Singularity Xbox 360

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 173 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 173
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 7, 2012
    7
    By no means a revolutionary or great game, Singularity is fairly solid and does have it's moments - it's just a shame that there aren't more of them. As a story based FPS in the Bioshock mould (some would say that it's very much a rip off of Bioshock, and rightly so) time travel and manipulation provide the spice to this game which plasmids did in it's spiritual father. On the whole IBy no means a revolutionary or great game, Singularity is fairly solid and does have it's moments - it's just a shame that there aren't more of them. As a story based FPS in the Bioshock mould (some would say that it's very much a rip off of Bioshock, and rightly so) time travel and manipulation provide the spice to this game which plasmids did in it's spiritual father. On the whole I personally preferred this over Bioshock as it just seemed to pack more action into it - that's what Singularity does right - when the action kicks in it's great and there's plenty of intense moments throughout the game (helps that you can die in this game too, unlike Bioshock). Unfortunately, these moments aren't found quite as often as one would like, and the other elements of the game - puzzle solving, plot, etc. - fall a bit short. Major gripes I have include the magical doors shutting behind you all the time so you can't go back for weapons, or even run backwards when you think you can, also badly timed plot sections which often occur during action or some other narrative which means you can't quite get what's going off. Also, the plot sets things up nicelyonly to fail on final delivery of the ending. The controls can be a bit fiddly at times when things get frantic too, which is annoying, but not to the extent where it ruins the game. But for all it's negative aspects it is fun and it is a game which will keep you playing until you finish it - during which time you'll mostly enjoy the ride. It doesn't quite hit the spot enough to be deemed great, but it is entertaining enough to be worth a good look and it's definitely worth considering as a purchase at a budget price. Like having a good wank over some decent porn but not getting to finish - cheap easy fun which leaves you a bit unfulfilled, but fun none-the-less. Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2012
    7
    awesome game! didn't expect much from this game but i was really surprised! the gameplay feels like call of duty, the graphics look like bioshock and it has puzzles that resemble half-life and portal. the multi-player is pretty boring since there and not many modes and its just not very fun. i got this game for 10 bucks and i was very happy with my purchase! looking forward to a sequel!
  3. Aug 19, 2010
    6
    I was initially excited to play this game, but that feeling faded as soon as I realized how much of a Bioshock rip-of this was. In no way does it even attempt to break new ground. It's yet another survival shooter that fails to fully immerse you in its twisted world, for no other reason than the graphics are kind of lame. The gameplay is okay, I suppose, but nothing special. You expect aI was initially excited to play this game, but that feeling faded as soon as I realized how much of a Bioshock rip-of this was. In no way does it even attempt to break new ground. It's yet another survival shooter that fails to fully immerse you in its twisted world, for no other reason than the graphics are kind of lame. The gameplay is okay, I suppose, but nothing special. You expect a shooter to work, well, like a shooter should. This it does adequately. The adversaries, however, leave a lot to be desired. There's just something trite about having to face increasing numbers of the same tired enemy that keeps me from getting overtly excited about this title. Good luck playing this for more than 10 hours. If you do, you clearly need to buy some better games. Expand
  4. Aug 26, 2010
    7
    Overall, Singularity is a pretty decent shooter complimented by the use of time powers. While it does have a multiplayer component, Iâ
  5. Dec 5, 2011
    7
    OVERVIEW: For a fan of great presentation and the great involvement in a game, Singularity was fun. For as underrated as it is I am glad that I played through but probably won't do it again.

    PROS: The presentation in this game is magnificent. Everything including the very deep storyline, the atmosphere where the recreated 1950s, and the great graphics. Although the gameplay is a bit
    OVERVIEW: For a fan of great presentation and the great involvement in a game, Singularity was fun. For as underrated as it is I am glad that I played through but probably won't do it again.

    PROS: The presentation in this game is magnificent. Everything including the very deep storyline, the atmosphere where the recreated 1950s, and the great graphics. Although the gameplay is a bit familiar, the rest of the game is very creatively built where it involves unique weapons, unique enemies, and cool boss fights. The multiplayer is also very cool, and original where one team plays as the humans and the other team plays as the mutants. Both sides offer various classes each with unique features.

    CONS: As I said earlier, the gameplay and linear style of SIngularity is very familiar. The plot, although it is very interesting, is misleading and unsatisfying at the end. It is also quite short. Multiplayer is great but there is so little to do, as it only features 2 game types, no unlockables, and a handful of maps. It also is a big blow that hardly anybody plays it. One could be staying in a lobby forever with out people joining.

    GRAPHICS: 8 out of 10; Very nice and appealing, nothing revolutionary.
    STORYLINE: 8 out of 10; Intriguing at first, but a few holes never get filled and ending is unsatisfying.
    GAMEPLAY: 6 out of 10; Common, typical gameplay as it is powered by Unreal Engine. LASTING APPEAL: 6 out of 10; Short campaign that you will want to breeze through, then an empty multiplayer.
    OVERALL: 7 out of 10

    CONCLUSION: Singularity is a very fun game that is very underrated. It takes typical styles of games and adds its own twists.
    Expand
  6. May 7, 2013
    6
    The game starts pretty strong, the earlier boss fights are fun and with variety. a little bit like bioshock but with better shooting design, at the first two hours I was even convinced that this game is better than bioshock. however, the game drops ball dramatically after a while, no boss flight, rushed. and the ending, well, you can say they just don't have time to properly finish theThe game starts pretty strong, the earlier boss fights are fun and with variety. a little bit like bioshock but with better shooting design, at the first two hours I was even convinced that this game is better than bioshock. however, the game drops ball dramatically after a while, no boss flight, rushed. and the ending, well, you can say they just don't have time to properly finish the game. the game can be good, but they fail to deliver it. Expand
  7. Rem
    Oct 5, 2014
    7
    This game while underplayed, truly has something going for it, even if that little something happens to be borrowing from the giant that is Bioshock. The premise is simple enough: soldier fights mutants with a Time Manipulation Device, Russian bad guys, and everything goes into timey wimey goodness. Don't get me wrong the story while nothing to write home about, is still popcorny enough toThis game while underplayed, truly has something going for it, even if that little something happens to be borrowing from the giant that is Bioshock. The premise is simple enough: soldier fights mutants with a Time Manipulation Device, Russian bad guys, and everything goes into timey wimey goodness. Don't get me wrong the story while nothing to write home about, is still popcorny enough to keep me pushing. This is because the gameplay elevates the game into its best because it's falling into a familiar rabbit hole. The plasmids, I mean time powers are incredibly unique, but the controls are weirdly configured to those specific powers. Nonetheless, the shooting feels well done if not underwhelming. You can explore the story through audio logs, radio messages, and environmental cues a-la Bioshock. It's a mix that is hard to fail and Raven Software got it pretty damn close. The game is massively fun if you go in expecting nothing. As it is, Singularity has rough graphics for an Unreal 3 Engine, but it does a decent enough job to make some of the monsters somewhat teriffying. It's one of the more underrated games out there, and I'm glad I played it. Expand
  8. Nov 20, 2015
    7
    This game is oozing with a distinct atmosphere & interesting story, creates immersion for the player and it does this nicely. It has bugs though, and while original in a few ways it still felt a bit repetitive to me. This is a good shooter, but I'd prefer Half life or Bioshock.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 70
  2. Negative: 1 out of 70
  1. A frenetic and fun title that is held short of true greatness by a lack of imagination in places, with a story that is only so-so and a multiplayer that needs a few more modes (and players) to be truly satisfying.
  2. Singularity is the very definition of average, and the lack of subtitles knocks it just below. It is the gaming equivalent of white rice, the Ford Focus, and black coffee. Its taste is decidedly bland, but it'll do its job.
  3. You'll get the average eight to twelve hours of single player depending on the difficulty, but it does drag on as the pacing just seems very off.