Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Jul 5, 2011
    93
    Suda's crazy story actually works, and the jokes are downright funny at times.
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    93
    Its freshness shows just how stale a lot of the industry is and it's what's needed in an era of grey, modern shooters.
  3. Jun 20, 2011
    93
    Shadows of the Damned is unapologetically adolescent, but instead of trying to be cutely ironic and wink at players, the humor comes off as genuine, playful, and fun. Even if you don't find the idea of a sniper rifle called "the Big Boner" funny, you should still enjoy the solidly designed shooting and bit of thought required to play the game. Grasshopper has finally come into its own, and I hope it carries this momentum (and Mikami) forward to whatever project is next.
  4. Jun 27, 2011
    91
    In a world where darkness reigns and the street are engulfed with blood it needs a tough guy like Garcia Hotspur to survive and rescue his loved one. Shadows of the damned is an amazing survival-horror-game with an unique atmosphere and an amazing gameplay. Though the levels are a bit linear the strange and dark scenery make the game a must have, not just for horror fans. Not to forget about Johnson, your loyal companion, who guides you through the underworld, always having a good joke on his lips, ensuring a lot of funny moments.
  5. Jun 26, 2011
    91
    Suda 51's warped, pop-culture-obsessed vision and Mikami's sure-fire action make a heck of a match.
  6. Aug 8, 2011
    90
    The pairing of Suda 51's unhinged creativity with Shinji Mikami's sense for distinguished mechanics is enough to make Shadows of the Damned a compelling release in its own right.
  7. Jul 11, 2011
    90
    Like the grindhouse films it draws inspiration from, Shadows of the Damned might not be for everyone. It's mature sexual content (and immature sexual humor) that's woven together with gore-splattered gameplay set to a unique and refreshing sense of style. Nonetheless, it's an enjoyable experience that never flags.
  8. Jul 8, 2011
    90
    Buy this and wonder why more horror-themed games aren't this smart, different and funny. [Aug 2011, p.78]
  9. Jul 7, 2011
    90
    Shadows of the Damned is one of the best games of the year, and I never expected to say that. The only fault I can think of is that it's probably a bit too easy.
  10. Jun 27, 2011
    90
    In an industry where many complain about lack of innovation, Shadows of the Damned is a breath of fresh air. It is an amazing mixture of sensations and provides unimaginable fun.
  11. Jun 25, 2011
    90
    Combining childish humor with bloody demon murder, Shadows of the Damned pays off on the promise of the creative team of developers involved. It may momentarily waver, but SotD has some of the finest grindhouse fun of the summer.
  12. Jun 21, 2011
    90
    I guarantee you won't know what's going to happen until it has, and more often than not the results are hilarious. If you want to experience a game that's different from everything that's come before it, Shadows of the Damned is for you. It's a tasty concoction of horror, humor, gore, and naughty bits that's guaranteed to make you laugh, scream, and beg for more.
  13. Jul 5, 2011
    88
    Frustrating at times, but totally original and completely hilarious throughout, Shadows of the Damned is one of the cleverest, naughtiest, most brilliantly constructed games I've played this year.
  14. Jul 11, 2011
    85
    Shadows of the Damned is a primordially charged adventure into hell with sexuality and violence turned up to 10. Pleasantly disturbing, humorously shockingly and never boring, gamers with an acceptance for the weird will want to have this game in their collection.
  15. Jun 23, 2011
    85
    Crude humour, intricate design and a genuine sense of uniqueness make Shadows of the Damned one of the finest games 2011 has served up thus fa
  16. Jun 21, 2011
    85
    Shadows of the Damned balances strong gameplay with artistic delights to create a mesmerizing experience.
  17. Jun 21, 2011
    85
    This crackbrained horror romp takes camp to a new extreme and wants you, the player, to have nothing but fun the entire time. For those in the right frame of mind and a willingness to forgive, that fun will be easy to discover and enjoyed by the bucketful.
  18. Jun 27, 2011
    83
    If you've got any interest in this kind of insanity, you owe it to yourself to check it out. Oh, and leave the drugs and alcohol behind-the game is trippy enough already.
  19. Jun 29, 2011
    82
    There is absolutely nothing to keep Shadows of the Damned in your system except for achievements; it's made to be played once, then fondly remembered, like the action movies it's based upon. It's still very much worth checking out, but it's impossible to give an unqualified recommendation.
  20. Jun 28, 2011
    82
    A guilty pleasure worth telling your friends about...provided its their kind of game, obviously.
  21. Jun 24, 2011
    82
    Shadows of the Damned is definitely not a game for all those out there, but I do have to say that Grasshopper Manufacture has crafted an original experience that was worth my time to play.
  22. Jul 25, 2011
    81
    While it probably won't rush out and win game of the year awards all over the place when all is said and done, it will contend for a lot of your time right out of the box and is more than deserving of it.
  23. Jul 5, 2011
    81
    An engaging and refreshing survival horror, if that's what it truly can be called. Its got solid combat and challenging puzzles, all wrapped up in excellent atmosphere.
  24. Jun 23, 2011
    81
    One of those games which will be loved by old-school gamers thanks to its great gameplay, hilarious humour and overwhelming charm.
  25. 81
    Shallow and simple design means that there's nothing to obstruct the fun of smashing demon skull. But it also means it's shallow and simple.
  26. Jul 8, 2011
    80
    Shadows is certainly not for everyone. Still, it's far more accessible and appealing to the mainstream than Grasshopper's last few games, while remaining super-satisfying for their faithful following.
  27. Jul 1, 2011
    80
    There isn't much replay value left after defeating Shadows of the Damned (about 8-10 hours), but I found myself back at it just to take in the experience of digesting this mishmash of action and terror ideas and trying to figure why I was so entertained. Perhaps I should stop asking so much and just appreciate what I see sticking on the wall.
  28. Jun 28, 2011
    80
    Shadows of the Damned is everything you'd expect from a Grasshopper game, made better by the collective experience of Akira Yamaoka and Shinji Mikami working together with Suda51. It's pure pulpy, cult grindhouse fun, with some excellent action mechanics and awesome sound and music throughout.
  29. Jun 27, 2011
    80
    It's true that, at times, it feels a bit disjointed, the dialogue is occasionally annoyingly clunky and given that it has no online element, you could argue that it's hopelessly old-fashioned. But if you like the sort of gameplay that Resident Evil offers, it will bring you a lot of enjoyment, more or less from start to finish.
  30. Jun 27, 2011
    80
    Shadows of the Damned isn't without its problems, but at the end of the day, it's good demon-blasting fun, with one of the better soundtracks we've heard in a while to boot.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Jun 25, 2011
    9
    This game is what Duke Nukem Forever should have been. Its funny, creative, and entertaining. It is also very rude and very graphic, so thisThis game is what Duke Nukem Forever should have been. Its funny, creative, and entertaining. It is also very rude and very graphic, so this game is not for the easily offended or the faint of heart. The one main draw of this game is its linearity, however, it is not enough to hurt the overall experience. Good game: A- Full Review »
  2. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    Wow, great job Grasshopper. I was skeptical when first hearing about this development. Although my 8 year old son should not play this, due toWow, great job Grasshopper. I was skeptical when first hearing about this development. Although my 8 year old son should not play this, due to the crude language, he will just have to stay in his room haha. Excellent game play and such a diverse game that I have never seen before...and I have played many games. The bowling alley scene is genius, props to whoever came up with that. These level designers must be highly experienced to say the least. Although It would of been nice to drive that car. I mean c'mon lol. Whomever is the designer or team who creatively summed that bowling scene should teach other companies how to add a little spin and the unexpected to video games. Great job Grasshopper, great job. Full Review »
  3. Jun 21, 2011
    8
    Love this game so far, it reminds me of Constantine the movie If Robert Rodriguez and Quentin Tarantino had directed it. So in all it'sLove this game so far, it reminds me of Constantine the movie If Robert Rodriguez and Quentin Tarantino had directed it. So in all it's Constantine meets Ghost Rider meets Machete meets The Evil Dead= Shadows Of The Damned Full Review »