User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 167 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 167
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Aug 5, 2008
    5
    I ended up downloading the demo for the Xbox 360 and ended up turning it off after about 30 minutes. While I've played Civilization II through IV on the PC, the game felt too different, harder to control (when you're used to the NumPad, it's hard to switch to the thumbstick) and the city building was confusing. The technology tree was so much different than its PC I ended up downloading the demo for the Xbox 360 and ended up turning it off after about 30 minutes. While I've played Civilization II through IV on the PC, the game felt too different, harder to control (when you're used to the NumPad, it's hard to switch to the thumbstick) and the city building was confusing. The technology tree was so much different than its PC components that I was a bit frustrated that when I got a technology that I thought would give me a unit/building I wanted and it wasn't there. I remember being aghast at the fact that you had to research a technology to build a barracks. The advisers were a bit annoying and "childish" (for lack of a better word). While I'm sure they reduced the amount of time it takes to complete a game, Civilization IV did that as well. I can easily play a full space race game in about 5 or 6 hours. If you like the PC versions, I would caution against buying the console version until after you've tried the demo out first. Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2014
    6
    A game with potential but falls short where it counts. The game looks gorgeous, sounds great, and the menus and interface are structured very well. The Civilopedia and Tech Planner are well constructed and intuitive and reports and database resources are plentiful. It's easy to fall in love with this game in tutorial mode. However, once you start exploring the rest of the game, you quicklyA game with potential but falls short where it counts. The game looks gorgeous, sounds great, and the menus and interface are structured very well. The Civilopedia and Tech Planner are well constructed and intuitive and reports and database resources are plentiful. It's easy to fall in love with this game in tutorial mode. However, once you start exploring the rest of the game, you quickly run into issues with core elements. One of the biggest is the AI. At higher levels you'll find the computer achieving very lopsided victories. The AI can also restock ships with armies and refuel planes without returning home. So a ship can sit outside your city and attack you with unlimited armies. Also, it seems the computer is always attacking the human player; you'll see few battles between other countries, while all your "allies" gather at your doorstep early in the game. Also, some of the civilization perks are unbalanced. The maps are small and it's easy to feel claustrophobic which removes the fun of exploring unless you build a ship. If you can get the game at a discount, it's worth checking it out. Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2014
    3
    I got this when it was given away for free over the XBox Live Gold giveaway, did I like it? Not really. I will warn you, you can't relate it to it's far superior Civilization brothers on the PC if you want the most enjoyment out of this title, however I did because it is a port. The stacks in the game are pretty much how you'll win your battles, and the battle AI is idiotic for meleeI got this when it was given away for free over the XBox Live Gold giveaway, did I like it? Not really. I will warn you, you can't relate it to it's far superior Civilization brothers on the PC if you want the most enjoyment out of this title, however I did because it is a port. The stacks in the game are pretty much how you'll win your battles, and the battle AI is idiotic for melee units, sometimes on attack your men will stand around strafing with archers firing at them, while on attack. Diplomacy is shallow, the most you can do is trade knowledge for gold, no alliances, defensive pacts, or trade agreements, just selling knowledge. There's little to no reason for real estate, you pretty much put a settler down, and you get the surrounding areas production science and gold, no strategic or luxury resources to hoard from your enemies. Most of the time you will end up with a domination victory due to how easy it is on lower levels, but on higher ones you will want to NEVER meet another civilization. The way ranged combat works is pathetic, making planes and any melee unit completely unneeded. The science system isn't at all well made, most of the time you advance to get little to nothing. Unit upgrades are actually well done with many different ways of going, such as medic being able to heal anywhere, guerrilla giving you bonuses on home territory, and one that makes you where you can move 2 squares at once. The Economy in the game, is idiotic often making you trade away knowledge for it, instead of having ways to get both with one city for people that enjoy playing as small compact civilizations. You can get any unit you have ever discovered, and again this ends up being a little suspicious, by this I mean archers with bow and arrows are good enough to take out bombers, fighter planes, and sometimes tanks if they have enough bonuses. The build-able wonders sometimes have little to no benefit, or break the game, like giving you a single nuclear device, or simply giving you a future technology instead of making you go down the tech tree. The culture system is as basic as it gets and it seems that it's well done enough for a bit until you realize that every wonder you construct gets you closer and closer to a culture victory, but that isn't a big deal if you are going for a different victory because you can simply not construct the UN. Although after all this, I feel they did their best, it's difficult getting something native to PC like this onto a console, especially when it's so complex as a Civilization game, and at times don't get me wrong it is enjoyable and has some advantages over even Civilization V, such as the armies system where you can stack 3 units of the same type to create an army, and as well as being able to sell knowledge, but EVERYTHING else is dumbed down, and overall kind of boring. Civilization Revolution is a buggy mess and lacks what make the PC editions so great and it pains me to hell being a fan of Firaxis' to say that. It earns it's 3/10 not by dumbing down things, but ripping them from their core and then some. I am SolarGaming reviews and I approve this message. Expand
  4. JasonF.
    Aug 17, 2008
    4
    I didn't think it was possible to mess the online multiplayer for 360 up so bad. This was the only reason I bought it and thet really made it bad. From long waits to spazzes to freezing it overall really sucks.
  5. Oct 8, 2010
    9
    This is the best Xbox360 game I own. I've owned it for over a year and I still play it sometimes. I'm not a fan of other Civilization games, but this is a little easier and was simple to learn. The balance and dynamics of the game and strategies is a lot of fun.
  6. Oct 29, 2010
    7
    I'm going to keep this simple. If you're looking for a world domination game on a console, then look no farther than Civ Rev. It does what it set out to to do: Bring a fun Civ iteration to the console. But if at all possible, just go with a PC version. This is a port and you can tell. If feels a bit dumbed down and shallow. The developers should be credited that they pulled off whatI'm going to keep this simple. If you're looking for a world domination game on a console, then look no farther than Civ Rev. It does what it set out to to do: Bring a fun Civ iteration to the console. But if at all possible, just go with a PC version. This is a port and you can tell. If feels a bit dumbed down and shallow. The developers should be credited that they pulled off what they did, and at this juncture the game is commendable. To ask any more of them would be selfish, but to say this game is great is over selling it. Expand
  7. May 23, 2012
    10
    Definitely the best TBS game for the Xbox 360. I wish they would make more games like this for the 360. The game has a large number of civilizations to play as, and it's only downfalls are the normal ones for all TBS games.
  8. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    Enjoyable, if a bit slow at times, especially for some civs you might want to play. Replay value is high, considering all the civs. Nice addition of lost artifacts to find, (especially the tech boosting Atlantis). Only real complaint would be the constant "help" messages that pop up from your advisers, even after you tell it/them to shut up. Annoying after a while, but not game breaking.Enjoyable, if a bit slow at times, especially for some civs you might want to play. Replay value is high, considering all the civs. Nice addition of lost artifacts to find, (especially the tech boosting Atlantis). Only real complaint would be the constant "help" messages that pop up from your advisers, even after you tell it/them to shut up. Annoying after a while, but not game breaking. Good game all around though. Expand
  9. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game. A lot quicker then other Civ. games. It is far less complex, but still enjoyable. Whereas Civ V games take upwards of 10 hours, this takes a mere 2. Fantastic game, recommended for everyone.
  10. Dec 12, 2012
    8
    While it does not compare to its PC cousins, it really is a solid civilization game that is meant for consoles. While it is simple, it is it's simplicity that makes it fun. I find myself playing this game sporadically since its release. A quick fun Turn based Strategy when you find your self with nothing else to play. Fills the void between games quite nicely. The perfect filler game. TheWhile it does not compare to its PC cousins, it really is a solid civilization game that is meant for consoles. While it is simple, it is it's simplicity that makes it fun. I find myself playing this game sporadically since its release. A quick fun Turn based Strategy when you find your self with nothing else to play. Fills the void between games quite nicely. The perfect filler game. The bread stick of strategy games. Expand
  11. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    Let me get this straight: if you're looking for the deep strategy experience you're used to when playing the Civ series on PC, look elsewhere. This is not Civilization ported to the Xbox, it's not meant to be and it never tries to be, it's a new approach to the game. It's titled "Civilization Revolution" and this says it all. First of all, it's more fast paced than any other Civ game:Let me get this straight: if you're looking for the deep strategy experience you're used to when playing the Civ series on PC, look elsewhere. This is not Civilization ported to the Xbox, it's not meant to be and it never tries to be, it's a new approach to the game. It's titled "Civilization Revolution" and this says it all. First of all, it's more fast paced than any other Civ game: you'll notice immediately by the lack of some of the usual features (especially regarding micro-management), by the shorter technology tree and by the choice about factions reduced to 16. The game purpose is clear: a softer approach to Civ strategy, with games you can complete in a single evening of playing. Nevertheless, this is one of the best turn-based strategy games for Xbox out there, together with Ufo X-COM. You have 4 ways to win every game (domination, culture, economic, technology) and many ways to achieve them, depending on your gaming style, on the map, on the faction you choose and so on. Every game will be different and, at higher difficulty levels, always challenging: after you get to the Emperor level, you'll notice the A.I. becoming extremely aggressive and unforgiving about your mistakes, making it a challenge even for experienced gamers. The scenarios (and weekly scenarios as well) make a good addition to the longevity and many of them are free to download. Lots of objectives to achieve also. --On the bad side: Multiplayer is non-existent, since there's no way to save a multiplayer game and no one can guarantee to be 6 hours in front of the game, especially when you have to wait for other people turns. The servers on Xbox live are just dead, I wasn't able to find a match in months. --Apart from that, it's a great game all around and I'd recommend it to anyone, both experienced and unexperienced strategy players. Expand
  12. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    Never played a Civ game, never gave them a second glance, but when this showed up for free on Xbox Live Arcade I gave it a chance. Several hours later I'm **** hooked, it was a ton funner than I thought it was gonna be. I know the game has been "dumbed" down for consoles, but man it was very addictive, from watching troop movements to deciding which way to take my country I was hooked. NowNever played a Civ game, never gave them a second glance, but when this showed up for free on Xbox Live Arcade I gave it a chance. Several hours later I'm **** hooked, it was a ton funner than I thought it was gonna be. I know the game has been "dumbed" down for consoles, but man it was very addictive, from watching troop movements to deciding which way to take my country I was hooked. Now I'm looking into other Civ games to see something I might like. If you have the time check this one out, it's not a FPS so you know you're in for a good time. Expand
  13. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    It is a fantastic game about developing an empire, politics, and war! It allows you to play as multiple great leaders, build great wonders plus beat the living hell out of people just because you feel like it...
  14. Dec 10, 2012
    0
    Terrible game at higher levels...the AI cheats take any fun out of the game
    The developers took the easy way out. Rather than perfect better strategies they just set up the game to cheat like hell.
    Like playing chess against an opponent who can change the rules whenever they want
  15. EricN.
    Jul 14, 2008
    3
    Good single-player, but CANNOT save multi-player games! Who have time to play six hours in one sitting?
  16. get4ked
    Jul 17, 2008
    4
    I am very disappointed with this game I would rather play Civ 4 for another year than play this game any more. P.S. there better be a kicka** expansion pack.
  17. CarlosS.
    Jul 16, 2008
    4
    Good single player, but wayy too short. I would love the option to keep playing after victory conditions are met.Not cool to have ur glorious empire abruptlly end.
  18. MarionS.
    Jun 27, 2008
    3
    Though an inspiring effort to bring this series to console precludes a zerio rating, this game either fails or eeks by in offering those elements of strategy and tactical control that are, unfortunately, also missing from pretty much all the other "strategy" offerings on console.
  19. JuliusS.
    Jul 17, 2008
    3
    The single player is fine. But if you are looking to play with a friend online, forget it. There is NO option to save at ANY time during a multiplayer game. This means you and your friend(s) will have to play the game through to completion, period. This is ridiculous. I can't believe the game is getting such good reviews and they do not mention this HUGE problem with the game. The The single player is fine. But if you are looking to play with a friend online, forget it. There is NO option to save at ANY time during a multiplayer game. This means you and your friend(s) will have to play the game through to completion, period. This is ridiculous. I can't believe the game is getting such good reviews and they do not mention this HUGE problem with the game. The only thing I can think of is that the multiplayer was disabled when mags reviewed it, so they didn't know. Single player is great, but if you are looking to play with a group, you'll be disappointed. Expand
  20. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Though it may have been awhile since I picked up the box it remains a firm favourite in my eyes due to the 'Pick up and Play' ability of this game. As you explore more features it becomes more enjoyable. The variety of playable-characters means many a tactic can be used from each leader's special ablilities. In a sense the graphics are good due to the fact they are easily recognisable yetThough it may have been awhile since I picked up the box it remains a firm favourite in my eyes due to the 'Pick up and Play' ability of this game. As you explore more features it becomes more enjoyable. The variety of playable-characters means many a tactic can be used from each leader's special ablilities. In a sense the graphics are good due to the fact they are easily recognisable yet when I look back on them they seem a little childish. It runs well on the Xbox and with the achievements the things to do are unlimited until all achievments are unlocked. I, myself are missing achievments and as I write this I am thinking of whether to return to an old favourite. Expand
  21. Dec 25, 2013
    6
    A good fun console adaptation that will never truly do justice to the magnificent pc strategy series of civilization, In my honest opinion you are better off just sticking to one of the more complicated but immeasurably better pc titles. But if you really want to play it, go for it as it certainly isn't a bad game.
  22. Jun 14, 2013
    8
    I rarely replay games but this one is an exception. The graphics are alright but the gameplay is fun
    and can be challenging if you decide to play at the harder settings. A perfect little game that surprised
    me I never would have thought that thing would have become one of my favorite game.
    Disclaimer, I am not a Civilization fan and I think this game was not meant for them either.
  23. Aug 6, 2013
    8
    This is one of my favorite strategy games I have ever. This was nothing more than a very basic almost beginner level version of any Civilization games. The game was very fun and had a lot of replay ability. The graphics are very crisp and looks really nice. The music is very basic nothing really great just ok. The best part of the game is the leaders that you can play as and the othersThis is one of my favorite strategy games I have ever. This was nothing more than a very basic almost beginner level version of any Civilization games. The game was very fun and had a lot of replay ability. The graphics are very crisp and looks really nice. The music is very basic nothing really great just ok. The best part of the game is the leaders that you can play as and the others that you can kill. They are all very different and unique from one another. Almost every time I played I did things very differently from the last time I played. The world was the most important thing to me because of how the other leaders could make there society and how the world could be formed around you. There are so may things I can say but for the most part I will just say it is a must for people who want to start out small and move up to Civ V or for people like me that just want to have a really great experience with one of the best strategy games. Expand
  24. Feb 25, 2014
    7
    Civ Rev is the best empire building strategy game on the consoles, but not the best strategy game of all time or compared to pc titles. Civ Rev, is essentially the epic Civilization built specially for consoles. It does a decent job, but it dumbs down some features including building types, civilizations, units and technologies. Also, it focuses strongly on combat instead of allowing youCiv Rev is the best empire building strategy game on the consoles, but not the best strategy game of all time or compared to pc titles. Civ Rev, is essentially the epic Civilization built specially for consoles. It does a decent job, but it dumbs down some features including building types, civilizations, units and technologies. Also, it focuses strongly on combat instead of allowing you to chose how to play like other civilizations, to make it more console friendly. It doesn't have the depth or same articulate management of the pc versions, hard core strategy gamers might get a kick out of civ rev, but if you are a casual player looking for a unique console experience, this game is designed fro you. Expand
  25. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    Although not quite as deep as the PC versions Civilization Revolution is strategic and fun and completely worthwhile for any strategy gamers on console.
  26. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    I've played Civ: Rev for quite some time now, and while the AI sometimes seems like it's cheating me out of what should be a victory, I respect what they decided to do with it. By making the fights more of a chance than a guaranteed win or lose, it gives you a little bit more of a chance if you end up going to war. The graphics of the game aren't realistic, and I like that, it takes away aI've played Civ: Rev for quite some time now, and while the AI sometimes seems like it's cheating me out of what should be a victory, I respect what they decided to do with it. By making the fights more of a chance than a guaranteed win or lose, it gives you a little bit more of a chance if you end up going to war. The graphics of the game aren't realistic, and I like that, it takes away a lot of the seriousness or some situations. The multiplayer is exciting, making the player wonder when the next attack will be, and where. Although, I do not understand why teams seem to not be able to trade technologies (unless they just do that anyway, and I haven't been paying close enough attention) but beyond that I have no complaints. Overall, a great game, with agreeable graphics, great, easily understood mechanics, and a wonderful feeling of anticipation in matches, waiting for the next big move to be made. Expand
  27. Aug 14, 2014
    8
    This is not as advanced as the PC version, but it is a blast, and a challenging experience that is rewarding if conquered. This game has several small annoyances that stop this from being a perfect, simplified entry point.
  28. Apr 8, 2015
    0
    How anybody can think this game is good has no clue. try playing at higher levels and the game disregards its own rules and basically cheats. This game sucks. Units from ai's are built more than 3 times the speed you can. science is created 5 times as fast by ai's as soon as you start to dominate one area or continent even if they only have 2 cities. Obviously the people giving the highHow anybody can think this game is good has no clue. try playing at higher levels and the game disregards its own rules and basically cheats. This game sucks. Units from ai's are built more than 3 times the speed you can. science is created 5 times as fast by ai's as soon as you start to dominate one area or continent even if they only have 2 cities. Obviously the people giving the high ratings have not made it past warlord. Expand
  29. KhristianR.
    Oct 1, 2008
    8
    If your a huge Civilization fan, some of you might be slightly put off by the new design, interface and the speed it runs. Also some of the main options such as the Place have been discarded, but I think for the Xbox 360 console and the next generation of gamers, especially some who might not have played a strategy game before, its implemented really well. Also the addition of your If your a huge Civilization fan, some of you might be slightly put off by the new design, interface and the speed it runs. Also some of the main options such as the Place have been discarded, but I think for the Xbox 360 console and the next generation of gamers, especially some who might not have played a strategy game before, its implemented really well. Also the addition of your advisors talking in the "Sims-esque gibberish" takes the edge off it being to serious a game. I do think you should have been able to zoom right in to the cities though. In all some options have been dropped and some new ones put in place, but it balances out nicely in the end, making a very good strategy game. SCORE : 84%. Expand
  30. VS.
    Jul 6, 2008
    10
    Deep, entertaining, re-playable and just plain addictive; I
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. This slick new Civilization may be more reduction than Revolution, but it's easily one of the most distinctive games on 360 and PS3. I can't see myself playing much more of the single-player, but I genuinely cannot wait to war over landmass with a few like-minded chums.
  2. While far from as deep as the PC games, Revolution is a fine achievement, extremely accessible and great fun to play.
  3. Old diehard fanatics will no doubt shake their fists at the slight console-friendly tweaks of the original formula and the light-hearted nature of the graphics – but hey, it’s successfully infecting a whole new generation of gamers with Civ love, so get over it.