User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 143 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 143

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 20, 2012
    9
    So far I'm absolutely loving this game. It got below par reviews and I have no idea why. It's the closest to the original so far - in the way that it feels less 'linear' as you run around town looking for clues etc. The graphics are excellent and the story is pretty decent too. The only thing that niggles me slightly is the fact that now and again the music becomes noticably 'un-scary.'
  2. Mar 29, 2011
    8
    Definitely a case where internet preconceptions steered me wrong. Silent Hill: Homecoming is a solid title that stands on its own as an individual and unique step into the SH universe, just as Silent Hill 2 branched off with a separate story from the main canon. The gameplay is changed for the better, giving the player the ability to actually get a close 360 degree view of his/her surroundings, which are rich with abandoned structure detail and hellish red industrial descents. The story is kind of laid bare but nonetheless creeped me the hell out with the reasons for each boss's incredible and horrific designs revealed throughout. Enemies are more formidable, but not so strong as to turn Homecoming into a typical action game and not so pathetic as to wait to get hit by a wooden plank a couple times and fall dead. Some of the substance and creeping dread of the series was removed, but the style and imagery was certainly not spared, despite lifting some elements from the film. Wonderful game. Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    I can't believe the people that are giving this game that high scores... This game is not only the worst Silent Hill game ever made, it's also one of the worst games I ever played. It's just a succession of awfully stuff from the start to the end. The only good thing is the soundtrack.
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    This game is like marmite for silent hill fans some love it, some hate it, while i hate marmite i love this game but tbh i love every silent hill game and if i compared every one this would be the weakest to save rambling on i will just write a list of pros and cons
    PROS:
    it's silent hill for next gen
    the graphics are good coupled vit physics
    the enemy AI was good and liked that if you
    accidently knocked somthing over it would alert them
    story was good in my opinion
    combat was nice and understandable as the protagonist is not a everyman but was in the army
    the schisms and siams @ times scared the S**t out of me
    multiple endings as usual and some of them are decent

    CONS:
    puzzles felt weak in my opinion
    scares felt cheap at times and there were rarely moments of panic apart from the a couple of locations and this would of been partly contributed by select in the hard difficulty
    soon enimies are easily dispatched and exploitable apart from the schism
    also the schism was quite unfair to fight because of a ceartin attack it has

    other than those minor points there is plenty to love even though i wish team silent would reform as i prefer the originals
    Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2011
    7
    silent hill franchise is deffinitly is the frnchise that kicked off the real horror gaming style . its always been the best at creeping you out and keeping you on edge with its sound effects and music and creepy atmosphere . this one pretty much has alot of that but falls in some aspects . you really dont get much for guns and ammo . pretty much same gun selection with even less ammo then the other games . the melee combat is very mixed . the story really didnt capture my attention much . the game also just feels old hat and with this being the 5th game in the series i think konami could have taken a greater chance at trying to reinvent the game . its still a decent game but this series needs a shot in the ass much like what capcom did with RE4 to revitalise its aging game . Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2011
    6
    This game is punishingly hard, focuses too heavily on puzzles, and has a story that takes far too long to get going. The first half of the game is just visiting locations AROUND silent hill (if it doesn't take place in silent hill, then why call it silent hill?) and passing out into strange acid trips that involve some kind of hell prison. The second half of the game isn't so bad, being more forgiving and eventful, but I really have to wonder what the literal hell the designers thought they were doing when they designed the first half. I would recommend this game to the most loyal silent hill fans and no one else. It does get good towards the end, but you REALLY have to work to get there. Expand
  7. Oct 24, 2011
    6
    Silent Hill: Homecoming is not necessarily a bad game,I just do not recommend it for purchase or for rent.I think it's a mediocre game with some positive elements but with many flaws!!!!!!
  8. Jun 12, 2011
    6
    This Silent HIll is worked more around fighting the monsters than running away, and that really is what ruined it. It lacks any real scares, and though the story can hold well on its own and there's some decent psychological aspects behind it, it really is the worst game in the series. Compared to the other Silent Hills, this is like a ghost story you tell around a campfire than an actual nightmare. The other thing is this game is extremely short. I beat it in a matter of an hour, which really is extremely short! I also unlocked every achievement the same day I got it without breaking a sweat. It really is an easy game, even on its hardest difficulty, and the combat mechanics, though difficult at first, result in the game being more of an action game than survival horror. It tries to humor the movie rather than the actual story of the series and the inclusion of Pyramid Head - though different looking than he is in the movie and in SH2, still was out of line. The loss of fixed camera angles is a also a turn down and the atmosphere (which is an important part of the Silent Hill series) is pretty much gone. This is the first Silent Hill in the series I've played, and even when I first got it, I found it disappointing. Collapse
  9. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    A great game overall and very underrated. Gives you a great sense of horror, you feel alone and in danger. Combat is not so great, but after all, it was meant not to be as this is a survival horror. The game can be scary, but there are scarier ones out there. Graphics are good, but there are some glitches here and there. Soundtrack is amazing and sounds are great. Finally, the story is very good and disturbing. I've played this on normal and found the game to be a bit easy, though; I saved a LOT of ammo for the final boss and took him out in a minute. But this game is still worth picking up, with multiple endings to keep you coming back and a price tag that's very attractive in these days. If you like survival horror games, make sure to give this one a try. Expand
  10. May 2, 2013
    7
    Silent Hill: Homecoming is the fifth chapter in the saga of Silent Hill. The game has new features compared to the other chapters and have better graphics, a really interesting combat system, and the ability to interact with people choosing the speeches to say. The flaw is the plot of the game, however, quite poor and the fact that less afraid of the other chapters (and here we note that the game was made by the U.S. and not by the Japanese). At the end of the game is good although nothing exceptional. Expand
  11. Mar 19, 2012
    6
    I'm a big survivor horror fan, and I did enjoy moments of this game. But in the end, it just wasn't for me. I found the story somewhat predictable, graphics average, and music irritating. Two of those three things were the main reasons that I played Silent Hill; things this game doesn't deliver.
  12. May 28, 2012
    6
    This game just didn't deliver for me. Creepy enemies, but controls were frustrating.
  13. May 31, 2012
    6
    It's pretty decent as a game on it's own, but even as a silent hill title I was never all that thrilled about it. From the trailers and screenshots I thought it looked pretty generic. I liked it more than I thought I would but it's still one of my least favorites in the series. The story is well told and acted for the most part but there are a few noticable plot holes I can't overlook. One of my biggest problems with this game is how much it shamelessly borrows from the movie and brandishes everything like it's supposed to be canonical to the game series. Sorry guys, we're smarter than that. Also Double Helix studios wanted to make homecoming a trilogy and you better thank the lucky stars that never happened. I've heard about the plot they had in mind... if you think homecoming is bad now, you haven't seen anything, I'll just say that much. Anyway Homecoming wasn't without it's strengths so it's not a total loss. Most of the boss battles are really well done and are some of the best parts of the game. Akira Yamaoka was still on board for the soundtrack. The atmosphere is great in most areas, but unfortunately it falls flat in others for some reason. I hated the prison area, it reminded me way too much of Nova Prospekt. Don't get me wrong, I love Half Life 2 but this is silent hill, not city 17. The puzzles for the most part are pointless and the only good one is toward the end. All in all, it's alright but doesn't reach even close to the thought and love that went into the first few games. Expand
  14. Sep 26, 2013
    7
    If anything, Homecoming's biggest flaw is that it follows the Silent Hill tried-and-true formula far too loyally. It feels exactly the the same as the games before it. Handles the same (combat has improved a little, but that isn't saying much.) Graphics are nice, soundtrack is awesome, story fits and suits the lore. If anything this is suppose to be the kind of game that fans want.

    So
    what's wrong with it? Exactly that. It's too familiar. No matter how good it may be on the surface, it just doesn't feel new and gives the game the air of "Was the game necessary?"

    Overall:
    Homecoming is a good game, and perhaps more suited to newcomers to the series. To vets and fans of the original games it will be enjoyable, but also nothing spectacular and fear inducing like SH 1 -3. A good game that clearly shows the Silent Hill franchise really needs a good reboot and some fresh ideas.
    Expand
  15. Mar 8, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Double elix games quiso lograr con este juego lo mismo que los 3 primeros silent pero lamentablemente no lo lograron. Silent hill homecoming es un juego mediocre menos en historia que eso es lo que salva ,osea no me malinterpreten por que sea mediocre no signifique que de algo de "miedo" por que si lo da.... bueno esta bien te podes llegar a asustar una sola vez si lo jugas solo o si sos muy cagon te podes asustar varias veces. Creo que si no fuera por la "niebla" su oscuro mundo y pyrmaid head (si sin sentido alguno aparece) no sería un silent hill. Bueno ahora hablare del juego. Gráficamente no esta mal se ve bien los detalles de los enemigos los escenarios la verdad que en ese punto no esta mal. La jugabilidad es algo que no se esta buena pero ese sistema mediocre que tenes para luchar que deja bastante que desear te puede llegar a hacer enojar mucho La historia es genial me gusto mucho pero es corta e.e si te sabes el juego de memoria lo terminas en menos de 5hrs por ahí una lastima la verdad... ahaha eso eso la historia iba bien hasta que nuestro querido amigo Pyramid head aparece en el juego....la primera vez que lo vi pense SPOILER(si mi pensamiento va a resultar spoiler)

    "huy estoy hasta la m***da este me va a estar jodiendo todo el juego :S"....y lo que menos paso fue eso. En todo el juego aparece 2 veces nomas! ni siquiera te escapas de el una sola vez en el juego te aparece SPOILER ABAJO*

    EL SPOILER ESTA ENTRE *que es cuando mata al padre* y nada mas ni siquiera te pega o te agarra ni te dice "wachin raja de aca" ok no pero la verdad que para meter a este gran villano y no usarlo para nada es una decepción. Silent hll homecoming mediocre.
    Expand
  16. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can't understand why that game has such score. that is one of my favorite games, which made me almost cry when i finish it. that game is for a bit clever people guys and if you are dumb, don't say that the game is "awful" Expand
  17. Jun 12, 2011
    0
    This Silent HIll is worked more around fighting the monsters than running away, and that really is what ruined it. It lacks any real scares, and though the story can hold well on its own and there's some decent psychological aspects behind it, it really is the worst game in the series. Compared to the other Silent Hills, this is like a ghost story you tell around a campfire than an actual nightmare. The other thing is this game is extremely short. I beat it in a matter of an hour, which really is extremely short! I also unlocked every achievement the same day I got it without breaking a sweat. It really is an easy game, even on its hardest difficulty, and the combat mechanics, though difficult at first, result in the game being more of an action game than survival horror. It tries to humor the movie rather than the actual story of the series and the inclusion of Pyramid Head - though different looking than he is in the movie and in SH2, still was out of line. The loss of fixed camera angles is a also a turn down and the atmosphere (which is an important part of the Silent Hill series) is pretty much gone. This is the first Silent Hill in the series I've played, and even when I first got it, I found it disappointing. Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 54
  2. Negative: 1 out of 54
  1. From its leaden, cheap-shots-aplenty combat to its wild-goose chase through gray, same-y hallways filled with useless, placebo doorways to a story that takes much too long to get off the ground, its entire first half feels like a death march through a clunky hot mess. [Nov 2008, p.73]
  2. 60
    If survival horror is your bread and butter, then Homecoming is right up your alley; otherwise, you might be better served waiting for Resident Evil 5.
  3. 75
    Double Helix has stayed true to the series' foundation while also taking steps in a brave new direction; they've crafted a tale that stands well within franchise lore, and they've produced horrifically beautiful environments, occasional framerate drops aside. If Double Helix learns from their mistakes here -- combat balance being the most glaring issue -- their future work could rival the series' best.