Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
Buy On
  1. 70
    Nostalgic fans are likely to enjoy it, but by modern standards, these games lack cohesion and are flawed in such ways that new players probably won't.
  2. Apr 21, 2012
    70
    New players who haven't played these before should certainly give this compilation a shot, but those who have played these before would be better served by playing on the older systems instead.
  3. Mar 27, 2012
    70
    Silent Hill HD Collection includes two of the best games ever. It's not the perfect conversion it should have been, but it delivers great fun for both classic and new gamers.
  4. 70
    Silent Hill HD Collection is hardly well-rounded, but its tense manipulation of mood still rattles all the right nerves. [Apr 2012, p.62]
  5. Apr 10, 2012
    50
    This is neither HD or a collection but rather an example of what will become of our dearly beloved pearls of the past if we let the collection hysteria go too far.
  6. Mar 30, 2012
    50
    I donĀ“t know if this botched port can at least in some ways be fixed by patches and it seems, that the PS3 got it even worse. Be that as it may, the way Konami presents these classics is neither a favor to itself nor the franchise.
  7. Mar 30, 2012
    50
    We really should expect better treatment for titles of this calibre. Nothing better sums up the sheer laziness of it all than a glaring typo scrolling past in the new credits.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 31
  2. Negative: 11 out of 31
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    3
    Played on the PS3

    This review doesn't reflect on the Silent Hill games which are classics, but the shoddy treatment Konami has put into them.
    Played on the PS3

    This review doesn't reflect on the Silent Hill games which are classics, but the shoddy treatment Konami has put into them. From glitches such as sound not syncing up, to the HD sheen removing the atmospheric fog (mainly the ps3 version due to its difficulty rendering translucent textures.) As for the voice acting scenario at least Silent hill 2 has the option to play with the original cast which in my opinion are superb. Something about the new actors rubs me the wrong way.However its a shame that the option to switch is not available in 3 for several reasons. Douglas just sounds like a generic gruff detective and Heather's voice actress is going through the numbers.

    Overall this reeks of a rushed job and if you have the option I'd stick with the classic games. A shame really as I was hoping for a remake as good as Metal Gear and the Ico and Shadow of the Colossus Collection.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    If you played silent hill 2 and 3 and liked them this is a auto 10, if you thought they were good before pretty much they just got better withIf you played silent hill 2 and 3 and liked them this is a auto 10, if you thought they were good before pretty much they just got better with the graphics update, hands down buy this! plus its only 40$ which just makes it 20 times better, if your new to silent hill and are a newer gamer (as in you started playing games on Xbox 360 and ps3 gen) then this is prob not for you as these are old Xbox and Ps2 games and made to be a nostalgia effect on us who grew up with the silent hill series


    i dont see how you guys are saying there is glitch's not once in my game i played i did not see one glitch.... i installed my game to HDD idk if that helped or something but i heard the PS3 had a big glitch in it
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 28, 2012
    0
    What seems like a MONTH of QUICK CASH IN FOR KONAMI VIA SILENT HILL FRANCHISE RAPE (SH Downpour , Silent Hill "kinda" HD and the horrible andWhat seems like a MONTH of QUICK CASH IN FOR KONAMI VIA SILENT HILL FRANCHISE RAPE (SH Downpour , Silent Hill "kinda" HD and the horrible and multiplayer centric SH Book of Memories) come crashing down in flames! HOw SAD..... Full Review »