User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 226 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 226

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    It's safe to go back silent hill! Downpour feels very similar to the original silent hill games in that the creepy atmosphere is very terrifying, the puzzles are actually challenging, exploration is more prominent, etc. This game is so good I'm actually going to go so far as to say it rivals the third game in my opinion. Get it now!
  2. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    Warning: Ignore IGN. The reviewer, Stephen Hopper, did not seem to know the controls for the game, and so thought the controls were terrible. Holding left trigger (Xbox) or L2 (PS3) will lock on to enemies and solve many of the problems players are facing in combat. Anyway. This game was a good refresh to the series, mainly due to the fact that it took some creativeWarning: Ignore IGN. The reviewer, Stephen Hopper, did not seem to know the controls for the game, and so thought the controls were terrible. Holding left trigger (Xbox) or L2 (PS3) will lock on to enemies and solve many of the problems players are facing in combat. Anyway. This game was a good refresh to the series, mainly due to the fact that it took some creative steps in re-imagining the Silent Hill mythos, instead of relying on previous entries in the series to dictate its vision, as was the case with Origins and Homecoming. The Otherworld sequences are very imaginative, though many of the creatures are a little lacking in creative flair. Although Akira Yamaoka did not write the score for this one, composer Daniel Licht (of the Showtime series "Dexter") really stepped up to the plate and delivered an atmospheric score that both Silent Hill veterans and newbies can love. The story, while not the literary masterpiece that was Silent Hill 2, is still compelling, and takes a different spin on the indigenous population of the town. To be honest, it is not the scariest game out there. While the Otherworld scenes are delightfully disorienting and thrilling, and there are indeed some inspired scares interspersed into the game, it lacks the overall feeling of suffocating dread and crushing terror that was such a hallmark of the originals. However, that's a lot like comparing a modern stunt man to Evil Knievel. The game is not incredibly lengthy, but there are many intriguing side quests (a first for the series) that serve to expand upon the history of the town and its denizens. Many of them have intricate stories all their own. If you take the time to explore every house and building, you can really extend your playtime. Unfortunately, there do seem to be some long periods in the game where nothing is really happening, especially in the first half of the game. You will spend a long time exploring and traveling without much to keep you going outside of the occasional fight or puzzle. However, the Silent Hill games have always done that; perhaps I'm just not used to it anymore because most contemporary games always have something going on. Bug-wise, there are often framerate lags when the game autosaves, and that can be a real immersion-breaker. Also, there is one puzzle which, in a very small minority of users, does not give the full solution. Other than that, there does not seem to be any major gameplay glitches, and the two I mentioned could potentially be fixed in a patch. If you are unlucky enough to get the bugged puzzle, you may have to look up the answer, or be a good guesser. Honestly, I don't think the combat system is that bad. It's certainly leaps and bounds better than any other combat system the series has employed, with the possible exception of Homecoming. It's really pretty simple and easy to grasp. However, players are advised to read the instruction book, because the game does not tell you how to lock on to enemies (hold the left trigger / L2). The fact that you can grab just about anything around you and smack creatures with it is a nice addition, and although you can only carry one melee weapon at a time, it frees up inventory and there's always something nearby to grab in a pinch. Overall, it's a great game for fans of the series (especially considering the last few console entries were less than spectacular), and it's worth playing even if you've never played a Silent Hill title before. There is not a game quite like this one out there. Expand
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    From the impressions and reviews I've read so far (aside from ign's farcical attempt) it's almost unanimous that this is the best Silent Hill game in years. Incredible atmosphere, heavy focus on original and creative puzzles, unique and interesting otherworld environments and a captivating and original story. Combat and monster designs have been noted as mediocre for the most part butFrom the impressions and reviews I've read so far (aside from ign's farcical attempt) it's almost unanimous that this is the best Silent Hill game in years. Incredible atmosphere, heavy focus on original and creative puzzles, unique and interesting otherworld environments and a captivating and original story. Combat and monster designs have been noted as mediocre for the most part but overall this is a game for Silent Hill fans, but the average gamer who needs everything spoon fed to them might not get that into it.

    It's been getting good to average reviews so far with the exception of one overtly negative review that failed to provide any info on anything in the game other than technical issues like freezing when autosaving etc. so I would advise people to try and think for themselves where this game is concerned as nothing is more pathetic than blindly following what a review on a site like ign (which has become something of a laughingstock over the past decade) has to say. Having a mind of your own is like totez cool. Honest rating: 8.5/10, rating it higher to counter the little kids giving it a much lower score than it deserves.
    Expand
  4. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    Some gameplay elements are taken from the previous few instalments. Most notably is from Silent Hill Homecoming, and a few things from Silent Hill Shattered Memories, such as the over the shoulder chase scenes that were common in memories. It also brings back a few cool things, like the loved classic fixed camera angle. The graphics are by far the best in the series at this time. Sure,Some gameplay elements are taken from the previous few instalments. Most notably is from Silent Hill Homecoming, and a few things from Silent Hill Shattered Memories, such as the over the shoulder chase scenes that were common in memories. It also brings back a few cool things, like the loved classic fixed camera angle. The graphics are by far the best in the series at this time. Sure, visual effects suck big ones, but still, its got some great graphics...The sounds are sometimes creepy, voice acting is very well done, and gunshots sound realistic. But monster sounds and the soundtrack is horrible. Kinda sad that akira could not provide his music this time... and they only allowed mary to do 1 track... hmm... and korn sucks big ones... i did not like the soundtrack.Some of the story is boring at first, but really, starts getting interesting later. Its also kinda sad when you uncover things about murphys deceased little boy... And depending on the end, its nice to see Anne and Murphy become friends.This is a very good change from the previous disappointing titles we got in the series, (Origins, Shattered Memories and Homecoming...), and the story is by far on par with Silent Hill 2 and 3. Expand
  5. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Awesome game.. While its not as good as old Silent hill games its a step in the right direction, and btw that is not my real score i only give it 10 because some people on the forums are saying they will rate this game 0 to lower its user score, i gave it a 8.5/10
  6. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    From the moment I saw the E3 trailer I had high expectations for this!! I'm proud to announce that this game actually reaches those expectations in fact it goes far beyond them! The story is one of the greatest in silent hill. I played silent hill 1 a couple of years ago and since than I've been a fan of the series. I also own every game in the franchise. I'm glad that downpour is in myFrom the moment I saw the E3 trailer I had high expectations for this!! I'm proud to announce that this game actually reaches those expectations in fact it goes far beyond them! The story is one of the greatest in silent hill. I played silent hill 1 a couple of years ago and since than I've been a fan of the series. I also own every game in the franchise. I'm glad that downpour is in my collection. I have one problem with this game and that would be the fact that there is less scares I this game. The story is so damn good that you'll easily forget about the lack of scares. If you're a fan or just a casual gamer play this game, you may not like it as much as me but give it a chance. Expand
  7. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Great game.. I think its the best one in the series since Silent hill 2,3 , the graphics are kinda good, combat is OK , and the game is scaries than Dead Space. and while the game have some technial issues/bug, i still think its an amazing game.

    PS: i had to give this game a perfect 10 to counter all those trolls one the forums that said they will rate this game 0 , my real score is 8/10
  8. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Do not listen to Negative reviews from Critics, either they are way too stupid or blinded. I have noticed many Critics justifying a **** review for this game because it isn't Silent Hill 2. Judge the game for what it is and not for what it isn't. Downpour in all honesty is a step in the right direction, and is more faithful to the roots than recent iterations (Homecoming) The games storyDo not listen to Negative reviews from Critics, either they are way too stupid or blinded. I have noticed many Critics justifying a **** review for this game because it isn't Silent Hill 2. Judge the game for what it is and not for what it isn't. Downpour in all honesty is a step in the right direction, and is more faithful to the roots than recent iterations (Homecoming) The games story is quite compelling throughout. As for the criticism towards combat, I for one agree combat is not the best, but perhaps it was on purpose because you can run away from your fights, and it would seem like they encourage that. (One Achievement does) This game is great for fans and new people alike, I recommend a purchase, and a proper Metascore for this game should be anywhere from 75-90, anything less is pathetic because this game deserves better credit. Expand
  9. Mar 15, 2012
    9
    I found SH: Downpour a great experience, refreshing the saga with a cool story and a character different from previous one.
    I love the music and atmosphere and perhaps have those clumsy graphics but is beareable having so many good points and the main one: is scary as previous ones.

    9 is a good number for a Rainy SH
  10. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    Best Game horror forever. Epic.
    This game its awesome.
    El juego es increible, el mejor de todos, una brutalidad, super cuidado y una obra maestra.
    Gracias Konami por hacer semejante obra de arte.
    Una brutalidad de juego, su jugabilidad, su ambientación, su musica, todo.
  11. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Silent hill Downpour still a good game. Not the best in the series, but still a game to pick up and play all the way through. story is good, get a few scares here and there. the Voice acting is really good and prob the best in the series, it don't seem cheesy and everyone's voice seems to match up just right, Monsters are on the lame side a little bit, but i am happy they didn't Reuse allSilent hill Downpour still a good game. Not the best in the series, but still a game to pick up and play all the way through. story is good, get a few scares here and there. the Voice acting is really good and prob the best in the series, it don't seem cheesy and everyone's voice seems to match up just right, Monsters are on the lame side a little bit, but i am happy they didn't Reuse all the monsters from Silent hill 2 and 3 got tired of seeing EVERY monster in the same game. Story is good and i liked this one better then Homecoming. Controls suck BUT its silent hill ALL silent hill games controls suck. Combat is the same way but this is not a Combat game, i see your suppose to RUN from the monsters not stand there and take on 3 at a time. dont come into this game thinking your guy is a MMA fighter or was in the marines or something that is what i see all the bad reviews are for is the bad combat your guy is not a fighter as in all silent hills your just a avg joe

    reason why i gave it a 8 is because of the monsters (could of been cooler buy hey this is vatra first game so i cut them some slack)
    Expand
  12. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Este jogo é muito bom!!!Sou brasileiro, sei falar e escrever em inglês mas nunca vi nenhum por aqui, portanto so digo que o jogo e decente e a IGN ta de marcação com ele porque no minimo é redator é muito ruim!!! IGN BORING!!!
  13. Mar 15, 2012
    9
    I have never fet foot in Silent Hill. But this game. I am really loving it! Only for fans who aren't ashamed to be freaky, geeky and creepy! :P
    ps: Combat is not that bad on easy settings.
  14. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My experience since beginning Silent Hill Downpour has been extremely positive. The game felt like a proper continuation of the series in this gaming generation. Vatra added a substantial amount of setting, character and game-play to the Silent Hill universe and Daniel Licht composed a beautifully unsettling score - all while the whole team kept the brand of Silent Hill unscathed and prominent. Opening the town to more side-quests and encouraging the player to explore came as the best new addition to the series. My desire to freely roam and investigate Silent Hill never felt completely satisfied by previous Silent Hills. Vatra painted rich new angles of my favorite, maleficent town by letting us confront and interact with these simple side- scenarios. I don't know if I'll ever forget my moment in the movie theater or the story behind all the ribbons tied to telephone poles. The experiences set new landmarks and pushed the boundaries further for future games to nod to and aspire from.

    Furthermore, Daniel Licht's score fell right into place, especially after this being his first shot at portraying the concept of Silent Hill. I can't think of anything he didn't do right. It came as such a pleasure to experience Silent Hill musically in a new, yet fitting way. The story begins with the right amount of intrigue necessary for a Silent Hill plot to develop healthily. The feel of a natural survival horror game makes a return with the moody atmospheres, puzzles, and desperate combat any survival horror fanatic lives for. It's an overall package that I'm really proud to play and look forward to replaying in the future. While the Silent Hill franchise may have grown rickety after the years, it has finally made its comeback with Downpour. I applaud Konami, Vatra, and Daniel Licht for releasing such a solid addition to my Silent Hill library. I can only hope that Konami recognizes they've reformed Team Silent and that they hit the target with this game.
    Expand
  15. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    A perfect tribute to the first three games. It may not have the magic, terror and the originality of those, but it is a very worthy sequel, much better than Silent Hill: Home Coming. The combat is just as I expected: awkward and tiresome. People complain about it, but I think it's a good point. Nobody remembers the terrible combat controls and in Silent Hill 2 and 3? It is a characteristicA perfect tribute to the first three games. It may not have the magic, terror and the originality of those, but it is a very worthy sequel, much better than Silent Hill: Home Coming. The combat is just as I expected: awkward and tiresome. People complain about it, but I think it's a good point. Nobody remembers the terrible combat controls and in Silent Hill 2 and 3? It is a characteristic of the saga that was lost in Homecoming. The grafics are very good. Except for some minor bugs, the rest works great, with excellent lighting. Finally, a game highly recommended, especially for hardcore fans of the series (like me). Ah, do not trust IGN.


    Sorry for my English.
    Expand
  16. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    I love this game. Is it brand new in many ways, but just like SH1, 2, and 3 in many other ways. People who pay close attention will see many homages to the original games. The game does make you search very thoroughly (like the old games) and you will need to be patient and very diligent in your searching and exploring. This game doesn't hold your hand like most new games do and I don'tI love this game. Is it brand new in many ways, but just like SH1, 2, and 3 in many other ways. People who pay close attention will see many homages to the original games. The game does make you search very thoroughly (like the old games) and you will need to be patient and very diligent in your searching and exploring. This game doesn't hold your hand like most new games do and I don't think that many younger players would find the game entertaining unless they are quite mature, intelligent and very observant. I had my reservations about this game and wasn't expecting too much because of Homecoming (which I thought was good, but not great) and I loved Silent Hill Origins and this game does give you a lot of melee weapons to choose from, but they break after some use, however the game provides a lot of replacement weapons and to be honest if you are smart, a bit conservative and search everywhere then you won't have a problem with ammo regardless of what you might have heard. I have played the game on Normal difficulty on both parts including the puzzles and have found them challenging but not impossible. I really feel as though Vatra took the best aspects of SH2 and Origins and combined them together to make their own game, with its own personality, own atmosphere and its own foundation for future games. I honestly believe that Silent Hill is finally back and here to stay. I wish they wouldn't have released 3 games in one month, and if you can only buy one of them, then I would buy Downpour without a doubt. It is fun, scary. challenging, it has great weapons, awesome graphics, a great story (that takes a while to get going but it is worth the wait trust me) and Vatra really has been respectful of the original games and at the same time they have really added many new twists and turns that have made the game their own in best of ways. I also need to let everyone know that the game took me 23 hours to complete, but I did almost all the side quests and played very diligently and carefully. Many of the game magazines have said ten hours, but that is not true and you will really get your money worth. The game is a blast to play, and if I had one complaint it's that the game sometimes does have moments of silence where you literally don't have any music at all and that is kind of detached from the game and I am sure that they had good intentions, but the silence at times is hollow and does hurt the overall experience. However, that is one small complaint, and overall I give the game a 8.5/10. Enjoy a real survival horror game (finally)! . Expand
  17. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    "Silent Hill is back with Downpour. All those things that we missed in previous games are here again. The characters, the fog, the story, the gore, everything is back. This is what all SH fans have been waiting for."
    Yes! This is the best Silent Hill since SH2!!! Can't wait next Silent Hill game from VATRA!
  18. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    I have been a huge fan of the series since Silent HIll 2 and I havent given up yet, even though there were a few missteps in the series as of late. Silent HIll Downpour is a welcome addition to the series and is a great step toward revitalizing Silent HIll. I was initially put off by the mixed reviews, some favorable, some not so much. I usually go by IGN standards, but I really feel theyI have been a huge fan of the series since Silent HIll 2 and I havent given up yet, even though there were a few missteps in the series as of late. Silent HIll Downpour is a welcome addition to the series and is a great step toward revitalizing Silent HIll. I was initially put off by the mixed reviews, some favorable, some not so much. I usually go by IGN standards, but I really feel they dropped the ball on this one. Not to say I dont have some issues with the game, as there are a few. I will start with those to get them out of the way. A: the combat is a bit frustrating at times. Yes, it adds to some of the general tenseness, but at times it had me gritting my teeth. B: Not as much a complaint as a request, the moral choices should have been more involved. I wont ruin anything, but I feel there could have been a bit more to it. And really, those are my biggest problems with downpour. Now, the positives. One thing I have to say I enjoyed, was the voice acting for Murphy. Awesome. From his frightened screams to his comments, it seemed as though Murphy's tone and responses were natural and convincing. A few times the voice acting was shaky at best, but overall great. (side-note: Daniel Licht, who creates the soundtrack for Dexter as well, fits in nicely to the SH atmosphere. I hope he continues to work on the series musically). Also, I really loved the dynamic town. From side-quests to general exploration, as a HUGE silent hill fan I really enjoyed strolling the town, dodging otherworld patrol cruisers. Speaking of which, the otherworld is back and as twisted as ever. Including some dizzying moments and chase scenes that really create a sense of tension. All of this supported by some great visual effects and good graphics, notably most of the water-effects. But of curse, all of this is for not without a good plot, and I feel Murphy's journey has been the most engaging since James Sunderlands. I cant tell you how much I enjoyed the switch from town lore back to letting the town do what it does best: serving as ones personal hell. I feel the writers really encapsulated the roots of SH2 and what made it so engaging. It is not as great as the Sunderland love story, but it is definitely one of my favorite storylines, as I was growing tale with the towns cult storylines. Overall, aside from the few issues mentioned above, Downpour is great and a worthyaddition to any Silent Hill lovers collection. From the well told story, to the great story elements, to the towns atmosphere I would recommend this whole-heartedly. I would give it a solid 8 or 9 out of 10 for anyone willing to play it, but personally, as a HUGE fan to the SH universe, I give it a 10 for renewing my love of the series after a few lackluster installments. Expand
  19. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I tip my hat to Vatra games for finally getting what Silent Hill needed, and I hope this studio has the rains to the next installment of Silent Hill.

    I absolutely loved the otherworld sequences, the puzzles, the art design, the story, and the exploration was fantastic. The side quests were also implemented exceptinally well, and provided some extra hours of gameplay and variety.
    I tip my hat to Vatra games for finally getting what Silent Hill needed, and I hope this studio has the rains to the next installment of Silent Hill.

    I absolutely loved the otherworld sequences, the puzzles, the art design, the story, and the exploration was fantastic. The side quests were also implemented exceptinally well, and provided some extra hours of gameplay and variety.

    Things to improve on would be a less clunky combat system and more creative enemy design. Also I'd prefer a game without all the bugs, but honestly they didnt ruin my time.

    This is the direction Silent Hill needs to head in. Thank you Vatra games for finally giving me the SIlent Hill game the fans wanted.
    Expand
  20. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Warning: Ignore IGN. The reviewer, Stephen Hopper, did not seem to know the controls for the game, and so thought the controls were terrible. Holding left trigger (Xbox) or L2 (PS3) will lock on to enemies and solve many of the problems players are facing in combat. Anyway. This game was a good refresh to the series, mainly due to the fact that it took some creative ....
  21. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    I agree with Milhan. This game kicks ass. I like IGN but I'd definitely punch them in the **** nose cause Resident Evil is obviously paying them bribes. Which they wouldn't have to if they didn't produce garbage like RE5 and Racoon City.... Give me a **** break RE6, I've lost all faith... holding out for a remake of RE 1-3. Silent hill is still as bright and true. Kicks Ass!
  22. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    Outstanding!
    There are changes from the original 3 silent hill games, (1&2 being better then 3) but I love the new ideas. The combat feels right for a silent hill game and hasn't gone down the boring route of every other game on the market today.
    The opening door feature doesn't sound like much but it adds to the "what's waiting for me round the corner" feel. The weapon pick up feels great
    Outstanding!
    There are changes from the original 3 silent hill games, (1&2 being better then 3) but I love the new ideas. The combat feels right for a silent hill game and hasn't gone down the boring route of every other game on the market today.
    The opening door feature doesn't sound like much but it adds to the "what's waiting for me round the corner" feel.
    The weapon pick up feels great as there is not a limit or pre-written idea of what you will use.
    Not completed it yet and have heard there is no pyramid head which is a small let down however the game is defiantly outweighing the very minor "let downs" of being a fan of the series.
    That may sound bad but trust me, this game is very good.
    To sum it up, it's probably the first game since metal gear solid 4 and Gta 4 that I feel has been worth the money.
    And appart from silent hill 2 as that was on the ps2, I defiantly feel like this has been the best survival horror game since resident evil 3 nemesis!
    Only wish capcom took a page out of this book and continued the series for fans and not becoming action sell-outs.
    Despite the fog, there's fog but not as heavy as the ps2/ps1 editions, and pyramid head this game is still making me want to play more.
    The graphics I think are excellent, and most of all this game revolves around an entertaining story, meaning you want to play to find out what happens which I havent had that feel since final fantasy 10 (when square soft made good games).

    Honestly outstanding game, and great effort!
    If metal gear solid 3 was not remade in HD then this would be my happiest buy of the year with regards to gaming, and one of the fewest games since 2005 I don't instantly have the thought of trading in.

    Please make another. :)
    Expand
  23. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    I can honestly say that I enjoyed this game alot more than homecoming. It has that brooding and creepy atmosphere we all have come to love and the creatures I feel are well designed and symbolic to the storyline. Sure it may have occasional lag and other visual hiccups, but Vatra did a damn good job. The addition of side quests is also a nice touch and adds some replay value. I see myselfI can honestly say that I enjoyed this game alot more than homecoming. It has that brooding and creepy atmosphere we all have come to love and the creatures I feel are well designed and symbolic to the storyline. Sure it may have occasional lag and other visual hiccups, but Vatra did a damn good job. The addition of side quests is also a nice touch and adds some replay value. I see myself playing this game for quite some time. Expand
  24. Mar 30, 2012
    9
    As fan of the series, I can say Downpour is the best Silent Hill Game in years! Simply ignore the bad reviews. It´s totally **** what IGN said !!!
  25. Mar 31, 2012
    9
    This game is simply amazing. I really love the atmosphere and the fact that you can free-roam in one of the most scary place of all time: Silent Hill. The main quest is full of scares and surprises but the real stars of the show are the side-quests. This game is a horror masterpiece.
  26. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    Stop listening to the critics!This is one of the best games I have played.And I have played a lot.The developers have put a lot of love in this game.They can be proud of their Silent Hill.Go buy this!You will not regret it!Thank you Vatra and Konami for this great game!
  27. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    I thought Silent Hill was officially done after I played Homecoming, it showed all that had become wrong with any survival horror game. But now Downpour is out and I am really surprised that it is as good as it was. It is the Silent Hill we know and love, not just a "can you run faster" or "HEY GUYS ACTION." such as the recent games that have been tried. The atmosphere is back and there isI thought Silent Hill was officially done after I played Homecoming, it showed all that had become wrong with any survival horror game. But now Downpour is out and I am really surprised that it is as good as it was. It is the Silent Hill we know and love, not just a "can you run faster" or "HEY GUYS ACTION." such as the recent games that have been tried. The atmosphere is back and there is a new rain portions that make enemies more numerous and powerful. Along with all that is the exploration and side quests these fit in with it and don't really seem forced at all. My only problem was that the "Doll" enemy type was laughably bad looking. Expand
  28. Apr 30, 2012
    10
    Great game reminds me SH 2 and 3, pure oldschool. Game is creepy, lack of weapons force you to use even rocks from the ground. Puzzles are quiet challenging and the atmosphere is uncertain. The game feels like good old SH. Also the mysterious story forces you to keep going further. Game deserves at least a solid 9, don't listen press reviews.
  29. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    The "otherworld" sequences seem properly nightmarish and psychedelic given the aimless wandering, redundant puzzle-solving, and baffling dialogue of the "regular" game.
  30. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    A thriller that makes you think about the story. It's intelligent and evolving. It's mysterious and mixes moments of thoughts with moments of action. It is what it is. It's not SH, SH2 or SH3. It's Downpour. It's the future of Silent Hill. Hope you get on board of this.

    This the first time a Silent Hill game has side missions, and it works great! It doesn't obey you to do something you
    A thriller that makes you think about the story. It's intelligent and evolving. It's mysterious and mixes moments of thoughts with moments of action. It is what it is. It's not SH, SH2 or SH3. It's Downpour. It's the future of Silent Hill. Hope you get on board of this.

    This the first time a Silent Hill game has side missions, and it works great! It doesn't obey you to do something you don't want to do at a time. It sets you free to explore the city. While some of these side missions are great and clever (like the Cinema quest and the Gramophone one), some of them are just dull, like the bank quest that is worth the time because it's interesting to explore a new scenario. Just like the man with the missing heart.

    It doesn't send you tons of tough monsters all the time (like Homecoming), keeping you from enjoying the game and story. It flows as well as an excellent game would. There's no lack of supplies, something that could "suffocate" the player.

    This is entertaining and playing it is like watching a movie. You know why? Because it's got a great story. The ending is up to your decisions throughout the journey. Get on board, you too!
    Expand
  31. May 10, 2012
    9
    I played this game soon after I finish SH HD Collection ( I am a big fan of the series). I was expecting for the worst but this game really surprised me. Silent Hill never looked so scary and real. This time you can really explore the town, including some residences and other places. The pace is perfect and the suspense keeps you on at all times. The only problem is the frame rate, but youI played this game soon after I finish SH HD Collection ( I am a big fan of the series). I was expecting for the worst but this game really surprised me. Silent Hill never looked so scary and real. This time you can really explore the town, including some residences and other places. The pace is perfect and the suspense keeps you on at all times. The only problem is the frame rate, but you can even ignore considering the quality of the game. Long life to Silent Hill! Expand
  32. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    Just finished this amazing game after 18 hours of gameplay.

    Best horror game of this generation.

    Very good story / atmosphere, amazing sound, a big place to explore with side-quests to do.

    Theres a few technical problems, overall a very good experience.

    9/10
  33. May 27, 2012
    9
    It's fantastic that Vatra had taken the time to make this game really feels like a silent hill, with an uncomfortable control that really makes me feel weak against every monster and it's one of the things that i really like about a survival horror game, great storyline and a great atmosphere. the only thing that wasn't so good was the music but carrying the Akira Yamaoka load it's a veryIt's fantastic that Vatra had taken the time to make this game really feels like a silent hill, with an uncomfortable control that really makes me feel weak against every monster and it's one of the things that i really like about a survival horror game, great storyline and a great atmosphere. the only thing that wasn't so good was the music but carrying the Akira Yamaoka load it's a very hard weight Expand
  34. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    What I consider to be the best in the series since the original trilogy. It may not be perfect and leaves a lot to be desired in some areas, but it's definitely a step in the right direction. Instead of focusing all on one type of gameplay, this one gathers all the best aspects of each game and works them in harmony with each other, the result in my opinion is a fun and well balanced game.What I consider to be the best in the series since the original trilogy. It may not be perfect and leaves a lot to be desired in some areas, but it's definitely a step in the right direction. Instead of focusing all on one type of gameplay, this one gathers all the best aspects of each game and works them in harmony with each other, the result in my opinion is a fun and well balanced game. not only does it take gameplay mechanics from each of the earlier games, it improves on them as well. The controls and combat system are like origins but much less annoying and more responsive... plus you can't carry 40 TVs in your pocket. The otherworld and chase sequences are much more intense and effective than in shattered memories. The story is great, although I felt some of the characters don't appear enough. The monsters, while they are symbolic, for the most part are kind of lame and generic, unfortunately. The graphics are awesome, exploration is fun and well thought out, the addition of sidequests is nice and they never break you from the overall mood, except for maybe one of them. I really enjoyed this game and hope they take notes from it for the next game. It's still pretty far from the nature of the originals, but this one hits the closest in comparison to the others since 4. Expand
  35. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    Silent Hill Series is the Best Survival-Horror-Psycho-logic Games and Have Millions of Fans . Silent Hill(8) Downpour Maybe is Not The Best Game in Series (From Critic and Some Fans) But it is The 3rd Best Game in the Series For Me (Behind Shattered Memories and First Silent Hill) ! . With Thoughtful-Beautiful Story , Perfect-Artistic Visuals , Challenging-Fun Puzzles , Well AtmosphericSilent Hill Series is the Best Survival-Horror-Psycho-logic Games and Have Millions of Fans . Silent Hill(8) Downpour Maybe is Not The Best Game in Series (From Critic and Some Fans) But it is The 3rd Best Game in the Series For Me (Behind Shattered Memories and First Silent Hill) ! . With Thoughtful-Beautiful Story , Perfect-Artistic Visuals , Challenging-Fun Puzzles , Well Atmospheric Environment And Amazing-Superb-Excellent Music (From Great Daniel Li cht ! The Main- Menu Theme is Stunning !) Make it a Very Stylish Horror Game ! . However While the Previous Games Scare Players With its Atmosphere This Game Have Many Scary Scenes Which is Very Smart-Designed and That's Impossible to Not Scare From Those ! . Downpour the Eight Installment in This Beautiful Series is one of The Best Horror Games (The 3rd Best in My Opinion ! ) And Will Satisfy the Fans and its worth to play i Promise . Expand
  36. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    i disagree with all the bad reviews. i love silent hill since day 1, and of course downpour isnt as revolutionary as the first one, but no "sequel" can ever achieve this goal. if you accept that, downpour is a solid game. i advise to play through it in long sessions, its not a game to play only for half an hour. although some of the sidequests disappoint, others make up for it. if youi disagree with all the bad reviews. i love silent hill since day 1, and of course downpour isnt as revolutionary as the first one, but no "sequel" can ever achieve this goal. if you accept that, downpour is a solid game. i advise to play through it in long sessions, its not a game to play only for half an hour. although some of the sidequests disappoint, others make up for it. if you watch closely youll see that a lot of effort went into creating an atmosphere that does justice to the old games. a few of the shocks really suprised me and had me catching my breath, and normally i'm not easily scared. in short, its a solid game that doesnt surpass the original one, but provides entertainment and the silent hill feeling nevertheless. i enjoyed it and think that most fans of the old games can get something out of this game, if they dont expect it to be as revolutionary as the first game. Expand
  37. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    This is a pretty good game. I believe it will make you jump or make you feel scared at least once. I feel it didn't do as well as it could've because gamers depend on sites like IGN to tell them what to buy. IGN gave this game a 4.5 out of 10, yet 10 month later, said this was the most underrated game of 2012. If you're reading this because you are debating if you should rent or buy thisThis is a pretty good game. I believe it will make you jump or make you feel scared at least once. I feel it didn't do as well as it could've because gamers depend on sites like IGN to tell them what to buy. IGN gave this game a 4.5 out of 10, yet 10 month later, said this was the most underrated game of 2012. If you're reading this because you are debating if you should rent or buy this game, do it, as long as you buy it for $20 or less. Expand
  38. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Silent Hill Downpour is a very great one it's the only game that made me in my pant and made me cry for it's painful story it learns us how to live I finished every silent hill game.
  39. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    Silent Hill: Downpour has everything that I look for in a Silent Hill game: an interesting story, a rich atmosphere, and some of the most intriguing puzzles I have seen in the series (especially the way some of them bend reality). I appreciate that Silent Hill is still sticking to the Horror genre, even though the main RE games and Dead Space have jumped ship. While some of the sidequestsSilent Hill: Downpour has everything that I look for in a Silent Hill game: an interesting story, a rich atmosphere, and some of the most intriguing puzzles I have seen in the series (especially the way some of them bend reality). I appreciate that Silent Hill is still sticking to the Horror genre, even though the main RE games and Dead Space have jumped ship. While some of the sidequests can be glitchy, sidequests are a very good step forward for the series. In addition, while the enemies could use some more variety, I appreciated that I always had to look over my shoulder and was often caught off guard. Twitchy, blobby monsters can only scare you for so long, and I liked that I couldn't just run around and safely club everything with a pipe like in SH2. This is definitely a worthy addition to the series, and you will find it very rewarding if you stick with it! Expand
  40. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    a major improvement .homecoming felt like a rape .while downpour feels like slient hill has not gone to **** the combat in the game is kinda fun . homecoming s combat was blocky bull**** .down pour the option to run is back . i spent hours playing it . i will argue with ign or any cocksucking **** that slient hill downpour is 1000 time s better then homecoming. down pour is thea major improvement .homecoming felt like a rape .while downpour feels like slient hill has not gone to **** the combat in the game is kinda fun . homecoming s combat was blocky bull**** .down pour the option to run is back . i spent hours playing it . i will argue with ign or any cocksucking **** that slient hill downpour is 1000 time s better then homecoming. down pour is the best western developed game. it shouldbe also the last . let japan do the rest. Expand
  41. Jun 12, 2014
    9
    waaay to underrated. this games is superb..the athmosphere is so great..story is will leave you a lot of questions after you finish the game..........9/10 from me
  42. Jul 29, 2014
    9
    Game is not as scary as some of the first games in the series, but the atmosphere is there.
    Dirty and bloody, not overly immersive as games tend to be nowadays.
    True Silent Hill mysterious plot. The best Silent Hill game since SH4, in terms of beign true to the original conepts. Very limited weapons force you to look for a rocks around you to defend yourself - brilliant! I've got
    Game is not as scary as some of the first games in the series, but the atmosphere is there.
    Dirty and bloody, not overly immersive as games tend to be nowadays.
    True Silent Hill mysterious plot.
    The best Silent Hill game since SH4, in terms of beign true to the original conepts.
    Very limited weapons force you to look for a rocks around you to defend yourself - brilliant!

    I've got mixed feelings when it comes to build quality. SH:D has some of the best exterior/interior design I've seen on X360, convincing characters. But on the other side - game is awfully laggy.
    Expand
  43. Nov 13, 2014
    9
    Silent Hill : Downpour is actually a great game. To me this game is VERY underrated. Sure, it does have frame rate issues, sure it has slow pacing,sure the monsters aren't quite scary, and most definitely boring soundtrack, but if you actually play through the whole game, you will discover extremely scary moments, frightening rooms and a lot of story points that can glue on the chair forSilent Hill : Downpour is actually a great game. To me this game is VERY underrated. Sure, it does have frame rate issues, sure it has slow pacing,sure the monsters aren't quite scary, and most definitely boring soundtrack, but if you actually play through the whole game, you will discover extremely scary moments, frightening rooms and a lot of story points that can glue on the chair for hours. Ignore IGN, the reviewer is talking absolute crap. This is the first Silent Hill game in years that actually is worthy of your attention. So finally, grab some friends, go to fullscreen, turn off the lights, and prepare to have the most frightening sensation of your life! Expand
  44. Mar 14, 2012
    0
    The Downpour review you have been looking for. I have yet to finish the game so this review will be continued at a later time regardless if I think it is bad or good. I still felt I needed to jump in here because some of the review here are terrible, this poor game is getting wounded by both the good and bad reviews. So, first off let me get who I am as a Silent Hill player out of the wayThe Downpour review you have been looking for. I have yet to finish the game so this review will be continued at a later time regardless if I think it is bad or good. I still felt I needed to jump in here because some of the review here are terrible, this poor game is getting wounded by both the good and bad reviews. So, first off let me get who I am as a Silent Hill player out of the way first. I have been playing Silent Hill since the original, I was there in 1999 when the game was first shown in gaming magazines and got a hold of the game instantly on release. I fell in love, and that love would grow through part 2,3, and even 4. Today I am the biggest Silent Hill fan I know, I study it, I am inspired by it, I barely go five minutes without it entering my mind. I am a creative type and everything I create connects to my inspiration of that foggy town in some way or another. I find Silent Hill 2 to be the greatest achievement in gaming even today. The game is so deep, poetic and complex that even some of its biggest fans arent even aware. The game manages to be so tightly paced, atmospheric and symbolic that one can easily miss it and view it as a boogeyman game, it is more than I think a game ever meant to be. The movie is horrible, Homecoming is a mess, Shattered Memories is good on its own merits as well as misunderstood, and Origins is decent. Now, Downpour. I have yet to finish like I said, and I am playing at the pace of a limping snail, simply to live in the wonderful town as long as I can. I am playing on normal difficulty with Puzzles set to hard. Thus far, the game is not a disappointment, and even more so is quite good. Coming from me that is remarkable, I am a hard ass critic and even more so when it comes to Silent Hill. I watch each installment close and judge it to death with every step and syllable of dialogue. Silent Hill 2 this is not, nor is it 1,3, and honestly so far not 4. But to be runner up to those titles...that is a huge accomplishment. Vatra worked hard on this and it shows. Creating a Silent Hill game is not like creating a Resident Evil game, with Silent Hill you have to bring new ideas to the table all the while throwing love to the fans and at the exact same time never ever crossing the line of too much or things that dont make sense (Pyramid Head). Downpour, thus far, has gotten this right. Its pace and atmosphere are delivering all while being a new experience in the series. It is eerie when played correctly and slow, its anthology pays a lot of respect to other Silent Hills even including comic book series (and the better comics to boot). It IS NOT perfect, no sir, but it is also not nearly as flawed as others are saying. I have had very little lag or texture problems but I do know they are there, it is true. The graphics while good are disappointing by Silent Hill standards. I use to dream of what it would one day look like on Ps3 and well, Downpour is not it, but it still is a good looking game. Now to the combat, this is important, very important. The Combat IS JUST FINE. True, I mean that. It is stiff yes, odd at times yes, difficult, and can leave you wishing you had just ran. Guess what? All intentional, all effective. It is survival horror in all its beauty. I know this 2012, I know this is the modern gaming generation but who cares? The modern generation feeds us Resident Evil 5, Dead Space, and Left 4 Dead. Now dont get me wrong, Dead Space is great and even scary but it is not Survival Horror. It is just a scary action game. Honestly only three games in recent years qualify as Survival Horror in true form. They are Siren: Blood Curse, Amnesia, and now Downpour. It is true Survival Horror where flight always wins over fight. Murphy screams "get away from me!" in pure fear at times when running from the most ordinary of Downpours foes. This is Survival Horror, and if you dont understand that or cant except it then maybe this game is not for you. Picture swinging a pick axe at something the size of your garage door in your face, you would swing like a little girl, much like Murphy. Downpour will have trouble keeping up amongst its modern horror peers which is sad because it honestly outdoes nearly all of them. Please keep an eye out, if you wish, for my follow up as soon as I complete the game and give my more direct review, it should also be far shorter. If you are reading this line I thank you very kindly. Here is to hoping the rest of Downpour is as good as its early stages are. Currently 8 or so out of 10. Collapse
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. Jun 15, 2012
    50
    Silent Hill fans desperate to find any good left in the series will be relieved to know that Silent Hill: Downpour is a step up from 2008's forgettable Homecoming, but Konami seems to be trapped in some horrifying nightmare of its own design.
  2. May 15, 2012
    65
    Developer Vatra clearly has a fondness for the material and they've tried to address some of the series' more nagging issues with varying degrees of success. There are moments in Downpour that genuinely work and showcase what this franchise could be with a little more TLC. Unfortunately, there are still rough patches to be smoothed over and kinks to be worked out in subsequent sequels-but here's to hoping Vatra gets another crack at it.
  3. May 11, 2012
    80
    Even despite its flaws, Silent Hill: Downpour manages to scare and entertain the living hell out of me. Change isn't always bad, especially for a town so devoted to change its visitors as Silent Hill. [May 2012]