User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 167 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 167
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Aug 5, 2008
    5
    I ended up downloading the demo for the Xbox 360 and ended up turning it off after about 30 minutes. While I've played Civilization II through IV on the PC, the game felt too different, harder to control (when you're used to the NumPad, it's hard to switch to the thumbstick) and the city building was confusing. The technology tree was so much different than its PC I ended up downloading the demo for the Xbox 360 and ended up turning it off after about 30 minutes. While I've played Civilization II through IV on the PC, the game felt too different, harder to control (when you're used to the NumPad, it's hard to switch to the thumbstick) and the city building was confusing. The technology tree was so much different than its PC components that I was a bit frustrated that when I got a technology that I thought would give me a unit/building I wanted and it wasn't there. I remember being aghast at the fact that you had to research a technology to build a barracks. The advisers were a bit annoying and "childish" (for lack of a better word). While I'm sure they reduced the amount of time it takes to complete a game, Civilization IV did that as well. I can easily play a full space race game in about 5 or 6 hours. If you like the PC versions, I would caution against buying the console version until after you've tried the demo out first. Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2014
    6
    A game with potential but falls short where it counts. The game looks gorgeous, sounds great, and the menus and interface are structured very well. The Civilopedia and Tech Planner are well constructed and intuitive and reports and database resources are plentiful. It's easy to fall in love with this game in tutorial mode. However, once you start exploring the rest of the game, you quicklyA game with potential but falls short where it counts. The game looks gorgeous, sounds great, and the menus and interface are structured very well. The Civilopedia and Tech Planner are well constructed and intuitive and reports and database resources are plentiful. It's easy to fall in love with this game in tutorial mode. However, once you start exploring the rest of the game, you quickly run into issues with core elements. One of the biggest is the AI. At higher levels you'll find the computer achieving very lopsided victories. The AI can also restock ships with armies and refuel planes without returning home. So a ship can sit outside your city and attack you with unlimited armies. Also, it seems the computer is always attacking the human player; you'll see few battles between other countries, while all your "allies" gather at your doorstep early in the game. Also, some of the civilization perks are unbalanced. The maps are small and it's easy to feel claustrophobic which removes the fun of exploring unless you build a ship. If you can get the game at a discount, it's worth checking it out. Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2014
    3
    I got this when it was given away for free over the XBox Live Gold giveaway, did I like it? Not really. I will warn you, you can't relate it to it's far superior Civilization brothers on the PC if you want the most enjoyment out of this title, however I did because it is a port. The stacks in the game are pretty much how you'll win your battles, and the battle AI is idiotic for meleeI got this when it was given away for free over the XBox Live Gold giveaway, did I like it? Not really. I will warn you, you can't relate it to it's far superior Civilization brothers on the PC if you want the most enjoyment out of this title, however I did because it is a port. The stacks in the game are pretty much how you'll win your battles, and the battle AI is idiotic for melee units, sometimes on attack your men will stand around strafing with archers firing at them, while on attack. Diplomacy is shallow, the most you can do is trade knowledge for gold, no alliances, defensive pacts, or trade agreements, just selling knowledge. There's little to no reason for real estate, you pretty much put a settler down, and you get the surrounding areas production science and gold, no strategic or luxury resources to hoard from your enemies. Most of the time you will end up with a domination victory due to how easy it is on lower levels, but on higher ones you will want to NEVER meet another civilization. The way ranged combat works is pathetic, making planes and any melee unit completely unneeded. The science system isn't at all well made, most of the time you advance to get little to nothing. Unit upgrades are actually well done with many different ways of going, such as medic being able to heal anywhere, guerrilla giving you bonuses on home territory, and one that makes you where you can move 2 squares at once. The Economy in the game, is idiotic often making you trade away knowledge for it, instead of having ways to get both with one city for people that enjoy playing as small compact civilizations. You can get any unit you have ever discovered, and again this ends up being a little suspicious, by this I mean archers with bow and arrows are good enough to take out bombers, fighter planes, and sometimes tanks if they have enough bonuses. The build-able wonders sometimes have little to no benefit, or break the game, like giving you a single nuclear device, or simply giving you a future technology instead of making you go down the tech tree. The culture system is as basic as it gets and it seems that it's well done enough for a bit until you realize that every wonder you construct gets you closer and closer to a culture victory, but that isn't a big deal if you are going for a different victory because you can simply not construct the UN. Although after all this, I feel they did their best, it's difficult getting something native to PC like this onto a console, especially when it's so complex as a Civilization game, and at times don't get me wrong it is enjoyable and has some advantages over even Civilization V, such as the armies system where you can stack 3 units of the same type to create an army, and as well as being able to sell knowledge, but EVERYTHING else is dumbed down, and overall kind of boring. Civilization Revolution is a buggy mess and lacks what make the PC editions so great and it pains me to hell being a fan of Firaxis' to say that. It earns it's 3/10 not by dumbing down things, but ripping them from their core and then some. I am SolarGaming reviews and I approve this message. Expand
  4. JasonF.
    Aug 17, 2008
    4
    I didn't think it was possible to mess the online multiplayer for 360 up so bad. This was the only reason I bought it and thet really made it bad. From long waits to spazzes to freezing it overall really sucks.
  5. Oct 8, 2010
    9
    This is the best Xbox360 game I own. I've owned it for over a year and I still play it sometimes. I'm not a fan of other Civilization games, but this is a little easier and was simple to learn. The balance and dynamics of the game and strategies is a lot of fun.
  6. Oct 29, 2010
    7
    I'm going to keep this simple. If you're looking for a world domination game on a console, then look no farther than Civ Rev. It does what it set out to to do: Bring a fun Civ iteration to the console. But if at all possible, just go with a PC version. This is a port and you can tell. If feels a bit dumbed down and shallow. The developers should be credited that they pulled off whatI'm going to keep this simple. If you're looking for a world domination game on a console, then look no farther than Civ Rev. It does what it set out to to do: Bring a fun Civ iteration to the console. But if at all possible, just go with a PC version. This is a port and you can tell. If feels a bit dumbed down and shallow. The developers should be credited that they pulled off what they did, and at this juncture the game is commendable. To ask any more of them would be selfish, but to say this game is great is over selling it. Expand
  7. May 23, 2012
    10
    Definitely the best TBS game for the Xbox 360. I wish they would make more games like this for the 360. The game has a large number of civilizations to play as, and it's only downfalls are the normal ones for all TBS games.
  8. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    Enjoyable, if a bit slow at times, especially for some civs you might want to play. Replay value is high, considering all the civs. Nice addition of lost artifacts to find, (especially the tech boosting Atlantis). Only real complaint would be the constant "help" messages that pop up from your advisers, even after you tell it/them to shut up. Annoying after a while, but not game breaking.Enjoyable, if a bit slow at times, especially for some civs you might want to play. Replay value is high, considering all the civs. Nice addition of lost artifacts to find, (especially the tech boosting Atlantis). Only real complaint would be the constant "help" messages that pop up from your advisers, even after you tell it/them to shut up. Annoying after a while, but not game breaking. Good game all around though. Expand
  9. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game. A lot quicker then other Civ. games. It is far less complex, but still enjoyable. Whereas Civ V games take upwards of 10 hours, this takes a mere 2. Fantastic game, recommended for everyone.
  10. Dec 12, 2012
    8
    While it does not compare to its PC cousins, it really is a solid civilization game that is meant for consoles. While it is simple, it is it's simplicity that makes it fun. I find myself playing this game sporadically since its release. A quick fun Turn based Strategy when you find your self with nothing else to play. Fills the void between games quite nicely. The perfect filler game. TheWhile it does not compare to its PC cousins, it really is a solid civilization game that is meant for consoles. While it is simple, it is it's simplicity that makes it fun. I find myself playing this game sporadically since its release. A quick fun Turn based Strategy when you find your self with nothing else to play. Fills the void between games quite nicely. The perfect filler game. The bread stick of strategy games. Expand
  11. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    Let me get this straight: if you're looking for the deep strategy experience you're used to when playing the Civ series on PC, look elsewhere. This is not Civilization ported to the Xbox, it's not meant to be and it never tries to be, it's a new approach to the game. It's titled "Civilization Revolution" and this says it all. First of all, it's more fast paced than any other Civ game:Let me get this straight: if you're looking for the deep strategy experience you're used to when playing the Civ series on PC, look elsewhere. This is not Civilization ported to the Xbox, it's not meant to be and it never tries to be, it's a new approach to the game. It's titled "Civilization Revolution" and this says it all. First of all, it's more fast paced than any other Civ game: you'll notice immediately by the lack of some of the usual features (especially regarding micro-management), by the shorter technology tree and by the choice about factions reduced to 16. The game purpose is clear: a softer approach to Civ strategy, with games you can complete in a single evening of playing. Nevertheless, this is one of the best turn-based strategy games for Xbox out there, together with Ufo X-COM. You have 4 ways to win every game (domination, culture, economic, technology) and many ways to achieve them, depending on your gaming style, on the map, on the faction you choose and so on. Every game will be different and, at higher difficulty levels, always challenging: after you get to the Emperor level, you'll notice the A.I. becoming extremely aggressive and unforgiving about your mistakes, making it a challenge even for experienced gamers. The scenarios (and weekly scenarios as well) make a good addition to the longevity and many of them are free to download. Lots of objectives to achieve also. --On the bad side: Multiplayer is non-existent, since there's no way to save a multiplayer game and no one can guarantee to be 6 hours in front of the game, especially when you have to wait for other people turns. The servers on Xbox live are just dead, I wasn't able to find a match in months. --Apart from that, it's a great game all around and I'd recommend it to anyone, both experienced and unexperienced strategy players. Expand
  12. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    Never played a Civ game, never gave them a second glance, but when this showed up for free on Xbox Live Arcade I gave it a chance. Several hours later I'm **** hooked, it was a ton funner than I thought it was gonna be. I know the game has been "dumbed" down for consoles, but man it was very addictive, from watching troop movements to deciding which way to take my country I was hooked. NowNever played a Civ game, never gave them a second glance, but when this showed up for free on Xbox Live Arcade I gave it a chance. Several hours later I'm **** hooked, it was a ton funner than I thought it was gonna be. I know the game has been "dumbed" down for consoles, but man it was very addictive, from watching troop movements to deciding which way to take my country I was hooked. Now I'm looking into other Civ games to see something I might like. If you have the time check this one out, it's not a FPS so you know you're in for a good time. Expand
  13. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    It is a fantastic game about developing an empire, politics, and war! It allows you to play as multiple great leaders, build great wonders plus beat the living hell out of people just because you feel like it...
  14. Dec 10, 2012
    0
    Terrible game at higher levels...the AI cheats take any fun out of the game
    The developers took the easy way out. Rather than perfect better strategies they just set up the game to cheat like hell.
    Like playing chess against an opponent who can change the rules whenever they want
  15. EricN.
    Jul 14, 2008
    3
    Good single-player, but CANNOT save multi-player games! Who have time to play six hours in one sitting?
  16. get4ked
    Jul 17, 2008
    4
    I am very disappointed with this game I would rather play Civ 4 for another year than play this game any more. P.S. there better be a kicka** expansion pack.
  17. CarlosS.
    Jul 16, 2008
    4
    Good single player, but wayy too short. I would love the option to keep playing after victory conditions are met.Not cool to have ur glorious empire abruptlly end.
  18. MarionS.
    Jun 27, 2008
    3
    Though an inspiring effort to bring this series to console precludes a zerio rating, this game either fails or eeks by in offering those elements of strategy and tactical control that are, unfortunately, also missing from pretty much all the other "strategy" offerings on console.
  19. JuliusS.
    Jul 17, 2008
    3
    The single player is fine. But if you are looking to play with a friend online, forget it. There is NO option to save at ANY time during a multiplayer game. This means you and your friend(s) will have to play the game through to completion, period. This is ridiculous. I can't believe the game is getting such good reviews and they do not mention this HUGE problem with the game. The The single player is fine. But if you are looking to play with a friend online, forget it. There is NO option to save at ANY time during a multiplayer game. This means you and your friend(s) will have to play the game through to completion, period. This is ridiculous. I can't believe the game is getting such good reviews and they do not mention this HUGE problem with the game. The only thing I can think of is that the multiplayer was disabled when mags reviewed it, so they didn't know. Single player is great, but if you are looking to play with a group, you'll be disappointed. Expand
  20. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Though it may have been awhile since I picked up the box it remains a firm favourite in my eyes due to the 'Pick up and Play' ability of this game. As you explore more features it becomes more enjoyable. The variety of playable-characters means many a tactic can be used from each leader's special ablilities. In a sense the graphics are good due to the fact they are easily recognisable yetThough it may have been awhile since I picked up the box it remains a firm favourite in my eyes due to the 'Pick up and Play' ability of this game. As you explore more features it becomes more enjoyable. The variety of playable-characters means many a tactic can be used from each leader's special ablilities. In a sense the graphics are good due to the fact they are easily recognisable yet when I look back on them they seem a little childish. It runs well on the Xbox and with the achievements the things to do are unlimited until all achievments are unlocked. I, myself are missing achievments and as I write this I am thinking of whether to return to an old favourite. Expand
  21. Dec 25, 2013
    6
    A good fun console adaptation that will never truly do justice to the magnificent pc strategy series of civilization, In my honest opinion you are better off just sticking to one of the more complicated but immeasurably better pc titles. But if you really want to play it, go for it as it certainly isn't a bad game.
  22. Jun 14, 2013
    8
    I rarely replay games but this one is an exception. The graphics are alright but the gameplay is fun
    and can be challenging if you decide to play at the harder settings. A perfect little game that surprised
    me I never would have thought that thing would have become one of my favorite game.
    Disclaimer, I am not a Civilization fan and I think this game was not meant for them either.
  23. Aug 6, 2013
    8
    This is one of my favorite strategy games I have ever. This was nothing more than a very basic almost beginner level version of any Civilization games. The game was very fun and had a lot of replay ability. The graphics are very crisp and looks really nice. The music is very basic nothing really great just ok. The best part of the game is the leaders that you can play as and the othersThis is one of my favorite strategy games I have ever. This was nothing more than a very basic almost beginner level version of any Civilization games. The game was very fun and had a lot of replay ability. The graphics are very crisp and looks really nice. The music is very basic nothing really great just ok. The best part of the game is the leaders that you can play as and the others that you can kill. They are all very different and unique from one another. Almost every time I played I did things very differently from the last time I played. The world was the most important thing to me because of how the other leaders could make there society and how the world could be formed around you. There are so may things I can say but for the most part I will just say it is a must for people who want to start out small and move up to Civ V or for people like me that just want to have a really great experience with one of the best strategy games. Expand
  24. Feb 25, 2014
    7
    Civ Rev is the best empire building strategy game on the consoles, but not the best strategy game of all time or compared to pc titles. Civ Rev, is essentially the epic Civilization built specially for consoles. It does a decent job, but it dumbs down some features including building types, civilizations, units and technologies. Also, it focuses strongly on combat instead of allowing youCiv Rev is the best empire building strategy game on the consoles, but not the best strategy game of all time or compared to pc titles. Civ Rev, is essentially the epic Civilization built specially for consoles. It does a decent job, but it dumbs down some features including building types, civilizations, units and technologies. Also, it focuses strongly on combat instead of allowing you to chose how to play like other civilizations, to make it more console friendly. It doesn't have the depth or same articulate management of the pc versions, hard core strategy gamers might get a kick out of civ rev, but if you are a casual player looking for a unique console experience, this game is designed fro you. Expand
  25. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    Although not quite as deep as the PC versions Civilization Revolution is strategic and fun and completely worthwhile for any strategy gamers on console.
  26. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    I've played Civ: Rev for quite some time now, and while the AI sometimes seems like it's cheating me out of what should be a victory, I respect what they decided to do with it. By making the fights more of a chance than a guaranteed win or lose, it gives you a little bit more of a chance if you end up going to war. The graphics of the game aren't realistic, and I like that, it takes away aI've played Civ: Rev for quite some time now, and while the AI sometimes seems like it's cheating me out of what should be a victory, I respect what they decided to do with it. By making the fights more of a chance than a guaranteed win or lose, it gives you a little bit more of a chance if you end up going to war. The graphics of the game aren't realistic, and I like that, it takes away a lot of the seriousness or some situations. The multiplayer is exciting, making the player wonder when the next attack will be, and where. Although, I do not understand why teams seem to not be able to trade technologies (unless they just do that anyway, and I haven't been paying close enough attention) but beyond that I have no complaints. Overall, a great game, with agreeable graphics, great, easily understood mechanics, and a wonderful feeling of anticipation in matches, waiting for the next big move to be made. Expand
  27. Aug 14, 2014
    8
    This is not as advanced as the PC version, but it is a blast, and a challenging experience that is rewarding if conquered. This game has several small annoyances that stop this from being a perfect, simplified entry point.
  28. Apr 8, 2015
    0
    How anybody can think this game is good has no clue. try playing at higher levels and the game disregards its own rules and basically cheats. This game sucks. Units from ai's are built more than 3 times the speed you can. science is created 5 times as fast by ai's as soon as you start to dominate one area or continent even if they only have 2 cities. Obviously the people giving the highHow anybody can think this game is good has no clue. try playing at higher levels and the game disregards its own rules and basically cheats. This game sucks. Units from ai's are built more than 3 times the speed you can. science is created 5 times as fast by ai's as soon as you start to dominate one area or continent even if they only have 2 cities. Obviously the people giving the high ratings have not made it past warlord. Expand
  29. KhristianR.
    Oct 1, 2008
    8
    If your a huge Civilization fan, some of you might be slightly put off by the new design, interface and the speed it runs. Also some of the main options such as the Place have been discarded, but I think for the Xbox 360 console and the next generation of gamers, especially some who might not have played a strategy game before, its implemented really well. Also the addition of your If your a huge Civilization fan, some of you might be slightly put off by the new design, interface and the speed it runs. Also some of the main options such as the Place have been discarded, but I think for the Xbox 360 console and the next generation of gamers, especially some who might not have played a strategy game before, its implemented really well. Also the addition of your advisors talking in the "Sims-esque gibberish" takes the edge off it being to serious a game. I do think you should have been able to zoom right in to the cities though. In all some options have been dropped and some new ones put in place, but it balances out nicely in the end, making a very good strategy game. SCORE : 84%. Expand
  30. VS.
    Jul 6, 2008
    10
    Deep, entertaining, re-playable and just plain addictive; I
  31. JamesO.
    Jun 26, 2008
    9
    I am throughly addicted to this game, its really rather well done and an excellent entry into the strategy genre. Brilliant.
  32. DavidF.
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    After playing the demo of this game, I can say with some certainty that this is the best console strategy game in a long time if not ever! Barring any technical guffaws that I did not find in the demo this game is Fantabulously Sploderific!
  33. MarkG.
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    Great game. Played Civ 2, 3, and 4 and Revolution definitely carries the Civilization name with honor.
  34. TylerD.
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    Brilliant, very accurate to the way things work in the world, like if you aquire the World Bank you win, haha. Replay value is very high, many different scenarios and 4 difficulties you can beat it on. This for me is a must own!
  35. AlanS.
    Jul 2, 2008
    10
    Its not PC Civilisation. It was never meant to be. If you view this as a console strategy game, its a work of art. This is in my top 3 games on the 360, and the games of the week, scenarios, different difficulty levels, etc will all keep me playing for months. Try the demo, it had me hooked, and the actual game is far far better!
  36. GatorB.
    Jul 28, 2008
    9
    As a hard-core Civ 4 player, I was very skeptical of a console version. Amazingly, Sid Meier
  37. BurtonS.
    Jul 3, 2008
    9
    This game was great and has enough depth to keep me playing long past my bedtime. I have only played the demo, as I assume all of the other people who rated this game so a true score cannot be given at this time, but since everyone else is giving their full judgement I figured I would too.
  38. MP.
    Jul 3, 2008
    9
    Best strategy title on consoles and unlike the PC version I have time to play a full game.
  39. CarlZ.
    Jul 9, 2008
    9
    This game is just awesome and has been brilliantly built for the consoles. Easy to control but with all of the standard things from previous Civilization games that were so loved.
  40. OliverW.
    Oct 7, 2008
    8
    At its core, civ rev is a fun game, yet its lack a depth ultimately holds it back from its true potential. Fans of strategy games will enjoy this iterration of Sid Meier, yet its clear its target audience is the casual crowd.
  41. mobius
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    I
  42. TroyH.
    Jun 21, 2008
    8
    Great game - would be better if there was a save gave option for privately setup multiplayer games.
  43. MikeW
    Jul 11, 2008
    10
    Fantastic game, very fun and worthy of being part of the Civ history.
  44. BigcivFan
    Jul 12, 2008
    10
    This is a great Civ arcade experience - the more I play it, the more I really like getting an entire civ experience (20-40 hours on PC?) in a handful of hours. The game of the week feature and online leaderboards are cool, and the trophy room and gifts given from far off lands round out the overall presentation nicely. The military portions work quite well - I wouldn't mind seeing This is a great Civ arcade experience - the more I play it, the more I really like getting an entire civ experience (20-40 hours on PC?) in a handful of hours. The game of the week feature and online leaderboards are cool, and the trophy room and gifts given from far off lands round out the overall presentation nicely. The military portions work quite well - I wouldn't mind seeing the ideas for upgrades and easy army formation make their way into a regular version of Civ. At first, I was bothered by the smallish size of the gameworld you play on, but I suppose that's necessary for maintaining a reasonable playtime. I'll still be buying all things Civ on the PC, but this is a really great experience, and (along with the DS version) gives me other outlets for my addiction. :) Expand
  45. GabeA.
    Jul 1, 2008
    9
    This is a solid game ive had tons of time with the game the only thing is that whenu attack a city the enemies automatically get all their units back and r stronger thats pretty much all thats wrong the only other things are the graphics r very kiddy an the simeloneon crap still a solid game very fun an the only one of its kind that ive played.
  46. CrunkP.
    Jul 29, 2008
    8
    Overall I'm a fan of the Civilization series and I'm pretty happy with Civ Rev. While I'm impressed with the way they've managed to streamline controls for a console, there are still some minor things that bother me. The problem being, that when you play a game constantly, over and over, the minor things start to be major annoyances - like the music turning loud Overall I'm a fan of the Civilization series and I'm pretty happy with Civ Rev. While I'm impressed with the way they've managed to streamline controls for a console, there are still some minor things that bother me. The problem being, that when you play a game constantly, over and over, the minor things start to be major annoyances - like the music turning loud suddenly, leaders constantly asking you the same thing you've rejected for the last 100-200 turns (can there be a "yes," "no," and "never?") Why doesn't the magnifying glass give me any info about the terrain it's over? And I feel some concepts aren't explained well, for example, the first civ to research literacy gets a "+1 bonus to science production in all cities." Is that a one turn bonus? Is it ongoing? Do I get it even in cities that are producing gold? Nowhere does it fully explain what that means... But, again, I am a fan of the game, I'm just hoping they clean it up with a patch, or else I'm already waiting for Civ Rev 2 where the gameplay will be less buggy, hopefully. The game of the week is great too. I usually play it repeatedly throughout the week just because it's fun to see what you can do on a map that you're familiar with. Collapse
  47. MattP.
    Aug 1, 2008
    7
    I don't get the fact that it is soooooo short. Just as you're getting into it and your civilization is flourishing the game ends. Each turn is 50 years for gods sake!!
  48. JasonL.
    Aug 16, 2008
    10
    Great game, easy to pick up and play. There is one annoying bug, that freezes the game up when you try to take a city using catapults. But, other than that, it's a great game.
  49. Kyle
    Feb 14, 2009
    7
    This is a good game, if you leave aside all previous civilization games, but otherwise, civilization did not live up to sandards. The top 5 mistake i found were: 5. Cpu agressiveness - If you aren't recieving a death threat every two turns in this game, you either have a ridiculuosly vast army or you're the guy with the nuke. Its impossible to stay out of war, because even when This is a good game, if you leave aside all previous civilization games, but otherwise, civilization did not live up to sandards. The top 5 mistake i found were: 5. Cpu agressiveness - If you aren't recieving a death threat every two turns in this game, you either have a ridiculuosly vast army or you're the guy with the nuke. Its impossible to stay out of war, because even when you give your hard earned technology, great people, or gold, in 4 turns they demand more. Gets very aggravatiing. 4. No "workers" - You're probably familiar with the worker concept - find the resource, build a road to it, and construct the appropriate contraption for extracting the resource. In CivRev, there are no workers, and resources just float themselves to you i suppose, once you discover them. Which means in PC versions, if you liked being "the guy with all the oil" In CivRev, there is no such title. 3. One way highway on death threats - Not only do they come at you every 2 turns demading everything, but if you're the guy who should be throwing the threats, too bad. From playing the game, i have not been able to find how to threaten other people out of their goods. The closest I've come is kicking some nads so hard they'll pay me 25 gold to stop. When the ball's in your court, this really takes a powerful arsenal out of your repitoire. 2. Diplomacy - Someone enlighten me. How could they have messed up the diplomacy this bad? You start a diplomacy, an your only options are - tech for money, or money for tech - I dont think i need to go into how elaboorate trading was in PC civ games. 1. Game Customization - This is by far the only mistake i have have not been able to overcome. You pick a scenario, or single player, pick a civilization, and you've begun. There's no option on how long you want to game to be, world climate, water level, land layout, barbarian aggressiveness, its ideally the same game every time. You do the math. Expand
  50. NathanG.
    Jul 11, 2008
    9
    Addicting game that is good fun in all aspects. No point in comparing this game to it's PC counter part, as it in no way attempt to emulate the PC versions strong points - it instead creates it's own. Fun gameplay, terribly addictive, and exceptionally entertaining are a few of the reasons I can't put this title down. It may lack the depth of its PC brother, but it is a Addicting game that is good fun in all aspects. No point in comparing this game to it's PC counter part, as it in no way attempt to emulate the PC versions strong points - it instead creates it's own. Fun gameplay, terribly addictive, and exceptionally entertaining are a few of the reasons I can't put this title down. It may lack the depth of its PC brother, but it is a detail that would have gotten lost in the translation. If you like strategy games, this just might be one of the best to hit a console ever - do yourself a favor and pick it up. Expand
  51. RobertB.
    Jul 17, 2008
    7
    While I can see Civ:Rev as a good introduction for people who don't want the complexity or depth of the PC versions of Civ, I found this version to be far too simplistic for my taste. In addition, the play becomes seriously repetative after the first few playthroughs.
  52. TrevorG.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    "Eric N. gave it a3: Good single-player, but CANNOT save multi-player games! Who have time to play six hours in one sitting?" Lol....how are you going to save a multi-player game? Do you expect real people to put down their controllers and be ready to play when you load them back up? LMAO!
  53. Mar 3, 2014
    5
    See the full review @ http://www.idiotbox.co.uk/civilization-revolution-review/

    As far as introductions to a game go this one is definitely towards the higher end of the epic scale! It runs through the general features of the game whilst simultaneous giving one of the most rousing speeches I think I have ever heard. You are shown all of the civilizations from a group of Cavemen sat
    See the full review @ http://www.idiotbox.co.uk/civilization-revolution-review/

    As far as introductions to a game go this one is definitely towards the higher end of the epic scale! It runs through the general features of the game whilst simultaneous giving one of the most rousing speeches I think I have ever heard. You are shown all of the civilizations from a group of Cavemen sat around a campfire all the way through to a modern day scientist meeting with the President before launching a rocket into space. Never have I been more motivated to play a game in my life, and I love videogames!!

    The main game itself is made of a very simple formula: You select your civilization (more on this in a moment), you get your city all set up and you decide how you want to go about winning the game. You have 4 different options it come to winning the game, you can either kill everyone and take their capital cities for yourself (my personal favourite), you become technologically advance and launch a space station into orbit, you become richer than anyone else and build the world bank or finally you can take the cultural route and get a combination 20 world wonders or great people. Obviously the first thing you need to do before anything is decide which civilization you want to be the grand and exulted leader of. All of the civilizations have their own pro’s and cons and they all have at least one unique perk that you can utilize from the start, for example some of them start with a stockpile of gold (Mayans), some have a distinct combat advantage (Zulu) and some have a knowledge of Monarchy (England). Actually, the more I think about it, when you combine these perks with the ‘leader’ of each country then it’s possible that this could be the most passive aggressively racist thing I have ever seen…

    With the family-friendly racism out of the way you can actually begin the game. You start with your main city and from here it is honestly up to you how you want to go about doing things; you can take some soldiers out to explore the surrounding areas or you can start fortifying your city and researching new technologies, it all comes down to how you feel more comfortable playing it. If you choose the exploration route (good for you, getting out there in the big wide world!) then you are likely to stumble across a barbarian camp or some of the different civilizations of the world. If you meet a barbarian camp then generally it is just a case of killing them and taking their land for yourself but if you meet another one of the civilizations then it gives you the option of either befriending them or openly declaring war, again it just comes down to how violent you happen to be feeling at that particular moment.

    You may be thinking, OK well what do I do when I finish the game? Is that it?? Well let me tell you, pretty much it is yeah… There is another mode that you can play around with, this is the Scenario Mode and this gives you a list of different options to choose from and they play out like the regular game but with certain gameplay aspects being different. For example in some of them your armies will be stronger, in another you will be able to research things a lot faster and in another all of the AI opponents will be a lot more aggressive. It’s padding, it’s padding that’s been given a pretty name…
    Expand
  54. Aug 12, 2015
    9
    Although it isn't nearly as good as the PC civ games, this is one of my favorite past-gen games there is. The simple and fun game play style can really be played with by anybody. The A.I. can be a burden or easy to push over, depending on how you play. I really think the developers hit a home run.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. This slick new Civilization may be more reduction than Revolution, but it's easily one of the most distinctive games on 360 and PS3. I can't see myself playing much more of the single-player, but I genuinely cannot wait to war over landmass with a few like-minded chums.
  2. While far from as deep as the PC games, Revolution is a fine achievement, extremely accessible and great fun to play.
  3. Old diehard fanatics will no doubt shake their fists at the slight console-friendly tweaks of the original formula and the light-hearted nature of the graphics – but hey, it’s successfully infecting a whole new generation of gamers with Civ love, so get over it.