Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Most importantly, we're happy to report that the ebb and flow of the game, the technology race, the expansionistic urges, the cycle from martyrdom to world conqueror and back, have been expertly captured in Civilization Revolution.
  2. In comparison to the amount of fun you have, those are middling problems at worst. Civilization Revolution is easy to learn, hard to put down, and a blast to play.
  3. And even though I still have no desire to play Civilization on the PC, Civilization Revolution has become one of my favorite 360 games of the year.
  4. There's plenty of depth and challenge that even the best strategist may find hard to conquer. Controlling a civilization has never been so fun.
  5. Ultimately, Civilization Revolution gives back as much as you put into it. It’s a wholly satisfying experience whether you play alone or online.
  6. It's incredibly easy to get engrossed in the rhythm of expansion and evolution, and you can happily lose hours and hours at a time.
  7. My immersion in the gameplay experience is a good part of why this review is going up a bit later than planned. I often had a tough time pulling myself away from the playing to write this up.
  8. This is hands down the best pure strategy title to appear on consoles to date, and easily worthy to bear the Civilization name. [July 2008, p.83]
  9. Civilization Revolution's sunny presentation and bountiful depth might not be sufficient to draw legions of newcomers to turn-based strategy, but it easily the single greatest example of the genre ever to grace a console. [Aug 2008, p.70]
  10. An exquisite experience for strategy junkies. PC purists may turn up their noses at it, but I dare them to play through multiplayer with a pair of headsets on and not get giddy.
  11. Revolution makes a great starting place for new gamers to learn the ways of Civilization while avoiding being overwhelmed by the massive amount of things present in Civilization 4.
  12. 90
    Much of the changes in Civ Rev are of the give and take variety ultimately streamlining gameplay with little sacrifice.
  13. A fantastic, frantic combination of pretty much all the highlights of previous Civilization titles rolled into one single package. Finally, a worthy way to experience Sid Meier's legendary franchise on your console!
  14. A great RTS with plenty of pick up and play appeal, perfect for the console generation.
  15. Fitting right at home on the console, Civilization Revolution is a genuinely addictive simulator that will not fail to impress and please fans of the Civ series.
  16. Civilization Revolution is a benchmark in the turn-based strategy series for console games both now and in the future.
  17. Civilization Revolution is how all console strategy titles should be. Fun, easy to pick up with a good degree of difficulty.
  18. 88
    The developers of Civ Rev made some tough but smart compromises, which resulted in a great console strategy game that could do with just a bit more depth. Overall though, this one’s a winner.
  19. The controls are indeed a dream, effectively putting to rest the notion that a strategy game can't work on a console. [Aug 2008, p.70]
  20. CivRev has been an extremely pleasant surprise. It’s not perfect, but it does a fantastic job of taking one of the most complex gaming franchises and boiling it down to the fundamental aspects that make it so much fun.
  21. Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution is the most immersive strategy game on the consoles to-date that can offer up this much fun, offline or online and for multiple skill levels.
  22. More options would have been huge in adding a bit of spice to the repetition that sets in after a few games, but what comes in the box is good enough to recommend to anyone with a taste for a little strategy and a penchant for world domination.
  23. If you enjoy games like Catan, this game goes a little deeper and offers a lot more, but with exceptional controls that give you a fun, action-based experience without all the memorization of various control schemes.
  24. Civ: Rev is a great game, and I think most people will have a great time with this game, both online and offline.
  25. While far from as deep as the PC games, Revolution is a fine achievement, extremely accessible and great fun to play.
  26. It may not be as deep or entertaining as the PC counterparts, but it's still one hell of a game, and it will still cause thousands of people to lose out on sleep.
  27. Much more than a simple conversion to consoles, Revolution is a Civ experience built and tailored specially for these machines. And it really shows. It’s, in nature, a very addictive experience and the gameplay really suits the different console controllers. [Aug 2008]
  28. Fun, simple and addictive, this game is a worth-while addition to the 360 roster, but is a little light. Hardcore Civ fans may want to stick to the PC versions, but newcomers will feel right at home.
  29. Definitely created for players who've never played the series before, Civilization Revolution is a great entry title for console gamers.
  30. 83
    But Revolution's greatest omission is testament to just how addicting the game is. It's disappointing not having the option to play "one more turn..." after a victory condition is achieved and continuing to build (or rebuild) your empire.
  31. It is a solid effort that fits well as a console game. We just wish some more details made it across from the PC series.
  32. This slick new Civilization may be more reduction than Revolution, but it's easily one of the most distinctive games on 360 and PS3. I can't see myself playing much more of the single-player, but I genuinely cannot wait to war over landmass with a few like-minded chums.
  33. One of the most enjoyable strategy games to hit consoles in a very long time. [Aug 2008, p.110]
  34. To PC gamers this will feel like a tutorial for the “real” thing, but for everyone else Sid Meier has breathed fresh air into the console market with a title that lets you kill and maim in a completely different way.
  35. It presents a solid, fairly streamlined experience that's accessible to console players while still providing an engaging layer of depth.
  36. Civilization Revolution is currently the best strategy game available on the console. It has the controls, it has the pedigree, it has the depth, it has the multiplayer and most of all it has the accessibility. [July 2008, p.80]
  37. The key is that you can get a hell of a lot of enjoyment out of Civ Rev without getting completely bogged down by the game's statistics.
  38. Exactly the right things have been made more simple and the essence of the game is still there.
  39. This is the game that Sid Meyer always wanted to make, and it shows. It retains the core elements that makes the series great, but with greater focus on battles and with a faster pace. An intuitive interface and great graphics makes this title a blast to play, and the flaws aren't enough to deter even the most seasoned gamers.
  40. Once you start Civilization, you can’t stop playing. Fortunately the controls work wonderfully on the console versions. A great strategy game!
  41. If you like strategy games and playing god, then I can fully recommend this game as it offers hours of strategic entertainment. However, for those of you with less patience, then I will say that there's quite a steep learning curve compared to more accessible games.
  42. 80
    Sid Meier's Civilization: Revolution is easily the most effective and most addictive strategy game ever to be released on a console, and is worth a shot for anyone interested in the franchise or genre at all.
  43. Old diehard fanatics will no doubt shake their fists at the slight console-friendly tweaks of the original formula and the light-hearted nature of the graphics – but hey, it’s successfully infecting a whole new generation of gamers with Civ love, so get over it.
  44. 80
    This is far more than just a port; it's a comprehensive console-specific retooling. The thought of that may make some fans sick to their stomach, and yes, some of the more detailed options for taxation and civilization management have been automated to a greater or lesser degree, but there's still plenty of strategy here for even hardcore fans to appreciate.
  45. While Sid Meier has been quoted as saying that this is the Civilization game he always wanted to make, Revolution's got plenty of shortcomings, and the scope of its vision can sometimes outstrip its mechanics. That said, this is a really satisfying strategy game, and though it might be old hat for PC players, there are few experiences quite like it on consoles.
  46. While a bug-squishing patch would be nice, Civilization Revolution is an excellent revision of the series despite the trades it makes for accessibility over depth.
  47. Civilization Revolution feels like a bloated XBLA or PSN game. Strip away the disappointing visuals, bloody annoying introduction video that plays every time you start a fucking match, all the bells and whistles and you’re left with something could have been a true revolution. As it stands, this is just a good case of Civilization Devolution.
  48. Thanks to a slow, unbalanced Live experience, the game falls well short of delivering the kind of replay value that the price-tag demands.
  49. 75
    For new players, it may be a stepping stone to true greatness. Fans of the older Civ games may enjoy it for nostalgia. It may also serve as a 'nicotine patch' for megalomaniacs; a healthier alternative to wasting whole days taking over the world. The serious Civ fans, however, should keep to their PCs: this one isn't for them.
  50. A great game for both newcomers and old school players alike. It’s not the perfect Civ experience for either party, but the compromise is well worth your time.
  51. Fortunately, the 360 version is blessedly free of the slowdown and Civilopedia bugs that mar the PS3 version, leading to a much more relaxing experience.
  52. A game with such subtleties and fine detail as Civilization IV would never have worked on a console, and so while purists might carp at Revolution’s necessarily stripped-down feel, its injection of pace makes for a more exciting – if marginally less cerebral – strategy game. And more importantly, it’s still as life-suckingly addictive as ever. [Issue#34]
  53. 70
    While Civilization Revolution does a great job of introducing the concept and gameplay of Sid Meier's classic PC series to the consoles, it falls just short of true greatness due to a lack of depth in the AI and multiplayer options.
  54. Overall, I was pretty happy with Civilization: Revolution. As a longtime fan of the franchise, I hesitant to pay 60$ for a watered down version of a game I own more copies than I count.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 142 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 49
  2. Negative: 8 out of 49
  1. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    I've played Civ: Rev for quite some time now, and while the AI sometimes seems like it's cheating me out of what should be a victory, I respect what they decided to do with it. By making the fights more of a chance than a guaranteed win or lose, it gives you a little bit more of a chance if you end up going to war. The graphics of the game aren't realistic, and I like that, it takes away a lot of the seriousness or some situations. The multiplayer is exciting, making the player wonder when the next attack will be, and where. Although, I do not understand why teams seem to not be able to trade technologies (unless they just do that anyway, and I haven't been paying close enough attention) but beyond that I have no complaints. Overall, a great game, with agreeable graphics, great, easily understood mechanics, and a wonderful feeling of anticipation in matches, waiting for the next big move to be made. Full Review »
  2. Apr 2, 2014
    3
    I got this when it was given away for free over the XBox Live Gold giveaway, did I like it? Not really. I will warn you, you can't relate it to it's far superior Civilization brothers on the PC if you want the most enjoyment out of this title, however I did because it is a port. The stacks in the game are pretty much how you'll win your battles, and the battle AI is idiotic for melee units, sometimes on attack your men will stand around strafing with archers firing at them, while on attack. Diplomacy is shallow, the most you can do is trade knowledge for gold, no alliances, defensive pacts, or trade agreements, just selling knowledge. There's little to no reason for real estate, you pretty much put a settler down, and you get the surrounding areas production science and gold, no strategic or luxury resources to hoard from your enemies. Most of the time you will end up with a domination victory due to how easy it is on lower levels, but on higher ones you will want to NEVER meet another civilization. The way ranged combat works is pathetic, making planes and any melee unit completely unneeded. The science system isn't at all well made, most of the time you advance to get little to nothing. Unit upgrades are actually well done with many different ways of going, such as medic being able to heal anywhere, guerrilla giving you bonuses on home territory, and one that makes you where you can move 2 squares at once. The Economy in the game, is idiotic often making you trade away knowledge for it, instead of having ways to get both with one city for people that enjoy playing as small compact civilizations. You can get any unit you have ever discovered, and again this ends up being a little suspicious, by this I mean archers with bow and arrows are good enough to take out bombers, fighter planes, and sometimes tanks if they have enough bonuses. The build-able wonders sometimes have little to no benefit, or break the game, like giving you a single nuclear device, or simply giving you a future technology instead of making you go down the tech tree. The culture system is as basic as it gets and it seems that it's well done enough for a bit until you realize that every wonder you construct gets you closer and closer to a culture victory, but that isn't a big deal if you are going for a different victory because you can simply not construct the UN. Although after all this, I feel they did their best, it's difficult getting something native to PC like this onto a console, especially when it's so complex as a Civilization game, and at times don't get me wrong it is enjoyable and has some advantages over even Civilization V, such as the armies system where you can stack 3 units of the same type to create an army, and as well as being able to sell knowledge, but EVERYTHING else is dumbed down, and overall kind of boring. Civilization Revolution is a buggy mess and lacks what make the PC editions so great and it pains me to hell being a fan of Firaxis' to say that. It earns it's 3/10 not by dumbing down things, but ripping them from their core and then some. I am SolarGaming reviews and I approve this message. Full Review »
  3. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    Although not quite as deep as the PC versions Civilization Revolution is strategic and fun and completely worthwhile for any strategy gamers on console. Full Review »