Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: No More Heroes creator Goichi Suda and Resident Evil 4 director Shinji Mikami are hard at work on a new horror action game to be published by EA.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Jul 5, 2011
    93
    Suda's crazy story actually works, and the jokes are downright funny at times.
  2. Jun 27, 2011
    90
    In an industry where many complain about lack of innovation, Shadows of the Damned is a breath of fresh air. It is an amazing mixture of sensations and provides unimaginable fun.
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    82
    There is absolutely nothing to keep Shadows of the Damned in your system except for achievements; it's made to be played once, then fondly remembered, like the action movies it's based upon. It's still very much worth checking out, but it's impossible to give an unqualified recommendation.
  4. Jun 21, 2011
    80
    A campy, silly and over-the-top adventure. It's certainly pleasing to annihilate demon hordes, but the real drive of Garcia's "road movie" is to see what weird and wonderful thing pops up next, be it a friendly demon with a southern drawl or an unexpected series of 2D shoot-em-up levels.
  5. Jul 31, 2011
    75
    It's not perfect, but gamers looking for a title that features lots of quirky humor and some decent gameplay will definitely find both of those things lurking in these Shadows.
  6. 70
    With Shadows of the Damned though, Grasshopper nearly has the makings of a franchise that could have a decent future. It does lack replayability and longevity though, and with some repetitious gameplay mechanics in terms of shooter and puzzle action, it's by no means a perfect start. In truth, if it wasn't for the likeable cast of characters, engaging story and Grasshopper's unique take on hell, Shadows of the Damned would almost certainly be a complete let-down.
  7. Jun 22, 2011
    50
    Functional, but unexciting, Shadows' will fill the rainy Sunday mornings of ardent Suda 51 fans, but doesn't have any specific grounds upon which to recommend it. This game really is just painfully average in every way, and you shouldn't let Garcia's accent and tattoos deceive you into thinking otherwise.

See all 76 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Jan 12, 2012
    10
    What a crazy, awesome piece of entertainment! I was not able to put this game down for 3 days straight, because I had such a blast playing it.What a crazy, awesome piece of entertainment! I was not able to put this game down for 3 days straight, because I had such a blast playing it. Imagine Alan Wake's gameplay and a setting a la From Dusk Till Dawn. The back-and-forth dialog between the protagonist and his demon skull/ weapon/ torch / motorcycle is so fantastically written - I laughed out loud several times. Definitely among my Top 5 of 2011! Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    Wow, great job Grasshopper. I was skeptical when first hearing about this development. Although my 8 year old son should not play this, due toWow, great job Grasshopper. I was skeptical when first hearing about this development. Although my 8 year old son should not play this, due to the crude language, he will just have to stay in his room haha. Excellent game play and such a diverse game that I have never seen before...and I have played many games. The bowling alley scene is genius, props to whoever came up with that. These level designers must be highly experienced to say the least. Although It would of been nice to drive that car. I mean c'mon lol. Whomever is the designer or team who creatively summed that bowling scene should teach other companies how to add a little spin and the unexpected to video games. Great job Grasshopper, great job. Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2011
    9
    I've been playing games simce 1985 so I'm getting kinda bored with all the military shooters and same old same old going on with games rightI've been playing games simce 1985 so I'm getting kinda bored with all the military shooters and same old same old going on with games right now. If your new to games in the past decade and think whatever your playing is origional chances are it's been done dozens of times in the past. It takes something really special to stand out in the mainstream industry these days and trust me when I say that this was it. I rented this because I had no idea what it was going to be about as it hasn't recieved much buzz in the past few months. I just finished the game and I'm buying it tomorrow as it's worth every cent . I was absolutely floored till the credits rolled. Best origional Japanese developed game in years! I'm not gonna go into details except to say it's like RE4 on crack and any hardcore gamer needs to check this out as it is certainly the first sleeper hit of the summer. Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    Simply just perfect game with awesome world and really funny moments. Main character and his companion have so funny conversations, its reallySimply just perfect game with awesome world and really funny moments. Main character and his companion have so funny conversations, its really great. I can forgive some glitches and stuffs because of that, im really enjoying it! You should try it and soundtrack is god damn awesome! Expand
  5. Sep 19, 2011
    8
    Shadows of the Damned may not get everything right and tight, but it still provides a mostly fun romp through demon country from start toShadows of the Damned may not get everything right and tight, but it still provides a mostly fun romp through demon country from start to finish. The banter between Garcia and Johnson has a great buddy comedy feel, upgrading weapons to dole out faster demon dispatching keeps things on the fresh side and the bosses themselves are some of the strangest characters in recent memory. The controls could have been more in favor of accuracy and the mature humor might turn off some players. The light and dark mechanic does bring a unique feel to the game in a way that gives this zany version of Hell a very distinct personality. It may not feel like the best road trip in gaming, but it was a pleasure to have gone along for the ride. Expand
  6. Jan 25, 2015
    7
    This game slipped under the radar in 2011 and I was lucky to randomly pick it up now, a few years later, and give it a chance. This is a wellThis game slipped under the radar in 2011 and I was lucky to randomly pick it up now, a few years later, and give it a chance. This is a well executed title, with a funny and fairly engaging story line that includes an excellent score from Akira Yamaoka (what hasn't that guy done well??). It felt like a more lighthearted version of Resident Evil with a mix of fun quirks similar to that of Alice: Madness Returns. Be prepared for a some heavy language, nudity, and immature dick jokes, but it all comes together to be entertaining. The mechanics are well done and the gun play feels very rewarding. There were some points in the game that became very repetitive, but most of the time the different levels were fresh and new. There were also several mini games that didn't really lend anything to the experience and would have been better off left out entirely. Definitely worth picking up and playing, but be prepared for a short game, roughly 6 hours only. Expand
  7. May 31, 2012
    5
    I can see what this game is trying to be but it just doesn't get there. The humor is there and the story isn't bad but the gameplay reallyI can see what this game is trying to be but it just doesn't get there. The humor is there and the story isn't bad but the gameplay really lets it down. The aiming is off, the cutscenes are infuriating and the combat is repetitive. The graphics aren't fantastic either. I finished it on hard in just over 7 hours. Too short for a full priced title. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews