User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 145

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 19, 2010
    6
    I was initially excited to play this game, but that feeling faded as soon as I realized how much of a Bioshock rip-of this was. In no way does it even attempt to break new ground. It's yet another survival shooter that fails to fully immerse you in its twisted world, for no other reason than the graphics are kind of lame. The gameplay is okay, I suppose, but nothing special. You expect a shooter to work, well, like a shooter should. This it does adequately. The adversaries, however, leave a lot to be desired. There's just something trite about having to face increasing numbers of the same tired enemy that keeps me from getting overtly excited about this title. Good luck playing this for more than 10 hours. If you do, you clearly need to buy some better games. Expand
  2. Aug 20, 2010
    8
    Let me get this out of the way straight away: Don't expect a revolutionary new shooter that completely redefines the genre. What you instead find with Singularity is a finely tuned and well thought out shooter that innovates on certain existing aspects of most games. For example, all of the guns to be found are also commonly found in most other shooters, but they all have a unique twist in Singularity: The grenades from the grenade launcher can be manually rolled around on the floor for those hard to reach enemies; one rifle allows cool bullet control (like in wanted). The same goes for the time-altering abilities: all are fresh and satisfying. Gun-play does feel a little spongy and soft, but nothing too serious. Enemies are a little dim, but do provide intelligent enough encounters. Bosses are somewhat lacklustre. Even though I may point out some negatives here, one must realise that this game shines as a package, where the sum of its parts come together. Plus the story is very interesting and worthwhile, and will keep you coming back until the end. I can highly recommend this, especially as a second hand game. Seriously, give this game a shot - it may just surprise you. Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    This is a great game. It may take its ques from Bioshock, and be your traditional first person shooter, but believe me, its worth playing. The story my sound corny, and honestly, it is a little, but while you are playing it, you will have great fun.
  4. Jul 22, 2012
    0
    have had this game on my to-do list for some time and finally got around to giving it a play through, dear lord such a let down, after enjoying the 2 bioshock games this game is just a mess of a clone in the horror fps genre. The game starts so atmospherically great, really good music, sound effects, films playing get you right in the mood, but once you are maybe an hour into it they have completely run out of ideas for horror and it is just dropped from the game completely, all atmosphere replaced with gun fights vs helicopters of the 2 types of soldier you will fight in this game... and it just goes on and on and on for hours. towards the end they try and wrap it up with some few bits and pieces which to be honest, after 2 hours of gunning down soldiers with a minigun, to randomly click on a tape player in a room and see dead guy faces flash on the screen with screaming was pretty shocking.... but you could say the same about anything, if I was watching my little pony for 2 hours and someone jumped up and said BOO it would be a bloody shock to you. Awful awful pacing from this campaign.

    Now on the technical side the game fails so horribly in so many areas, there are so many rounded models through this game, columns etc which while they look round in the gameworld they have a square shape to them where the corners of the square are just being blocked by invisible walls. horrible that no one bothered to go and clean up some of these models so they actually felt like they looked to the player. The person who decided subtitles were too much to ask for in this game should have been shot, it is made especially bad by the fact that they didn't decide to fully steal the audio logs from bioshock so when you click them on the ground you have to stay near it to hear the full thing, and if there is any explosions which muddle the sound you have to wait for the thing to end before you can start it again since there are no subs to fill in gaps. Other great uses of sound in this game come in the form of every phone and typewriter in the game that has the mouse over que to hear what a phone dial tone sounds like and a typewriter going DING. really game? while running past a table with a first aid kit and a typewriter on it mashing X as I go past it you really wanna make me think that the character stops for a second to end off a line of typing and make it go ding while being chased down by a load of hungry zombie esq things? pointless, just whoever thought to have them as things you can "interact / hear a sfx" from these items has no idea what makes a game decent. Another prize goes to the person who added the help text when you go to snipe with the sniper rifle in the game, okie a bit of text comes on screen to let you know how to slow down time, okie I got it.... I'll snipe someone else, hmmm that help text is there again, right in the middle of the scope... and the only way to get rid of it is to use the move its saying, no options anywhere to turn this dummy text off, any time you want to take out the sniper rifle you have to look past this text to fire down scope, or you have to be using the slow time move.... saying that if you scope the gun, and use up your slow down time move... of which you have no indication of when it will refill you still get that text and you can't use the move so you can't get rid of it. awful seriously ruins that gun from being of any use in the game.

    that's all this game is tho, a bunch of half decent ideas or copied ideas but without any finishing touches on it, there is no polish at all used on this thing. and it's such a let down for what could have been a rival to bioshock.
    Expand
  5. May 7, 2012
    7
    By no means a revolutionary or great game, Singularity is fairly solid and does have it's moments - it's just a shame that there aren't more of them. As a story based FPS in the Bioshock mould (some would say that it's very much a rip off of Bioshock, and rightly so) time travel and manipulation provide the spice to this game which plasmids did in it's spiritual father. On the whole I personally preferred this over Bioshock as it just seemed to pack more action into it - that's what Singularity does right - when the action kicks in it's great and there's plenty of intense moments throughout the game (helps that you can die in this game too, unlike Bioshock). Unfortunately, these moments aren't found quite as often as one would like, and the other elements of the game - puzzle solving, plot, etc. - fall a bit short. Major gripes I have include the magical doors shutting behind you all the time so you can't go back for weapons, or even run backwards when you think you can, also badly timed plot sections which often occur during action or some other narrative which means you can't quite get what's going off. Also, the plot sets things up nicelyonly to fail on final delivery of the ending. The controls can be a bit fiddly at times when things get frantic too, which is annoying, but not to the extent where it ruins the game. But for all it's negative aspects it is fun and it is a game which will keep you playing until you finish it - during which time you'll mostly enjoy the ride. It doesn't quite hit the spot enough to be deemed great, but it is entertaining enough to be worth a good look and it's definitely worth considering as a purchase at a budget price. Like having a good wank over some decent porn but not getting to finish - cheap easy fun which leaves you a bit unfulfilled, but fun none-the-less. Expand
  6. Sep 12, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A cross between the abandoned ruins/distopian Bioshock and the killing mutants/limited resources of Dead Space, this game is decent, but not outstanding. A few ticks, (like not refilling your ammo and health kits after a boss battle, then immediately dropping you down a hole full of exploding insects) make the game annoying at times, but this is the first time in a while that I couldn't kill everything with just an assault rifle and good aim, which is a major plus. Overall, I'd give it an 8/10. Expand
  7. Aug 26, 2010
    7
    Overall, Singularity is a pretty decent shooter complimented by the use of time powers. While it does have a multiplayer component, Iâ
  8. Dec 15, 2010
    9
    While NOT for Everyone, Singularity is a Great Title! Having Only enjoyed the SP so far I Can vouch for that portion being a Fun, Well made Sci-Fi Action FPS! If you are a fan of these types of games, Pick it up. You will NOT be disappointed!
  9. Jan 16, 2011
    8
    Singularity is a very fun game in the Bioshock mould. It delivers some real surprises and, once you get the Time Manipulation Device and some of the more powerful weapons, can be a scream to play.

    There are some frustrating bits to the game: while in the most part the checkpoints are placed well, not all of them are, and you can find yourself cursing the game when you end up having to
    fight a vast number of enemies with limited weapons or health because you can't go back to an earlier part of the game to get more. And some of the checkpoints could be more sympathetically placed so you wouldn't have to redo sections of an area just because you got jumped by a horde of enemies.

    But these are minor niggles in a game that delivers a great story.

    I don't play multiplayer, so this review is based on the single player experience only.
    Expand
  10. Aug 23, 2011
    8
    Multiplayer that might as well not exist and a slightly short campaign never stops Singularity from being the most underrated shooter of the year. When the room suddenly jumps back to the past and everything morphs around you, you will know where your money went, truly amazing.
  11. Apr 6, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers. It's a real pity that this game has mostly gone unnoticed and unappreciated. It's a very good game in my opinion. Enjoyed every minute of it and I will most definitely play through it again. Firstly and most importantly, the game plays great. End of story. As a FPS it's spot-on and I also love the look and feel of the game. Great stuff indeed. Great single player campaign. I'm not interested in multi-player in the very least so I couldn't give a rat's ass about it. If you're into FPS like Bioshock and Borderlands, get it, it's well worth it. Collapse
  12. Dec 5, 2011
    7
    OVERVIEW: For a fan of great presentation and the great involvement in a game, Singularity was fun. For as underrated as it is I am glad that I played through but probably won't do it again.

    PROS: The presentation in this game is magnificent. Everything including the very deep storyline, the atmosphere where the recreated 1950s, and the great graphics. Although the gameplay is a bit
    familiar, the rest of the game is very creatively built where it involves unique weapons, unique enemies, and cool boss fights. The multiplayer is also very cool, and original where one team plays as the humans and the other team plays as the mutants. Both sides offer various classes each with unique features.

    CONS: As I said earlier, the gameplay and linear style of SIngularity is very familiar. The plot, although it is very interesting, is misleading and unsatisfying at the end. It is also quite short. Multiplayer is great but there is so little to do, as it only features 2 game types, no unlockables, and a handful of maps. It also is a big blow that hardly anybody plays it. One could be staying in a lobby forever with out people joining.

    GRAPHICS: 8 out of 10; Very nice and appealing, nothing revolutionary.
    STORYLINE: 8 out of 10; Intriguing at first, but a few holes never get filled and ending is unsatisfying.
    GAMEPLAY: 6 out of 10; Common, typical gameplay as it is powered by Unreal Engine. LASTING APPEAL: 6 out of 10; Short campaign that you will want to breeze through, then an empty multiplayer.
    OVERALL: 7 out of 10

    CONCLUSION: Singularity is a very fun game that is very underrated. It takes typical styles of games and adds its own twists.
    Expand
  13. May 11, 2012
    8
    Great game. Interesting story, guns, and scifi equipment. A must play for fps fans. My only complaint is it is a little to easy. Further along the weapons kill everything quickly leading to a run and gun style instead of having to actually find a way to overcome the enemies.
  14. May 23, 2012
    8
    I think this game is really underrated, it combines very much games in it and uses there ideas to give you a really awesome game. The gameplay delivers much fun and the controls are really smooth. The story is cool and the graphics are great. Most weapons are known but the abilities are really interesting and surprised me as well as the plot. You should try it.
  15. Nov 11, 2012
    7
    awesome game! didn't expect much from this game but i was really surprised! the gameplay feels like call of duty, the graphics look like bioshock and it has puzzles that resemble half-life and portal. the multi-player is pretty boring since there and not many modes and its just not very fun. i got this game for 10 bucks and i was very happy with my purchase! looking forward to a sequel!
  16. Nov 21, 2012
    8
    This game was great. Especially for $8.99. It may rip off BioShock a bit, but BioShock is awesome and I always wanted more. Its definitely more than just the standard FPS, which is great because there's too many of those nowadays. If you want COD clone, get COD. If you want to play something that's actually a little different give this a try.
  17. May 7, 2013
    6
    The game starts pretty strong, the earlier boss fights are fun and with variety. a little bit like bioshock but with better shooting design, at the first two hours I was even convinced that this game is better than bioshock. however, the game drops ball dramatically after a while, no boss flight, rushed. and the ending, well, you can say they just don't have time to properly finish the game. the game can be good, but they fail to deliver it. Expand
  18. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    HIGHLY underrated game to start with.
    And yes, sure i can admit that Singularity borrows alot from previous FPS games. There's a touch of HL2, Bioshock and Prey but they mix it all together and leaving it to be a fantastic candymix.

    The story is innovative and impressive. Its very free-spirit. Its not very often i really care about a story but you really gets sucked into it.


    Highlight of this game is the gameplay. So far the best FPS game i've ever played. And it knocks HL2.
    (inb4 fanbase rage)

    You can alter time, use portals and do alot of fancy stuff, wont spoiler much but i'll be suprised if you wont be having a blast.

    The enemy AI is also one of the highlights here, they are actually very intelligent and impressive.
    Its not often you see a good AI these days.

    Cons on this game is mostly the subtitles. You have no subtitles in the game and its very frustrating at the time since they are speaking russian-english and you wont be understand until you raise the volume.

    And i wish the weapons upgrade would be more intrestng. You can also increase your clip, damage and reload. Which is effective but kinda boring.

    It's sad that Singularity received so bad critics. I saw that it got a 9 on Gamereactor Sweden and i bought a used copy and im really happy i did it too. Replay value is high and the gameplay is just wow.
    Expand
  19. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Singularity is one of the best First Person Shooting game I have ever played!!! It does not lack constant combat like I have seen in a few games. So far with what I have played every five minutes there is another combat section, plus it has a few parts that actually freak you out. Its stunning combat switches from gun fights with the Russian Spetsnaz and back to the mutated Russian scientists that used to inhabit Katorga-12. The first game I have ever played that incorporates time manipulation with sniper rifles, the fact that I can aim and click a button to slow down time so it's easier to shoot enemies. Even those people like me who are so good at sniping on most games that we don't need it, it still comes in handy when enemies take a run for cover. I love using the TMD (Time Manipulation Device) almost constantly. There isn't a time when I'm not making soldiers die of old age or slowing down mutants, plus it replaces your melee with such an amazing advancement. The different guns are nice all though I have not seen much variety yet in guns but what they lack (as I have seen as of yet) They make up with the option to upgrade your weapons. Its countless "areas of scare" when it comes to mutants are amazing, but don't let them get to close. I give it a ten with what this game has shown me so far! Expand
  20. Apr 6, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers. It's a real pity that this game has mostly gone unnoticed and unappreciated. It's a very good game in my opinion. Enjoyed every minute of it and I will most definitely play through it again. Firstly and most importantly, the game plays great. End of story. As a FPS it's spot-on and I also love the look and feel of the game. Great stuff indeed. Great single player campaign. I'm not interested in multi-player in the very least so I couldn't give a rat's ass about it. If you're into FPS like Bioshock and Borderlands, get it, it's well worth it. Collapse
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 70
  2. Negative: 1 out of 70
  1. A frenetic and fun title that is held short of true greatness by a lack of imagination in places, with a story that is only so-so and a multiplayer that needs a few more modes (and players) to be truly satisfying.
  2. Singularity is the very definition of average, and the lack of subtitles knocks it just below. It is the gaming equivalent of white rice, the Ford Focus, and black coffee. Its taste is decidedly bland, but it'll do its job.
  3. You'll get the average eight to twelve hours of single player depending on the difficulty, but it does drag on as the pacing just seems very off.