Silent Hill: Homecoming Xbox 360

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 180 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 180
  2. Negative: 29 out of 180
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JackS.
    Sep 30, 2008
    7
    Awseome graphics but slow an poor history.. its quite notorious that is made by U.S. not by japanese people.. beto loves japanese people.. and le masca el pene..
  2. Mar 24, 2011
    6
    This game is punishingly hard, focuses too heavily on puzzles, and has a story that takes far too long to get going. The first half of the game is just visiting locations AROUND silent hill (if it doesn't take place in silent hill, then why call it silent hill?) and passing out into strange acid trips that involve some kind of hell prison. The second half of the game isn't so bad, beingThis game is punishingly hard, focuses too heavily on puzzles, and has a story that takes far too long to get going. The first half of the game is just visiting locations AROUND silent hill (if it doesn't take place in silent hill, then why call it silent hill?) and passing out into strange acid trips that involve some kind of hell prison. The second half of the game isn't so bad, being more forgiving and eventful, but I really have to wonder what the literal hell the designers thought they were doing when they designed the first half. I would recommend this game to the most loyal silent hill fans and no one else. It does get good towards the end, but you REALLY have to work to get there. Expand
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    6
    Silent Hill: Homecoming is not necessarily a bad game,I just do not recommend it for purchase or for rent.I think it's a mediocre game with some positive elements but with many flaws!!!!!!
  4. Jun 12, 2011
    6
    This Silent HIll is worked more around fighting the monsters than running away, and that really is what ruined it. It lacks any real scares, and though the story can hold well on its own and there's some decent psychological aspects behind it, it really is the worst game in the series. Compared to the other Silent Hills, this is like a ghost story you tell around a campfire than an actualThis Silent HIll is worked more around fighting the monsters than running away, and that really is what ruined it. It lacks any real scares, and though the story can hold well on its own and there's some decent psychological aspects behind it, it really is the worst game in the series. Compared to the other Silent Hills, this is like a ghost story you tell around a campfire than an actual nightmare. The other thing is this game is extremely short. I beat it in a matter of an hour, which really is extremely short! I also unlocked every achievement the same day I got it without breaking a sweat. It really is an easy game, even on its hardest difficulty, and the combat mechanics, though difficult at first, result in the game being more of an action game than survival horror. It tries to humor the movie rather than the actual story of the series and the inclusion of Pyramid Head - though different looking than he is in the movie and in SH2, still was out of line. The loss of fixed camera angles is a also a turn down and the atmosphere (which is an important part of the Silent Hill series) is pretty much gone. This is the first Silent Hill in the series I've played, and even when I first got it, I found it disappointing. Collapse
  5. May 28, 2012
    6
    This game just didn't deliver for me. Creepy enemies, but controls were frustrating.
  6. May 31, 2012
    6
    It's pretty decent as a game on it's own, but even as a silent hill title I was never all that thrilled about it. From the trailers and screenshots I thought it looked pretty generic. I liked it more than I thought I would but it's still one of my least favorites in the series. The story is well told and acted for the most part but there are a few noticable plot holes I can't overlook. OneIt's pretty decent as a game on it's own, but even as a silent hill title I was never all that thrilled about it. From the trailers and screenshots I thought it looked pretty generic. I liked it more than I thought I would but it's still one of my least favorites in the series. The story is well told and acted for the most part but there are a few noticable plot holes I can't overlook. One of my biggest problems with this game is how much it shamelessly borrows from the movie and brandishes everything like it's supposed to be canonical to the game series. Sorry guys, we're smarter than that. Also Double Helix studios wanted to make homecoming a trilogy and you better thank the lucky stars that never happened. I've heard about the plot they had in mind... if you think homecoming is bad now, you haven't seen anything, I'll just say that much. Anyway Homecoming wasn't without it's strengths so it's not a total loss. Most of the boss battles are really well done and are some of the best parts of the game. Akira Yamaoka was still on board for the soundtrack. The atmosphere is great in most areas, but unfortunately it falls flat in others for some reason. I hated the prison area, it reminded me way too much of Nova Prospekt. Don't get me wrong, I love Half Life 2 but this is silent hill, not city 17. The puzzles for the most part are pointless and the only good one is toward the end. All in all, it's alright but doesn't reach even close to the thought and love that went into the first few games. Expand
  7. RhettT.
    Oct 2, 2008
    5
    Clumsy controls, buggy encounters, a poorly implemented shooting system, and lack-luster voice acting seriously detract from an otherwise compelling addition to the Silent Hill franchise.
  8. CalebH
    Dec 5, 2008
    6
    Silent Hill Homecoming is the 6th installment in the world-renowned horror series Silent Hill. The simple mission of SHH is to take you back to where it all began. Does it bring back beautiful memories or disturbing images of the past or both? My venture into the world of Silent Hill began in 2003 at my grandmother
  9. CrankyI.
    Oct 5, 2008
    7
    All the comments thus far have rung true for me. the game is far more action oriented, but maintains the psychological oppressiveness of past games. my problem is this... i use an inverted camera, and there is NO option to use it on release. i believe a patch is planned, but this sort of asinine omission is something to keep in mind if your are an inverted aimer, and have yet to give All the comments thus far have rung true for me. the game is far more action oriented, but maintains the psychological oppressiveness of past games. my problem is this... i use an inverted camera, and there is NO option to use it on release. i believe a patch is planned, but this sort of asinine omission is something to keep in mind if your are an inverted aimer, and have yet to give double helix your cash. there is an option to "aim" with inverted controls, but it does not affect any weapons except guns, and it is even more confusing having to switch back to invert for just a few weapons, like 1% of the time, in the most crucial moments. fortunately, there is a madcatz controller for the 360 that has an inverted analog option, and i plan on picking it up today, but you might want to figure in the extra $25 for it with the entry price to silent hill if you are an inverter... till they patch it. although the game is fantastic, for me, playing this game is a NAUSEATING experience, based around looking at my shoes, followed by looking at the ceiling. i spend so much time concentrating on the camera, that it COMPLETELY takes me out of the game. i never get motion sickness playing games, but i am getting close with this. FAIR WARNING TO ALL INVERTERS! Expand
  10. AramisG
    Oct 15, 2008
    5
    I made it all the way to the sewers when a "glitch" forced me to restart the game from scratch. This wouldn't have been the end of the world if Homecoming wasn't such a blah Silent Hill. Even worse than encountering a game ending glitch is the combat system. Every enemy becomes a drag to encounter. Instead of being scary enemies become more an issue of chore management and timed I made it all the way to the sewers when a "glitch" forced me to restart the game from scratch. This wouldn't have been the end of the world if Homecoming wasn't such a blah Silent Hill. Even worse than encountering a game ending glitch is the combat system. Every enemy becomes a drag to encounter. Instead of being scary enemies become more an issue of chore management and timed ducking. What were the developers thinking? It is really a shame too because some of the boss fights later in the game (asphyxia and end boss) are truly some of the scariest looking things in any Silent Hill game. Strike one (The Room), Strike two (Homecoming). Expand
  11. RandyM.
    Oct 8, 2008
    7
    Silent Hill, being one of my favorite game series, I came into Silent Hill: Homecoming hungry for a great horror experience and expecting improvement over the previous titles. What I got was a mixed experience. The controls, while innovative, make the game seem more like an action title rather than a horror game. The graphics were outstanding, but it got a little buggy while squaring off Silent Hill, being one of my favorite game series, I came into Silent Hill: Homecoming hungry for a great horror experience and expecting improvement over the previous titles. What I got was a mixed experience. The controls, while innovative, make the game seem more like an action title rather than a horror game. The graphics were outstanding, but it got a little buggy while squaring off with some of the monsters. (Particularly the Smog creature) The story was ok, but I was hugely disappointed in the endings and it seemed all too similiar to Silent Hill 2. My final verdict? As a Silent Hill fan, you'll most likely enjoy it, much as I did. If you can look past the unoriginal storyline and buggy gameplay. Expand
  12. Will
    Oct 16, 2009
    5
    This game is WAY too dark. Apparently the developers of this game decided that dark=scary, because it was almost impossible to see anything half the time. I had to turn the brightness setting of my TV to full, and then everything just looked washed out.. also, the ammo/item distribution stinks. You don't not get enough supplies for the amount of enemies. The game is too short. The This game is WAY too dark. Apparently the developers of this game decided that dark=scary, because it was almost impossible to see anything half the time. I had to turn the brightness setting of my TV to full, and then everything just looked washed out.. also, the ammo/item distribution stinks. You don't not get enough supplies for the amount of enemies. The game is too short. The puzzles are interesting: either they are way too hard or way too easy... none in the middle area. This game did not satisfy me. I really like the Silent Hill series, the 2nd being my favorite so far. Expand
  13. Mar 22, 2011
    7
    silent hill franchise is deffinitly is the frnchise that kicked off the real horror gaming style . its always been the best at creeping you out and keeping you on edge with its sound effects and music and creepy atmosphere . this one pretty much has alot of that but falls in some aspects . you really dont get much for guns and ammo . pretty much same gun selection with even less ammo thensilent hill franchise is deffinitly is the frnchise that kicked off the real horror gaming style . its always been the best at creeping you out and keeping you on edge with its sound effects and music and creepy atmosphere . this one pretty much has alot of that but falls in some aspects . you really dont get much for guns and ammo . pretty much same gun selection with even less ammo then the other games . the melee combat is very mixed . the story really didnt capture my attention much . the game also just feels old hat and with this being the 5th game in the series i think konami could have taken a greater chance at trying to reinvent the game . its still a decent game but this series needs a shot in the ass much like what capcom did with RE4 to revitalise its aging game . Expand
  14. May 2, 2013
    7
    Silent Hill: Homecoming is the fifth chapter in the saga of Silent Hill. The game has new features compared to the other chapters and have better graphics, a really interesting combat system, and the ability to interact with people choosing the speeches to say. The flaw is the plot of the game, however, quite poor and the fact that less afraid of the other chapters (and here we note thatSilent Hill: Homecoming is the fifth chapter in the saga of Silent Hill. The game has new features compared to the other chapters and have better graphics, a really interesting combat system, and the ability to interact with people choosing the speeches to say. The flaw is the plot of the game, however, quite poor and the fact that less afraid of the other chapters (and here we note that the game was made by the U.S. and not by the Japanese). At the end of the game is good although nothing exceptional. Expand
  15. Jun 19, 2014
    6
    Un buen juego de terror con ideas nuevas y frescas que modernizan un poco la serie. Lástima que el guión y los protagonistas no terminen de funcionar y sigan muy a la sombra de las primeras obras, que a día de hoy parecen ya insuperables. En cualquier caso una adaptación digna que sólo defraudará a los que siguen esperando un Silent Hill como los primeros.
  16. Mar 19, 2012
    6
    I'm a big survivor horror fan, and I did enjoy moments of this game. But in the end, it just wasn't for me. I found the story somewhat predictable, graphics average, and music irritating. Two of those three things were the main reasons that I played Silent Hill; things this game doesn't deliver.
  17. Sep 26, 2013
    7
    If anything, Homecoming's biggest flaw is that it follows the Silent Hill tried-and-true formula far too loyally. It feels exactly the the same as the games before it. Handles the same (combat has improved a little, but that isn't saying much.) Graphics are nice, soundtrack is awesome, story fits and suits the lore. If anything this is suppose to be the kind of game that fans want.

    So
    If anything, Homecoming's biggest flaw is that it follows the Silent Hill tried-and-true formula far too loyally. It feels exactly the the same as the games before it. Handles the same (combat has improved a little, but that isn't saying much.) Graphics are nice, soundtrack is awesome, story fits and suits the lore. If anything this is suppose to be the kind of game that fans want.

    So what's wrong with it? Exactly that. It's too familiar. No matter how good it may be on the surface, it just doesn't feel new and gives the game the air of "Was the game necessary?"

    Overall:
    Homecoming is a good game, and perhaps more suited to newcomers to the series. To vets and fans of the original games it will be enjoyable, but also nothing spectacular and fear inducing like SH 1 -3. A good game that clearly shows the Silent Hill franchise really needs a good reboot and some fresh ideas.
    Expand
  18. Mar 8, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Double elix games quiso lograr con este juego lo mismo que los 3 primeros silent pero lamentablemente no lo lograron. Silent hill homecoming es un juego mediocre menos en historia que eso es lo que salva ,osea no me malinterpreten por que sea mediocre no signifique que de algo de "miedo" por que si lo da.... bueno esta bien te podes llegar a asustar una sola vez si lo jugas solo o si sos muy cagon te podes asustar varias veces. Creo que si no fuera por la "niebla" su oscuro mundo y pyrmaid head (si sin sentido alguno aparece) no sería un silent hill. Bueno ahora hablare del juego. Gráficamente no esta mal se ve bien los detalles de los enemigos los escenarios la verdad que en ese punto no esta mal. La jugabilidad es algo que no se esta buena pero ese sistema mediocre que tenes para luchar que deja bastante que desear te puede llegar a hacer enojar mucho La historia es genial me gusto mucho pero es corta e.e si te sabes el juego de memoria lo terminas en menos de 5hrs por ahí una lastima la verdad... ahaha eso eso la historia iba bien hasta que nuestro querido amigo Pyramid head aparece en el juego....la primera vez que lo vi pense SPOILER(si mi pensamiento va a resultar spoiler)

    "huy estoy hasta la m***da este me va a estar jodiendo todo el juego :S"....y lo que menos paso fue eso. En todo el juego aparece 2 veces nomas! ni siquiera te escapas de el una sola vez en el juego te aparece SPOILER ABAJO*

    EL SPOILER ESTA ENTRE *que es cuando mata al padre* y nada mas ni siquiera te pega o te agarra ni te dice "wachin raja de aca" ok no pero la verdad que para meter a este gran villano y no usarlo para nada es una decepción. Silent hll homecoming mediocre.
    Expand
  19. Sep 9, 2014
    7
    I have not played any of the older Silent Hill games yet which I have heard are better but this game is one of the scariest games I have ever played. Mostly due to the music/ sound effects that make the cloudy streets in this game 3x as creepy. I like some things about the game but other things like lack of ammo are annoying. Also the bosses are kind of hard to beat and I dont believeI have not played any of the older Silent Hill games yet which I have heard are better but this game is one of the scariest games I have ever played. Mostly due to the music/ sound effects that make the cloudy streets in this game 3x as creepy. I like some things about the game but other things like lack of ammo are annoying. Also the bosses are kind of hard to beat and I dont believe there was a difficulty option. If you have the money, Silent Hill HD collection is a rerelease of SH 3 and 4 I think and is the best option to get for XBox360..But if you can get this game for 5 bucks like I did and you are into survival horror I would recommend buying this game. Expand
  20. Jun 12, 2011
    0
    This Silent HIll is worked more around fighting the monsters than running away, and that really is what ruined it. It lacks any real scares, and though the story can hold well on its own and there's some decent psychological aspects behind it, it really is the worst game in the series. Compared to the other Silent Hills, this is like a ghost story you tell around a campfire than an actualThis Silent HIll is worked more around fighting the monsters than running away, and that really is what ruined it. It lacks any real scares, and though the story can hold well on its own and there's some decent psychological aspects behind it, it really is the worst game in the series. Compared to the other Silent Hills, this is like a ghost story you tell around a campfire than an actual nightmare. The other thing is this game is extremely short. I beat it in a matter of an hour, which really is extremely short! I also unlocked every achievement the same day I got it without breaking a sweat. It really is an easy game, even on its hardest difficulty, and the combat mechanics, though difficult at first, result in the game being more of an action game than survival horror. It tries to humor the movie rather than the actual story of the series and the inclusion of Pyramid Head - though different looking than he is in the movie and in SH2, still was out of line. The loss of fixed camera angles is a also a turn down and the atmosphere (which is an important part of the Silent Hill series) is pretty much gone. This is the first Silent Hill in the series I've played, and even when I first got it, I found it disappointing. Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 54
  2. Negative: 1 out of 54
  1. From its leaden, cheap-shots-aplenty combat to its wild-goose chase through gray, same-y hallways filled with useless, placebo doorways to a story that takes much too long to get off the ground, its entire first half feels like a death march through a clunky hot mess. [Nov 2008, p.73]
  2. 60
    If survival horror is your bread and butter, then Homecoming is right up your alley; otherwise, you might be better served waiting for Resident Evil 5.
  3. 75
    Double Helix has stayed true to the series' foundation while also taking steps in a brave new direction; they've crafted a tale that stands well within franchise lore, and they've produced horrifically beautiful environments, occasional framerate drops aside. If Double Helix learns from their mistakes here -- combat balance being the most glaring issue -- their future work could rival the series' best.