Shadows of the Damned Xbox 360

Shadows of the Damned Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 139 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: No More Heroes creator Goichi Suda and Resident Evil 4 director Shinji Mikami are hard at work on a new horror action game to be published by EA.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. ZTGD
    Jul 5, 2011
    93
    Suda's crazy story actually works, and the jokes are downright funny at times.
  2. Jun 27, 2011
    90
    In an industry where many complain about lack of innovation, Shadows of the Damned is a breath of fresh air. It is an amazing mixture of sensations and provides unimaginable fun.
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    82
    There is absolutely nothing to keep Shadows of the Damned in your system except for achievements; it's made to be played once, then fondly remembered, like the action movies it's based upon. It's still very much worth checking out, but it's impossible to give an unqualified recommendation.
  4. Jun 21, 2011
    80
    A campy, silly and over-the-top adventure. It's certainly pleasing to annihilate demon hordes, but the real drive of Garcia's "road movie" is to see what weird and wonderful thing pops up next, be it a friendly demon with a southern drawl or an unexpected series of 2D shoot-em-up levels.
  5. Jul 31, 2011
    75
    It's not perfect, but gamers looking for a title that features lots of quirky humor and some decent gameplay will definitely find both of those things lurking in these Shadows.
  6. 70
    With Shadows of the Damned though, Grasshopper nearly has the makings of a franchise that could have a decent future. It does lack replayability and longevity though, and with some repetitious gameplay mechanics in terms of shooter and puzzle action, it's by no means a perfect start. In truth, if it wasn't for the likeable cast of characters, engaging story and Grasshopper's unique take on hell, Shadows of the Damned would almost certainly be a complete let-down.
  7. Jun 22, 2011
    50
    Functional, but unexciting, Shadows' will fill the rainy Sunday mornings of ardent Suda 51 fans, but doesn't have any specific grounds upon which to recommend it. This game really is just painfully average in every way, and you shouldn't let Garcia's accent and tattoos deceive you into thinking otherwise.

See all 76 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Jan 12, 2012
    10
    What a crazy, awesome piece of entertainment! I was not able to put this game down for 3 days straight, because I had such a blast playing it.What a crazy, awesome piece of entertainment! I was not able to put this game down for 3 days straight, because I had such a blast playing it. Imagine Alan Wake's gameplay and a setting a la From Dusk Till Dawn. The back-and-forth dialog between the protagonist and his demon skull/ weapon/ torch / motorcycle is so fantastically written - I laughed out loud several times. Definitely among my Top 5 of 2011! Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    Wow, great job Grasshopper. I was skeptical when first hearing about this development. Although my 8 year old son should not play this, due toWow, great job Grasshopper. I was skeptical when first hearing about this development. Although my 8 year old son should not play this, due to the crude language, he will just have to stay in his room haha. Excellent game play and such a diverse game that I have never seen before...and I have played many games. The bowling alley scene is genius, props to whoever came up with that. These level designers must be highly experienced to say the least. Although It would of been nice to drive that car. I mean c'mon lol. Whomever is the designer or team who creatively summed that bowling scene should teach other companies how to add a little spin and the unexpected to video games. Great job Grasshopper, great job. Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2011
    9
    I've been playing games simce 1985 so I'm getting kinda bored with all the military shooters and same old same old going on with games rightI've been playing games simce 1985 so I'm getting kinda bored with all the military shooters and same old same old going on with games right now. If your new to games in the past decade and think whatever your playing is origional chances are it's been done dozens of times in the past. It takes something really special to stand out in the mainstream industry these days and trust me when I say that this was it. I rented this because I had no idea what it was going to be about as it hasn't recieved much buzz in the past few months. I just finished the game and I'm buying it tomorrow as it's worth every cent . I was absolutely floored till the credits rolled. Best origional Japanese developed game in years! I'm not gonna go into details except to say it's like RE4 on crack and any hardcore gamer needs to check this out as it is certainly the first sleeper hit of the summer. Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2016
    9
    este videojuego es buenisimo , toda la ambientacion , los diseños ,el humor , la jugabilidad es bastante adictiva , mezcla un poco de survivaleste videojuego es buenisimo , toda la ambientacion , los diseños ,el humor , la jugabilidad es bastante adictiva , mezcla un poco de survival de terror con accion .un gran trabajo de suda 51 y akira yamaoka.
    es un juego muy infravalorado pero que recomiendo mucho a cualquiera.
    Expand
  5. Sep 19, 2011
    8
    Shadows of the Damned may not get everything right and tight, but it still provides a mostly fun romp through demon country from start toShadows of the Damned may not get everything right and tight, but it still provides a mostly fun romp through demon country from start to finish. The banter between Garcia and Johnson has a great buddy comedy feel, upgrading weapons to dole out faster demon dispatching keeps things on the fresh side and the bosses themselves are some of the strangest characters in recent memory. The controls could have been more in favor of accuracy and the mature humor might turn off some players. The light and dark mechanic does bring a unique feel to the game in a way that gives this zany version of Hell a very distinct personality. It may not feel like the best road trip in gaming, but it was a pleasure to have gone along for the ride. Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2016
    7
    Shadows of the Damned is a third person shooter literally set in hell -- and that is what intrigued me. I thought the artwork was interestingShadows of the Damned is a third person shooter literally set in hell -- and that is what intrigued me. I thought the artwork was interesting and that this would be a really fun game to play. However, the game is held back by a few mistakes.

    First, there's the controls. I really don't like how I have to squeeze two triggers to shoot. Second, the aiming system is hard to get used to. The beam of light while visually appealing does not create accuracy.

    Third there is a lot of repetition. The most annoying part of the game by far is the system where you have to go back and forth between light and dark to deal with enemies, and challenges. At first it was kind of interesting but rather quickly lost its appeal.

    Fourth, your character often gets his back to a wall, and is totally stuck. You get boxed in quite easily. Although this is a minor annoyance.

    Fifth, going back to controls, the three different ways to heal yourself is kind of dumb. You have to hold the Y button, and then go to the d-pad. That's a huge pain in the ass. There really should only be one type of method to heal, which requires pressing a single button.

    Sixth, this is video game cliche, but I hate when you're low on health, and they make your screen red all around, blocking your vision. You're dying, and you want to survive, and the bloody border does nothing to help.

    Seventh, that darn light slug, or whatever it's called. Again this is a major complaint I have. I really dislike the light/dark system they use in general. I don't want to have to follow a narrow path, and be held back by managing both enemies, and a system where I have to constantly shoot a goat's head, or follow a slug, or whatever. This element would be acceptable if you only had to shoot it once, but it's temporary, and you have to keep going back, and forth.

    Eighth, that part of the game where your demon gun becomes really long, and you have to shoot those giant monster. That's boring. It's too restrictive. I get they were trying to add variety, but that really wasn't that fun.

    But overall, this is not a bad game. It just takes a few missteps. The art is great. The sense of humor is pretty good. Blasting demons is a blast. I just wish they had pared back a little. I feel that the team who made this was trying to add variety, when really they should've just stuck to the basics, and the core of the game, instead of throwing in too many elements.

    Yet this is definitely worth a sequel. Shadows of the Damned 2, yes, please.
    Expand
  7. May 31, 2012
    5
    I can see what this game is trying to be but it just doesn't get there. The humor is there and the story isn't bad but the gameplay reallyI can see what this game is trying to be but it just doesn't get there. The humor is there and the story isn't bad but the gameplay really lets it down. The aiming is off, the cutscenes are infuriating and the combat is repetitive. The graphics aren't fantastic either. I finished it on hard in just over 7 hours. Too short for a full priced title. Collapse

See all 37 User Reviews