Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 240 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The survival horror experience begins after a prison transport vehicle careens off the road, leaving lone inmate Murphy Pendleton stranded in Silent Hill. Gamers will encounter mind-bending puzzles, as well as horrific creatures and other world terrors using everyday objects from woodenThe survival horror experience begins after a prison transport vehicle careens off the road, leaving lone inmate Murphy Pendleton stranded in Silent Hill. Gamers will encounter mind-bending puzzles, as well as horrific creatures and other world terrors using everyday objects from wooden chairs to glass bottles to fend off their enemies. The natural response, fight or flight is left to the player as they unravel a dark, thought-provoking storyline which will appeal to fans of the early, classic Silent Hill series, as well as anyone who enjoys a deep, psychological horror experience. In addition to the main storyline, players will also be presented with variable side quests along the way that can change depending on their play style, revealing unknown evils within the town. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. Mar 28, 2012
    85
    Even with an upsetting frame rate and poorly implemented combat, Silent Hill: Downpour is the best we've seen in years. I enjoyed Shattered Memories, but that felt more like a slightly interactive story than a video game, whereas Downpour lets you explore Silent Hill in a way that hasn't been seen since Silent Hill 3.
  2. Apr 10, 2012
    80
    Perhaps the largest compliment we can bestow is that it feels very old school, like a spiritual remake of Silent Hill rather than a bold new statement.
  3. Mar 16, 2012
    76
    It's quite possible to enjoy the game's story, characters and eerie ambience. But just how long are you prepared to endure through an experience riddled with problems, from clumsy combat mechanics, serious freezing and screen tearing, as well as other glitches.
  4. 70
    Downpour is an engrossing, eerie play, but it's simultaneously empowered and constrained by its necromantic heritage. There are two sides to every Silent Hill, and like every studio since Team Silent, Vatra hasn't brought enough to the party.
  5. 70
    The mood is eerie enough, but the enemy design could have been better.
  6. May 15, 2012
    65
    Developer Vatra clearly has a fondness for the material and they've tried to address some of the series' more nagging issues with varying degrees of success. There are moments in Downpour that genuinely work and showcase what this franchise could be with a little more TLC. Unfortunately, there are still rough patches to be smoothed over and kinks to be worked out in subsequent sequels-but here's to hoping Vatra gets another crack at it.
  7. Mar 14, 2012
    45
    An unfun, disappointing experience.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 90
  2. Negative: 7 out of 90
  1. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    It's safe to go back silent hill! Downpour feels very similar to the original silent hill games in that the creepy atmosphere is veryIt's safe to go back silent hill! Downpour feels very similar to the original silent hill games in that the creepy atmosphere is very terrifying, the puzzles are actually challenging, exploration is more prominent, etc. This game is so good I'm actually going to go so far as to say it rivals the third game in my opinion. Get it now! Expand
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Silent Hill Downpour is a very great one it's the only game that made me in my pant and made me cry for it's painful story it learns us howSilent Hill Downpour is a very great one it's the only game that made me in my pant and made me cry for it's painful story it learns us how to live I finished every silent hill game. Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    I agree with Milhan. This game kicks ass. I like IGN but I'd definitely punch them in the **** nose cause Resident Evil is obviously payingI agree with Milhan. This game kicks ass. I like IGN but I'd definitely punch them in the **** nose cause Resident Evil is obviously paying them bribes. Which they wouldn't have to if they didn't produce garbage like RE5 and Racoon City.... Give me a **** break RE6, I've lost all faith... holding out for a remake of RE 1-3. Silent hill is still as bright and true. Kicks Ass! Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    Great game, i just loved the addition of secondaries objectives, all of them are great to solve and adds a lot to the length and fun of thisGreat game, i just loved the addition of secondaries objectives, all of them are great to solve and adds a lot to the length and fun of this game. Murphy for me its a great character you really feel his emotions. Im a fan of silent hill games and after the deception caused by Homecoming this game is a wonderful surprise, silent hill is back people!!! Expand
  5. Mar 13, 2012
    8
    Silent hill: Downpour is great, the environments you can explore, the combat is way better & more responsive than any other game in theSilent hill: Downpour is great, the environments you can explore, the combat is way better & more responsive than any other game in the series, (don't expect to call in AC130's or combat knife people in one hit) and you'll be pleased with the result. The only real downfall with this game, and it's really annoying, but hides away at some points, is the stuttering. By this I mean that while accessing a new area the game will some times stop for a moments time, freeze, or jump around to kind of load things up. Still, you should try it. Expand
  6. Feb 17, 2015
    7
    Although having several issues with frame rate, freezing and clunky combat it is very easy to look over them and get drawn into the great andAlthough having several issues with frame rate, freezing and clunky combat it is very easy to look over them and get drawn into the great and eerie story which is the first in a long time for the Silent Hill franchise. Expand
  7. Apr 23, 2014
    0
    This game is atrocious as a Silent Hill sequel, and incredibly boring and not in the slightest bit frightening as a stand alone horror game.This game is atrocious as a Silent Hill sequel, and incredibly boring and not in the slightest bit frightening as a stand alone horror game. The monster design is lazy and uninspired. The score is woefully underused. The recycling of existing vocal tracks from real world sources instead of using new performances is both lazy and jarring. The majority of the puzzles are overly simplistic. Many scenes in the game are directly ripped off from other games. This includes the plot which is a poorly executed rehash of Silent Hill 2 that adds nothing to the overall mythos of the franchise. And the downpour aspect of the game has such a tenuous connection to the game itself as be nearly irrelevant. Expand

See all 90 User Reviews