User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 8 out of 29

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 4, 2012
    8
    Good game. The art and design of the game really stood out as a strong point. The combination of the single player and co-op modes gave the game more replay-ability than most arcade games. This game was highly under rated and totally worth the money.
  2. Oct 28, 2011
    8
    Good game, it worths to play it. Several awesome weaponds and creative ways to kill your kick your opponent's ass. The graphics and the history are both nice either.

    Problem: Gets repetitive as the time goes by.
  3. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    Fluidly animated and well paced, Shank is one of the greatest beat 'em ups of all time. Combat has never been this great and easy to get a good handle on the controls. By the time I have written this review, a sequel has already been announced and I can't wait to see what Shank does next. Klei Entertainment should pat themselves on the back for creating such a awesome game..
  4. JET
    Sep 11, 2010
    10
    Whats with all the bad reviews? Ignore them this is up there with the best games on Xbox Live Arcade. Go and get the demo and find out for yourself! Great combat, one of the best artstyles, whats not to like? The length isn't that bad. It's longer than most arcade games. It's even better if you have a friend to play the co-op campaign with. I played it with my brother and its one of the best co-op experiences ever. The difficulty is perfect as well. So with the co-op, you can double that 3-4 hour length. Throw in all the collectible costumes and you've got more than your moneys worth! What are you waiting for, buy it! Expand
  5. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    this Game is Brilliant! the one player campaign has some of the best fighting i have seen in a long time. If you only play through it once then maybe you'll see it as being too short but you can go back and get costumes which make multiple playthroughs a must! The best part for me though is the co-op campaign which must be played. Don't trust the negetive reviews buy this game! Or at least download the demo. Collapse
  6. Sep 7, 2010
    1
    Not worth the money it costs. 1200 MS points is a lot for a game completed in just over an hour on normal. Too repetitive and unimaginitive to repeat on hard. A specially written co-op multiplayer campaign which you cant play online so if you have nobody you live with to play it with and you have something more fun to play or do with your mates when they come round then you probably wont touch it. Shame they actually hired people to write a story and then created a game in a way where the writers work is unlikely to be seen a deemed almost pointless. Couldve been the next CastleCrashers or Dishwasher Dead Samurai. Instead i've had more fun playing a poorly coded game of flash pool on facebook. Dont waste your time or money when Dishwasher Dead Samurai is just as well (not very well but at least equal to shank) written and more varied in enemy and boss types and has online co op. Forget Shank and get Dishwasher for less money and way better value. Expand
  7. Aug 30, 2010
    6
    I waited quite a while for this game and I must say, I'm a bit dissapointed. What you get IS fun, but it is so short, and there are some pretty glaring control issues too. Still, you can get past the control issues with a little patience, and the game itself is very unique and fun. I can't give it too low a score because I actually did enjoy what I played, but there isn't enough of it and the control issues are there, so I can't score too highly either. Expand
  8. Aug 28, 2010
    6
    Decent beat em up with a great style, lots of weapons and ways to kill people. However the gameplay isn't especcially innovative, and play controls can be frustrating at times. There were several moments throughout the game where I felt like the (very cool looking) animations blocked me from performing the move I wanted.
  9. Aug 27, 2010
    0
    This beat-em-up is a bad value. The game is short, but the value might have been remedied by some good mechanics. Unfortunately, that is not the case with Shank. The lag between pressing a button and it working onscreen is unacceptable. The drawn backgrounds are low-resolution and the character models often look really retarded. $15 for a two hour campaign (and an even shorter co-op one) is not worth it, especially considering the Scott Pilgrim game that just came out (which is longer, up to 4 players, better looking). Expand
  10. Sep 11, 2010
    0
    this Game is Brilliant! the one player campaign has some of the best fighting i have seen in a long time. If you only play through it once then maybe you'll see it as being too short but you can go back and get costumes which make multiple playthroughs a must! The best part for me though is the co-op campaign which must be played. Don't trust the negetive reviews buy this game! Or at least download the demo. Collapse
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 50
  2. Negative: 1 out of 50
  1. Jan 20, 2011
    81
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  2. Jan 20, 2011
    80
    There's also a value question around Shank. Before spending the $15, you really need a qualified co-op player on hand locally to help you get your money's worth out of the game.
  3. Oct 24, 2010
    50
    Shank is an old school side scrolling beat 'em up with a new lick of paint. The main character seems to have stepped out of a comic book. Shank has enough style, but unfortunately comes up short with substance. The game is short and doesn't offer any replayability next to the hard modus.