Shift 2: Unleashed Xbox 360

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 103
  2. Negative: 18 out of 103
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 30, 2011
    1
    Damn, this game sucks so bad. 1/10
  2. Jul 23, 2011
    3
    One of the worst racing game series ever made, NFS needs to go back to its roots, Desperately, What happened to NFS underground and Most wanted ideas? NFS has become worse ever year its released.

    As a simulation racing game, its god awful, The graphics are good, the soundtrack too, and to some extent, i like the idea of a racing game with more involvement of the lower formulas of
    One of the worst racing game series ever made, NFS needs to go back to its roots, Desperately, What happened to NFS underground and Most wanted ideas? NFS has become worse ever year its released.

    As a simulation racing game, its god awful, The graphics are good, the soundtrack too, and to some extent, i like the idea of a racing game with more involvement of the lower formulas of racing, i.e. GT1 But for me, the driving is just SO BAD, that it makes even the best Sim racers look like noobs. The cars have horrible understeer, theres barely any options for setup or taking assists off, only 3. The responsiveness of the car is almost non existent, the car feels lazy somewhat.
    If youre looking for the best simulation game money can buy, F1 2010 & soon to be F1 2011 is the game you want. Once you drive that, nothing else compares.
    Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2011
    2
    Shift one was a lot better. this game is just overly realistic and angering to play. the handling on the cars is stupid how it doesent even turn or drift the way you would like it to. this game just SUCKS!
  4. Apr 29, 2011
    3
    EA just keeps making the franchise worse and worse. When I look back to the masterpiece that Underground 2 was, I really wonder how did they manage to screw so bad with the series. On this awful installment, we got everything one could hate on a racing game : Bad framerates and jerky animations, crappy handling and a game that's not neraly as technical as Gran Turismo or Forza butEA just keeps making the franchise worse and worse. When I look back to the masterpiece that Underground 2 was, I really wonder how did they manage to screw so bad with the series. On this awful installment, we got everything one could hate on a racing game : Bad framerates and jerky animations, crappy handling and a game that's not neraly as technical as Gran Turismo or Forza but certainly not fun as the oder installments of the series, or burnout. It's a shame how this franchise is drifting away into pure awfulness. Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2011
    1
    The same game as the last 5 NFS games. I'm so glad I didn't buy this one, hot pursuit or shift. I will just play most wanted again.
  6. Apr 5, 2011
    3
    I purchased this game with the hope of having a more realistic game yet something enjoyable to play. While the sound track and graphics are good (not the best but good), the overall gameplay is just too complex and hard. If their intent is to offer this game to the small hardcore real racing segment, then they might have done a good job. But in reality, no general consumer or even carI purchased this game with the hope of having a more realistic game yet something enjoyable to play. While the sound track and graphics are good (not the best but good), the overall gameplay is just too complex and hard. If their intent is to offer this game to the small hardcore real racing segment, then they might have done a good job. But in reality, no general consumer or even car fan will enjoy the game given the complexity especially as you get to higher levels. I found myself pissed off too many times and ended up selling it back. Too bad. Expand
  7. Mar 15, 2017
    3
    Quelle déception après le valeureux Shift ! qu'est-il donc arrivé à cette suite bordélique ? d'abord la conduite a régressé de manière spectaculaire : elle est devenue floue, imprécise à un point tel qu'elle ne satisfera même pas les amateurs d'arcade : même Burne Out est plus sympa à conduire ! quant au côté "simulation" laissez-moi rire... j'ai vérifié plusieurs fois que j'avais bienQuelle déception après le valeureux Shift ! qu'est-il donc arrivé à cette suite bordélique ? d'abord la conduite a régressé de manière spectaculaire : elle est devenue floue, imprécise à un point tel qu'elle ne satisfera même pas les amateurs d'arcade : même Burne Out est plus sympa à conduire ! quant au côté "simulation" laissez-moi rire... j'ai vérifié plusieurs fois que j'avais bien tout désactivé... ah si un changement quand même : la direction en "simu" a tellement de latence qu'on a l'impression d'être dans une putain de péniche.

    Il reste la réalisation très correcte et de très bons bruits de moteur, c'est déjà ça. Si les circuits sont nombreux, les menus sont perfectibles et le nombre de bagnoles est assez limité pour une carrière sans éclat qui fait le boulot malgré tout. Tant que j'y pense, même le drift, point fort du premier Shift est devenu complètement pourri. Quelle misère.
    Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. May 18, 2011
    80
    At its best, Shift 2 is one of the most intense and rewarding racing games around. There's some flaws (like the entire drifting part), but the overall package is really solid and fun.
  2. May 13, 2011
    82
    While Shift 2 may not be as sim-heavy as Forza or arcade-like as Burnout, it does cut out its own groove in the genre with it's amazing helmet cam and driving aids that can be toggled to suit any racers experience or play style.
  3. May 11, 2011
    83
    Overall, Shift 2 Unleashed is a fantastic driving game that should satisfy fans on either side of the arcade/simulation spectrum. The game may not be as sheer fun as Hot Pursuit was only six months ago, but could easily occupy a cherished spot on your shelf right next to it.