Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 54
  2. Negative: 1 out of 54
  1. 95
    A true heir, lovingly crafted with the same psychological intensity as its predescessors while improving on their weak combat controls. All but the most closed-minded afficionados are sure to embrace it and savvy marketing by Konami could expand the fan base.
  2. Fans of the series are sure to be pleased, as well as spooked, by the expected, yet unexpected twists the plot takes as Alex searches for his missing brother and father. Newcomers will also appreciate the ability to pick up the game without needing to know the full history of the franchise, but some may feel a bit overwhelmed if they aren’t prepared for what the Silent Hill experience has to offer.
  3. The folks at Double Helix gave me the Silent Hill I wanted: a nerve-racking, scary as hell experience to hold me over this Halloween season. Any fan of Silent Hill should be checking this out, and anyone just needing a good scare can join in the Homecoming.
  4. All in all, Silent Hill: Homecoming is a successful entry to the series. Even though it doesn’t do anything spectacularly new in terms of the franchise or the genre, it does do the old ways justice.
  5. Homecoming shows a significant improvement over the franchise’s last console outing, but there’s still work to be done.
  6. Silent Hill: Homecoming is no queen, then, but there's more than enough about Double Helix's first go-around with the series that I can heartily recommend it to any gamer with an appetite for a genuinely creepy hybrid of survival horror old and new.
  7. Unless you've got nerves of steel, this game will at least send chills up your spine and at most scare the crap out of you. Sure, it feels similar to its predecessors, but the familiar mechanics and scares still give us hours of monster bashing fun.
  8. If you are a fan of the Silent Hill franchise then Silent Hill: Homecoming is a must buy title.
  9. Silent Hill Homecoming brings more action to the Silent Hill series and does a good job at blending it together with what we have come to expect
  10. Silent Hill: Homecoming will not disappoint in quality, whether you’re returning traditionalists or even a curious newcomer, Silent Hill: Homecoming is an honorable addition to a defining franchise.
  11. 80
    Thankfully, the game manages to be worth more than the sum of its parts. The controls are the best they've ever been, and combat is actually tolerable this time. That said, you're still better off avoiding fights whenever possible, especially during the few annoying sections that continually respawn creatures.
  12. Solid but over familiar, Silent Hill is a town in need of some redevelopment. [Feb 2009, p.74]
  13. There are definitely some faults to this game, but it is overall an enjoyable experience. Double Helix Games is a mish-mash of multiple companies and is overall very new to the video game industry so the faults are no surprise.
  14. A mediocre take on survival horror genre, and sadly not very impressive debut for the series on new console generation. We've seen these puzzles and these fighting mechanics already in dozen different games of the same genre. The hellish visions of Otherworld evoke good horror feelings, but they're soon dragged to ground by far too frequent fights which become more or less routine after few first encounters. [Mar 2009]
  15. Silent Hill Homecoming delivers one of the few solid survival horror experiences on the system. The genre used to see a release a month, and gamers are lucky now to get two a year. Homecoming’s great story calls for a rebirth of the genre, even if the gameplay occasionally does not.
  16. The development team has played it safe, delivering a game that maintains the status quo. It will make fans giddy, but those without preconceived notions will find it to be a bit clunky and growing long in the tooth.
  17. Silent Hill: Homecoming is just an enjoyable horror game but, at this time, its also the best Survival Horror of the present generation of consoles. Easy combat, classic puzzles and extraordinary atmosphere for a game that obviously needed a deeper, not so simple, gameplay.
  18. Homecoming doesn't recapture the essence of the Konami-developed games. The action-oriented approach leaves players with an awkward camera and less impressive plot, but the game is still enjoyable in its own way.
  19. 75
    Viewed as a standalone title, Silent Hill: Homecoming is extremely competent, but as a sequel, it falls short of progressing the series in any meaningful way.
  20. Despite its flaws, we have to say we have a more than decent title here, heir to a legacy of classic survival horror elements and an example of what Silent Hill should be in this generation. Although the final result is not so awesome, this is a good opportunity to return to that silent village.
  21. American developer Double Helix has managed to stick its landing—right in the uneasy, dark parts of the mind that define the Silent Hill experience.
  22. Imagine the L.A. skyline during rush hour, condensed into the perimeter of a city block, and you have a good idea of how thick the trademark fog has become.
  23. 75
    Double Helix has stayed true to the series' foundation while also taking steps in a brave new direction; they've crafted a tale that stands well within franchise lore, and they've produced horrifically beautiful environments, occasional framerate drops aside. If Double Helix learns from their mistakes here -- combat balance being the most glaring issue -- their future work could rival the series' best.
  24. Workable horror, but missing some charm. [Mar 2009, p.86]
  25. Despite these impressive production values, Homecoming ultimately fails to achieve greatness.
  26. Guaranteed to make you jump at least once. [Issue#40, p.78]
  27. Yeah, it’s alright, especially if you’re new to the series or just want to play something that spreads on your bread like ‘I-Can’t Believe-It’s-Not-Silent-Hill-2.’ The monsters are great, the combat is workable and the mystery is intriguing. But if you’ve ever played a survival horror game then chances are you’ve already played this, down to the last ‘put strange object in bizarre vaginal slot’ puzzle. As with Hollywood’s trend for remaking J-horror movies, fans may well prefer to fondly remember the original instead.
  28. Silent Hill: Homecoming is without doubt a good game, but it is let down by little problems here and there. The plot twists are generally quite easy to see coming but at least keep you interested, although the deviation from the original Silent Hill games will annoy a lot of people.
  29. For pure chilling atmosphere, Silent Hill still succeeds with strong plotting and disturbing art direction. Few games can creep you out and leave you thinking about their story after the credits have rolled as much as Silent Hill can and the latest title is no exception. It’s a good game, there’s no doubt, but you just feel this Homecoming is perhaps a few years too late.
  30. It never hits its stride, never find that sweet spot that makes for that great edge-of-your-seat survival horror experience.
  31. 70
    While it does change a lot as far as combat is concerned it feels more like a traditional Silent Hill title than the last few efforts.
  32. 70
    Scary it mightn’t be, but it’s compelling, unsettling and engaging in its own familiar, anachronistic way.
  33. If you are a survival horror fan or just a Silent Hill fan you will enjoy this game and it would be worth the buy, but it is not a scary game, at least for me. If you are new to the Silent Hill franchise, just rent this one as it is not a good starter for the series. If you want to be scared, Dead Space is your best bet or Siren on the PS3.
  34. 70
    Silent Hill: Homecoming is a very strange game, as its dual nature and oddly unsatisfying gameplay could likely turn both fans and newcomers away.
  35. The lack of horror in the game does not technically make it bad; it just makes it not what is typically expected from a game marked with the Survival horror genre tag.
  36. An okay-looking action game. [Apr 2009, p.90]
  37. A good compromise between modern survival-horror trends and the genre's classical elements, with consequent pros and cons. We mainly recommend it to Silent Hill fans, but it's also enjoyable as a stand-alone good psycho-thriller story, granted that you are willing to close an eye on the visual aspect and the tricky shooting.
  38. 67
    The game feels like a bit of a letdown. The gameplay has been reduced from a tense psychological experience fraught with spine tingling jumps and scares to a generic, predictable action title set in the location with good graphics and a great soundtrack.
  39. While it doesn't top Silent Hill 2 or 3, I'll still be proud to add it to my collection. [Nov 2008, p.72]
  40. It was the game's storyline and characters that captured me versus the suspense this time around, but that didn't make the game any less enjoyable for me.
  41. Eye-catching visuals and creepy atmosphere aren't enough to make up for this game's poor pacing, cheap tricks, and muddled story.
  42. Fans will probably dig the game’s cool set pieces and the story, but the save points are placed too far apart, many puzzles require too much random experimentation, and the dialogue system seems like an afterthought.
  43. From its leaden, cheap-shots-aplenty combat to its wild-goose chase through gray, same-y hallways filled with useless, placebo doorways to a story that takes much too long to get off the ground, its entire first half feels like a death march through a clunky hot mess. [Nov 2008, p.73]
  44. 65
    Ultimately, I enjoyed Silent Hill: Homecoming a great deal. Probably more than the game itself deserved. Its main problems are not related to any initial suspicions that the series would be weaker due to its westernization, and whilst its approach is clearly more striking and shocking than the tense subtleties of its forebears, its engaging storyline and well thought out settings help allay any frustrations towards games shortcomings.
  45. In the end Silent Hill Homecoming is as mad as a bag of spiders, the look and feel alone will chill you, but just like most scary games and films the story falls flat.
  46. Sticks to the Silent Hill formula like glue. But Homecoming feels clunky and looks old compared to today's horror games.
  47. The resolutely linear nature of the gameplay, as well, is a throwback. There are so many possibilities for a Silent Hill game set in a more expansive environment with multiple threads running concurrently, with a more fleshed-out cast, but that's never the case here.
  48. 60
    Not so much Silent Hill returning home as Silent Hill rooting through its own garbage. A polished but utterly complacent slab of survival horror.
  49. Homecoming is an assured and welcome entry into the series that will be appreciated by fans of survival horror, though to gamers unfamiliar with the ways of Silent Hill, it may come across as slightly anachronistic in the face of such efficiently tooled thrill-rides as Dead Space.
  50. 60
    If survival horror is your bread and butter, then Homecoming is right up your alley; otherwise, you might be better served waiting for Resident Evil 5.
  51. It’s decent survival horror, but Silent Hill fans will be disappointed.
  52. Most devotees openly proclaim they like the game because they wanted to, not because it actually deserves it. [Feb 2009, p.108]
  53. It’s a game whose flaws consistently work against its plusses. The atmosphere is brilliant as always, the scoring and sound effects magnificent (better than ever, perhaps) – but with this latest effort, which definitely falls short, I wonder if it isn’t time for Konami to consider an overhaul of Resident Evil 4 proportions.
  54. A shadow of one of the former masters of survival horror, that is better equipped to bore than scare.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 151 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47
  1. Jan 20, 2012
    9
    So far I'm absolutely loving this game. It got below par reviews and I have no idea why. It's the closest to the original so far - in the way that it feels less 'linear' as you run around town looking for clues etc. The graphics are excellent and the story is pretty decent too. The only thing that niggles me slightly is the fact that now and again the music becomes noticably 'un-scary.' Full Review »
  2. Mar 29, 2011
    8
    Definitely a case where internet preconceptions steered me wrong. Silent Hill: Homecoming is a solid title that stands on its own as an individual and unique step into the SH universe, just as Silent Hill 2 branched off with a separate story from the main canon. The gameplay is changed for the better, giving the player the ability to actually get a close 360 degree view of his/her surroundings, which are rich with abandoned structure detail and hellish red industrial descents. The story is kind of laid bare but nonetheless creeped me the hell out with the reasons for each boss's incredible and horrific designs revealed throughout. Enemies are more formidable, but not so strong as to turn Homecoming into a typical action game and not so pathetic as to wait to get hit by a wooden plank a couple times and fall dead. Some of the substance and creeping dread of the series was removed, but the style and imagery was certainly not spared, despite lifting some elements from the film. Wonderful game. Full Review »
  3. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    This game is like marmite for silent hill fans some love it, some hate it, while i hate marmite i love this game but tbh i love every silent hill game and if i compared every one this would be the weakest to save rambling on i will just write a list of pros and cons
    PROS:
    it's silent hill for next gen
    the graphics are good coupled vit physics
    the enemy AI was good and liked that if you accidently knocked somthing over it would alert them
    story was good in my opinion
    combat was nice and understandable as the protagonist is not a everyman but was in the army
    the schisms and siams @ times scared the S**t out of me
    multiple endings as usual and some of them are decent

    CONS:
    puzzles felt weak in my opinion
    scares felt cheap at times and there were rarely moments of panic apart from the a couple of locations and this would of been partly contributed by select in the hard difficulty
    soon enimies are easily dispatched and exploitable apart from the schism
    also the schism was quite unfair to fight because of a ceartin attack it has

    other than those minor points there is plenty to love even though i wish team silent would reform as i prefer the originals
    Full Review »