User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 170 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 170
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 12, 2012
    8
    While it does not compare to its PC cousins, it really is a solid civilization game that is meant for consoles. While it is simple, it is it's simplicity that makes it fun. I find myself playing this game sporadically since its release. A quick fun Turn based Strategy when you find your self with nothing else to play. Fills the void between games quite nicely. The perfect filler game. TheWhile it does not compare to its PC cousins, it really is a solid civilization game that is meant for consoles. While it is simple, it is it's simplicity that makes it fun. I find myself playing this game sporadically since its release. A quick fun Turn based Strategy when you find your self with nothing else to play. Fills the void between games quite nicely. The perfect filler game. The bread stick of strategy games. Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    Although not quite as deep as the PC versions Civilization Revolution is strategic and fun and completely worthwhile for any strategy gamers on console.
  3. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game. A lot quicker then other Civ. games. It is far less complex, but still enjoyable. Whereas Civ V games take upwards of 10 hours, this takes a mere 2. Fantastic game, recommended for everyone.
  4. Aug 6, 2013
    8
    This is one of my favorite strategy games I have ever. This was nothing more than a very basic almost beginner level version of any Civilization games. The game was very fun and had a lot of replay ability. The graphics are very crisp and looks really nice. The music is very basic nothing really great just ok. The best part of the game is the leaders that you can play as and the othersThis is one of my favorite strategy games I have ever. This was nothing more than a very basic almost beginner level version of any Civilization games. The game was very fun and had a lot of replay ability. The graphics are very crisp and looks really nice. The music is very basic nothing really great just ok. The best part of the game is the leaders that you can play as and the others that you can kill. They are all very different and unique from one another. Almost every time I played I did things very differently from the last time I played. The world was the most important thing to me because of how the other leaders could make there society and how the world could be formed around you. There are so may things I can say but for the most part I will just say it is a must for people who want to start out small and move up to Civ V or for people like me that just want to have a really great experience with one of the best strategy games. Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    Never played a Civ game, never gave them a second glance, but when this showed up for free on Xbox Live Arcade I gave it a chance. Several hours later I'm **** hooked, it was a ton funner than I thought it was gonna be. I know the game has been "dumbed" down for consoles, but man it was very addictive, from watching troop movements to deciding which way to take my country I was hooked. NowNever played a Civ game, never gave them a second glance, but when this showed up for free on Xbox Live Arcade I gave it a chance. Several hours later I'm **** hooked, it was a ton funner than I thought it was gonna be. I know the game has been "dumbed" down for consoles, but man it was very addictive, from watching troop movements to deciding which way to take my country I was hooked. Now I'm looking into other Civ games to see something I might like. If you have the time check this one out, it's not a FPS so you know you're in for a good time. Expand
  6. Aug 12, 2015
    9
    Although it isn't nearly as good as the PC civ games, this is one of my favorite past-gen games there is. The simple and fun game play style can really be played with by anybody. The A.I. can be a burden or easy to push over, depending on how you play. I really think the developers hit a home run.
  7. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    Enjoyable, if a bit slow at times, especially for some civs you might want to play. Replay value is high, considering all the civs. Nice addition of lost artifacts to find, (especially the tech boosting Atlantis). Only real complaint would be the constant "help" messages that pop up from your advisers, even after you tell it/them to shut up. Annoying after a while, but not game breaking.Enjoyable, if a bit slow at times, especially for some civs you might want to play. Replay value is high, considering all the civs. Nice addition of lost artifacts to find, (especially the tech boosting Atlantis). Only real complaint would be the constant "help" messages that pop up from your advisers, even after you tell it/them to shut up. Annoying after a while, but not game breaking. Good game all around though. Expand
  8. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    Let me get this straight: if you're looking for the deep strategy experience you're used to when playing the Civ series on PC, look elsewhere. This is not Civilization ported to the Xbox, it's not meant to be and it never tries to be, it's a new approach to the game. It's titled "Civilization Revolution" and this says it all. First of all, it's more fast paced than any other Civ game:Let me get this straight: if you're looking for the deep strategy experience you're used to when playing the Civ series on PC, look elsewhere. This is not Civilization ported to the Xbox, it's not meant to be and it never tries to be, it's a new approach to the game. It's titled "Civilization Revolution" and this says it all. First of all, it's more fast paced than any other Civ game: you'll notice immediately by the lack of some of the usual features (especially regarding micro-management), by the shorter technology tree and by the choice about factions reduced to 16. The game purpose is clear: a softer approach to Civ strategy, with games you can complete in a single evening of playing. Nevertheless, this is one of the best turn-based strategy games for Xbox out there, together with Ufo X-COM. You have 4 ways to win every game (domination, culture, economic, technology) and many ways to achieve them, depending on your gaming style, on the map, on the faction you choose and so on. Every game will be different and, at higher difficulty levels, always challenging: after you get to the Emperor level, you'll notice the A.I. becoming extremely aggressive and unforgiving about your mistakes, making it a challenge even for experienced gamers. The scenarios (and weekly scenarios as well) make a good addition to the longevity and many of them are free to download. Lots of objectives to achieve also. --On the bad side: Multiplayer is non-existent, since there's no way to save a multiplayer game and no one can guarantee to be 6 hours in front of the game, especially when you have to wait for other people turns. The servers on Xbox live are just dead, I wasn't able to find a match in months. --Apart from that, it's a great game all around and I'd recommend it to anyone, both experienced and unexperienced strategy players. Expand
  9. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Though it may have been awhile since I picked up the box it remains a firm favourite in my eyes due to the 'Pick up and Play' ability of this game. As you explore more features it becomes more enjoyable. The variety of playable-characters means many a tactic can be used from each leader's special ablilities. In a sense the graphics are good due to the fact they are easily recognisable yetThough it may have been awhile since I picked up the box it remains a firm favourite in my eyes due to the 'Pick up and Play' ability of this game. As you explore more features it becomes more enjoyable. The variety of playable-characters means many a tactic can be used from each leader's special ablilities. In a sense the graphics are good due to the fact they are easily recognisable yet when I look back on them they seem a little childish. It runs well on the Xbox and with the achievements the things to do are unlimited until all achievments are unlocked. I, myself are missing achievments and as I write this I am thinking of whether to return to an old favourite. Expand
  10. Aug 14, 2014
    8
    This is not as advanced as the PC version, but it is a blast, and a challenging experience that is rewarding if conquered. This game has several small annoyances that stop this from being a perfect, simplified entry point.
  11. Oct 8, 2010
    9
    This is the best Xbox360 game I own. I've owned it for over a year and I still play it sometimes. I'm not a fan of other Civilization games, but this is a little easier and was simple to learn. The balance and dynamics of the game and strategies is a lot of fun.
  12. Jun 14, 2013
    8
    I rarely replay games but this one is an exception. The graphics are alright but the gameplay is fun
    and can be challenging if you decide to play at the harder settings. A perfect little game that surprised
    me I never would have thought that thing would have become one of my favorite game.
    Disclaimer, I am not a Civilization fan and I think this game was not meant for them either.
  13. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    I've played Civ: Rev for quite some time now, and while the AI sometimes seems like it's cheating me out of what should be a victory, I respect what they decided to do with it. By making the fights more of a chance than a guaranteed win or lose, it gives you a little bit more of a chance if you end up going to war. The graphics of the game aren't realistic, and I like that, it takes away aI've played Civ: Rev for quite some time now, and while the AI sometimes seems like it's cheating me out of what should be a victory, I respect what they decided to do with it. By making the fights more of a chance than a guaranteed win or lose, it gives you a little bit more of a chance if you end up going to war. The graphics of the game aren't realistic, and I like that, it takes away a lot of the seriousness or some situations. The multiplayer is exciting, making the player wonder when the next attack will be, and where. Although, I do not understand why teams seem to not be able to trade technologies (unless they just do that anyway, and I haven't been paying close enough attention) but beyond that I have no complaints. Overall, a great game, with agreeable graphics, great, easily understood mechanics, and a wonderful feeling of anticipation in matches, waiting for the next big move to be made. Expand
  14. May 23, 2012
    10
    Definitely the best TBS game for the Xbox 360. I wish they would make more games like this for the 360. The game has a large number of civilizations to play as, and it's only downfalls are the normal ones for all TBS games.
  15. KhristianR.
    Oct 1, 2008
    8
    If your a huge Civilization fan, some of you might be slightly put off by the new design, interface and the speed it runs. Also some of the main options such as the Place have been discarded, but I think for the Xbox 360 console and the next generation of gamers, especially some who might not have played a strategy game before, its implemented really well. Also the addition of your If your a huge Civilization fan, some of you might be slightly put off by the new design, interface and the speed it runs. Also some of the main options such as the Place have been discarded, but I think for the Xbox 360 console and the next generation of gamers, especially some who might not have played a strategy game before, its implemented really well. Also the addition of your advisors talking in the "Sims-esque gibberish" takes the edge off it being to serious a game. I do think you should have been able to zoom right in to the cities though. In all some options have been dropped and some new ones put in place, but it balances out nicely in the end, making a very good strategy game. SCORE : 84%. Expand
  16. VS.
    Jul 6, 2008
    10
    Deep, entertaining, re-playable and just plain addictive; I
  17. JamesO.
    Jun 26, 2008
    9
    I am throughly addicted to this game, its really rather well done and an excellent entry into the strategy genre. Brilliant.
  18. DavidF.
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    After playing the demo of this game, I can say with some certainty that this is the best console strategy game in a long time if not ever! Barring any technical guffaws that I did not find in the demo this game is Fantabulously Sploderific!
  19. MarkG.
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    Great game. Played Civ 2, 3, and 4 and Revolution definitely carries the Civilization name with honor.
  20. TylerD.
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    Brilliant, very accurate to the way things work in the world, like if you aquire the World Bank you win, haha. Replay value is very high, many different scenarios and 4 difficulties you can beat it on. This for me is a must own!
  21. AlanS.
    Jul 2, 2008
    10
    Its not PC Civilisation. It was never meant to be. If you view this as a console strategy game, its a work of art. This is in my top 3 games on the 360, and the games of the week, scenarios, different difficulty levels, etc will all keep me playing for months. Try the demo, it had me hooked, and the actual game is far far better!
  22. GatorB.
    Jul 28, 2008
    9
    As a hard-core Civ 4 player, I was very skeptical of a console version. Amazingly, Sid Meier
  23. BurtonS.
    Jul 3, 2008
    9
    This game was great and has enough depth to keep me playing long past my bedtime. I have only played the demo, as I assume all of the other people who rated this game so a true score cannot be given at this time, but since everyone else is giving their full judgement I figured I would too.
  24. MP.
    Jul 3, 2008
    9
    Best strategy title on consoles and unlike the PC version I have time to play a full game.
  25. CarlZ.
    Jul 9, 2008
    9
    This game is just awesome and has been brilliantly built for the consoles. Easy to control but with all of the standard things from previous Civilization games that were so loved.
  26. OliverW.
    Oct 7, 2008
    8
    At its core, civ rev is a fun game, yet its lack a depth ultimately holds it back from its true potential. Fans of strategy games will enjoy this iterration of Sid Meier, yet its clear its target audience is the casual crowd.
  27. mobius
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    I
  28. TroyH.
    Jun 21, 2008
    8
    Great game - would be better if there was a save gave option for privately setup multiplayer games.
  29. MikeW
    Jul 11, 2008
    10
    Fantastic game, very fun and worthy of being part of the Civ history.
  30. BigcivFan
    Jul 12, 2008
    10
    This is a great Civ arcade experience - the more I play it, the more I really like getting an entire civ experience (20-40 hours on PC?) in a handful of hours. The game of the week feature and online leaderboards are cool, and the trophy room and gifts given from far off lands round out the overall presentation nicely. The military portions work quite well - I wouldn't mind seeing This is a great Civ arcade experience - the more I play it, the more I really like getting an entire civ experience (20-40 hours on PC?) in a handful of hours. The game of the week feature and online leaderboards are cool, and the trophy room and gifts given from far off lands round out the overall presentation nicely. The military portions work quite well - I wouldn't mind seeing the ideas for upgrades and easy army formation make their way into a regular version of Civ. At first, I was bothered by the smallish size of the gameworld you play on, but I suppose that's necessary for maintaining a reasonable playtime. I'll still be buying all things Civ on the PC, but this is a really great experience, and (along with the DS version) gives me other outlets for my addiction. :) Expand
  31. GabeA.
    Jul 1, 2008
    9
    This is a solid game ive had tons of time with the game the only thing is that whenu attack a city the enemies automatically get all their units back and r stronger thats pretty much all thats wrong the only other things are the graphics r very kiddy an the simeloneon crap still a solid game very fun an the only one of its kind that ive played.
  32. CrunkP.
    Jul 29, 2008
    8
    Overall I'm a fan of the Civilization series and I'm pretty happy with Civ Rev. While I'm impressed with the way they've managed to streamline controls for a console, there are still some minor things that bother me. The problem being, that when you play a game constantly, over and over, the minor things start to be major annoyances - like the music turning loud Overall I'm a fan of the Civilization series and I'm pretty happy with Civ Rev. While I'm impressed with the way they've managed to streamline controls for a console, there are still some minor things that bother me. The problem being, that when you play a game constantly, over and over, the minor things start to be major annoyances - like the music turning loud suddenly, leaders constantly asking you the same thing you've rejected for the last 100-200 turns (can there be a "yes," "no," and "never?") Why doesn't the magnifying glass give me any info about the terrain it's over? And I feel some concepts aren't explained well, for example, the first civ to research literacy gets a "+1 bonus to science production in all cities." Is that a one turn bonus? Is it ongoing? Do I get it even in cities that are producing gold? Nowhere does it fully explain what that means... But, again, I am a fan of the game, I'm just hoping they clean it up with a patch, or else I'm already waiting for Civ Rev 2 where the gameplay will be less buggy, hopefully. The game of the week is great too. I usually play it repeatedly throughout the week just because it's fun to see what you can do on a map that you're familiar with. Expand
  33. JasonL.
    Aug 16, 2008
    10
    Great game, easy to pick up and play. There is one annoying bug, that freezes the game up when you try to take a city using catapults. But, other than that, it's a great game.
  34. NathanG.
    Jul 11, 2008
    9
    Addicting game that is good fun in all aspects. No point in comparing this game to it's PC counter part, as it in no way attempt to emulate the PC versions strong points - it instead creates it's own. Fun gameplay, terribly addictive, and exceptionally entertaining are a few of the reasons I can't put this title down. It may lack the depth of its PC brother, but it is a Addicting game that is good fun in all aspects. No point in comparing this game to it's PC counter part, as it in no way attempt to emulate the PC versions strong points - it instead creates it's own. Fun gameplay, terribly addictive, and exceptionally entertaining are a few of the reasons I can't put this title down. It may lack the depth of its PC brother, but it is a detail that would have gotten lost in the translation. If you like strategy games, this just might be one of the best to hit a console ever - do yourself a favor and pick it up. Expand
  35. TrevorG.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    "Eric N. gave it a3: Good single-player, but CANNOT save multi-player games! Who have time to play six hours in one sitting?" Lol....how are you going to save a multi-player game? Do you expect real people to put down their controllers and be ready to play when you load them back up? LMAO!
  36. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    It is a fantastic game about developing an empire, politics, and war! It allows you to play as multiple great leaders, build great wonders plus beat the living hell out of people just because you feel like it...
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. This slick new Civilization may be more reduction than Revolution, but it's easily one of the most distinctive games on 360 and PS3. I can't see myself playing much more of the single-player, but I genuinely cannot wait to war over landmass with a few like-minded chums.
  2. While far from as deep as the PC games, Revolution is a fine achievement, extremely accessible and great fun to play.
  3. Old diehard fanatics will no doubt shake their fists at the slight console-friendly tweaks of the original formula and the light-hearted nature of the graphics – but hey, it’s successfully infecting a whole new generation of gamers with Civ love, so get over it.