User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 165

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CharlesB
    Dec 7, 2009
    8
    Genuinely scary in several parts. One of the most beautiful games I've seen on the XBOX and a whole lotta' fun!
  2. JuanC.
    Oct 7, 2008
    8
    this is a great game,much better than the room,and its perfect for the new generetion of consoles,because the riddles are easier than the previous games
  3. JaredS.
    Sep 30, 2008
    9
    I just got my copy and hey, it's way better than part 4. Silent Hill Homecoming brings back the feel of the first 2 games but with great next gen graphics and great fighting. The series is finally back and much more true to it's roots than the recent Resident Evil entries (although 4 was great and 5 is looking even better!).
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    This game is like marmite for silent hill fans some love it, some hate it, while i hate marmite i love this game but tbh i love every silent hill game and if i compared every one this would be the weakest to save rambling on i will just write a list of pros and cons
    PROS:
    it's silent hill for next gen the graphics are good coupled vit physics the enemy AI was good and liked that if you
    This game is like marmite for silent hill fans some love it, some hate it, while i hate marmite i love this game but tbh i love every silent hill game and if i compared every one this would be the weakest to save rambling on i will just write a list of pros and cons
    PROS:
    it's silent hill for next gen
    the graphics are good coupled vit physics
    the enemy AI was good and liked that if you accidently knocked somthing over it would alert them
    story was good in my opinion
    combat was nice and understandable as the protagonist is not a everyman but was in the army
    the schisms and siams @ times scared the S**t out of me
    multiple endings as usual and some of them are decent

    CONS:
    puzzles felt weak in my opinion
    scares felt cheap at times and there were rarely moments of panic apart from the a couple of locations and this would of been partly contributed by select in the hard difficulty
    soon enimies are easily dispatched and exploitable apart from the schism
    also the schism was quite unfair to fight because of a ceartin attack it has

    other than those minor points there is plenty to love even though i wish team silent would reform as i prefer the originals
    Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2011
    8
    Definitely a case where internet preconceptions steered me wrong. Silent Hill: Homecoming is a solid title that stands on its own as an individual and unique step into the SH universe, just as Silent Hill 2 branched off with a separate story from the main canon. The gameplay is changed for the better, giving the player the ability to actually get a close 360 degree view of his/herDefinitely a case where internet preconceptions steered me wrong. Silent Hill: Homecoming is a solid title that stands on its own as an individual and unique step into the SH universe, just as Silent Hill 2 branched off with a separate story from the main canon. The gameplay is changed for the better, giving the player the ability to actually get a close 360 degree view of his/her surroundings, which are rich with abandoned structure detail and hellish red industrial descents. The story is kind of laid bare but nonetheless creeped me the hell out with the reasons for each boss's incredible and horrific designs revealed throughout. Enemies are more formidable, but not so strong as to turn Homecoming into a typical action game and not so pathetic as to wait to get hit by a wooden plank a couple times and fall dead. Some of the substance and creeping dread of the series was removed, but the style and imagery was certainly not spared, despite lifting some elements from the film. Wonderful game. Expand
  6. MikeR.
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    From the minute I turned on my XBOX360, this game FELT like a Silent Hill game. I spent over 4 hours last night playing this before I realized I should probably go to bed. Running around the town I actually 'felt' like I was truly alone. Hearing the enemies before seeing them, the many 'puzzles' I encountered and the oddities (like missing pictures, ME missing from From the minute I turned on my XBOX360, this game FELT like a Silent Hill game. I spent over 4 hours last night playing this before I realized I should probably go to bed. Running around the town I actually 'felt' like I was truly alone. Hearing the enemies before seeing them, the many 'puzzles' I encountered and the oddities (like missing pictures, ME missing from pictures, etc) added to the strange and haunting feel. It felt as this could have been, and maybe should have been, the sequel to Silent Hill 2. Expand
  7. Jan 20, 2012
    9
    So far I'm absolutely loving this game. It got below par reviews and I have no idea why. It's the closest to the original so far - in the way that it feels less 'linear' as you run around town looking for clues etc. The graphics are excellent and the story is pretty decent too. The only thing that niggles me slightly is the fact that now and again the music becomes noticably 'un-scary.'
  8. JackS.
    Sep 30, 2008
    7
    Awseome graphics but slow an poor history.. its quite notorious that is made by U.S. not by japanese people.. beto loves japanese people.. and le masca el pene..
  9. AlexanderH.
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    It is silent hill! I know we are in the next gen but still i do not understand why people are upset that it feels "dated". It is a well developed game that should not be among the ranks of Alone in the Dark
  10. Catraven
    Oct 2, 2008
    9
    Finally, a Silent Hill game for Xbox 360! I am pleased to say that this game is a winner-it stays true to the the formula which makes Silent Hill a success! Very remeniescent of Silent Hill 2- a definite purchase for any fan of the series.
  11. SteveM.
    Oct 2, 2008
    0
    Boo...an unworthy addition to the Silent Hill franchise. Just rips from the movie and panders to obsessed Pyramid Head junkies....obliterating any symbolism and theories established and considered since Silent Hill 2. Leave Silent Hill with Konami - they know what to do with it.
  12. ArtV.
    Oct 5, 2008
    9
    After playing through this game many times (I have just gotten all 1000 achievement points) I must say that this game is a great effort by Double Helix and deserves at least an 8 out of 10. I am not new to this franchise at all (I still have every single SIlent Hill game!) and this game is a great addition to the series. It does not have the best story or endings out of the games (Silent After playing through this game many times (I have just gotten all 1000 achievement points) I must say that this game is a great effort by Double Helix and deserves at least an 8 out of 10. I am not new to this franchise at all (I still have every single SIlent Hill game!) and this game is a great addition to the series. It does not have the best story or endings out of the games (Silent Hill 2 does for sure) but it is still a awesome story with some good twists. Several reviews state that the combat is too easy and that is not the case. I died about 4 times through the game on normal difficulty and I never died in any of the other games. The combat can be quite challenging. The puzzles are well done also. Most people think that the puzzles are just there, but if you look around there are clues for every single one. Overall this is my third favorite in the series. Buy this game if you are a Silent Hill fan!!!! Best to Worst: Silent Hill 2 Silent Hill Silent Hill: Homecoming Silent Hill 3 Silent Hill: Origins Silent Hill 4: The Room Expand
  13. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    I can't believe the people that are giving this game that high scores... This game is not only the worst Silent Hill game ever made, it's also one of the worst games I ever played. It's just a succession of awfully stuff from the start to the end. The only good thing is the soundtrack.
  14. AnthonyA.
    Nov 4, 2008
    8
    As a huge fan of Silent Hill, I was expecting a lot from this game. The tone, music and horror elements live up to what Silent Hill is supposed to be. The game holds your hand through the story and the enemies this time around are crazy unforgiving. My one gripe about the game is the distances between save points. If you are a fan of the series, don't pass it up. It's better As a huge fan of Silent Hill, I was expecting a lot from this game. The tone, music and horror elements live up to what Silent Hill is supposed to be. The game holds your hand through the story and the enemies this time around are crazy unforgiving. My one gripe about the game is the distances between save points. If you are a fan of the series, don't pass it up. It's better than "The Room" and "Origins", because it feels like a real Silent Hill game. Expand
  15. JoshS
    Oct 22, 2008
    10
    This is the first Silent Hill I actually enjoyed playing rather than watching! The camera is an improvment and I only seen it mess up once. The health drinks and save points are far away but can you really complain about that? Challenge is what the Silent Hill games need. 2,3, & 4 were WAY too easy.
  16. Mar 24, 2011
    6
    This game is punishingly hard, focuses too heavily on puzzles, and has a story that takes far too long to get going. The first half of the game is just visiting locations AROUND silent hill (if it doesn't take place in silent hill, then why call it silent hill?) and passing out into strange acid trips that involve some kind of hell prison. The second half of the game isn't so bad, beingThis game is punishingly hard, focuses too heavily on puzzles, and has a story that takes far too long to get going. The first half of the game is just visiting locations AROUND silent hill (if it doesn't take place in silent hill, then why call it silent hill?) and passing out into strange acid trips that involve some kind of hell prison. The second half of the game isn't so bad, being more forgiving and eventful, but I really have to wonder what the literal hell the designers thought they were doing when they designed the first half. I would recommend this game to the most loyal silent hill fans and no one else. It does get good towards the end, but you REALLY have to work to get there. Expand
  17. Oct 24, 2011
    6
    Silent Hill: Homecoming is not necessarily a bad game,I just do not recommend it for purchase or for rent.I think it's a mediocre game with some positive elements but with many flaws!!!!!!
  18. Jun 12, 2011
    6
    This Silent HIll is worked more around fighting the monsters than running away, and that really is what ruined it. It lacks any real scares, and though the story can hold well on its own and there's some decent psychological aspects behind it, it really is the worst game in the series. Compared to the other Silent Hills, this is like a ghost story you tell around a campfire than an actualThis Silent HIll is worked more around fighting the monsters than running away, and that really is what ruined it. It lacks any real scares, and though the story can hold well on its own and there's some decent psychological aspects behind it, it really is the worst game in the series. Compared to the other Silent Hills, this is like a ghost story you tell around a campfire than an actual nightmare. The other thing is this game is extremely short. I beat it in a matter of an hour, which really is extremely short! I also unlocked every achievement the same day I got it without breaking a sweat. It really is an easy game, even on its hardest difficulty, and the combat mechanics, though difficult at first, result in the game being more of an action game than survival horror. It tries to humor the movie rather than the actual story of the series and the inclusion of Pyramid Head - though different looking than he is in the movie and in SH2, still was out of line. The loss of fixed camera angles is a also a turn down and the atmosphere (which is an important part of the Silent Hill series) is pretty much gone. This is the first Silent Hill in the series I've played, and even when I first got it, I found it disappointing. Expand
  19. May 28, 2012
    6
    This game just didn't deliver for me. Creepy enemies, but controls were frustrating.
  20. May 31, 2012
    6
    It's pretty decent as a game on it's own, but even as a silent hill title I was never all that thrilled about it. From the trailers and screenshots I thought it looked pretty generic. I liked it more than I thought I would but it's still one of my least favorites in the series. The story is well told and acted for the most part but there are a few noticable plot holes I can't overlook. OneIt's pretty decent as a game on it's own, but even as a silent hill title I was never all that thrilled about it. From the trailers and screenshots I thought it looked pretty generic. I liked it more than I thought I would but it's still one of my least favorites in the series. The story is well told and acted for the most part but there are a few noticable plot holes I can't overlook. One of my biggest problems with this game is how much it shamelessly borrows from the movie and brandishes everything like it's supposed to be canonical to the game series. Sorry guys, we're smarter than that. Also Double Helix studios wanted to make homecoming a trilogy and you better thank the lucky stars that never happened. I've heard about the plot they had in mind... if you think homecoming is bad now, you haven't seen anything, I'll just say that much. Anyway Homecoming wasn't without it's strengths so it's not a total loss. Most of the boss battles are really well done and are some of the best parts of the game. Akira Yamaoka was still on board for the soundtrack. The atmosphere is great in most areas, but unfortunately it falls flat in others for some reason. I hated the prison area, it reminded me way too much of Nova Prospekt. Don't get me wrong, I love Half Life 2 but this is silent hill, not city 17. The puzzles for the most part are pointless and the only good one is toward the end. All in all, it's alright but doesn't reach even close to the thought and love that went into the first few games. Expand
  21. DeepakM.
    Oct 1, 2008
    9
    This game has a really spooky soundtrack{the best} and the game is really well polished.though there are a few let down like a predictable story.SO,its a nine for this one.
  22. RhettT.
    Oct 2, 2008
    5
    Clumsy controls, buggy encounters, a poorly implemented shooting system, and lack-luster voice acting seriously detract from an otherwise compelling addition to the Silent Hill franchise.
  23. CalebH
    Dec 5, 2008
    6
    Silent Hill Homecoming is the 6th installment in the world-renowned horror series Silent Hill. The simple mission of SHH is to take you back to where it all began. Does it bring back beautiful memories or disturbing images of the past or both? My venture into the world of Silent Hill began in 2003 at my grandmother
  24. Nightfall121
    Oct 2, 2008
    8
    This is a great game that while not as scary as Silent Hill 2 or 3, is definitely more enjoyable to play. The graphics and sound are amazing and the changes to the battle system as well as the environments make for a fun, interactive experience. Rather than walking into a pre rendered room and wildly swinging a pipe or sword or what have you and hope that it makes contact with something, This is a great game that while not as scary as Silent Hill 2 or 3, is definitely more enjoyable to play. The graphics and sound are amazing and the changes to the battle system as well as the environments make for a fun, interactive experience. Rather than walking into a pre rendered room and wildly swinging a pipe or sword or what have you and hope that it makes contact with something, the battle system's doge then strike and combo mechanics make fighting sequences fun and challenging since different enemies have different tactics. Though different from the previous installments of the series, Silent Hill Homecoming is worth checking out. Expand
  25. CrankyI.
    Oct 5, 2008
    7
    All the comments thus far have rung true for me. the game is far more action oriented, but maintains the psychological oppressiveness of past games. my problem is this... i use an inverted camera, and there is NO option to use it on release. i believe a patch is planned, but this sort of asinine omission is something to keep in mind if your are an inverted aimer, and have yet to give All the comments thus far have rung true for me. the game is far more action oriented, but maintains the psychological oppressiveness of past games. my problem is this... i use an inverted camera, and there is NO option to use it on release. i believe a patch is planned, but this sort of asinine omission is something to keep in mind if your are an inverted aimer, and have yet to give double helix your cash. there is an option to "aim" with inverted controls, but it does not affect any weapons except guns, and it is even more confusing having to switch back to invert for just a few weapons, like 1% of the time, in the most crucial moments. fortunately, there is a madcatz controller for the 360 that has an inverted analog option, and i plan on picking it up today, but you might want to figure in the extra $25 for it with the entry price to silent hill if you are an inverter... till they patch it. although the game is fantastic, for me, playing this game is a NAUSEATING experience, based around looking at my shoes, followed by looking at the ceiling. i spend so much time concentrating on the camera, that it COMPLETELY takes me out of the game. i never get motion sickness playing games, but i am getting close with this. FAIR WARNING TO ALL INVERTERS! Collapse
  26. CollinL.
    Oct 5, 2008
    8
    For a Silent Hill fan this game is more than a fleeting nightmare of carnage. But for everyone else this is a frightening experience that involves a frustrating battle system and a smart array of puzzles.
  27. MatthewC.
    Oct 7, 2008
    8
    Retains enough of the origins of both the American and japanese sensibilities to make it an interesting evolution, and a minor departure. Silent Hill will always been the reviewers underdog, because it lacks a wide enough appeal to establish itself as pushing gameplay boundaries. Simply updating an existing formula does not mean innovating the genre. That said, the base originality and Retains enough of the origins of both the American and japanese sensibilities to make it an interesting evolution, and a minor departure. Silent Hill will always been the reviewers underdog, because it lacks a wide enough appeal to establish itself as pushing gameplay boundaries. Simply updating an existing formula does not mean innovating the genre. That said, the base originality and background to the silent hill story is something that appeals to a lot of people. It's just not something a reviewer can justify score on without seeming bias. So once again we have a small injustice in the way a consensus is judged, and it's source. However, all the reviews are not innacurate. The faults are true. Personally - from a biased user perspective, not taking the de-evolution of the setting into direct consideration, I would say this is one of the stronger silent hill games. As much as I liked the film, this film does follow in it's footsteps a little too closely. Yet at the same time it remains true to itself. A solid silent hill entry, but rather than innovating the gameplay, I would hope a sequel will actually innovate the GAME and STORY. Which relies on mystery, but never progresses. I know each story is seperate. But imagine being able to make a progression while keeping the mystery intact. Something like the popular show lost does (in terms of structure, http://www.metacritic.com/_images/button_votenow.gifnot actual story). Regardless, good game. Expand
  28. GaryMac
    Mar 10, 2009
    8
    This game is a must for horror lovers. If I were to say this game had faults it would be the terrible torch alex has through the whole story, i had to check a couple of times to actually see if it was on in some dark places. Secondly would be the lack of ammo which is kinda annoying but more realistic and challenging to the gamer. Thirdly would be the lack of achievements, I havent This game is a must for horror lovers. If I were to say this game had faults it would be the terrible torch alex has through the whole story, i had to check a couple of times to actually see if it was on in some dark places. Secondly would be the lack of ammo which is kinda annoying but more realistic and challenging to the gamer. Thirdly would be the lack of achievements, I havent finished the game yet but I got around 20 something from 39. but getting the moaning out of the way, I think this game deserves much more from some of the critics reviews. I HATE resident Evil 4 and now resident 5 style of play. Action /adventure?? it's ment to be a bloody horror game where the hells horror. There is enough shoot em ups out there. Please Silent hill makers dont change. Expand
  29. PatrickR
    Nov 16, 2008
    9
    First let me just say that i love me some silent hill. the atmosphere, the creature design, the sound effects and scares that dont simply rely on "pop-out" scenes. Double Helix should be proud of themselves for capturing all of this, but most of all for capturing the real star (for me) of the silent hill games: the story. Silent hill is all about the troubled past of the protagonists First let me just say that i love me some silent hill. the atmosphere, the creature design, the sound effects and scares that dont simply rely on "pop-out" scenes. Double Helix should be proud of themselves for capturing all of this, but most of all for capturing the real star (for me) of the silent hill games: the story. Silent hill is all about the troubled past of the protagonists either through personal pennance for forgotten sins or simply finding out what dark connection they share with silent hill. The story and endings are just what a silent hill fan would want. It's right up there with silent hill 2 (the best plot twist in a video game ever in my opinion). Just like in the sixth sense playing this game a second time through you'll notice the nice hints towards the ending you thought you may have peiced together. If you love silent hill games, dont fret, because this is certainly a silent hill game, more so than "the room". Expand
  30. Andyman
    Oct 1, 2008
    8
    Exceptional sound and great attention to detail make this the creepiest game I've played since Condemned. Clearly, Konami giving it to Double Helix was a very good call. A huge rebound from the disappointing Silent Hill 4.
  31. AramisG
    Oct 15, 2008
    5
    I made it all the way to the sewers when a "glitch" forced me to restart the game from scratch. This wouldn't have been the end of the world if Homecoming wasn't such a blah Silent Hill. Even worse than encountering a game ending glitch is the combat system. Every enemy becomes a drag to encounter. Instead of being scary enemies become more an issue of chore management and timed I made it all the way to the sewers when a "glitch" forced me to restart the game from scratch. This wouldn't have been the end of the world if Homecoming wasn't such a blah Silent Hill. Even worse than encountering a game ending glitch is the combat system. Every enemy becomes a drag to encounter. Instead of being scary enemies become more an issue of chore management and timed ducking. What were the developers thinking? It is really a shame too because some of the boss fights later in the game (asphyxia and end boss) are truly some of the scariest looking things in any Silent Hill game. Strike one (The Room), Strike two (Homecoming). Expand
  32. nic
    Oct 3, 2008
    10
    A great addition to the silent hill franchise...creepy, eerie, and remember to bring your banky if you're playing in the dark alone!
  33. RandalS.
    Oct 3, 2008
    8
    The graphics and presentation are amazing. The story line, though linear, is interesting. Besides from a few flaws with lighting and the camera angle, this game is a large improvement over past entries in the series.
  34. MikeC.
    Oct 4, 2008
    8
    I love the Silent HIll series and it was with great anticipation that I popped this into my 360. I was both thrilled and disappointed at the same time, as much of what I loved about Silent Hill games was omitted (absurd and disturbing puzzles, psychological terror, etc) and was replaced with more American horror (scary art design, fast monsters, etc). However, when viewed in the light of I love the Silent HIll series and it was with great anticipation that I popped this into my 360. I was both thrilled and disappointed at the same time, as much of what I loved about Silent Hill games was omitted (absurd and disturbing puzzles, psychological terror, etc) and was replaced with more American horror (scary art design, fast monsters, etc). However, when viewed in the light of action horror games like Resident Evil 4 and Doom 3, it still manages to thrill and terrorize in it's own way (just not in the way that SH fans are expecting). While the gameplay has been altered dramatically with mixed results depending on your likings of the SH series (good: free-camera, bad: action-oriented gameplay), the story is still haunting and incredibly disturbing mind-trip, and the first few hours in particular are amazing at rendering the kind of mind-numbing "WTF?!!" moments that SH is known for. This is a completely different kind of SH. It plays wildly different, controls wildly different, but at it's core, it still delivers the same shocking horror that SH fans want. A few bugs and "hunt the switch" design errors aside (which only mar up the experience once or twice during multiple playthroughs) this is well worth the purchase price of $60 if you're into horror games or especially if youre into the SH series in particular. Expand
  35. DavidH.
    Oct 6, 2008
    8
    "Silent Hill: Homecoming" is the next entry in the Survival Horror genre for this current generation of video game systems, which is pretty scarce. Immediately, fans of the series and the feature film will be able to experience pure horror in the tradition of the original "Silent Hill". The pacing is slow, but the atmosphere is creepy. The presentation is great. Monster designs are a mix "Silent Hill: Homecoming" is the next entry in the Survival Horror genre for this current generation of video game systems, which is pretty scarce. Immediately, fans of the series and the feature film will be able to experience pure horror in the tradition of the original "Silent Hill". The pacing is slow, but the atmosphere is creepy. The presentation is great. Monster designs are a mix of Clive Barker type stuff and updates to the classic returning creatures, such as the faceless nurses. The nurses' aren't all that scary, I was more fascinated at them since now they are so hot and voluptuous, including bouncing breasts like the DOA girls. The film grain, dark atmosphere, limited visibility with the fog, nice ambient sound effects....it's all here to bring the player into a wonderfully nightmarish experience. Sadly, Double Helix really did drop the ball in making this a true gem due to the controls. Generally, everything works great, from the newly implemented combat system, and moving the camera around freely. Unfortunately, players CAN NOT invert the axis of the look/camera controls....which if very basic stuff! So, if you like to press UP to look DOWN and DOWN to look UP, you won't be able to....not until Double Helix and Konami release a hopefully in the near future downloadable patch/update. Also, they should have included a 180 degree quick turn! So, Alex Shepherd, the war veteran you'll control can't do an "About face!", which would have been easier to run away from the monsters. I guess he'll need to go back to boot camp! The puzzles are good, some areas of missing sound effects (probably due to a rushed production), all the textures are really low resolution and blown out, which could have been better. Some lip syncing is off in the cut scenes. Lack of health bottles and very few save points, keeps your anxiety up and makes every encounter a high stakes experience. All of these are rookie decisions by a company that hopefully will learn from their mistakes when they create the next sequel. If you love horror games, pick it up, turn off the lights and turn up the sound. Fun, exciting, scary, challenging, rough around the edges...just like the original "Silent Hill"! It's nice to be home! Expand
  36. RandyM.
    Oct 8, 2008
    7
    Silent Hill, being one of my favorite game series, I came into Silent Hill: Homecoming hungry for a great horror experience and expecting improvement over the previous titles. What I got was a mixed experience. The controls, while innovative, make the game seem more like an action title rather than a horror game. The graphics were outstanding, but it got a little buggy while squaring off Silent Hill, being one of my favorite game series, I came into Silent Hill: Homecoming hungry for a great horror experience and expecting improvement over the previous titles. What I got was a mixed experience. The controls, while innovative, make the game seem more like an action title rather than a horror game. The graphics were outstanding, but it got a little buggy while squaring off with some of the monsters. (Particularly the Smog creature) The story was ok, but I was hugely disappointed in the endings and it seemed all too similiar to Silent Hill 2. My final verdict? As a Silent Hill fan, you'll most likely enjoy it, much as I did. If you can look past the unoriginal storyline and buggy gameplay. Expand
  37. OliverD.
    Sep 30, 2008
    1
    In my opinion, this is was a huge let down - not because I didn't expect it from an American developer...I was just crossing every crossable extremity in my body that I would be totally surprised and that SH5 would be a worthy addition. Unfortunately, all my wishing came to nothing. From a psychologically heavy survival horror with good dashes of symbolism and all things good - SH In my opinion, this is was a huge let down - not because I didn't expect it from an American developer...I was just crossing every crossable extremity in my body that I would be totally surprised and that SH5 would be a worthy addition. Unfortunately, all my wishing came to nothing. From a psychologically heavy survival horror with good dashes of symbolism and all things good - SH has now reverted to the average Joe's "shootan and slashin" horror game, minus the horror. The Silent Hill movie, whilst some parts were acceptable as a game to movie adaptation - it ultimately seems to have spelt SH's doom since all the developers can seem to envision in their mind is that movie and SH5 is evidence of that. No creativity, nothing to make me look twice, nothing to make me want to run, nothing to make me pause the game and take a 30min break out of sensory overload. I don't make a thing about giving games 1, its not necessary as there are usually more saving graces to warrant a 2....but with Silent Hill 5, it had big shoes to fill and I don't think it even got around to putting its socks on. All cudos should go to Akira Yamaoka for making me want to buy the soundtrack and atleast enjoy that for years to come. Expand
  38. Will
    Oct 16, 2009
    5
    This game is WAY too dark. Apparently the developers of this game decided that dark=scary, because it was almost impossible to see anything half the time. I had to turn the brightness setting of my TV to full, and then everything just looked washed out.. also, the ammo/item distribution stinks. You don't not get enough supplies for the amount of enemies. The game is too short. The This game is WAY too dark. Apparently the developers of this game decided that dark=scary, because it was almost impossible to see anything half the time. I had to turn the brightness setting of my TV to full, and then everything just looked washed out.. also, the ammo/item distribution stinks. You don't not get enough supplies for the amount of enemies. The game is too short. The puzzles are interesting: either they are way too hard or way too easy... none in the middle area. This game did not satisfy me. I really like the Silent Hill series, the 2nd being my favorite so far. Expand
  39. Mar 22, 2011
    7
    silent hill franchise is deffinitly is the frnchise that kicked off the real horror gaming style . its always been the best at creeping you out and keeping you on edge with its sound effects and music and creepy atmosphere . this one pretty much has alot of that but falls in some aspects . you really dont get much for guns and ammo . pretty much same gun selection with even less ammo thensilent hill franchise is deffinitly is the frnchise that kicked off the real horror gaming style . its always been the best at creeping you out and keeping you on edge with its sound effects and music and creepy atmosphere . this one pretty much has alot of that but falls in some aspects . you really dont get much for guns and ammo . pretty much same gun selection with even less ammo then the other games . the melee combat is very mixed . the story really didnt capture my attention much . the game also just feels old hat and with this being the 5th game in the series i think konami could have taken a greater chance at trying to reinvent the game . its still a decent game but this series needs a shot in the ass much like what capcom did with RE4 to revitalise its aging game . Expand
  40. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    A great game overall and very underrated. Gives you a great sense of horror, you feel alone and in danger. Combat is not so great, but after all, it was meant not to be as this is a survival horror. The game can be scary, but there are scarier ones out there. Graphics are good, but there are some glitches here and there. Soundtrack is amazing and sounds are great. Finally, the story isA great game overall and very underrated. Gives you a great sense of horror, you feel alone and in danger. Combat is not so great, but after all, it was meant not to be as this is a survival horror. The game can be scary, but there are scarier ones out there. Graphics are good, but there are some glitches here and there. Soundtrack is amazing and sounds are great. Finally, the story is very good and disturbing. I've played this on normal and found the game to be a bit easy, though; I saved a LOT of ammo for the final boss and took him out in a minute. But this game is still worth picking up, with multiple endings to keep you coming back and a price tag that's very attractive in these days. If you like survival horror games, make sure to give this one a try. Expand
  41. May 2, 2013
    7
    Silent Hill: Homecoming is the fifth chapter in the saga of Silent Hill. The game has new features compared to the other chapters and have better graphics, a really interesting combat system, and the ability to interact with people choosing the speeches to say. The flaw is the plot of the game, however, quite poor and the fact that less afraid of the other chapters (and here we note thatSilent Hill: Homecoming is the fifth chapter in the saga of Silent Hill. The game has new features compared to the other chapters and have better graphics, a really interesting combat system, and the ability to interact with people choosing the speeches to say. The flaw is the plot of the game, however, quite poor and the fact that less afraid of the other chapters (and here we note that the game was made by the U.S. and not by the Japanese). At the end of the game is good although nothing exceptional. Expand
  42. Jun 19, 2014
    6
    Un buen juego de terror con ideas nuevas y frescas que modernizan un poco la serie. Lástima que el guión y los protagonistas no terminen de funcionar y sigan muy a la sombra de las primeras obras, que a día de hoy parecen ya insuperables. En cualquier caso una adaptación digna que sólo defraudará a los que siguen esperando un Silent Hill como los primeros.
  43. Mar 19, 2012
    6
    I'm a big survivor horror fan, and I did enjoy moments of this game. But in the end, it just wasn't for me. I found the story somewhat predictable, graphics average, and music irritating. Two of those three things were the main reasons that I played Silent Hill; things this game doesn't deliver.
  44. May 4, 2014
    8
    As a huge SH fan i loved this game, the storyline is very good and easy to follow. Only flaw is its to easy. I mastered the combat system and finished on hard without dying.
  45. Sep 26, 2013
    7
    If anything, Homecoming's biggest flaw is that it follows the Silent Hill tried-and-true formula far too loyally. It feels exactly the the same as the games before it. Handles the same (combat has improved a little, but that isn't saying much.) Graphics are nice, soundtrack is awesome, story fits and suits the lore. If anything this is suppose to be the kind of game that fans want.

    So
    If anything, Homecoming's biggest flaw is that it follows the Silent Hill tried-and-true formula far too loyally. It feels exactly the the same as the games before it. Handles the same (combat has improved a little, but that isn't saying much.) Graphics are nice, soundtrack is awesome, story fits and suits the lore. If anything this is suppose to be the kind of game that fans want.

    So what's wrong with it? Exactly that. It's too familiar. No matter how good it may be on the surface, it just doesn't feel new and gives the game the air of "Was the game necessary?"

    Overall:
    Homecoming is a good game, and perhaps more suited to newcomers to the series. To vets and fans of the original games it will be enjoyable, but also nothing spectacular and fear inducing like SH 1 -3. A good game that clearly shows the Silent Hill franchise really needs a good reboot and some fresh ideas.
    Expand
  46. Mar 8, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Double elix games quiso lograr con este juego lo mismo que los 3 primeros silent pero lamentablemente no lo lograron. Silent hill homecoming es un juego mediocre menos en historia que eso es lo que salva ,osea no me malinterpreten por que sea mediocre no signifique que de algo de "miedo" por que si lo da.... bueno esta bien te podes llegar a asustar una sola vez si lo jugas solo o si sos muy cagon te podes asustar varias veces. Creo que si no fuera por la "niebla" su oscuro mundo y pyrmaid head (si sin sentido alguno aparece) no sería un silent hill. Bueno ahora hablare del juego. Gráficamente no esta mal se ve bien los detalles de los enemigos los escenarios la verdad que en ese punto no esta mal. La jugabilidad es algo que no se esta buena pero ese sistema mediocre que tenes para luchar que deja bastante que desear te puede llegar a hacer enojar mucho La historia es genial me gusto mucho pero es corta e.e si te sabes el juego de memoria lo terminas en menos de 5hrs por ahí una lastima la verdad... ahaha eso eso la historia iba bien hasta que nuestro querido amigo Pyramid head aparece en el juego....la primera vez que lo vi pense SPOILER(si mi pensamiento va a resultar spoiler)

    "huy estoy hasta la m***da este me va a estar jodiendo todo el juego :S"....y lo que menos paso fue eso. En todo el juego aparece 2 veces nomas! ni siquiera te escapas de el una sola vez en el juego te aparece SPOILER ABAJO*

    EL SPOILER ESTA ENTRE *que es cuando mata al padre* y nada mas ni siquiera te pega o te agarra ni te dice "wachin raja de aca" ok no pero la verdad que para meter a este gran villano y no usarlo para nada es una decepción. Silent hll homecoming mediocre.
    Expand
  47. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can't understand why that game has such score. that is one of my favorite games, which made me almost cry when i finish it. that game is for a bit clever people guys and if you are dumb, don't say that the game is "awful" Expand
  48. Sep 9, 2014
    7
    I have not played any of the older Silent Hill games yet which I have heard are better but this game is one of the scariest games I have ever played. Mostly due to the music/ sound effects that make the cloudy streets in this game 3x as creepy. I like some things about the game but other things like lack of ammo are annoying. Also the bosses are kind of hard to beat and I dont believeI have not played any of the older Silent Hill games yet which I have heard are better but this game is one of the scariest games I have ever played. Mostly due to the music/ sound effects that make the cloudy streets in this game 3x as creepy. I like some things about the game but other things like lack of ammo are annoying. Also the bosses are kind of hard to beat and I dont believe there was a difficulty option. If you have the money, Silent Hill HD collection is a rerelease of SH 3 and 4 I think and is the best option to get for XBox360..But if you can get this game for 5 bucks like I did and you are into survival horror I would recommend buying this game. Expand
  49. Mar 22, 2015
    9
    Silent Hill - Homecoming gives the player a new protagonist to the silent hill franchise, Alex Shepard, an amnesiac who wakes up in a hospital apparently after a war. Upon starting into the world of silent hill, you come to a dead end after chasing your brother, face to face with the real silent hill, attacked by nurses (its unknown why they are here, Alex has no sign of lust) andSilent Hill - Homecoming gives the player a new protagonist to the silent hill franchise, Alex Shepard, an amnesiac who wakes up in a hospital apparently after a war. Upon starting into the world of silent hill, you come to a dead end after chasing your brother, face to face with the real silent hill, attacked by nurses (its unknown why they are here, Alex has no sign of lust) and eventually makes it towards the elevator out of Alkimila hospital. Only to be attacked again. Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 54
  2. Negative: 1 out of 54
  1. From its leaden, cheap-shots-aplenty combat to its wild-goose chase through gray, same-y hallways filled with useless, placebo doorways to a story that takes much too long to get off the ground, its entire first half feels like a death march through a clunky hot mess. [Nov 2008, p.73]
  2. 60
    If survival horror is your bread and butter, then Homecoming is right up your alley; otherwise, you might be better served waiting for Resident Evil 5.
  3. 75
    Double Helix has stayed true to the series' foundation while also taking steps in a brave new direction; they've crafted a tale that stands well within franchise lore, and they've produced horrifically beautiful environments, occasional framerate drops aside. If Double Helix learns from their mistakes here -- combat balance being the most glaring issue -- their future work could rival the series' best.