  16. ManvirU.
    May 30, 2007
    9
    This game is worthy of 9 for varoius reasons. Even though this game lacks a strong single player campaighn it still uses offline to some of its potential. Such as tutorials and solo matchs. Whereas the AI is pretty darn good, even XBL like. Secondly, since this game was based on MP, i believe it lived up to its hype, with a growing community, and just plain amazing online experience with This game is worthy of 9 for varoius reasons. Even though this game lacks a strong single player campaighn it still uses offline to some of its potential. Such as tutorials and solo matchs. Whereas the AI is pretty darn good, even XBL like. Secondly, since this game was based on MP, i believe it lived up to its hype, with a growing community, and just plain amazing online experience with magic and whatnot, this game deserves what i gave, a 9/10. Expand
  17. NathanR.
    Jun 1, 2007
    9
    This game will be one of the most fun online games out for the 360 if alotta people get it and go online. This game would be a ten if it had a split screen so you can play at home with your friends that is its biggest downfall but overall this game is fun as h*ll
  18. JacobS.
    Jun 1, 2007
    9
    As a PC user I was hesitant to buy this after reading some of the reviews. I'm really glad I did... It's a great online only shooter... Don't expect your traditional FPS though... enemies are harder to kill, can be resurected, and use magic/tech that completley influences gameplay. I'm completley addicted.
  19. DirkM.
    Jun 1, 2007
    9
    Excellent game. tons of fun for hours and a lot of new features brought to the modern FPS based upon time-tested formulas. take counter-strike, mix a little TFC into it and add some new tech/magic features in the shadowrun universe and pit teams of 8 against each other in an all out war. it's a cool experience not to be missed. word of warning though, it's online multiplayer Excellent game. tons of fun for hours and a lot of new features brought to the modern FPS based upon time-tested formulas. take counter-strike, mix a little TFC into it and add some new tech/magic features in the shadowrun universe and pit teams of 8 against each other in an all out war. it's a cool experience not to be missed. word of warning though, it's online multiplayer only outside of a tutorial and bot matches, so if you don't have LIVE then it's not going to be that enjoyable. the game plays incredibly smooth and is fairly balanced. also it's one of the first games to have cross-platform multiplayer, i believe battlefront 2 was capable of doing so too which is very cool. i'd like to see more games be sucessful like this. Expand
  20. UrMom
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    this game pwns because it is deep and engaging. as long as there are servers, it will pwn everything
  21. PaddyW.
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    If you have LIVE a must, best multiplayer fps of 2007 so far, including Halo 3 Beta
  22. JimT.
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    This game is just plain awesome. Everyone keeps on complaining on how there's no campaign or single player, but the bot matches are fun and good for beginners, and the training and bot matches sometimes last longer than campaigns of other shooters anyway. The multiplayer is so deep, so fun, and so hectic that I can't help but worry that Halo 3 is going to have some competition This game is just plain awesome. Everyone keeps on complaining on how there's no campaign or single player, but the bot matches are fun and good for beginners, and the training and bot matches sometimes last longer than campaigns of other shooters anyway. The multiplayer is so deep, so fun, and so hectic that I can't help but worry that Halo 3 is going to have some competition this year. Don't listen to the "professional" critics, and look at the user reviews. This game's definitely a winner. Expand
  23. ChrisR.
    Jun 2, 2007
    9
    Wow, It seems this game is getting slammed by the press! All the points are valid, I guess. It lacks single player, it's short on content and it is a complete bastardization of the Shadowrun universe. All that said, it is by far the most enjoyable online game I've played on the Xbox360. Hopefully a demo comes out so everyone can see what it's about, because once you play Wow, It seems this game is getting slammed by the press! All the points are valid, I guess. It lacks single player, it's short on content and it is a complete bastardization of the Shadowrun universe. All that said, it is by far the most enjoyable online game I've played on the Xbox360. Hopefully a demo comes out so everyone can see what it's about, because once you play you're hooked. Expand
  24. [Anonymous]
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    Get over the Lack of Single Player and the misuse of the intellectual property and discover the best Multiplayer experience since Halo2.
  25. yawnstretch
    Jun 22, 2007
    9
    Addictive and fun and different. All the professional reviews are wrong - play this game. It's fantastic.
  26. SoerenK.
    Jun 3, 2007
    9
    I love it! I played GoW very very often online since it launched... Now I think I´ll just give it a few rounds to meet those friends I couldn´t convince about the new star on LIVE´s heaven!
  27. DesmondF.
    Jun 3, 2007
    9
    best mariokart game ever
  28. JoeF.
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    Great game. Easy to pick up and play a few rounds. Over the last four days of playing I have only had one network problem. It takes about 5 minutes to find a suitable game, but once you have found a group to play with you can run with them indefinitely. Pacing is great and the maps are designed well enough that you can't play one strategy fits all. Limited single player Great game. Easy to pick up and play a few rounds. Over the last four days of playing I have only had one network problem. It takes about 5 minutes to find a suitable game, but once you have found a group to play with you can run with them indefinitely. Pacing is great and the maps are designed well enough that you can't play one strategy fits all. Limited single player opportunities, but honestly, single player in a FPS for me is just a side note. Multiplayer is where FPS today live or die and this game is something really fantastic. Expand
  29. JamesH.
    Jun 4, 2007
    8
    The 'official' critc ratings are more than a tad harsh. Ok... there's no single-player (unless you count the 3hrs or so of training missions) but what a game! The depth and variety allows the formation of multiple tactics and strategies to a degree not seen before on a console shooter. The graphics are certainly passable, if not stellar but its the gameplay that brings it The 'official' critc ratings are more than a tad harsh. Ok... there's no single-player (unless you count the 3hrs or so of training missions) but what a game! The depth and variety allows the formation of multiple tactics and strategies to a degree not seen before on a console shooter. The graphics are certainly passable, if not stellar but its the gameplay that brings it home here. Certainly worth picking up and learning to play... once you've understood how the game mechanics work, you'll be hooked. Expand
  30. SteveR.
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    The response to this game demonstrates the gaming media's general lack of understanding for truly deep, balanced video games, eschewing them in favor of those less well-designed but with more "content" to take at face value. While obviously not perfect, this is quite simply the best Xbox Live game I've played yet. It might not be as accessible as Halo or Gears, but I know The response to this game demonstrates the gaming media's general lack of understanding for truly deep, balanced video games, eschewing them in favor of those less well-designed but with more "content" to take at face value. While obviously not perfect, this is quite simply the best Xbox Live game I've played yet. It might not be as accessible as Halo or Gears, but I know I'll be spending much more time with this. If you're into competitive gaming at all, and you can look past superficial concerns to see what the developers were really spending their time on, you should definitely pick it up. Expand
  31. RobinB.
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    A first real FPS on a console. Its a shock to most Console players the concept of a Online only game. Many have slated it for this reason yet then list Online only games comin up in the future you should ditch this for... A fast paced round based game. yes it is a little lackluster but the setup and design of the game that allows cross platform play that works great. learning to use the A first real FPS on a console. Its a shock to most Console players the concept of a Online only game. Many have slated it for this reason yet then list Online only games comin up in the future you should ditch this for... A fast paced round based game. yes it is a little lackluster but the setup and design of the game that allows cross platform play that works great. learning to use the combined tech and magic can really turn the tide in the battle. You just have to get over the shock of it being nothing like a run of the mill console FPS and much more like a PC game. Expand
  32. KevinT.
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    When the multiplayer magic and mayhem get going, this game can be quite awesome. It's a shame that there isn't more content on polish to this title, but the core game play is really fun. I've put GoW on the shelf, and Shadowrun should last me through the summer.
  33. GlynneF.
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    Once again the critics should be slapped, this game is amazing it changes the way fps is played, think css with wallhacks, which of course are allowed to be used and much more, the reviewers are all stuck up sons of bitch3s. If you planned on buying this game buy it because the reviewers clearly don't have a clue.
  34. DanB.
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    Very, very good. The reviewers are wrong on this one big time.
  35. NiallB.
    Jun 5, 2007
    8
    I pick this up because of a friend getting me a game I already had. I love online FPS so the lack of single player wasn't a big deal. Unlike the reports I found the learning curve ok
  36. Rono
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    I've never played the board game so I don't review the game from that side. This is far most one of the most innovating games ever. Races have been balanced correctly and even though it uses magic and tech abilities, one doesn't overwhelm other. The key to success is teamplay and what I've been playing with other Finnish players, they seem to understand that. The I've never played the board game so I don't review the game from that side. This is far most one of the most innovating games ever. Races have been balanced correctly and even though it uses magic and tech abilities, one doesn't overwhelm other. The key to success is teamplay and what I've been playing with other Finnish players, they seem to understand that. The beginning training is thorough and explains the basic nicely. This game would have been a perfect ten if the training would have explained more advanced techniques for experienced players. Expand
  37. DerekR.
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    This is far and away the best online shooter released for the 360 to date. It manages to blend the slightly arcade-ish action feel of Halo with an excellent tactical element to make a blend not seen before. The result is a hugely satisfying spectrum of combat options ranging from ultra-violent to highly cunning tactical nuance. There are a so many ways to approach and adapt to combat This is far and away the best online shooter released for the 360 to date. It manages to blend the slightly arcade-ish action feel of Halo with an excellent tactical element to make a blend not seen before. The result is a hugely satisfying spectrum of combat options ranging from ultra-violent to highly cunning tactical nuance. There are a so many ways to approach and adapt to combat situations and this really feels fresh to play. Its quite ridiculous to see the low scores given to this game by the listed media above ... especially, when (so far) sixty-plus gamers here have an average review score upwards of 8! Expand
  38. XRayLexx
    Jun 6, 2007
    9
    Superb balanced and fun that many "Official" reviewers seem to be missing the point of. Excellent game play and many hours to be lost with varied and exciting gameplay. Buy it now!
  39. MickJ.
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    A truly great game. Most fun on an FPS multiplayer I've had in ages. What are 'official' reviews on about? I really dont understand.
  40. A.C.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    Exquisite online gameplay! Reviews point out the lack of content and slam the game in the name of the Shadowrun franchise. What matters though, is that this game is *fun!* While the content in maps and game types is a big negative point for some, they'd have to spend enough time on Shadowrun to realize that the variety in roles, strategies, and all out playing styles which can be Exquisite online gameplay! Reviews point out the lack of content and slam the game in the name of the Shadowrun franchise. What matters though, is that this game is *fun!* While the content in maps and game types is a big negative point for some, they'd have to spend enough time on Shadowrun to realize that the variety in roles, strategies, and all out playing styles which can be easily swapped between make for a game with online play mor e complex than most other titles could ever hope to offer. If you're looking for a revival to your old Shadowrun flare, this honestly might not be what you're looking for. On the other hand, if you're wanting a new multiplayer experience that offers something a little different, Shadowrun has it. Expand
  41. StefanS.
    Sep 18, 2007
    9
    Wonderful game. Still cant lay it down after playing it since release. Yes critics are clearly wrong on this one!
  42. EricA.
    May 29, 2007
    10
    Now my favorite FPS on a console. I've given up the HALO 3 beta, HALO 2, GoW, and other shooters just to play this game.
  43. lucas38
    May 31, 2007
    9
    I was part of the beta test for "Shadowrun" and I am very impressed with the final product!!! I know, I know, there are those out there who simply aren't happy with the fact that the game doesn't resemble it's PRG roots (this game is BASED on the original RPG...BASED), for what it is (a great strategic shooter) it's awesome; a thinking man's shooter, Imagine that! I was part of the beta test for "Shadowrun" and I am very impressed with the final product!!! I know, I know, there are those out there who simply aren't happy with the fact that the game doesn't resemble it's PRG roots (this game is BASED on the original RPG...BASED), for what it is (a great strategic shooter) it's awesome; a thinking man's shooter, Imagine that! Frankly, as much as I love Halo, I am more of a "Phantom Dust" kinda guy, and "Shadowrun" will sit poudly beside that very title, because for me this is good gaming! Expand
  44. IanA.
    May 31, 2007
    9
    Just because it doesn't have better graphics than GoW doesn't mean it is a bad game. Unfortunately, most people have become so attached to so simple a game, one as complex and strategic as this often gets written off. it shouldn't. it's a blast. and it beats GoW multi-player any day in my book.
  45. NateS.
    Jun 1, 2007
    9
    Don't be misled by the critics into thinking that this game is pants, because it's totally not pants at all. It's lots and lots of fun. I like it way better than the Halo 3 beta.
  46. JoshG.
    Jun 1, 2007
    9
    This game is really sweet but lack of singleplayer I give it a nine otherwhise multiplayer rocks!
  47. ShadowMan
    Jun 1, 2007
    8
    Superb multiplayer FPS, that is only let down SLIGHTLY by the cost which is a tad expensive for what you get, but the part you do get provides a wonderfully robust and deep FPS multiplayer experience. Think Counter-Strike meets D+D from the future. If this sounds like your cup of tea then give it a whirl. You will not be disappointed.
  48. BobbyM.
    Jun 1, 2007
    9
    This game brings the fun back into online multiplayer. The possibilities are endless with strategy and the use of weapon and magic combos. I would also like to add that the graphics are very nice and online play is pretty solid. "Shadowrun" is the most enjoyable game I have played online in years.
  49. LanceM.
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    Ignore the critics... this game is akin to buying the meat of any good FPS... fun Multiplayer. Who really plays bots in any other game anyway? Magic, guns, races and tech... sweet :) I'm not sure that any other FPS has this much variety, so I'm not sure what crack people are smokin' when they mention "little variety" It's a must have title for anyone with Xbox Live.
  50. CarlS.
    Jun 20, 2007
    9
    Wow.. I love this game.. great balance.. graphics.. and just inspired design. Worth the money? Depends on how much you'll play it.. I'll play it 100 hours.. easy... that's 3-4 times as much as (another great game) God of War 2.... so for me it's a great value!
  51. DickS.
    Jun 2, 2007
    9
    This game is a lot more fun than the Halo 3 beta. It hasn't left my console since I bought it and I can't seem to put the controller down.
  52. DanW.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    Absolutely brilliant game on live.
  53. StephenH.
    Jun 4, 2007
    8
    Critics such as Computer and Video Games' Andy Robinson prove they failed to give the game a fair shake when they completely miss - and I kid you not - that it was possible to play as other races besides humans. Gamespot, too, though it's a little more fair and a lot more thought out: I think someone told Jeff Gerstmann that this was going to be Counterstrike in the Shadowrun Critics such as Computer and Video Games' Andy Robinson prove they failed to give the game a fair shake when they completely miss - and I kid you not - that it was possible to play as other races besides humans. Gamespot, too, though it's a little more fair and a lot more thought out: I think someone told Jeff Gerstmann that this was going to be Counterstrike in the Shadowrun universe, and felt shafted when it didn't live up to the lofty expectations of the gamer world's two most dedicated religions... I mean... gamer followings. It seems rediculous to me to rate this game lower than the Sega CD's "Night Trap," which is exactly what Jeff did. I don't believe a lack of maps is a sufficient excuse for docking a game over 20% of its score when untold thousands of Team Fortress Classic servers were set to exclusively play 2fort, or CounterStrike servers and cs_office and de_aztec, and Halo and Halo 2's ubiquitous box canyons. This is a gameplay gem, unbelievably well balanced and offering a lot of depth for those who are willing to play something besides a human with smartlink, an SMG and a rifle. My two chief complaints are the lack of server migration and the fact that incoming players can delay gameplay for everyone else in the game - for that it will never be a 10 in my heart. I'm also willing to dock a point for the sum total of everyone's content complaints - for $65 I do kind of wish that I could at least customize my avatar a smidge. This is a game well worth playing that I believe a lot of people will enjoy, certainly worth more than the shafting it's been receiving. Expand
  54. MatthewF.
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    I share the same sentiments as the other reviewers in that thinking this game in incredible. I have never been compelled to write a review for this site, but seeing the "professional reviews" for this game is doing this game a serious injustice. This game is fun....plain and simple. It doesnt have a single player, no, but how many of us complain louder when an FPS has crap I share the same sentiments as the other reviewers in that thinking this game in incredible. I have never been compelled to write a review for this site, but seeing the "professional reviews" for this game is doing this game a serious injustice. This game is fun....plain and simple. It doesnt have a single player, no, but how many of us complain louder when an FPS has crap mulitplayer....there it goes to sit on the shelf. Not this game though, they nailed the mulitplayer. And the RPG elements make every round a different ballgame. Do yourself a favour, check out this game. Rent it like I did first. I bet you'll enjoy it. Expand
  55. PrimusM.
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    This is the most fun I've had on multiplayer ever. The game is well balanced and rewards creative tactical team play. When I die, I feel like it was because of getting outplayed, not because of lag or cheapness. The graphics aren't great, but that's not a priority for a multiplayer game. Fun gameplay is a priority and this game has it. In fact, it's been more fun every This is the most fun I've had on multiplayer ever. The game is well balanced and rewards creative tactical team play. When I die, I feel like it was because of getting outplayed, not because of lag or cheapness. The graphics aren't great, but that's not a priority for a multiplayer game. Fun gameplay is a priority and this game has it. In fact, it's been more fun every day that I've played it as I try to think of new and better strategies. Expand
  56. Xalaga
    Jun 7, 2007
    9
    Great game, addicting and fun. Would be better at a lower price and more maps.
  57. MikeK.
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    This game is both extremely fun and very unique. It is in my top 3 multiplayer games ever made without a doubt. The magic and tech are both revolutionary, both in there own merit and even more so in the ability to interlock them. I cannot speak to its solidarity with the previous iterations as I have not played them, but as a game standing upon its own merit it is truly breathtaking.
  58. LostM.
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    The best online experience period. Gears of War comes close but this game can be played over and over because of the magic/tech combos. The graphics in my opinion are some of the best on the 360 and who cares about single player anyway.
  59. DazD.
    Sep 30, 2007
    8
    Does exactly what it says on the tin. A great online shooter that is exactly that. Shame there was no campaign though.
  60. MattN.
    Jan 19, 2008
    9
    I love this game. Although it has basically no story to it, its pure simplicity is the best thing about it, the graphics are superb and it's cheap in shops. Sure there aren't many weapons or magic abilities but that means that you have to master using the ones you have got.
  61. HMM.
    May 27, 2008
    10
    I cannot for the life of me understand the reviews for this game. As of writing this (27th May 2008) the game has been out 1 year almost to the day. As promised by the developers at the time, this game doesn't get old and the good points far outweigh the bad. YES there aren't many maps compared to other FPS
  62. ToddW.
    Jun 23, 2008
    9
    An excellent TEAM based FPS. With so many tech options and magic abilities the game never feels the same.
  63. AdamB.
    May 29, 2007
    9
    This Game Is Really Very Good, The Only Minor Problem Is That The Gameplay Is tested and finished to a very high standard, but they could have added a few things like split screen, more customizable features just to make the game feel more "full".
  64. SoylentGreed
    May 31, 2007
    9
    A great addition to 360 library, and multiplayer gaming in general.
  65. JuanA.
    Jun 11, 2007
    9
    I think that the online experience is very fun and really cool that you can play with windows vista. However the bad thing is that it doesnt have a storyline.
  66. PaulF.
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    Best game on 360 so far.
  67. HunterW.
    Aug 24, 2007
    9
    Really good game thats got good depth. Some technical issues, but the game will be to too fun for you to notice. Critics are wrong on this one.
  68. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    I have to help this game out a bit. Its now 2011 I have played this game ever sense. Its fun. Its pretty balanced. The learning curve is a bit high. Yes the game doesnt have a campaign. However after a couple years from now games wont have one so lets just say its ahead of its time. Is it to late to by this game. Their are some games still going last time i played. Thats bc this was aI have to help this game out a bit. Its now 2011 I have played this game ever sense. Its fun. Its pretty balanced. The learning curve is a bit high. Yes the game doesnt have a campaign. However after a couple years from now games wont have one so lets just say its ahead of its time. Is it to late to by this game. Their are some games still going last time i played. Thats bc this was a really good MP game. whats better than being able to teleport with a katana? If multilayer is dead you can play against bots. I would like to say TY to this game was one of the best 30$ games i ever bought. I will never get rid of it. Expand
  69. Dec 7, 2012
    8
    Probably one of the most underrated games I reckon. A great game to play with many different ways of playing it depending on the characters and equipment used, as they all have their pros and cons. Only bad point of the game was the lack of DLC.
  70. Jun 18, 2013
    8
    If you do not have xbox live do not buy this game. If you do have xbox live you have to buy this game. Shadowrun has no campaign other then short tutorials and an option to play against bots. However, Shadowrun's online play makes up for the lack of campaign. Online play allows you to choose between 4 different races; troll, elf, human, and dwarf. At the start of each online match you canIf you do not have xbox live do not buy this game. If you do have xbox live you have to buy this game. Shadowrun has no campaign other then short tutorials and an option to play against bots. However, Shadowrun's online play makes up for the lack of campaign. Online play allows you to choose between 4 different races; troll, elf, human, and dwarf. At the start of each online match you can choose to build your character any way with the money given. More money can be obtained throughout each match by scoring kills or capturing an artifact. The online game play is addictive, and even with the dwindling online the community Shadowrun is still worth the play. Expand
  71. Apr 14, 2015
    10
    What a great game this was (and apparently still is!)
    The gameplay is that of a typical FPS but with so many variations on a 'rock-paper-scissors' theme.

    Trust me, you can pick it up cheap-PLAY THIS GAME!
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 57
  2. Negative: 3 out of 57
  1. This is a great game. If you’re willing to abandon your preconceived notions as to what a Shadowrun game should be and simply accept it for what it is, you’ll find a deep and complex first-person shooter that is tons of fun and packed with variety.
  2. The biggest disappointment in this otherwise fairly enjoyable shooter is the lack of content once you've finally grasped the formula. There are only nine similar-looking maps to choose from, with more expected down the line via downloadable content.
  3. Shadowrun is a magnificent multiplayer adventure that is sure to keep you entertained for as long as you wish to play.