Silent Hill: Downpour Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 277 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The survival horror experience begins after a prison transport vehicle careens off the road, leaving lone inmate Murphy Pendleton stranded in Silent Hill. Gamers will encounter mind-bending puzzles, as well as horrific creatures and other world terrors using everyday objects from woodenThe survival horror experience begins after a prison transport vehicle careens off the road, leaving lone inmate Murphy Pendleton stranded in Silent Hill. Gamers will encounter mind-bending puzzles, as well as horrific creatures and other world terrors using everyday objects from wooden chairs to glass bottles to fend off their enemies. The natural response, fight or flight is left to the player as they unravel a dark, thought-provoking storyline which will appeal to fans of the early, classic Silent Hill series, as well as anyone who enjoys a deep, psychological horror experience. In addition to the main storyline, players will also be presented with variable side quests along the way that can change depending on their play style, revealing unknown evils within the town. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
E3 2011: Konami Pre E3 Press Conference Silent Hill: Downpour Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. Mar 28, 2012
    85
    Even with an upsetting frame rate and poorly implemented combat, Silent Hill: Downpour is the best we've seen in years. I enjoyed Shattered Memories, but that felt more like a slightly interactive story than a video game, whereas Downpour lets you explore Silent Hill in a way that hasn't been seen since Silent Hill 3.
  2. Apr 10, 2012
    80
    Perhaps the largest compliment we can bestow is that it feels very old school, like a spiritual remake of Silent Hill rather than a bold new statement.
  3. Mar 16, 2012
    76
    It's quite possible to enjoy the game's story, characters and eerie ambience. But just how long are you prepared to endure through an experience riddled with problems, from clumsy combat mechanics, serious freezing and screen tearing, as well as other glitches.
  4. 70
    Downpour is an engrossing, eerie play, but it's simultaneously empowered and constrained by its necromantic heritage. There are two sides to every Silent Hill, and like every studio since Team Silent, Vatra hasn't brought enough to the party.
  5. 70
    The mood is eerie enough, but the enemy design could have been better.
  6. May 15, 2012
    65
    Developer Vatra clearly has a fondness for the material and they've tried to address some of the series' more nagging issues with varying degrees of success. There are moments in Downpour that genuinely work and showcase what this franchise could be with a little more TLC. Unfortunately, there are still rough patches to be smoothed over and kinks to be worked out in subsequent sequels-but here's to hoping Vatra gets another crack at it.
  7. Mar 14, 2012
    45
    An unfun, disappointing experience.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 92
  2. Negative: 7 out of 92
  1. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    The "otherworld" sequences seem properly nightmarish and psychedelic given the aimless wandering, redundant puzzle-solving, and bafflingThe "otherworld" sequences seem properly nightmarish and psychedelic given the aimless wandering, redundant puzzle-solving, and baffling dialogue of the "regular" game. Expand
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Silent hill Downpour still a good game. Not the best in the series, but still a game to pick up and play all the way through. story is good,Silent hill Downpour still a good game. Not the best in the series, but still a game to pick up and play all the way through. story is good, get a few scares here and there. the Voice acting is really good and prob the best in the series, it don't seem cheesy and everyone's voice seems to match up just right, Monsters are on the lame side a little bit, but i am happy they didn't Reuse all the monsters from Silent hill 2 and 3 got tired of seeing EVERY monster in the same game. Story is good and i liked this one better then Homecoming. Controls suck BUT its silent hill ALL silent hill games controls suck. Combat is the same way but this is not a Combat game, i see your suppose to RUN from the monsters not stand there and take on 3 at a time. dont come into this game thinking your guy is a MMA fighter or was in the marines or something that is what i see all the bad reviews are for is the bad combat your guy is not a fighter as in all silent hills your just a avg joe

    reason why i gave it a 8 is because of the monsters (could of been cooler buy hey this is vatra first game so i cut them some slack)
    Expand
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    It's safe to go back silent hill! Downpour feels very similar to the original silent hill games in that the creepy atmosphere is veryIt's safe to go back silent hill! Downpour feels very similar to the original silent hill games in that the creepy atmosphere is very terrifying, the puzzles are actually challenging, exploration is more prominent, etc. This game is so good I'm actually going to go so far as to say it rivals the third game in my opinion. Get it now! Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    What I consider to be the best in the series since the original trilogy. It may not be perfect and leaves a lot to be desired in some areas,What I consider to be the best in the series since the original trilogy. It may not be perfect and leaves a lot to be desired in some areas, but it's definitely a step in the right direction. Instead of focusing all on one type of gameplay, this one gathers all the best aspects of each game and works them in harmony with each other, the result in my opinion is a fun and well balanced game. not only does it take gameplay mechanics from each of the earlier games, it improves on them as well. The controls and combat system are like origins but much less annoying and more responsive... plus you can't carry 40 TVs in your pocket. The otherworld and chase sequences are much more intense and effective than in shattered memories. The story is great, although I felt some of the characters don't appear enough. The monsters, while they are symbolic, for the most part are kind of lame and generic, unfortunately. The graphics are awesome, exploration is fun and well thought out, the addition of sidequests is nice and they never break you from the overall mood, except for maybe one of them. I really enjoyed this game and hope they take notes from it for the next game. It's still pretty far from the nature of the originals, but this one hits the closest in comparison to the others since 4. Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2012
    8
    I just finished downpour and the story is still with me. Playing this game made me have nightmares but it was one hellava fun time playingI just finished downpour and the story is still with me. Playing this game made me have nightmares but it was one hellava fun time playing through this. The story begins with a shocking scene that I won't ruin for you but its uncomfortable to play through which sets the tone for the rest of the game. Silent hill feels more the way it did in silent hill 2, feeling isolated and alone . Atmosphere is top notch and you can easily lose yourself in this environment both literally and figuratively which adds a little to the frustration but hardcore gamers will be ok with it. In a nod to old school silent hill the map is a must and exploration becomes key. There are also side quests that have very interesting stories behind them. The game is glitched however so be sure to install a patch through xbox live. One such glitch actually ended my game and I had to start over. The biggest dissappointment for me was the lack of different monsters . I got tired of fighting the same crazy lady over and over again. The story however makes up for the lack of enemy variety and the immersion and entertainment this game provides is worth your hardearned money just leave the lights on! Expand
  6. Feb 17, 2015
    7
    Although having several issues with frame rate, freezing and clunky combat it is very easy to look over them and get drawn into the great andAlthough having several issues with frame rate, freezing and clunky combat it is very easy to look over them and get drawn into the great and eerie story which is the first in a long time for the Silent Hill franchise. Expand
  7. Apr 23, 2014
    0
    This game is atrocious as a Silent Hill sequel, and incredibly boring and not in the slightest bit frightening as a stand alone horror game.This game is atrocious as a Silent Hill sequel, and incredibly boring and not in the slightest bit frightening as a stand alone horror game. The monster design is lazy and uninspired. The score is woefully underused. The recycling of existing vocal tracks from real world sources instead of using new performances is both lazy and jarring. The majority of the puzzles are overly simplistic. Many scenes in the game are directly ripped off from other games. This includes the plot which is a poorly executed rehash of Silent Hill 2 that adds nothing to the overall mythos of the franchise. And the downpour aspect of the game has such a tenuous connection to the game itself as be nearly irrelevant. Expand

See all 92 User Reviews